Product Reviews

Hooded Poncho

Hooded woven poncho with fringe trimming around bottom and patterned trimming. Drapes gracefully over your arms like a shawl. Lightweight. *65% Acrylic, 35% Cotton *Dry Clean Only *Import *Approx. 35" length
overall average rating:
3.542 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hooded Poncho
Review 1 for Hooded Poncho
Name:
Location:Orange County, CA
age:over 45
body type:petite
Pleasantly surprised
7.26.2013
"After ordering the poncho I went back to check on delivery and read some of the negative reviews which worried me. My expectations were low when I opened the package but, I find I really love this for some of the reasons that bother others. First, as a petite person (5'2") a true poncho can be overwhelming. The fine knit and drape are perfect for my size. Second, it is delicate, but I love that too. I purchased the tan and the hint of blue stripe looks great with denim. The fringe just adds to the southwest look of the item. This is perfect for Southern California beach mornings and while it may not work for everyone I'm thrilled with this item."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Hooded Poncho
Name:
Location:staten island, new york
age:over 45
body type:curvy
disappointing
4.30.2013
"ordered this and it was back ordered. I couldn't wait to get it. Sadly, It's nothing more than a shall with a hood. couldn't get it to look right on me.. sent it back.."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Hooded Poncho
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Disappointment
4.15.2013
"I bought this in the store on a whim without trying it on. It is so small, barely larger than a scarf. The hood is also really pointed. I could not find a way to wear this that wasn't awkward so I returned it. The fabric quality is also not worth the price."
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb4.18.2013
So sorry that you weren't happy with your purchase. We will be in touch! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Hooded Poncho
Name:
Location:Washington
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Unexpected and Beautiful <3
4.6.2013
"Today I went into my local fp store looking for a basic tee, and came out with this! On the hanger, this shawl looks ordinary, but once you throw it on your shoulders, you'll be in love! It is warm enough for cool spring and summer evenings, and soft enough to wear all year round. It is VERY delicate though, so you always have to be conscious of snagging. :( You can layer it with a jean or leather jacket by pulling the hood outside the collar, and wrapping the shawl like a lucious scarf. Surprisingly, the shawl stays on my shoulders, and it easy to wear. I bought the ivory color, and it looks great with something as simple as a black cami and cropped jeans or cutoffs. Overall, an eye-catcher, and a staple in your wardrobe. :)"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 5 for Hooded Poncho
Name:
Location:Georgia
age:41-45
body type:petite
Cozy and Cute
3.21.2013
"Love this poncho, its soft and cozy like wrapping your favorite blanket around your shoulders. I bought the gray one (it's really more of a brownish gray) and would love to buy one of the lighter colors to have for those cooler summer nights. It looks great with jeans, shorts and dresses. My only complaint it is that it snags really easy."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Hooded Poncho
Name:
Location:NYC
age:21-25
body type:petite
Who would have thought?
3.10.2013
"This poncho is amazingly effortless! It's a throw on and go but still look like a bohemian goddess piece. You can just throw it on your shoulders, wear it hooded or not. I prefer it draped over the chest with a long necklace on top. I love it! It is very delicate the fabric seems like it will snag easily so be careful what kind of jewelry you pair with this piece."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Hooded Poncho
Name:
Location:Tofino, BC
age:21-25
body type:curvy
this is a scarf.
3.8.2013
"I was so excited to get this in the mail. Looking at the pictures this looks like a cozy, knit poncho with a hood - the perfect summer beach accessory. I had read reviews that said the item didn't have sleeves but thought "that's okay, it looks big enough to drape." When I opened my package I was so disappointed - this is a thin thin thin scarf! There is not enough material to wear to make it look drapey like the model and it definitely is not going to be keeping anyone warm. The material isn't even cozy. I would send this back except that I live in Canada and the shipping costs would be outrageous."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb3.13.2013
We're sorry that this didn't meet your expectations -- we have updated our copy to state that this poncho does not have sleeves as you have pointed out. We will be in touch to provide further assistance! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 8 for Hooded Poncho
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:athletic
fell apart :(
2.19.2013
"I saw this at a store in SoCal and fell in love with it! I tried it on and it looked adorable...and was super soft and warm to boot. After buying it, I wore it immediately (as I do most new purchases) and was so sad when it started falling apart and shredding at the seams. Within almost an hour of wearing it, the sleeve cuffs, the fringes at the bottom, and the stitching along the middle were falling apart and the edges were exposed. I'm going to try to get it fixed because I love it so much"
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb2.20.2013
So sorry that this happened! We will be in touch to see how we can help. xoxo
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Hooded Poncho
Name:
Location:CA
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
no "sleeves"
2.1.2013
"It soft and nice, but it says "sleeves" and there are none. Im not sure how your supposed to do anything while wearing this, cause you constantly have to ensure this thing stays on your shoulders and doesn't slip off. The pictures sure make it look like it has arm holes for easy wear, but it's basically a blanket with a hood."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Hooded Poncho
Name:
Location:the islands
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
not able to leap tall buildings...
