Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Write About Love Dress

Sheer chiffon long-sleeved dress with embroidered detailing. Upper portion and sleeves are dotted mesh. High neckline. Lined.
overall average rating:
4.267 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Write About Love Dress
Review 1 for Write About Love Dress
Name:
Location:melbounre
age:26-30
body type:petite
bit disappointed
10.28.2014
"It looks amazing online, but when I wear it, it's loose and long even with XS..."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Write About Love Dress
Name:
Location:New York, NY, USA
age:21-25
body type:slender
Please RESTOCK! ♥
9.28.2014
"I got this dress for my sister in ivory and she loves it. It looks effortlessly beautiful. It is a delicate dress, but the quality is good if you consciously try to take care of it. I was just about to buy it in black for myself but the XS are all gone. PLEASE FP, bring back the black in the smaller sizes!!! :("
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Write About Love Dress
Name:
Location:Prague
age:41-45
body type:petite
FAIRY TAIL
9.2.2014
"This is a beautiful dress. Very comfortably and very pleasant fabric.
I bought in ivory colour. The size a little bit larger. I love the over-sized look, it´s excellent style.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Write About Love Dress
Name:
Location:Geneva, Switzerland
age:36-40
body type:petite
Beautiful dress
12.18.2013
"First of all I would like to state that I am very impressed with efficient delivery of the dress! I love the dress, it is so elegant and beautiful. It is exactly the same as on the picture. I am very glad I ordered size XS (I am normally S). It sits perfectly on me! The quality is perfect and I am very happy that I ordered it. The only thing I did not like is I had to pay for the VAT :-( I gave it 5 stars as it truly deserves it, I liked everything about it! Thanks a lot for the quick delivery. I might post the picture later :-)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Write About Love Dress
Name:
Location:New York City
age:14-20
body type:slender
in love with this beauty
12.12.2013
"I'm 5'5 and 116lbs and I got the xs and it fits perfectly, even a little looser than I expected. It's such a beautiful dress, even though I prefer the black I got the white because I heard it was bad luck to wear black on new years and I bought this dress for NYE. It kind of reminds me of a wedding dress but I still love it and am definitely keeping it. The lace sleeves are such a great touch to the dress and are looser than I read in other reviews which is a good thing since tight sleeves make it impossible to raise your arms. This dress is perfect for a holiday party or any fancy occasion, definitely will be purchasing it in black."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Write About Love Dress
Name:
Location:NYC
age:31-35
body type:slender
Modern victorian beauty
10.20.2013
"A truly special, unique statement maker. tried both the white and black. The white looked too wedding dress-ish but the black looked amazing against my olive skin. I'm a size 4 but the xs was too small in the bust (i'm 34b). got the small - perfect in bust area but too roomy in waist, so I will alter it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Write About Love Dress
Name:
Location:Germany
age:26-30
body type:athletic
cool AND cute
9.29.2013
"Another love at first sight. You put this dress on and you feel comfortable, like dancing. On a festival. Or your wedding. Or a night out with the girls. And it would work its magic everywhere. There was enough said about the ivory colour and the rather bad quality (mine had a big hole on the sleeve upon delivery, very disappointing and definitely too pricey for that) but it's just a very cool look, with heels or boots. I've bought an XS, I'm 5'7, D cup, fits perfectly. I actually wanted to wear it on my wedding day but as we're getting married in the alps in winter it's simply too cold. But I'll swap into it for the celebration so I can eat without holding my breath and dance with the dress swinging around. It's perfect."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Write About Love Dress
Name:
Location:lynnfield, ma
age:36-40
body type:slender
romantic
9.27.2013
"This dress is pretty amazing. I love the high victorian collar and the way it just drapes beautifully. The color is ivory with strong yellow undertones. I can see it being flattering on many skin types. It is not a beige ivory but a brighter ivory.
It does run large. I ordered an XS and still had to have my seamstress take it in to make it look like it does on the model (34C, 26, 33).
Also, it is extremely delicate. I ripped the sleeve on the first day of wearing. My own fault....was playing rough with my kids. You are going to have to baby this one."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Write About Love Dress
Name:
Location:LB
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
One of my favorite FP pieces
9.10.2013
"I love how sweet the detailing is on this dress. I bought it in black and I wore it to a wedding. I paired it with black cowboy boots and I can't wait to wear it again. It was extremely comfortable. I am normally an XS in FP, but I was worried about the arms, so I got a S and it fit perfectly."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Write About Love Dress
Name:
Location:Austin Texas
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
So sweet.
