Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Maharani Bubble Sleeve Dress

Beautiful printed and embroidered dress with deep v-neck and bubble sleeves. Bow tie on the back. Hidden zipper with hook and eye closure in the back. Lined. *100% Cotton *Hand Wash *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 33 " Bust: 29 "
overall average rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Customer Reviews for Maharani Bubble Sleeve Dress
Review 1 for Maharani Bubble Sleeve Dress
Name:
Location:Glenn Dale MD
age:31-35
body type:athletic
really pretty bubble dress
1.14.2012
"This dress is just beautiful, I got the red one and i plan on wearing it with grey tights and a pair of boots for winter. I love this dress also because the material is such that you can wear it year round. It fits tts."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Maharani Bubble Sleeve Dress
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:31-35
body type:petite
Boho Princess!
12.16.2011
"Man oh man! I love this little dress. I wore it with my fp super skinny cords and loved it! The sleeves do take a little getting used to but other than that, it's super adorable!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Maharani Bubble Sleeve Dress
Name:
Location:SF Bay Area
age:26-30
body type:petite
love this dress
11.30.2011
"I absolutely love this dress. I am 5'5 and 115lbs and the xs in the cream color fits perfect. This dress is the perfect length on me and fits well in the chest area too! I just wish I could find more places to wear it lol"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Maharani Bubble Sleeve Dress
Name:
Location:pacific grove, ca
age:21-25
body type:curvy
cute print
10.28.2011
"Bought this dress in the Shell color... I do love the print and the fit but the arms are very full. It does look exactly like the picture. I'm debating on exchanging for the Midnight color though because the Shell print just looks a little too prairie-like for me . Simple dress, nothing too special though.."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Maharani Bubble Sleeve Dress
Name:
Location:LA
age:26-30
body type:slender
So cute
10.13.2011
"This dress is so cute. I am 5'3'', 95 lbs, 32B. I got the xs in midnight. This dress really flatters my body. I love it so much. It is a little bit on the shorter side. But overall, this dress is gorgeous."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Maharani Bubble Sleeve Dress
Name:
Location:PA
age:21-25
body type:petite
A fall show stopper for sure!
10.9.2011
"This may be my favorite thing I've ever purchased at Free People. I didn't think I would like it when I saw it on the rack, but the fit is so flattering! The tie at the back accentuates your waist, and the large kimono-esque sleeves make your waist look even smaller. I would recommend this for ladies with a smaller chest, because I think a larger bust would really disrupt the shape of the dress, and make you look top heavy, since the sleeves are so voluminous. The quality is impeccable, and the embroidary really makes this piece a show stopper...especially in the black with the red embroidery. In terms of length, I usually am attracted to the longer, vintage lengths, but this little number hits me a little above the knee, and covers my butt just fine. (For reference, I'm 5'5", 120lbs, 34 A and got an XS) I've worn it twice already, and I've gotten countless compliments! I highly recommend this item, you will find a way to work this into your wardrobe. Oh, and it may be short, but the fabric is a little thicker, and it's actually rather warm, especially with sweater tights!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Maharani Bubble Sleeve Dress
Name:
Location:Denver, CO
age:31-35
body type:athletic
In Love
9.28.2011
"Totally in love with this dress. I'm 5'2", and it is quite short of me, but I think it's perfect. The shell color is not my cup of tea, but the midnight is fabulous. Please make in more colors!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Maharani Bubble Sleeve Dress
Name:
Location:VA
age:21-25
body type:petite
I Want to LOVE This!
9.25.2011
"I was really excited to order this dress because it was "the last one in stock" in an xs eggshell. I received this dress and I immediately tried it on. It fits really.... funny. I am 4'11 and 102 lbs, and this dress makes me look pregnant. The sleeves are HUGE. But, there are a lot of ups to this dress as well; the material is of good quality (minus the "sweatshirt" bands on the sleeves) and I love the way this dress is embroidered. I really want to love this dress so I'm giving myself time to fall in love. If I don't, I'm sadly returning it."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Maharani Bubble Sleeve Dress
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Ok
9.20.2011
"I tried this on an didn't buy it. The fit was too matronly for my tastes. The dress was longer than I thought it would be, although I'm only 5'2". The sleeves were also a bit overwhelming, and the shoulders too full for my frame. The fit is TTS if not a tad loose. If between sizes, go down."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Maharani Bubble Sleeve Dress
Name:
Location:San Francisco, CA
age:41-45
body type:curvy
love this dress
9.19.2011
"love this dress so much i bought it in both colors. i'm 4'-11" so the length of the sleeves and dress hangs lower on me but still looks fine. the dress falls about an inch above my knees and the sleeves about an inch from my wrists. i'm a 38D and have more of me to love in the middle so i bought it in size Large."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Maharani Bubble Sleeve Dress
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:21-25
body type:petite
Keeping it!
