Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

We The Free Straight Column Maxi

Casual and cool straight maxi tank dress with tall slit on one side. Small slit at front of neckline. The perfect, go-with-everything day dress. We the Free brings us back to our down-to-earth, All-American roots, made mostly with casual cottons that have a lightly distressed and perfectly worn in feel.
overall average rating:
4.095 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Customer Reviews for We The Free Straight Column Maxi
Review 1 for We The Free Straight Column Maxi
Name:
Location:Australia
age:36-40
body type:slender
Beautiful colour
9.26.2013
"The first thing I noticed when I opened the parcel was the colour of the dress, it is true to the pictures but what you can't really see in the pictures is the beautiful almost marbled effect of the dye, like a light orange tie dye. I ordered a size down from my usual and the XS fits perfectly (a S would've been way too big). The cut is lovely and the raw seams are very earthy. Maxi's don't usually suit me as I'm short 5'4", but this one looks great, I think the splits stop it from looking frumpy. Very pleased with my purchase!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for We The Free Straight Column Maxi
Name:
Location:DC area.
age:41-45
body type:petite
Super Comfy
9.9.2013
"So, I just knew the maxi with slits on both sides would mean I would have a bunch of material in between my legs when I was walking so I bought this with the intent on cutting it shorter. And I am so happy I did. I took it up to about knee length which still gives me slits on both sides. I just love this dress it is so soft and comfy!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for We The Free Straight Column Maxi
Name:
Location:New York
age:over 45
body type:athletic
It's ok!
9.6.2013
"It's so big and too much slit of both side.
I thought more thick fabric from pictures, but it's so
thin. When it was windy day, I couldn't walk with this T-dress at riverside .
It's comfortable.
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for We The Free Straight Column Maxi
Name:
Location:Garderville, NV
age:26-30
body type:slender
HUGE
9.2.2013
"Oh FP, how I wish you had some sort of consistency with sizing! This dress runs really large. I went with my usual size small (5'3" and 108 lbs), and it is huge. Unfortunately, they hve no xs to exchange it for...because the dress is super cute and comfortable. I'm keeping it because my boyfriend has a surger and know how to sew. Size down."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for We The Free Straight Column Maxi
Name:
Location:Chile
age:21-25
body type:petite
Not worth the price
8.30.2013
"I got this in size XS, olive color (I'm 5,2'' 114 lb). I was really excited to get this maxi, because it looks great on the shots. However, I didn't love it. The color is very similar to the pictures, and even though I'm petite, I don't drag the bottom, which is good (although I'm still going to hem it to ankle-length). It is comfortable and the fabric is soft, but I thought it was too thin. I will keep it because I can't return it, but for me it just isn't worth the sale price."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for We The Free Straight Column Maxi
Name:
Location:Huntington Beach, CA
age:36-40
body type:slender
Comfy for everyday
8.29.2013
"I knew that this maxi was not going to be flattering but it looked super comfy. I was really excited when it arrived as I was looking for something I can throw on and get going anytime. It ended up being better than I expected. Still not a flattering maxi BUT the key hole opening in the back and the slits on the sides gives this maxi a little sexiness. I absolutely love this maxi! I'm 5'6" and slender and I ordered a small and the length is perfect."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for We The Free Straight Column Maxi
Name:
Location:Mesa, AZ
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
meh
8.28.2013
"This looked so comfy, and it is comfy, but the fabric is as thin as a Tshirt. I would rather have more body in dress fabric, and the slits are up to you-know-where, which means you HAVE to wear leggings AND a Tshirt or camisole. Would rather have less slits and more body to wear JUST the dress. Glad I didn't pay full price, not my favorite piece."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for We The Free Straight Column Maxi
Name:
Location:NJ
age:31-35
body type:slender
LOVE!
8.28.2013
"This dress is super comfy and soft. Totally worth it at the regular price - even better at the sale price!