1.7.2013
"I received this hooded blanket thing as a holiday gift...the weave is poorly woven , very thin and easily snagged or causing holes. I went to trade it for another at the FP store and they ALL had holes in them!
The brown/darker colored poncho does not have pockets ...the hood is huge and oddly shaped/fitted.
Cute to look at...cute concept ....poorly designed and very cheaply made...doesn't really even deserve 1 star. It's brown not grey
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Hooded Poncho
Name:
Location:colorado springs
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
effortless layering!
1.1.2013
"okay, so this poncho is absolutely gorgeous, it has a dramatic yet easy going effect. i love that you can easily lounge around in it or wear it out. the only thing about it that i was disappointed about is that while the pockets are a great touch, both of them ripped within about a week of wearing it... i dropped my keys in both of them and it ripped a hole fairly quickly. not the most practical item... but it looks awesome! overall it was worth the money"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Hooded Poncho
Name:
Location:Bear, DE
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Poorly Made
12.18.2012
"I loved everything about this poncho's details and coloring (I got the cream) but the fabric is loosely woven almost to the point where little strands of stiching were pulling out if they were to get caught on something. I kept also having to keep adjusting the material on my shoulder because it is so soft it kept falling down. Noticed a HUGE hole in the right pocket and returned it. Didn't purchse it again or exchange it. It's a cozy knock around sweater but I wouldn't recommend wearing it out for long periods of time. It gets annoying. Not worth the money."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Hooded Poncho
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Great layering piece!
10.18.2012
"First I have to say i LOVE this poncho, it's soft, super warm and the way it drapes over your shoulders is very flattering. I'm so glad I decided to purchase it! However, the sizing online is a bit misleading. This is more of a hooded shawl with pockets.and the material does pull easily. It's a great styling piece for a fall layered look and great to keep around if you get cold, I wouldn't recommend taking a walk through the park with it though as it will fall off your shoulders."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Hooded Poncho
Name:
Location:nyc
age:26-30
body type:curvy
small poncho!
10.14.2012
"received it damaged so i sent it back.
probably would have kept it if it was larger or if the hood didnt have a strange fit.
or if it cost less.
very soft, great creme color. nice if you are very tiny or like a shug fitting poncho."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Hooded Poncho
Name:
Location:Indianapolis
age:41-45
body type:athletic
More wrap than poncho
10.14.2012
"I was looking for a true poncho. Although this was very pretty it is smaller and much thinner than expected. If you're looking for something more esthetic than substance this item is for you. For the price it should at least provide warmth. Would've kept it had it been under $30."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Hooded Poncho
Name:
Location:Vancouver
age:31-35
body type:slender
AMAZING PONCHO!!!
10.13.2012
"I love this so much! I just got it today from a Free People store. From my computer it looks creme but in person its actually tan. I would have loved for it to be creme but the tan is still really gorgeous. I tried the hood on and I don't think I would wear it like that but I think it adds a cute detail to the back. The pockets are much larger than I thought they'd be. But they work well and again it just adds a little something. It wears more like an extra large scarf or shawl, since there are no sleeves. Which gives you a lot of freedom it many different ways. Another reviewer mentioned it not being as long as photographed, but actually the photo is actually correct. Its just the way the model is wearing it. If you wear it on your shoulders and have your arms down inside, then the back covers your bum. If you wear it higher on your shoulders and expose your arms, then the back sits above your bum. Either way, very cute. My husband doesn't like ponchos that are just the hole in a circle, like tree skirts, but he loves this one."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Hooded Poncho
Name:
Location:New york
age:26-30
body type:petite
perfect poncho!
10.13.2012
"This is my first poncho I've ever purchased and I LOOOOVE IT! It is basically like a scarf with a hood and pockets attached to it. It's soft and material is thin but believe it or not, it keeps me warm! Im petite and short, and this fits me perfect! great for the price, esp from FP."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Hooded Poncho
Name:
Location:Marin County
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Wonderful, soft with POCKETS!
10.9.2012
"This poncho is one of those items that looks better in person than pictures. It is a creamier white than shown, first of all. It is softer than you would think and warmer. Looks like it costs more.
I agree that it should have been more generously sized if they want to sell it 'OS". But it is cozy, great for travel, ethnic style-lite, and reasonably priced. A nice piece........they flew out of my local FP store."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Hooded Poncho
Name:
Location:louisville, ky
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Too Small
10.5.2012
"The sizing of this is misleading. On the model, it looks like it covers your bum, but on me it barely covered my back. Overall, not impressed. Maybe if this had more material, I wouldn't mind paying this price for a scarf with pockets and a hood."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Hooded Poncho
Name:
Location:Tampa, Flrida
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Super Cozy and Funky
10.4.2012
"Love love love this. It is more of a scarf - no sleeves, just large pockets for you to put your hands in. There's also a hood. I also think it's a little shorter than it is in the photo, but I love it. It's a perfect layer piece for fall - and a perfect fall/winter piece for Florida. I totally recommend it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>