Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

FP ONE Urbanized Tuxedo Top

Floral patterned tuxedo-style tunic top with ruffled bottom hem. Button opening at front of chest. *FP One is a collection made with love from India. The collection has been curated from the fine details that India has to offer; embroideries, prints, embellishments, rich colors and fine gauze fabrics. The collection brings a modern twist to old world techniques and creates a line that has a cultured feel with special attention to detail.
overall average rating:
4.176 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Customer Reviews for FP ONE Urbanized Tuxedo Top
Review 1 for FP ONE Urbanized Tuxedo Top
Name:
Location:Virginia
age:21-25
body type:slender
For the most part, I like it
9.2.2013
"I'm 5'6", 120 pounds, B cup. Now, the top part, from the bust up, and the arms fit perfectly. However, the bottom part is so incredibly billowy, which doesn't look so good if you have a semi-decent cup size. In addition, because of the waist band, belts of all widths don't really look good. So I am tailoring it to cinch in at the waist. Otherwise, the fabric and styling of the tunic is really cute."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for FP ONE Urbanized Tuxedo Top
Name:
Location:los angeles, ca
age:14-20
body type:petite
Lovely
6.3.2013
"As many other reviewers have mentioned the pictures don't do this tunic any justice. Looking online I would simply pass this one but in person it's completely something else! I would hardly recognize it to be the same. The tunic is loose fitting but not too loose to wear it swallows you. Sleeves are fitted but can be rolled up as pictured. Very happy with this purchase!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP ONE Urbanized Tuxedo Top
Name:
Location:San Diego CA
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Very pretty but be careful
5.21.2013
"I bought this tunic in the blue when I saw it in the FP store. It looks much better in person and I received many compliments. This top is not fitted at all, it is very loose and flowy at the bottom, whereas the sleeves are fitted. I wore this top many times until one day the sleeve tore in the middle when my friends dog jumped up to greet me. His nail must have brushed against the material and made a clean slice...I did not feel anything at all! Also one of the horizontal seams in the middle had already come apart and had to be re-sewn. So just beware that this top is paper thin and sheer. Really too bad."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP ONE Urbanized Tuxedo Top
Name:
Location:California
age:26-30
body type:slender
Cute but...
4.27.2013
"I really loved the solid tuxedo top so I thought this was a no-brainer. I ordered both colors and the material is thicker than the solid tuxedo top (bonus!) and I really liked the pattern. But when I tried it on it doesn't have the same fit. The top area is kind of weird. I doesn't have a fitted feel like with the solid tuxedo top. It was very unflattering. I was totally bummed! I'm thinking about tailoring it a little bit so maybe it will have the fitted look on top with the flowy bottom but it was too expensive I shouldn't have to alter it! I don't know if I'll be keeping this."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for FP ONE Urbanized Tuxedo Top
Name:
Location:Australia
age:36-40
body type:petite
Love the look
4.7.2013
"Love this shirt. Size runs a little large. Great flattering shape. Looks fab with denim cut offs or leggings.
Delicate fabric is a little fragile and needs some TLC. Seems around sleeves (where tends to get stressed) look a bit fragile already and I've only worn a few times, which is why I gave 4 stars instead of 5.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP ONE Urbanized Tuxedo Top
Name:
Location:WASHINGTON D.C.
age:21-25
body type:curvy
LOVE the design but...
3.4.2013
"I loved this top when the pics first come out, then i go to my local free people store to try it on , i usually wear size medium but they only have S or i tried on it anyway. its still a little bit roomy except the bust are, the seam is a little bit too high as one of the previous review said, makes me look like i have a big stomach, but i love the color and the hem, i was wondering if Size M would be more fit on the bust area, but im sure the other part will still be roomy"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP ONE Urbanized Tuxedo Top
Name:
Location:St Albert
age:36-40
body type:curvy
Lovely in every way!
2.26.2013
"This is now one of my favorite free people pieces in my closet. Its so flattering and comfortable. It goes with so many things..cutoffs, bell bottoms, skinnies...so versatile. I would say that it fits roomy. I'm a bigger girl, curvy and tall and its long past my butt. Its a bit see through. The colors are true to what's shown in the photo. U can button the sleeves or leave them loose, I prefer the loose look best. It washed really well too. Love it!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP ONE Urbanized Tuxedo Top
Name:
Location:Morro Bay, CA
age:31-35
body type:curvy
If you're busty...
2.25.2013
"...don't buy. The seam under the bust area was way too high for me. It wasn't flattering at all. Made me look like I had a huge stomach because there was no real fit to the shirt. I'll be returning."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for FP ONE Urbanized Tuxedo Top
Name:
Location:New York, NY
age:36-40
body type:slender
Even nicer than the picture....