This will be a staple throughout the year!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for We The Free Straight Column Maxi
Name:
Location:MA
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
Sexy in a Subtle Way
8.28.2013
"Bought this in black and absolutely love it. My husband thinks its very sexy because it shows so much leg. I didn't think looking at the pictures I would like it but it fits perfectly. I bought a small, I'm 5' 5" and 116 lbs. typically wear between a 4-6 because I'm well endowed up top. This dress provides plenty of room up top without compromising my smaller bottom. I wear a bandeau bra with it so a little of the lace will show through the opening in the back. Have gotten many compliments and looks."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for We The Free Straight Column Maxi
Name:
Location:california
age:over 45
body type:petite
Versatile Piece
8.26.2013
"Read all the reviews before purchase and decided on a snugger fit than pictured. Got a small and wasn't disappointed. This piece can be dressed down, dressed under, dressed up with super Free People Heels, and is just an all around perfect piece for travel. The color shown is a bit browner than the actual dress--mine looks somewhat olive, but for me, that's a plus. Thanks FP!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for We The Free Straight Column Maxi
Name:
Location:Washington, DC
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Awesome dress
8.24.2013
"Breaks my heart that this went on sale. I paid full price, which I thought was worth it! I ordered the brown, and it's really fun, edgy. I wear it with boots easily. I'm tall, so I need to wear boy shorts, as it would show way too much otherwise. For $30, all cotton, authentic-looking distressed-dyed, it's a great deal."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for We The Free Straight Column Maxi
Name:
Location:San Francisco, CA
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
Not veyr flattering
8.23.2013
"I thought it was a little too straight, not very flattering on my body. It is also too closed on the chest.
The fabric is good, and the color beautiful.
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for We The Free Straight Column Maxi
Name:
Location:Cincinnati, OH
age:14-20
body type:curvy
Favorite dress
8.20.2013
"I love this dress, it fits just perfect and a good length! there are slits up both sides. I ordered the paprika color and it is gorgeous! And its almost a T-shirt material, super light and comfortable! recommended to everyone"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for We The Free Straight Column Maxi
Name:
Location:USA
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Super Comfy
8.2.2013
"It's a really comfortable but unique dress. I ordered XS and it falls straight - S would have been too loose. The slits are much higher on my legs, I'm 5'8" so I guess I must be more leggy than the model pictured (going to stitch about 2" so I don't risk exposure, ha). I also am trying to figure out what kind of bra to wear with this... any suggestions?"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for We The Free Straight Column Maxi
Name:
Location:Woodstock NY
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
WOWZIE!!!
7.12.2013
"I love this dress!!!! I wished I had not read the reviews or rather listened to them because I went ahead and ordered the SM instead of the XS and the small is pretty loose, not overly baggy or unflattering, just looser than I like and I like my clothing loose. The fit is very forming and attractive without being too much. The feel is fantastic , I love clothes that feel like you're not wearing any at all. The length is exactly as pictured without the slit being too high. I am so glad I purchased this dress and at the sale price it is truly a steal!!! 5'4 (long legs) 105 lbs 32A."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for We The Free Straight Column Maxi
Name:
Location:Southern Cal
age:41-45
body type:petite
EXCEEDED MY EXPECTATIONS!
7.8.2013
"This is such an amazing dress in all it's simplicity. I ordered the Washed Black and the wash is perfect. I'm usually a Small or X-Small. I ordered the small because the dress is straight up and down and looked like it would accommodate my wider hips. I was right. For me at 5'2" I will have to cut off some of the hem as it is about 3" to 4" too long for me, but the hem is raw so that won't be a problem. I bought this dress to wear with the Cursoe Fest Sandals that I recently received. I think it will look Awesome together A versatile piece. This is a Great Buy at the sale price!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Ombre Fringe Collar
5 out of 5(12)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 17 for We The Free Straight Column Maxi
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:31-35
body type:slender
Casual sexy cool
6.20.2013
"This dress is a killer combo of casual sexiness. I cut the back keyhole open another 3" on mine and plan on ordering a second color. The fabric is just thick enough not to be see through, soft and stretchy. Nice job WTF."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for We The Free Straight Column Maxi
Name:
Location:New York
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Great for layering!
5.15.2013
"I am 5'10 and i have to wear short with this dress because the slits are so high on me. I bought a large but would recommend sizing down if you want a tighter fit to the dress. I love to layer sweaters over it, or wear it solo with shorts! One of my favorite pieces in my closet right now!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for We The Free Straight Column Maxi
Name:
Location:Cardiff, UK
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Hmmm
2.21.2013
"I have been so excited to receive this dress. What a let down. I ordered a medium and think it runs very small, considering a large should be a UK 16 I was shocked when the medium was small on me. Another thing is the thin cotton and general quality makes this piece way over priced. I am loving being able to buy from the UK, however the costs added to the pieces compared to the US website is shocking. Only good thing is the free returns, else it'd be disaster all over. I wanted to love this dress, what a shame."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for We The Free Straight Column Maxi
Name:
Location:USA
age:26-30
body type:slender
Cute!
2.11.2013
"Completely agree with the first review EXCEPT that I think the dress runs small. I'm 5'4 108 and I bought the dress in an XS. The dress is SNUG around my hips (and might I say my derriere). I love the look of the dress on the model, so I will be sizing up."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>