Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Head Over Heels Denim Jacket

Pieced-together long distressed denim jacket with different tones of denim and tan pieces. To front hip pockets. Button opening at the front. Oversized collar in front. Tall slit at bottom back. A bohemian city girl wonder! *By Artisan De Luxe + Free People **Special Note: It is recommended that the customer size down one size, since this item seems to be running small.
overall average rating:
3.067 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Customer Reviews for Head Over Heels Denim Jacket
Review 1 for Head Over Heels Denim Jacket
Name:
Location:Boston
age:over 45
body type:petite
Odd sizing, but I love it!
7.2.2013
"This coat really is oddly made from one size to another. the medium is roomier in the body, but the shoulders and the arms fit the same as a small. I had purchased a medium and returned it even though I loved the coat. it just felt so weird with the small arms and wider body. I just recently found a Small in the store in the mall. It fits pretty well. A bit tight across the back but the rest fits great. The small and x-small seemed to be in proportion, but the larger the coat goes the weirder it seems to fit . In my experience anyways . The coat is very unique, vintage, and very cool. I Just love it!!!!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Head Over Heels Denim Jacket
Name:
Location:Santa Barbara, California
age:36-40
body type:petite
It was HUGE!
6.18.2013
"After read all the reviews I ordered a L, I'm a S sometimes a M for a good loose fit for FP. So I thought that I needed a L, but it was HUGE like a tent (not only body fit but also the length). I'm not a tall person (5'2") but usually I can fit in most coats quite well with taking in length. but this was different, it made me looked like a kid wear her father's coat. the waist line hits almost my hip line. I returned it. Although loved colors and style,"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Head Over Heels Denim Jacket
Name:
Location:San Francisco Bay Area
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
Nice Jacket but, does run small
6.10.2013
"My order arrived today and after reading the reviews I was a little nervous. It is a fantastic jacket but, beware it does run small. I would normally wear a Medium but, ordered a Large after reading reviews. Thanks goodness I did! The Large is a tad bit snug but doable....... My normal size, Medium, would have never worked and I would have been really disappointed!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Head Over Heels Denim Jacket
Name:
Location:anna
age:26-30
body type:athletic
disappointed because of the size!
5.27.2013
"tell me why these dimensions! I ordered M, oreintiruyas your measurements are written to s,
it's a very small coat, arms 13 inches, sleeves 23 inches, and it is indicated M!
"
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb5.29.2013
We're sorry this didn't work out for you. We'll be in touch! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Head Over Heels Denim Jacket
Name:
Location:Boston, MA
age:36-40
body type:petite
Take a Chance!
5.25.2013
"Like the other reviewers, I ordered a med instead of my usual xs --it was huge! But I'm giving it 4 stars because it's a wonderful trench. I'm going to order my normal size and see how it fits. Fingers crossed..."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Head Over Heels Denim Jacket
Name:
Location:il
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
seems true to size
5.21.2013
"I'm always a size small on fp, but this time due to previous reviews I got such a scare and in the last minute ordered a large.
big mistake!!! I could live in this jacket, it is as big as a house. I'm going to have to spend time and money on having it tailored and no way will it ever look as good as an original size small. could have gone with my usuall size. truely disapointed.... other than that the jacket is gorgeous!! mine even has the tan patches...
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Head Over Heels Denim Jacket
Name:
Location:Australia
age:26-30
body type:athletic
I'm in love with my denim Jacket!!
4.23.2013
"This jacket is just awesome! A big thank you to the previous reviewers, as I had size XS in my cart (my usual size always) and before buying it changed it to a large!! It felt so strange buying a large- I have only xs in my wardrobe! So it arrived today, and I just absolutley love it! I must say mine looks very similar to the picture, a nice variation of light and dark denim pieces. The arms are fitted, but I can get a sweater underneath, but I definitely wouldn't have wanted a size smaller. The sizing error is defiantly more in the arms, the body of the jacket is still small, but if it wasn't for the arms I could have gone down one size. If you are bigger than a XS normally, I would definitely not recommended this jacket, but if you are an XS like me, order the large and you will love it. Such a fun piece, goes with everything. I feel instantly cool in it. Just beautiful. I agree with other reviewers to correct the sizing and maybe add the tan patches like catalog pic, and remake this coat. It's such a great coat, and sorry to the girls who normally order a large and don't fit the coat. Bring back this coat with correct sizing so other people can enjoy it as much as me! In love with my denim coat!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Head Over Heels Denim Jacket
Name:
Location:south america
age:41-45
body type:petite
just lucky
4.7.2013
"After reading all the reviews i decided to sized up I usually wear a XS or S I ordered a medium and I was lucky. It doesn't have many patches in different tones but i really love it I know i will receive lots of compliments about this jacket. My recommendation: just size up !!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Head Over Heels Denim Jacket
Name:
Location:UK
age:41-45
body type:slender
Lucky!
