Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Phantom Burnout Lace Maxi

Burnout velvet and lace maxi tank dress with deep "V"-back with cool strap detailing at back. Subtle bead trimming. Bottom hem lightly flares out. Lined. Overall, this dress is dramatic and statement-making all on its own! *65% Cotton, 35% Nylon *Hand Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size 6: Length: 59 1/2" Bust (all around): 35" Waist (all around): 29 1/2" Armhole Drop: 9"
overall average rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Customer Reviews for Phantom Burnout Lace Maxi
Review 1 for Phantom Burnout Lace Maxi
Name:
Location:san fernando valley ca
age:41-45
body type:slender
beautiful -
3.23.2013
" this is a reat dress the discrepancy in the sizing is valid it is a difficult dress to fit however going by recomendations of other peole on here i sized up to a 6 when i wear a 3 or a 4 in dresses and it was too bg i think now im waiting for the 4 to arrive and i hope it fits!!! id love for it to fit tight enough so i dont have to wear a bra w it b cus the back is very sexy, it is a bit dressy but you can funky it up with cowboy boots or something "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Phantom Burnout Lace Maxi
Name:
Location:Jersey City, NJ
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Sexy and gorgeous
3.20.2013
" I just got this in the store for $49. It was the last one and was a size 4 and I would normally wear a 6 but at that price, I figured might as well try to squeeze into it. Well, it fits like a glove and is sooooo sexy. It gives me hips, which I really don't have, and accentuates my derriere, which my boyfriend is going to love. I can't wait to wear it. It's "fancy" not casual. For date night or something special. What a steal. I LOVE THIS! Check your local store. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Phantom Burnout Lace Maxi
Name:
Location:for prom
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Loved
3.8.2013
" This is such a beautiful dress and the velvet and lace detail is so intricate. I'm 5' 71/2'' a bigger bust but lean in my legs and arms with just some slight hips. I ordered the 4 because my usual 6 #for my height# was out of stock and i was ordering the dress for a special event and date. The fit was perfect everywhere but it was tight in the hips and thighs and then went straight into a really pretty mermaid sillouette. you cant tell so much in the web picture but it actually flares in the bottom a bit. The dress ended up only going down to aobut my ankles which i didn't mind but if you're as tall as i am i would suggest a 6 just for the length. In the end the dress worked out perfectly and i would highly suggest it. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Phantom Burnout Lace Maxi
Name:
Location:nyc
age:31-35
body type:petite
great dress if it fits
2.3.2013
" This is a great dress with one caveat, I suspect it might only work well on one body type and that is the body type that I have. So If you are larger in the upper body than you are in the lower body this dress is made for you. If you have, i.e. average to large bust or broad ribcage or shoulders with a slenderish waist and hips, you should be golden. The dress is cut slender in the hips so if you are pear shaped you will probably have to size up which then may make the top part to large. For an hourglass it may or may not work depending on how curvy you are on the bottom half. There is not a lot of give across the hips but a fair amount of give in the chest area. At 5'3" I was surprised to find this the perfect length just grazing the floor perfect with a small heel. I ordered my usual fp size 0 and find it true to size. Only thing is I may need to have the back straps taken in a tiny bit as they gape a little. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Phantom Burnout Lace Maxi
Name:
Location:Maryland
age:14-20
body type:slender
Beautiful!
1.24.2013
" I ordered this dress about a month ago to wear to my boyfriend's school's inaugural ball. The velvet detailing is stunning in person, the cut of the bottom creates the most lovely mermaid silhouette, and ultimately I felt like a gypsy queen. However, I will mention that the other reviewers' complaints about the size discrepancy between the bust and the waist are valid - the 0 was a perfect fit, but I happen to have an odd body with a relatively large chest and no hips to speak of. If you're more conventionally shaped, alterations may be necessary. "
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb1.29.2013
You look beautiful!! Thank you for sharing the pics! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Phantom Burnout Lace Maxi
Name:
Location:Canada
age:over 45
body type:petite
Beautiful,but ...
1.20.2013
" This dress is beautiful but does not fit me. It is very small in the waist area and huge on the top. For reference, I am 34D, and I ordered two size up from my regular size 6.The lace and velvet combination looks good, but the way this dress was executed is wrong. I had to return it. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Phantom Burnout Lace Maxi
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:36-40
body type:slender
Wished it fit
12.17.2012
" I have been obsessed with this dress forever and actually had a chance to try it on in a Free People store yesterday. I was so sad because the dress is beautiful but the sizing I felt was off. The top was pretty big and the hips ran really tight. I am a bit pear shaped but this dress was especially tight in the hips. If I wanted to make this dress work it would require a lot of alterations and it just wouldn't be worth it. So, to all of you ladies out there with curves, this dress is not for you. Sad because it really is pretty. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Phantom Burnout Lace Maxi
Name:
Location:Melbourne australia
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Aaaaamazing but size up!!! Maybe up up!
12.5.2012
" This dress is beautiful. The lace is heavy and of good quality and the velvet and little detail as good as in the pictures. But i could cry, im a 12 and i could have gone up a size, maybe two... its small. I'm not sure if its my curves, im busty and booty and small in the middle. (size E chest# if you werent as busty maybe only go up a size. Normally i am a medium to a large in free people. :#... Very sad as it really is just lovely and if it fit i think it would be super comfy as well... Sob.. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large