Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

FP ONE Ruffled Layers Skirt

Double layered stretch knit pull on skirt. Ruffle hem with mesh and woven tiers. * 44% Cotton, 28% Rayon, 27% Nylon, 1% Lycra * Hand Wash * Imported
overall average rating:
4.646 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(113 Reviews) 113
Customer Reviews for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Skirt
Review 1 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Skirt
Name:
Location:North Carolina
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Comfortably flirty!
10.10.2011
"Are you serious? My biggest problem with this skirt is deciding whether to wear it high or low."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 2 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Skirt
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
age:26-30
body type:petite
Great layering piece
8.28.2011
"I bought the muave/ivory in an xs and simply love it! Being only 5'2", the skirt is very long on me if not scrunched up a tad, but it works as a great layering piece if you choose to wear it long. Another great factor is that you can wear this as a top and have some pretty ruffled layers under another shirt. All in all a great purchase and must have for layering lovers! :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Skirt
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
LOVE IT!
4.7.2011
"Just got the skirt in ivory today and I adore it! So far I'm finding it goes with almost everything. Will buy in other colors"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Skirt
Name:
Location:Ontario, Canada
age:21-25
body type:petite
unique and pretty
3.23.2011
"I got this in ivory it is lovely :) I agree with the previous review, it looks best with the top folded down like you do to the waistband of yoga pants. I am short (5'3'"), so without folding it feels a bit too long."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Skirt
Name:
Location:indiaan
age:21-25
body type:petite
a dream
3.16.2011
"i've been looking at this skirt for what feels like years, i finally decided to get it and it is a dream* better than i could have expected. will be buying one in different colours <3 thank you free people! ~*"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Skirt
Name:
Location:Canada
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Flirty fun.. but stretch portion not attractive
3.13.2011
"I bought this skirt last year in the shrimp color. It seems intimidating compared to the neutrals, but it is much more subdued in person. In reality mine (this is a FP-1 item which often means natural variation between dye lots) is various shades of soft warm pink. It is slightly paler than the watermelon "Viscose Voile Chemise" if you are familiar with that slip. I love the three different fabrics that make up the ruffles. It adds visual interest. Trust me, everyone will ask where you got this skirt! The ruffles are not at all voluminous, but rather, lie flat. I always buy XS or S in FP lower body items. I ordered a S, although either size would have been fine. I love that it can be rolled in order to shorten the skirt or pulled down on my hips to lengthen it. My only complaint is that the stretch potion of the skirt does not match the color of the ruffles well and IMHO is not attractive enough to be seen. I read that others wear this on it’s own as a skirt. Perhaps the panel in other colors looks much better, but this one must be covered by my over layers or else it looks like I am exposing a pink control top girdle!! I like this layering piece so much that I just ordered the new melon color. I would also love to own this in a true ivory (no mauve layers) and any other pretty spring color. :-)"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Skirt
Name:
Location:L.A.
age:26-30
body type:curvy
in love
3.12.2011
"i'm in love with this skirt! i have it in two colors - the mauve and the pink and i absolutely love them both!!! i like, that you can pull them up or down to the length you want. it's a great layering piece and i've got many compliments on it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Skirt
Name:
Location:Albuquerque, NM
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
cutest skirt ever!
3.10.2011
"I bought this skirt along with the tulip flares and I cant decide which product I'm more in love with! I am 5'6", size M (7-8) and purchased the skirt in black/midnight, size Medium. The skirt is very versatile; you can dress it up with a cute blazer and heel or dress it down with a tank and sandals. The length of the skirt is also versatile; I was worried from the pics it would be too short for work, but you can adjust the height from a mini to a knee length skirt. I got the skirt in black and I copied what the model in black is wearing: I wore it with a gray tank, silver dangly necklace, black blazer and a cute pair of black booties and I got loads of compliments! Bonus? Makes your butt look great and brings out your hourglass figure. Only cons is that when you fold down the waistband, it can get a little loose and that it's hand wash only (I'm lazy don't judge me lol). Great for curvy and hourglass girls, although I'm pretty sure it would flatter just about anyone. I love that it's feminine with a lil bit of an egde; made me feel like a pretty rock star :D Way to go FP!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Tulip Flare Jean
4.6 out of 5(22)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 9 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Skirt
Name:
Location:Redondo Beach
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Ooh la la!
3.8.2011
"I ordered this skirt in black and it is so wonderfully feminine... It really has redefined the "little black skirt"! Can't wait to wear it with a cool graphic t-shirt and boots. I'm a little curvy, but this skirt is very forgiving and flattering! My only concern is that the waist may stretch out after wearing for awhile, similar to the Ditsy skirt I bought."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Super Stripe Tee
4.6 out of 5(51)
 
