Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Cabbage Rose Dress

pbPlease Note If in between sizes it is recommended to size up.bppPrinted woven mini dress with rouched empire waist that is smocked on the back. Sheer mesh straps and button and loop placket on the neckline. Pleated bottom with ruffled tulle hemline. Fully lined and hidden side zip.pp 100 Cotton Sateen br Machine Wash br Imported ppMeasurements for Size Medium br Length 32 18 br Chest 34p
overall average rating:
4.775 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Customer Reviews for Cabbage Rose Dress
Review 1 for Cabbage Rose Dress
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:36-40
body type:slender
this dress is FREAKING amazing.
1.3.2010
" i'm 38 and a mama of 3 kids.
i'm 5'5 1/2", don't know how much i weigh but i'm small.
this dress is AWESOME.
awesome.
it's short but it still looks fly, not at all like i'm trying to look younger than i am.
i rock it with frye engineer boots or my black army boots and a cardigan
and
it's a m a z i n g.
so fly.
i've also layered a sheer linen deep v-neck sweater over it with a belt
which also rocked.
and
i've rocked it with tights and without, depending on the setting.
YAY FP!
you rock!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Cabbage Rose Dress
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
SOOOOOO Adorable!
1.1.2010
" I gushed over this dress for months before I was able to spot it in a store to try on. I wanted to try it on because of the sizing issues. I'm somewhere in the 4/6 range, and purchase more 6s than 4s. No way a 6 would have fit me. I tried on an 8, that was a tight squeeze, a 10 would have been the best fit. The dress is that tight in the chest area. I went on and purchased the 8 simply because since I've started running regularly I've been losing weight slimming down, so this should fit well eventually... but I'd size up two sizes in general to get a good fit. If you are an A cup, you might be okay to only size up one size. Any larger than that and 2 sizes up really is necessary. Otherwise the dress is every bit as gorgeous in person as it is in the pictures. The fit - once you size up - is exactly as it is on the model. (Short!) The fabric is exactly as pictured... This dress is STUNNING! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Cabbage Rose Dress
Name:
Location:United States
age:14-20
body type:petite
love this dress
12.14.2009
" I purchased this dress at a discount retail store after looking at it online and at the store. I got a size 10, when I am usually a size 2 or 4. The funny thing was that the dress fit, except for the straps.
The ruffles at the bottom aren't itchy, and the coloring online is true to the coloring of the dress in person.
The one slight problem about this dress is that the vneck is a little low cut. I will probably need to wear a black cami underneath it. But other then that, i love this dress and i am so excited to wear it!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Cabbage Rose Dress
Name:
Location:nyc
age:14-20
body type:petite
buy it.
11.25.2009
" it is difficult for me to find perfect fitting dresses. I am short and thin, but larger chested so its tough to find the right dress... this dress was perfect length, perfect fit in the chest, BEAUTIFUL in the waist. The rouging makes the fit so wonderfully perfect. I highly recommend getting the dress. It is unique and yet hold a timeless silhouette. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Cabbage Rose Dress
Name:
Location:New Orleans
age:21-25
body type:petite
best dress ever
11.14.2009
" Okay so I decided to make this purchase after reading the numerous reviews and decided that I must have it. I ordered a size 0 (I'm 5'2" and 96 lbs) and it fits PERFECT. The fabric truly is beautiful and feels nice. The length is perfect on me, not too short or too long. I can honestly say that this is one of the best dresses I have bought, and believe me I have bought tons of dresses. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Cabbage Rose Dress
Name:
Location:NJ
age:14-20
body type:petite
okay..
10.5.2009
" i fell in love with this dress when i saw it on the website. reading the reviews, they all said to size up but not i am so glad i didnt order it because i would have gotten a size 2. i am petiete, 5'2 and 95 pounds. when i saw it in the store in a size 2 and tried it on it fit good in general everywhere except for the top. the straps were huge and because of that, it was too loose in my 32A bust. i then tried it on in a size 0 and once again, it fit perfect everywhere, but the straps were still too big. i decided against buying this dress because i wouldnt have had enough time to get the straps made smaller for what i wanted to wear it to. beautiful dress, just wish it fit right. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Cabbage Rose Dress
Name:
Location:Indiana
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Such a flattering dress
10.5.2009
" This is such a great dress! I am normally a medium and a 36B and I got the 10 and it worked well. I'm planning on wearing it with the scandalous lace layering top underneath with black tights and over the knee boots. The pattern is very unique and pops against the black fabric. It bells out around the hips which accentuates the waist in a good way! Great great buy! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Cabbage Rose Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:14-20
body type:slender
A+++++++++
10.1.2009
" Ok, I know that in one of my previous reviews, I awarded the decoration of my New Favourite Dress to another FP contender. But I am going to have to revise any previous claims, because THIS is surely my New Favourite Dress. It is gorgeous!! And I am so glad I ordered my larger FP dress size — I'm between a 2-4. — because it fits perfectly; it's short, but not even close to too short, and the bust is plenty accommodating for my chest (32D). I was afraid the style would not be flattering, but it actually skims very neatly over the hips, and the tight waist actually makes the midsection look even smaller than it is. Also to note: the skirt is not as stiff as I expected; in fact, it's bouncy and adorable. I don't want to take it off! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Cabbage Rose Dress
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
gorgeous <3
10.1.2009
" i got this dress 2 sizes bigger, and the bust and waist just fit! the print is gorgeous and the poofy tutu skirt is so much fun! since the top is fitted, the dress is very flattering. it's a little short but not scandalously short. very flirty! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Cabbage Rose Dress
Name:
Location:Melbourne, Australia
age:31-35
body type:petite
Love It !!