3.27.2013
"Having read all the reviews here, after I'd ordered it, I was assuming I would have to send it right back...
I couldn't be more pleased! I am 5'4'' and always wear XS or size 0. I ordered the Xs small and I love how it fits. I guess I'm the lucky gal here! Sure it definitely runs small but I really wanted something fitted and I find it really flattering!
The denim is mainly dark, very retro very different from the images but I think that makes it totally unique. I can imagine wearing this a lot. Thank you FP!
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Head Over Heels Denim Jacket
Name:
Location:Phoenix, AZ
age:41-45
body type:slender
Completely off
3.4.2013
"Not only the color way is totally different to what its shown in the pictures, but the sizing is way small. I always wear size xs in free people, but this one there is no way i can even button the front. I can't imagine who could wear this thing, maybe a 9 year old girl that is really skinny.
So i am not going to keep trying with this, after waiting for so long, and then tremendous disappointment.... Not worth waiting for another month to wear a coat when?????.... In the summer?
Way too bad from free people to have done this with this coat.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Head Over Heels Denim Jacket
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Utterly Disappointing.
3.1.2013
"I waited so long for this and was so excited when it came in the mail today. The jacket has no tan patches as it does in the picture. Not one. It's all varying shades of blue. And no way is it sized correctly. I sized up so I could wear a sweater under it. It's so tight, I can't even wear a t-shirt under it. My sister is 5'6" 108 and the large was snug on her. It really feels like the manufacturer made a mistake. If not, then change the picture and correct the sizing. It is extremely misleading. This is going back with much regret. Get it together FP."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Head Over Heels Denim Jacket
Name:
Location:Northern Ca
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Head over heels denim
2.28.2013
"I was so excited to find a denim coat, but so disappointed the sizing was so off. I usually wear a large but the sizing was completely off could not even get my arm into it . So disappointed so back it went yesterday !!!"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Head Over Heels Denim Jacket
Name:
Location:Belleville, MI
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
Nothing Like the Picture Patches
2.26.2013
"Needless to say, mine is already on it's way back.
Two major things you need to know about this jacket before ordering:
1) The patches are nothing like in the photo. Yes there was patchwork, BUT every section was exactly the SAME colour. Very disappointing. I really liked the look of the difference from dark denim to tan denim, that is shown in the picture, but mine was entirely the colour of the collar.
2) I am 5'8" and about 110 lbs and I normally order the small but ordered the medium as I would like to be able to wear something under it. The medium was very snug on me with a lightweight sweater underneath.
In conclusion, overpriced, not as pictured and order 2 sizes larger than you would normally order. The style is correct as far as shaping and length."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Head Over Heels Denim Jacket
Name:
Location:Manhattan Beach
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Bummer
2.25.2013
"Just received it in the mail and it is supper small! It also does not have even one piece of tan denim in it. Still, it is an amazing coat so I am going to try to get it in a bigger size. Wish me luck!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Head Over Heels Denim Jacket
Name:
Location:Sydney Australia
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
not as per the picture
2.21.2013
"Before ordering the medium I asked for more details regarding the exact measurements of the jacket. All I got was "its size 8-10". So I ordered the medium and it was too small. But that really isn't my issue. The issue was that the jacket colouring wasn't the same as the picture on the web site. It was much darker and the denim wasn't as faded and washed out. I didn't like the combinations of denim at all. It should look like the picture - or perhaps a slight variation on it. I've returned it for a larger size and will try again. Fingers crossed I get one that looks like the picture. if not I'll be returning that and giving up!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb2.27.2013
So sorry that you were unhappy with what you received - the jacket will have different tones of denim and tan patches & some of these patches may be darker. That just makes each one even more unique! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large