Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

FP ONE Smiles Returning Tube Dress

Soft cotton dress with semi-sheer elasticized ribbed top. Cinched bust with drawstring for bow. Adjustable knotted spaghetti straps. Layered cotton and gauze skirt with eyelets. *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 31" Bust: 40" at full stretch Please Note: The lining of the midnight version of this dress differs in appearance from what is pictured in the catalog. Please refer to our model shots for the actual color.
overall average rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Customer Reviews for FP ONE Smiles Returning Tube Dress
Review 1 for FP ONE Smiles Returning Tube Dress
Name:
Location:Brooklyn, NY
age:14-20
body type:petite
Wonderfully Flowy
1.22.2012
" Well, I got this dress as a birthday present and I totally loved it. The problem is that I'm about 5'2" and they were out of XS and S sizes, so I got it in M. This is fine, because the elastic is so stretchy and fit nicely over my bust (considering I'm not that big in that area.) However, the length of the dress was rather long. On the model it looks as if it should end right above the back of the knees, but on me it ended mid-calf. This isn't a huge problem because the dress is so nice and I like my dresses to be a bit more modest. I just expected it to be shorter than when I put it on. The fabric is wonderful and so soft. It flows nicely, and although it doesn't give me a figure, I don't exactly get lost in all the layers of fabric. I like how the hem of the dress is so asymmetrical and has that lacy design on the bottom. It's beautiful and I couldn't have asked for a better dress. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 2 for FP ONE Smiles Returning Tube Dress
Name:
Location:rolling hills meets prairie
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Layers that lay
1.17.2012
" The smocked top is not as tight as some tube tops, so I should have sized down to a small. The material is like a very soft t-shirt. Sometimes dresses like this cause bulk on the hips, but the dress actually lays nice due to the soft material. The dress can also be worn as a skirt. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 3 for FP ONE Smiles Returning Tube Dress
Name:
Location:ST.AUGUSTINE
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
perfect summer dress for summer
11.18.2011
" THIS dress is truly comfortable , SOFT like my Cat , practical .Under the dress I wear white shorts because it is sheer... and ready to go . We got now Nov in FL and I am still wearing it with boots and sweater if needed. Looks great ! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP ONE Smiles Returning Tube Dress
Name:
Location:york pa
age:21-25
body type:slender
much too long
11.16.2011
" i bought this on sale in the color midnight. the color was beautiful. length however was an issue. i am 5'6 and 125lbs. i bought a small. the dress fell well past my knees. much longer than in the model photos. sent the dress back as i know i will never wear it. disappointed in the length though the make and style of the dress appeared to be satisfactory. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for FP ONE Smiles Returning Tube Dress
Name:
Location:South Carolina
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Soft and flowy
11.15.2011
" I bought this last summer and wore it constantly. After playing around a bit with different sweater and tight combinations, I've been able to transition it to fall. This is super girly and feels like you're wearing your favorite p.j.'s. I have the ivory. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP ONE Smiles Returning Tube Dress
Name:
Location:SF
age:21-25
body type:petite
Meh
9.17.2011
" I wanted to love this dress. There is just way too much fabric involved and I'm too petite to pull it off. Sucks for me because the dress is so soft and comfortable. I know this dress will look cute on other girls, but it's not for me. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP ONE Smiles Returning Tube Dress
Name:
Location:Manila, Philippines
age:21-25
body type:slender
HAPPY :)
9.2.2011
" This was my first online purchase from Free People and I'd have to say I am happy with what I got. The fabric is very soft and comfortable though the color isn't as vibrant as I thought it would be but it's okay. :) "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP ONE Smiles Returning Tube Dress
Name:
Location:Australia
age:36-40
body type:athletic
has potential, but not flattering
8.19.2011
" The fabric in this dress is so soft, and I love the concept of it - it certainly has potential, but there's so much fabric and layers at the front that on a side on view I looked much wider than what I am, in fact I looked pregnant (so it could be a good maternity dress, lol). So it was very comfortable to wear but if you're looking for a dress that flatters your figure, this is not it. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for FP ONE Smiles Returning Tube Dress
Name:
Location:beach
age:36-40
body type:petite
2 for 1
8.9.2011
" I totally love love this tube dress; the fabric is so flirty & soft. This style is so awesome that it can be used as a dress or a long skirt (just pull the elastic top down to the waist & tuck the straps to the inside. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for FP ONE Smiles Returning Tube Dress
Name:
Location:Southern California
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Flowy!