9.4.2013
"This dress is so dainty and sweet. The lace is beautiful. I'm busty, but it still looks good. I was worried that it wouldn't be figure flattering, but it luckily is. This is a very special dress and a must have."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Write About Love Dress
Name:
Location:california
age:21-25
body type:petite
not worth it
8.28.2013
"This dress looks beautiful but when I got it in the mail it had tears all over the sleeves. I understand mistakes happen, but this actually happens often with Free People I have to return a lot of what I order that I would otherwise keep because they send out torn and sometimes stained items. And for the price this dress is, it is not okay to send out torn items."
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb8.29.2013
Hi, We're sorry to hear this. We'll be in touch to help! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Write About Love Dress
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:21-25
body type:slender
Love this dress!
8.14.2013
"This dress is sooo cute! I got the black lace, and I was extremely pleased with the look of the dress. It fit me pretty much like it did the model. It was loose in the body, but that's how it's supposed to hang. I was right to size down though. I'm 5'7'' and 112 pounds, and I usually order small, but I ended up ordering the extra small and I'm glad I did. The lace is so intricate and such a beautiful pattern. I got compliments all day! The only reason why I gave it 4 stars was because it was a tad bit short to wear for work, and there was a tiny hole in the lace. I sewed up the hole easily and it looks fine now, but you'd think for the amount of money you're paying, you would get a perfect product. Other than that I absolutely adore the design and will wear this dress the rest of the summer with sandals and then into the winter with tights and boots!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Write About Love Dress
Name:
Location:Australia
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Love to write about this dress
7.29.2013
"It's amazing how a dress can look and fit so differently on everyone I have to say I am really really wrapped about this little piece. The fit is amazingly spot on I'd have to say even though it is quite generous in the bodice area it really is meant to be this way and it looks fan-bloody-tastic.
The hemline finishes about 20cm from my knee I'm (5ft3). The upper lace/dotted net is beautifully finished off , looks great over jeans (skinnies) with boots.It fits perfectly.
I can see why it would look frumpy but this dress does needs "height" to pull it off even though I am not overly tall it just seems to work if I have heels.(I literally wear boots all the time so it gives me the height I need.
This dress would not be suited for a big chested lass but hey each to their own what've ever style works for you go for it. The main material is nothing overly special feels more like a better quality "crinkled cheesecloth summer cotton" it is lined (its not a slip) with a nice semi thick satin fabric. I'm definitely keeping this.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
FP X Lydia Maxi Skirt
4.6 out of 5(44)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 14 for Write About Love Dress
Name:
Location:DC Metro area
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Very pleased...
7.24.2013
"I am 5'2", and a solid size 10, curvy, B-cup, etc. I bought a medium and could have probably bought a small. It does run large, but it seems like that's the nature of the dress. It's very roomy, but not appallingly so. It falls just at/above my knees, and seems slightly longer in the back.
The details are lovely. They're ivory, while the rest of the dress has more of a creamy, yellowish cast. I'm pretty sure body of the dress is crepe...it's a porous, casual kind of fabric which I couldn't discern from the photo. It's ok, but it's more boho and less elegant, up close. You may have to starch the lace at the neckline to get it to lay flat/straight.
I didn't have any issues with quality or damage or anything like that. What you see is pretty much what you get. I planned to wear this dress for my fall wedding, and will do so unless I find something I like even better.
One of the features of this dress, I think, is the short length. Unless you are very tall, it won't fall like it does on the model. Even at 5'2", I'll probably shorten the dress a bit to play up the length."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Write About Love Dress
Name:
Location:New England
age:21-25
body type:slender
Kind of frumpy, looks better online
7.16.2013
"The pros: lots and lots of beautiful embroidered details. Cons: NOT form fitting at all! The arms are fine, the material is a little thin though but the body is huge, the XS feels more like a medium. The neckline is a bit constricting, it keeps bothering me. There were some loose threads here and there, which is disappointing for a piece of this price. Also, it's not a rich black like the one pictured. Bottomline despite its flaws this dress has the potential to either look great or horrible on you, if you like it, try it, just beware that it most likely won't look as good as it does on the model."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large