Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Serenissima Dress

Strapless pleated dress with colorful embroidery on the bust and high-low hem. Waist tie in the back. *100% Polyester *Dry Clean *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 28" Bust: 29 " Waist: 28"
overall average rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Customer Reviews for Serenissima Dress
Review 1 for Serenissima Dress
Name:
Location:rolling hills meets prairie
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Ruffle flow
2.22.2012
" The size medium fits true to size. Only the black was available and I did not find it that great. The embroidery is nice, but very muted and does not look like much. The ruffles/pleats did nothing for me. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Serenissima Dress
Name:
Location:Vancouver, Canada
age:26-30
body type:slender
Favorite fp dress this season!
10.21.2011
" If you love this dress online you'll love it even more in person! After lots of deliberation between the colors I decided on the black version and it is gorgeous on!! I'm 5'6 and it hits me just like it does on the model, it isn't too short at all. The black looks so good layered too, especially for fall/winter. Love the design of it, it's definitely an instant favorite of mine, Bravo FP! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Serenissima Dress
Name:
Location:British Columbia Canada
age:over 45
body type:petite
Cute and Versatile
10.3.2011
" This dress is pretty much exactly as pictured. I ordered a small and it fits well. I have a 34 C or D chest. The good thing about this dress is that it can be made to look casual or dressy depending on your accessories. It does have a empire type waist and does flare out a bit but I like that look. I am happy with my purchase overall. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Serenissima Dress
Name:
Location:va
age:21-25
body type:petite
Loverly Dress
10.3.2011
" I just pruchased this dress in the ivory color. I'm 5'2 105 llbs and I got the small, mostly because it was the only size in stock at my local store. The xs may have been a better fit, but the small still works. In some of the reviews I see people say it made them "look pregnant." Yes, the dress does poof just a little tiny bit where it ties, but that's how dresses go sometimes. If you're not confident and comfortable with yourself and your body then don't get this dress(but just so you know you are beautiful, no matter what your head tells you.) This dress is so wonderful and so unique. I wore it on a chilly night with the crafty cuff thermal layered underneath it, black tights and brown platforms. It was perfect. "
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Serenissima Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Beautifully made....but.....
10.3.2011
" When I saw this dress online, I had to have it! It has the most beautiful embroidery on top and the pleated part is so soft & pretty. I really wish I could keep the dress but it does give me that pregnant look. This dress works for people of any size that have a small bust. With my bust (36DD) the dress looks good from the front, but from a side profile it gives me the pregnant look. That being said if it weren't for that I would be keeping this, & it's worth the price! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Serenissima Dress
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:14-20
body type:petite
TOTALLY WORTH IT!
9.28.2011
" When I first saw this dress online I instantly fell in love with it! It looked beautiful, well made, and as my mom says it's very ethnic looking. At first my heart was set on the black, but I would wear this dress in spring/summer, and I didn't want to wear black during those seasons. So I settled for the ivory print. All I can say its AMAZING, and even better in person. I ordered it online, tried it on first thing and fell in love. I am 5'3, 96 pounds, and a 34 A cup. It was a perfect fit. Not too tight or loose in the bust area. Although this dress it pricey, its worth the money and I plan to wear it a lot next spring and summer! If you want to treat yourself to a dress, look no further. =) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Serenissima Dress
Name:
Location:Annapolis MD
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
STUNNING !
9.23.2011
" Another FP classic ! This dress is beautiful eye candy. I ordered the ivory print in a small, and I love it so much I just can't say enough. The print is awesome,and I love the high low hem. There is a tie in back for better fit. Looks great with tights and skinny jeans,and sexy heels or shoe boots. I'm 5'5 36B and 110 pounds, the small fit perfect. The ivory print is just as pictured,a beautiful gypsy style dress. Keep um coming FP !!!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Serenissima Dress
Name:
Location:sf bay area
age:31-35
body type:petite
Wanted to love it but...
9.20.2011
" Loose up top and made me look pregnant. below. Also loved the style/print of the bottom and just thought the top was ok looking, Already returned it to the store. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Serenissima Dress
Name:
Location:San Diego
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
To Ivory or not to Ivory...That is the Question?
9.14.2011
" I got this dress in Ivory...although I really wanted the black...I settled for the Ivory. I actually love it more because of the details added on the bottom of the dress. Makes me feel like a gypsy. I wore this dress with black tights and short brown boots, 2 multi colored long beaded necklaces, and red Lipstick to bring out the small red detail on the top bust area of the dress. I love it! I still want the black dress too… I got X-Small…Runs true to size. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Serenissima Dress
Name:
Location:Raleigh
age:26-30
body type:curvy
best dress I've seen in a long time!
9.12.2011
" I have to dispute the couple of reviewers who say this looks like a maternity dress. As someone who's been pregnant in the last couple of years, I can guarantee you that maternity wear has never come close to being this detailed, gorgeous, and flattering. In fact I still have a little belly I'm trying to lose after my daughter was born, so I'm very picky about the fit of my clothes as I could look pregnant if I wear certain items...and I just bought this at full-price I liked it so much!! It definitely camouflaged my stomach, did not enhance it at all. The flowy part of the dress is made of an amazing mini-pleated fabric that you will never have to iron and it will look awesome, even if you just pulled it out of your suitcase. The only thing I will say is tricky about the fit, is that the embroidered part does tend to flatten the boobs out a little. I'm a 36C and bought a medium which fits well, but will probably look a little better when I lose a few pounds. The elastic in the back of the bodice helps the fit to span a few sizes, and in my opinion, the fact that this works for a range of sizes is a huge plus. <3 "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Serenissima Dress
Name:
Location:new york
age:41-45
body type:curvy
gorgeous dress but...
9.4.2011
" love the dress so much but I have to agree with the previous review. The front view looks great but there was so too much fabric on the bottom that I too looked pregnant. I ordered a medium for my bust so I don't think a small would work because of that.
It is absolutely gorgeous but the fit was not a good one for me.
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Serenissima Dress
Name:
Location:Encinitas, CA
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Gorgeous Dress
9.2.2011
" I got this dress in the black version and it is very stunning. I love the detail on the top and the quality is good making the higher price somewhat justifiable. It is one of those beautiful dresses that you will grab all the time. Unfortunately the combination of the bust detail and the fuller flowy skirt made ma look wide. I want it to work so bad, but for me it makes me look pregnant. I might try it in a smaller size to see if that is the issue. I am of average height so maybe a taller person might not be so overwhelmed by the flowy bottom. If the fit works for you, you will love this dress. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Serenissima Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Fantastic!
8.14.2011
" This dress is sooo pretty! The embroidered top is so unique and interesting. I got a large with a 36C bust and it fit perfectly! This dress is so gorgeous and flowy. This looks great dressed up or down, with tights or bare legs, with heels or boots. Also, the style is really flattering and graceful. The length hit my 5'9" frame a little above my knees. I absolutely love this dress! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large