Product Reviews

Stella Maxi Dress

Black sheer mesh maxi dress with floral embroidered detailing all over. Sleeveless. Upper part is lined. Bottom part is fully sheer with heavier embroidery around bottom. Dramatic and romantic at the same time. *By Candela *Gabriela "Gabi" Perezutti may live in New York City now, but her identity lies deep in Uruguay, her childhood home. Gabi's style incorporates traditional equestrian and gaucho influences, but blends in the edgier elements of NYC. Candela has evolved into a unique woman's ready-to-wear line and footwear collection ripe with gaucho sway and signs of modern urban life.
overall average rating:
3.539 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Stella Maxi Dress
Review 1 for Stella Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Stunningly beautiful
1.25.2014
"I read the reviews that said this ran large, so I thought it might fit me. I'm a size 16-18 in most clothes, and sadly this was too tight on me. I see what the other reviewers mean about the slip - it is VERY short. But the dress is gorgeous! So beautiful, I wish that it had fit.
I suspect that if someone is busty the top of the dress will fit fine. If you're a size 14 this dress will look great on you!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Stella Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Huntsville, AL
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Liked but didn't Love
12.31.2013
"This dress was cute on, but the fit was a little awkward. The arm holes were a little large and the top half would work if I had a bigger bust. I measure a 36B-28-38 so I'm very curvy. The hem is definitely beautiful and was the reason for the purchase but my bottom is peeking out as the slip inside the dress does not cover it much. I think it would be amazing if it had a more tailored fit with less stretch. I love having things altered to fit my body, but lace is an exception. I will have to return this as I just didn't feel comfortable seeing my chest through the arm holes and my bottom peeking out. I wish I could keep it. :|"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Stella Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:vancouver
age:26-30
body type:curvy
love love love it
7.26.2013
"I adore this dress... I had been very on the fence as I am 12-14 D38 and hippy as well as 5'9 just about 5'10 I love it though... its soft and you can feel the value.
However on me unlike many this dress is short. The sheer layer does hit the ground brushing perfectly, but the top lace layer hardly covers my bum and the under slip does not ...this on it own is does not make it unwearable I will need another slip it will habe to go past the lace overlay but I don't feel it will take away from the look.
One other complaint is that for 300 I would expect no stray threads there are quiet a few but again I love it so much I don't care ...
I would say if you keep coming back to this dress eyeing it get it you will love it I love it...
One more side note it not bright white like shown on this page it is a true ivory if you happened to be curious. I was happily surpised by this as it photos so brighr white I like the ivory better."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Stella Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:NYC
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Huge but beautiful
6.5.2013
"On an XS I had to take the top in by 2.5 inches on each side (I'm 115lbs). It's long -- hits the ground even with 4 inch heels (I'm 5ft5).
That said, I wore this as my beach wedding dress and it was stunning. I love it. The skirt is really short but it was perfect for my wedding"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Stella Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:South Carolina
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Wedding Dress
5.18.2013
"I bought this as a wedding dress option but did not wear it. I had ordered an XS but still very large around arm holes/ waist.
Otherwise, a stunning dress.
It was shipped rolled up in paper and in a plastic bag. (No box) For the price, I would improve the packaging for sure!
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Stella Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:canada
age:14-20
body type:curvy
fits awesome!
3.21.2013
"everyones reviews got me scared to get the dress mostly because of all the sizing issue. but when i got the dress i rushed to try it and it fit me amazing well. im 5 4 and veryyyy cruvy, and im 130 pounds we small boobs and got a small. i was scared it was going to be way to long and boxy on the chest. but the top fits amazing. my cruves look great and its just touches the floor. i will get it make it a tat shorter, but other than that it loos amazing. im very happy yo wear this to my grad!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Stella Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:NC, USA
age:21-25
body type:slender
Very Disappointed!
3.13.2013
"I was so disappointed in the dress! I ordered a small, which fit me perfect below the waist but it was huge in the chest and shoulders. The dress sticks out terribly in the armpit area! Not flattering at all. I will be returning this dress asap!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb3.13.2013
So sorry that this didn't work out for you. We will be in touch to offer assistance. xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Stella Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Sonoma, CA
age:21-25
body type:petite
disappointed
3.11.2013
"This dress is HUGE. I am 5''2, 115 lb. I bought an XS and I had anticipated the dress being a bit long so that wasn't an issue. The top portion of the dress is INCREDIBLY awkward. I took a picture of how the portion below the underarms hangs loosely off to the side (it did this on BOTH sides of the dress). For being such a small person I have a pretty large chest (34DD) but even that didn't stop the dress from hanging awkwardly off to the sides. I looked like a box from the waist up- it was awful ! The dress is beautiful and I wish the sizing wasn't so completely off. I will be returning the dress =/ incredibly sad about it."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb3.13.2013
So sorry that this didn't work out for you. We will be in touch to provide further assistance. xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 9 for Stella Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:San Diego CA
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Gorgeous but it didn't fit me right
12.12.2012
"I love the lace overlay and the dress is beautiful. The dress is loooong, which is great for me, I'm 5'10". However, the under-layer barely covered my butt properly, at least not enough to feel comfortable. And I don't have a huge butt. I tried the small and the rest of the dress (upper portion) was also too loose. An XS surely wouldn't have covered butt at all but would have fit perfectly in the bust/arm area. So 3 stars only because of the odd fit. Alas, I loved this dress but couldn't buy it."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Stella Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:UK
age:36-40
body type:slender
Very disappointed!
11.16.2012
"I love most of FP and couldn't wait for this beauty to arrive.
How disappointed I was when it finally did.I ordered the black XS, it was not only huge but very unflattering.The lycra dress part is bulky and badly shaped and the lace overlay is wayyyyyyyyy too long.I am 5'4'' and even with heels on, I would have had to shorten it by at least 3 inches.The lace is the only nice part of the dress,the rest of it looks cheap and badly made.I woudn't even buy it in the sale.Returned!
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Stella Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:LA
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
amaze.
10.17.2012
"I recently picked up this dress after it was returned in the store and fell in love. I bought the small black-- it fits perfectly except for one thing.. it's so long! I am 5'10" and generally have to order jeans with a long inseam, and have never had a problem with things being long before, but this dress touched the floor even with 5 inch heels on! It's gorgeous, though, so I plan on keeping it and just pinning the lace where it attaches to the bodice if I want to wear flats or shorter heeled boots. As someone mentioned before, the bodice part is a tiny bit short in the back, but that is easily fixed with a seamless slip/romper. Love, love, love this beautiful dress!!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 12 for Stella Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Alabama
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Beautiful piece!
10.16.2012
"I love this dress, but it does run a bit large. I am 5'5" 120 and typically wear a S, but the small was very loose around my midsection. I had to order the XS and am hoping that it fits well....the small was a little too long, but did not experience as much of a problem as the first reveiwer did with the length of the slip in the back-it's short, but do-able. So cute with boots, great quality and so unique!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Stella Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:saint louis
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
too short in back!
10.2.2012
"i love this dress! i love everything about it. i ordered it in ivory for my high school reunion, but was not able to keep it because it was too short in the back. the description said that it was "mid thigh". no way. in the front is was short, but i was okay with that. but the back was about an inch below my bottom. i believe that items need to be cut longer in the back when they are that short. i am about 5'9", 120 lbs with a smallish caboose. i ordered a small and the top was a little too loose but the length of the maxi was perfect. i am also all legs (36" inseam) so not sure who could wear the dress without its length in back being an issue. it is a shame though because it is so very unique."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large