8.4.2011
" This dress is very comfortable! I love it. It's pretty casual, but still nice. The layers move nicely, and flows well even in a small breeze. I ordered the midnight color and I didn't find it see through. The color was great too. Maybe a little lighter than pictured. I didn't feel like I looked pregnant in it, nor felt like I was being swallowed in fabric. Probably wouldn't recommend it for someone who has wide hips. After playing with the layers a little, it fits well. I guess I didn't realize the straps were adjustable or versatile. I liked wearing them as a spaghetti strap. You could wear it strapless, but you'd need to get a smaller size because the top is pretty relaxed. It's a fun dress overall. I ordered an XS and I'm a 34 B bust, 27 waist, 29 hips, 120 lbs and 5'3. The dress hit me about at my knees. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 11 for FP ONE Smiles Returning Tube Dress
Name:
Location:Hawaii/Austin
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Great :)
8.1.2011
" This dress caught my eye, so I bought a S, midnight color, at the store. I've had it for a few months and love wearing it! After tying the top tighter, it looked great! I've gotten compliments on multiple occasions. It can be used for everyday wear, to a night out, to weddings, etc. The layers are great and aren't too heavy. Very cute! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for FP ONE Smiles Returning Tube Dress
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:14-20
body type:pear shaped
Beautiful and whimsical!
7.10.2011
" I adore this dress. It is a fantastic length and I love the asymmetry and the different fabrics. It is even more beautiful in real life and it will make you feel like a fairy princess. The only possible complaint I have is that there is something kind of funky going on in the breast-area that isn't super flattering. However, the amazing-ness of the rest of the design more than makes up for it. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for FP ONE Smiles Returning Tube Dress
Name:
Location:SF
age:26-30
body type:petite
Very Pixie Princess Like
7.8.2011
" i freaking love this dress. it's so pretty and romantic. love the different layers on the bottom of this dress. i'm about 5'2 and weight 95lbs-- the xs fits me great! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 14 for FP ONE Smiles Returning Tube Dress
Name:
Location:ct
age:21-25
body type:petite
Not a favorite
7.2.2011
" Tried this in an XS. It stretched nice over my 34D bust but all the material around the belly made my 25" waist lost in pounds of fabric. Length worked and I am 5'3 but there was just too much material over all. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 15 for FP ONE Smiles Returning Tube Dress
Name:
Location:San Ramon, CA
age:41-45
body type:petite
Love this dress - so versatile!
6.29.2011
" Love this dress! I am tiny 5' 1, 100 lbs.but busty and it fits beautifully. Very comfortable and gorgeous layers on the bottom. My favorite thing about the dress is its versatility. I have the white and it looks great alone- no slip necessary. Looks awesome layered with blouses and sweaters- looks like beautiful skirt. Highly recommend! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for FP ONE Smiles Returning Tube Dress
Name:
Location:San Antonio
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Horrible
6.23.2011
" This dress is not what I expected. Sure the material is soft and all but WOW did they bulk it up in the front. I felt like a comforter walking in it. Too much fabric for me, I looked pregnant and was not very flattering. Definately not worth 100$. I would probably pay 25$ for it, if that.
Sorry not for me
"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for FP ONE Smiles Returning Tube Dress
Name:
Location:virginia
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Tube Dress
6.8.2011
" Its an adorable dress, the only thing is, is that i am a rather short person so it is long in the back, but i just had a taylor trim it so it looks better, other then that its great! BUT A PAIN TO IRON!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for FP ONE Smiles Returning Tube Dress
Name:
Location:Florida
age:36-40
body type:curvy
gorgeous dress
6.8.2011
" I have gotten so many compliments on this dress. It flows so nicely, and is light as air. It's the perfect summer dress. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for FP ONE Smiles Returning Tube Dress
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:14-20
body type:curvy
Swimming
6.6.2011
" I saw this dress online and loved it. I thought it was out of stock but went to my local FP store and they had it. I tried it on M which I always always am and I was swimming in it! There was so much fabric in the skirt it made me look all lumpy... and sort of like a pear. Downsize for sure on this one. Also, if you have hips (like I do) I reccomend trying it on before purchasing, cause it can accent voluptuous figures a bit too much. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for FP ONE Smiles Returning Tube Dress
Name:
Location:Jacksonville, fl
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Are the models malnourished?
4.28.2011
" The models make everything look so.. perfect. One thing i will say about this dress is that it looks as good on the stick models as it does on me... a thick hispanic. I'm 5'6, and a muscular 150 and even though my body type doesn't sound dainty enough to wear these ruffles, i wear it as though it was specifically made for me. "
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>