9.14.2011
"I fell in love with the midnight color as soon as I saw it online, so I bought it right away. The sleeves are definitely puffy and huge, but I think that's part of the point of this dress. If you find puffy clothes to be strange on you then this dress will not work. I'm 5' and curvy, but for me it fits TTS. It definitely has some tightness in the waist, and I do not have the thinnest stomach, so I would not recommend sizing down in the hopes of making the sleeves smaller. For me the front is way too low for my chest (34C), so wearing a layer underneath is a must. Length is great, and the colors are fabulous. The midnight is a great fall piece!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Archduchess Platform
4.6 out of 5(11)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 12 for Maharani Bubble Sleeve Dress
Name:
Location:New York
age:21-25
body type:petite
Ridiculously happy
9.11.2011
"I tried this on first at the store in Soho, and I thought it was beautiful, but it was a little bit too expensive. Well, I just couldn't stop thinking about it, and 2 weeks later I tried it on again in front of my friend. She was like OMG you HAVE to get that. So I decided to order it off the website in the ivory color. The picture does not even do this dress justice. It's honestly one of the most beautiful and cute dresses I've ever seen. The fit is good. I'm very petite (5'1, wear an xs or xxs) and it just suits me so well. Yeah, it's pricey, but I can see myself getting a lot of use out of this. If you're on the fence about this dress, trust me, just go for it. Now I just gotta be careful not get food stains on it, lol."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Maharani Bubble Sleeve Dress
Name:
Location:Ft Lauderdale, FL
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
gorgeous dress
9.10.2011
"I. Love. This. Dress. I am 5'7 120 lbs and I got a XS. The fit is perfect. The dress is a bit on the short side, so if this is a problem just put a pair of tights on under it. I wore the dress with the Ophelia platform boots- so cute!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Maharani Bubble Sleeve Dress
Name:
Location:Echo Park, CA
age:26-30
body type:petite
Good Concept but overall not a keeper...
9.6.2011
"I'm 5'3" & I'm in between an 'M' & an 'L' & I ordered the Large online & it fit me too loose. The print & concept is cute but the sleeves are just too puffy & big. I can imagine that the 'M' would've probably fit me better around the torso because the Large just made me look too wide on the sides (& the huge sleeves didn't help!). I was thinking that if the sleeves we're just shorter & not as loose it would be a perfect dress. I would consider the dress more appropriate for a petite person given that it's a bit short. I checked it out in the store & made up my mind that I needed to return it. It's just too much $ to not be completely satisfied with a dress. But hey, if you can make it work, work it! Hehe. Btw, the 'midnight' color is much lighter in person than in the picture. Oh & I've attached a not so perfect picture of me & the dress so you can get an idea..."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 15 for Maharani Bubble Sleeve Dress
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Sleeves are just too bulky for me
9.5.2011
"fits fine, a bit longer on me than looks on the model, I am 5'5" and have long legs with short torso. I think the sleeves just look too bulky and frumpy. I attached a not so great photo of holding up my arm. I'm not saying you can't see it in the photo, it's just a lot of fabric, but i'm not sure i will keep this, it was just ehh for me."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 16 for Maharani Bubble Sleeve Dress
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:21-25
body type:slender
Different, but not the best.
9.3.2011
"I ordered this piece online, and have to say when it came in I wasn't too impressed. The detail was pretty, but I felt it was a little too baggy for me. I'm normally an XS/S...Had to try on an XS in black in the store..and it was a bit better, but with my fair skin tone, it didn't do me any favors."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Maharani Bubble Sleeve Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
like the picture
9.1.2011
"I was afraid wouldn't fit right because of the puffiness of the dress but it actually fits like the picture. I don't have any problems with the waist area like other reviews have mentioned. i'm 5'8, 121 lb and i bought an XS size if that helps when u decide which size t buy."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Maharani Bubble Sleeve Dress
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:31-35
body type:slender
Unique and adorable!
9.1.2011
"I bought this in the midnight combo and just received it. LOVE it! Nice soft fabric, the embroidery quality is beautiful and I love the fit too. I'm 5'6" 112 lbs and got an xs, I did not notice any tightness in the waist. I think this is such an easy day dress with tights and boots, will be wearing on heavy rotation this fall."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Maharani Bubble Sleeve Dress
Name:
Location:Lexington ky
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Keeping it : )
8.29.2011
"I was unsure about buying this dress because I was afraid that it would swallow me whole. I was hoping for someone to write a review to help my decision. In the end I just bought it. I was prepared to return in, if it was not perfect. It's PREFECT! I typically wear more tight fighting clothing because of my petite, athletic frame. However, I don't have anything in my closet like this. The dress is soft and the length is perfect for my 5'1 frame. I saw that others said it’s tight around the waist but I did not have this problem. It's such a sweetheart dress, prefect for a date night or just downtown on a patio. I am very pleased with this purchase, can't wait to wear it! I always find it more helpful when pictures of "real" women (not models) are sporting the item. I hope this pic helps :)"
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 20 for Maharani Bubble Sleeve Dress
Name:
Location:ohio
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Not a winner
8.29.2011
"It is super cute in the photo...but i agree with the 1st reviewer; its a little tight in the stomach/ waist area. I'm 5'11, the dress fit but didnt look amazing on my body...and for $148 i would rather buy a dress that turns heads."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>