2.23.2013
"I purchased this online in an XS based on the measurements. I found it a little snug across the bust. Also, it was fairly sheer which you can't tell from looking at the picture. But I really liked it so I went to the FP store around the corner from work, found it(!), tried on a size small, and bought it. I don't think it's that sheer that you HAVE to wear something underneath. I think it looks even better in person than in the pix. One can never tell with sizing...often I find that the size small is really big around the waist and hips, and then I try the XS which fits perfectly there, but then iis sometimes a little tight around the bust/shoulders...it's a bit frustrating. It's a really great top! Glad I went to the store to try it on !"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for FP ONE Urbanized Tuxedo Top
Name:
Location:VA
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
great colors
2.14.2013
"I love this shirt. It comes down long enough to wear with leggings now and also looks good with jeans, but will be terrific with shorts. Very light weight and it is full at the bottom, but hangs well and does not look shapeless. Good quality and very feminine."
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for FP ONE Urbanized Tuxedo Top
Name:
Location:St Joseph, MO, USA
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Had to have it.....
2.11.2013
"I am so in love with this top. I tried it on yesterday at my local FP store and instantly knew I had to have it. The only one in stock in my store had a missing button so I had to order it. I was very disappointed I could not leave with it and wear it today. I am almost 5'5" and this top hitting me almost to the knees, way longer then it shows. The top is met to be free fitting, but still runs large. The colors are much prettier then they appear. This tunic will be cute with jeans, leggings, or shorts. With the way it fits me, being longer I am going to pair it with the Free Emily Slip and FP Cool Knit Leggings. The moon pendant shown looks very cute with it."
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 12 for FP ONE Urbanized Tuxedo Top
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:26-30
body type:petite
Lovely top, but roomy
1.20.2013
"5', 110lbs, and my usual FP small is quite roomy on me. Having said that the pattern is lovely, and the fabric is nice and light. The details on the hems are what make this top, especially the dip-dyed effect on the bottom. I was worried that this top would make me look pregnant, and while it does have some volume to it (more noticeable from the side) I think it flows enough that it will stay flattering especially with a jacket or cardi. I personally found it to be a bit sheer, but nothing a sweet bralette or tank can't fix."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for FP ONE Urbanized Tuxedo Top
Name:
Location:glendale,ca
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
BABY DOLL DRESS!
1.17.2013
"This dress is so cute on! It reminds me of one of my dresses when I was a child, very vintage! I love the color dye (ombre) effect on the bottom hem of this dress. It's pretty accurate as pictured on the model as it is in person. Good choice FP!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for FP ONE Urbanized Tuxedo Top
Name:
Location:Southern California
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Adorable
1.16.2013
"I was hesitant to spend this much on a shirt, but splurged. I love it. It is super fun and flattering. I purchased my usual medium and it fits perfectly. I agree with a previous reviewer that this shirt is somewhere in between the two photograph shoots in terms of color. Happy customer."
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for FP ONE Urbanized Tuxedo Top
Name:
Location:California
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Didn't Work for Me
1.13.2013
"I jumped the gun on this one, ordering it before the modeling pics came out. As soon as I pulled it out of the package, I knew I wouldn't like it. It's woven and the style is frumpy & unflattering on my 5'4" frame. The bottom hem makes it almost feel like a dress. Oddly, this looks better when I wear a unfastened jacket over it.
What bothers me the most is that I don't think the quality of this top justifies the price. The fabric feels pretty flimsy. I think this top will work for other people though."
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for FP ONE Urbanized Tuxedo Top
Name:
Location:Tahoe
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Love his top
1.12.2013
"I'm writing this review for second time. So in point form how much I love this top. I ordered the s. my measurements are 36" 29" 36". The small was perfect. I love this top because it is cool and sexy looking without even trying. Can't wait to wear it in Hawaii. The color is more true on the standing model rather than the bike model . A super cute top."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for FP ONE Urbanized Tuxedo Top
Name:
Location:Arctic Tundra
age:over 45
body type:petite
Urban Love
1.12.2013
"This top truly represents FP's special attention to details. The beautifully printed fabric is lightweight, and the design is flowy without being overwhelming. The pintucking is beautiful on the upper bodice and the tiny crochet trim is perfection. The blue color way is between the catalog shot and the studio shots, not quite a navy blue and not a bright blue either. The bottom tier has a dip dyed effect but it is printed. The single button cuff is different as you can fold the cuff back when it is buttoned. The sleeves are wide enough to roll or fold up without being too tight. The front is slightly shorter than the back.
If you are looking at an XSmall, here are the measurements of the one I received:
length front from top of buttoned neck: 27"
length back from top of collar: 30"
bust all around: 38"
sleeve length: 26"
"
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large