9.30.2009
" Just purchased.. a little worried about the fit as i had it shipped to Australia but it fit like a glove. I bought it in a size 0 and think it fits pretty much true to size, maybe a little more fitted than other size 0's. Fabric is beautiful ! and my husband was blown away when i put it on, i'm very happy. So don't think just buy !!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Cabbage Rose Dress
Name:
Location:Vancouver, Canada
age:26-30
body type:slender
Perfect!
9.28.2009
" After reading some reviews I was afraid that this dress would be too short but I got mine in the mail today and it's definitely not overly short, I'm 5'6 and the dress hits me exactly as it does on the model. It's a short dress but it's definitely not too short. It's nicely fitted, and the detailing of the dress is super cute! I can't wait to wear it! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Cabbage Rose Dress
Name:
Location:Michigan
age:21-25
body type:petite
LOVE this dress
9.26.2009
" It was my birthday present...and I can't wait to wear it! It's super flattery, especially on a petite frame because it really highlights your figure. It's short, but great for short girls like me because it shows enough leg to be sexy and not dowdy. The straps fit me a teeeny bit loose, but not enough for me to not buy it :) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Cabbage Rose Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:14-20
body type:athletic
I Heart This Dress
9.21.2009
" I ordered this dress a size up, but the chest part/ mid-rib-cage part is still in between being "snug" and "a little tight." Overall, I do love it. Anyone have any recommendations as to how to wear this dress at night, when the weather gets chilly? "
Response from Free People:By MeganDirect9.23.2009
Hi, we styled this dress with the Bronte Lace Top in black in our August catalog, or maybe the Charmed Cotton Jacket if you want to cover up!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Cabbage Rose Dress
Name:
Location:St. Louis
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Favorite autumn dress
9.17.2009
" The silhouette of this dress is amazing. It creates curves in the right places and is ultra-flattering. I have a 36" bust and a 10 fit perfectly. I can't wait for cooler weather in my city to pair this frock with distressed leather boots! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Cabbage Rose Dress
Name:
Location:Arlington, VA
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Just gorgeous!
9.15.2009
" If you aren't normally daring, go for it and order this dress; it's gorgeous! It is rather short, but not inappropriately so. I took the suggestions of others and ordered this dress one size up and it fits perfectly. I really think the silhouette and tulle make it a flattering piece for everyone. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Cabbage Rose Dress
Name:
Location:los angeles, california
age:21-25
body type:petite
had to have it
9.9.2009
" i was a little iffy on this dress, but once i tried it on, i just had to have it. it's definitely a fun little number. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Cabbage Rose Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:14-20
body type:athletic
love
9.6.2009
" I love this dress, but it does run quite small. I am a small/extra small in free people clothing and ended up with a size 8 dress. the size 6 fit alright minus the fact that my bum was hanging out. Definitly go 1 to 2 size bigger. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Cabbage Rose Dress
Name:
Location:Maryland
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Stunning
9.6.2009
" This is such a beautiful, unique dress. The print and lace work together wonderfully.
I'm a size 8 and it fit me perfectly! It's a little on the short side but the tulle keeps it even. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Cabbage Rose Dress
Name:
Location:Springfield, VA
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Beautiful Fit
8.30.2009
" I saw this dress in the store and had been obsessing over it ever since until i finally bought it! It fit amazingly well and its just a cute flirty dress that you can dress up or down. The length was just about right for me, and it was very flattering. It even looked great of my mom. im planning on wearing it with some booties which looks great. So if anyone has any doubts on if they should or shouldnt buy the dress DONT! it is totally worth every penny. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 20 for Cabbage Rose Dress
Name:
Location:Washington, DC
age:14-20
body type:slender
So cute...
8.30.2009
" I absolutely LOVE this dress! The fabric is soft but strong, and the print is absolutely beautiful. The colors are gorgeous, and they look the same as in the pictures. I'm 5'8", and I bought a 4 to make sure the rib cage/length were okay.... however, the dress is still a little too short for me to wear without spandex. I couldn't bend over without my spandex! It would probably be fine on a shorter person. But the dress is so beautiful in every other way I could never send it back. Lovely! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1 2 next>>