 
 
Long Sleeve Crochet Shoulder Pullover
4.7 out of 5(21)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 10 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Skirt
Name:
Location:Indiana
age:36-40
body type:curvy
Ruffles are right on!
2.15.2011
"I adore this skirt! I have it in black and mauve/ivory, size medium. It runs a little loose. It's quite a versatile wardrobe piece. After I wash it the ruffle edges tend to fray a bit. It's nothing scissors and a little maintenance can't fix though. I hope FP brings it back in the charcoal color. I missed out on it and would love to own it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Skirt
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:14-20
body type:curvy
amazing
2.4.2011
"I got this skirt about a year ago?
I LOVE it. my boyfriend loves it too!
also i have a big a** and it still looks great!
one of the best things i have ever purchased at free people
"
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Skirt
Name:
Location:NYC, NY
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Pretty ruffles
1.28.2011
"I typically take a small, which is what I purchased. It was a little loose, and I could have gone with the extra small. It stretches a little. I'm 5'2" and it comes to a couple of inches above my knee. I don't find the ruffles to flare out awkwardly. Instead they are really flattering. I bought the black and it's beautiful. The silk part is a lighter color, you can see it much better in person."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Skirt
Name:
Location:Portland, Oregon
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Great Skirt and Lots of Ways to Wear It
1.8.2011
"This skirt i wonderful. I have it in cream, black and purple. I wear them under dresses, and pair them with cute tops. The skirt looks great worn with boots. The top of the skirt is loose and fits comfortably, and can be worn high on the waist, or low, depending on how you want to style it. The bottom is a bit tighter. I have muscular legs, so it's less flowy on me. However, the skirt still manages to flatter my thighs. My only complaint is that the layers can tear away from the hem easily. My black skirt has torn pretty badly, but I am buying it again in black because I like the skirt so much. I recommend this skirt, but be aware of the potential to tear easily."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Skirt
Name:
Location:TN
age:21-25
body type:petite
love this
12.30.2010
"I have this skirt in the ivory/mauve combo in xs, and I wish I had gotten it in the gray color, too! I was not impressed by the pictures at all actually, but after reading the reviews I ordered and am SO glad. I was trying to find a good new skirt for my wardrobe and this was perfect.
I think the ivory is beautiful and the best color. The black is versatile, but the texture and color contrast does not stand out as much even though I think the tulle layer is navy blue (but very dark). The only downside to this skirt is that the waistband on mine has stretched out a bit and I don't want to put it in the washer or dryer! So far it is not fraying at all, which is an advantage over the patterned version IMO.
But all in all, I love this and I hope the gray comes.back so I can buy it!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Skirt
Name:
Location:Camano Islands
age:31-35
body type:curvy
super versatile..all class
12.30.2010
"Love this skirt - leggings, tights, knee highs, and bare - this skirts "doable". I have 3 of them and they are well made, easy to care for, and true to size. You won't be disappointed."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
Motor Cuff Thermal
4.7 out of 5(127)
 
 
 
Leona Layered Tall Sock
4.3 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
FP ONE Ruffled Layers Maxi Skirt
4.8 out of 5(25)
 
 
 
Lace In Layers Maxi Dress
4.2 out of 5(9)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 16 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Skirt
Name:
Location:philadelphia, pa
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
love!
12.28.2010
"definitely one of my new favorite skirts. bought a size down because it's stretchy like yoga pants. it also folds over like them. you can put it under anything! i loveee this skirt so much!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Skirt
Name:
Location:Florida
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
LOVE IT
12.26.2010
"I get compliments on this skirt every time I wear it. It's my favorite layering piece... and I can also wear it by itself. High quality and nicely made. I wish it came in more colors!! For me, it fits very true to size with some stretch, which is nice. :-)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Skirt
Name:
Location:Boston
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Get it.
12.22.2010
"If you're one of the few fp lovers that haven't gotten this skirt yet... get it. I wear it ALL the time, as a skirt, or as a slip under a flowy tunic, or under a dress thats slightly see through. Its the best creation ever, and everybody i walk into asks me where I got it, or tells me they have it and are obsessed too."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Skirt
Name:
Location:Oregon
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Absolutely amazing
12.8.2010
"Where has this skirt been all my life. I love you can pull it up as a top, layer under shirts to turn them into dresses, or add to short tops to make them more like tunics. I am a size 12 and the large was perfect."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for FP ONE Ruffled Layers Skirt
Name:
Location:Indiana
age:14-20
body type:slender
Worth it!
11.22.2010
"Fabric is well-constructed and skirt fits beautifully. I bought the ivory. I can dress it up or down. Really flattering on! Waist can be adjusted comfortably for length. I wore it with over the knee boots and socks. I received many compliments!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>