Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Minimal Lace Up Heel

Distressed leather open-toe lace-up heel. Open at back of heel, too. Stacked heel. Rubber sole. *By Jeffrey Campbell + Free People **For optimal comfort, it is best to lace the shoe, beginning with the laces inside the shoe and threading them out through the first grommet.
overall average rating:
4.684 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 76
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Review 1 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:Melbourne Australia
age:over 45
body type:slender
Love 'em!!!!
3.30.2014
"7-71/2 in Australian sizing. Normally a 7 in JC's however read the reviews and purchased a 7 1/2 in Tan. Really love them better than the Perspective heel which I have as well. The tan is as pictured and I love them with socks. Another winner."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:Tennessee
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Amazing
3.26.2014
"I loved these the moment I saw them. You can literally wear these for every season! How great is that? I got them in the color tan. I read the reviews and many said to size up. Being a size 10, I couldn't, and even if there were 11s, I wouldn't have chosen them. They fit me perfectly! Very true to size. Personally, I would not recommend sizing up. Pretty shoes, wish I could get them in every color!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:Venice, CA
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Favz
3.26.2014
"LOVE LOVE LOVE these! My first time wearing them, I went out with girlfriends and made it through the night! These will definitely be my go-to shoe this spring/summer. I want them in every color!
In regards to sizing, I'm between a 6.5/7, and I went with a size 7, and there's a little bit of room in the back - but, not enough to go down to a 6.5. So, I'd say these run pretty true to size!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:texas
age:over 45
body type:slender
Would LOVE these in Flats as well
3.26.2014
"Could free people be the answered prayer to all of us ladies that can't wear heels anymore and make these in a flat? That would be amazing. I would buy this shoe in a flat in brown, taupe, tan, black, and beige if you offered it. I just can't wear heels anymore as my feet kill me in heels but I love love this style. I own three pairs of these and One ann d pair of these and I love them but can only wear them to s a short party. If I had flats I could wear them all day and night...Please Free People can you make these in a flat?"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:Australia
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Beautiful!!
3.16.2014
"These shoes are stunning!! the only thing that stops me from putting them on everyday is that they take a while to brake in. Had to wear them only a couple of hours a day for a while, and the laces dig in kinda uncomfortably, but they go with everything (I got brown suede) they are a good height too! LOVE these shoes"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 6 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:BC, Canada
age:41-45
body type:slender
Did NOT size down
3.12.2014
"I ordered these in a 7 in the tan. I am normally a 6.5 in all brands, but after reading the reviews, most of them saying these run big, I thought I better size up to a 7. Mistake. They were huge! Like, a whole inch between my toes and the end of the shoe, plus a gap in the back. I sent them back and got a 6.5 which fits with still a tad bit of room. So, unlike the other fifty million reviewers, I wore my normal size in these. I love the stacked wooden looking heel, and the fact that the heel isn't too high, maybe 2.5 inches. So often I love heels but they are just too high. They look good with everything, dresses, distressed jeans, etc.. Get em!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:Scottsdale, AZ
age:over 45
body type:slender
Not Quite
3.11.2014
"I have been in search of a gray sandal and thought I had finally found the right one - alas, I ordered these online so didn't actually see them until they arrived. They are not gray. They are taupe. Which is a perfectly lovely color, but not gray. The look of the style is wonderful, but short on comfort and the odor of the materials is terrible."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:Mexico
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
So beautiful and comfortable
3.10.2014
"I got the tan in size 8, I can usually wear from 8 to 8.5 so it took me a long time to decide which size was going to work for me, there were so many reviews saying to go a .5 size up...and only a few saying it was true to size (I didn't have the opportunity to try them). I have thin feet, not thick at all so I decided I would try the 8, Im really happy I did!! So glad I didn't go a .5 size up cause it would have been way too long and big. I have more then enough lace to tie them and the fit is just wonderful, I tried them with my french courtship slip and it looks fabulous! I would love to get them in the Berry color :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:FInland
age:21-25
body type:petite
Best shoe purchase ever!
3.1.2014
"After reading other reviews I decided to order a size bigger than usual. I fell in love with the berry color. WHen shoes were delivered, which was very fast by the way!!, they fit perfectly and are super comfortamble!! Most definitely the best purchase ever!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 10 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:Midwest
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Love The Look
2.20.2014
"I ordered grey....went up a half size. I agree with one of the others they are not the most comfortable heels I have owned but gosh do they look great. Beauty vs comfort? Beauty wins out in this one....too bad, though as they are pricey. You would expect for nearly $200 for a pair of shoes/sandals that the leather would be soft and pliable-butter like. But this one is not...pretty stiff actually. I am hoping the more I wear them, the more 'worn in' they will become because they sure are adorable."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:Boston
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
obsessed
2.19.2014
"I've been eyeing these for a while now and finally took the plunge and couldn't be happier. I bought the black suede in 6.5 (my normal size) and they fit perfect. They're absolutely adorable, have gotten so many compliments on them. I want them in every color!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:Philadelphia, PA, USA
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
My new best friend! *sigh*
1.28.2014
"SO glad I listened to reviews and took the chance hoping half a size bigger wouldn't be too big...they fit perfecto. I am always a 7.5 sometimes a 7 in thong sandals so I thought I was taking a risk by ordering the 8. The 8 fits to perfection and I think the 7.5 would have been too small. GO HALF A SIZE UP! I didn't have a problem with short laces maybe because I sized up?? I also have a wider foot up near my toes and my big toe is the longest as well (trying to give you the picture). Enough about the sizing...the SHOE ITSELF gahh I fell in love from the leather to every detail of these beauts. Springtime where are you?! Chances are these babies will not be leaving my feet in the spring and summer. Truth."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:Georgia
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Love!
12.30.2013
"I have been coveting these shoes for months, and just finally got them for Christmas from my boyfriend! He bought my normal size 9 (because he did not read the millions of reviews saying these run small) and they fit me perfect, with room to spare! I am always a size 9 in every type of shoe except running shoes, which I wear 9.5. So you could even say i'm on the larger side of a 9. For reference, my foot is exactly 10 inches long and on the narrow side. BUY YOUR NORMAL SIZE! Unless you have a super wide foot. Otherwise, in my opinion, these do NOT run small. They're perfect!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:uk
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Gorgeous shoes
12.18.2013
"Lovely suede shoes great decent height heel and lovely distressed finish do definately run a bit on small size i am a 4.5 Uk and the 5 was a snug fit would suggest 1/2 sz up would reorder in diff colours for summer burgandy /berry sued went great with the black cross stitch dress"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:Tampa Bay
age:over 45
body type:petite
Best Purchase This Year!
12.17.2013
"Ordered the grey and loved them so much that I had to get the black suede too! Had a few issues with the black pair, yet FP made it 200% right with superior customer service. I wear between 6.5 and 7 and got the 7 and they fit perfect. Goes with so much and are really very comfortable-got them on right now. Dress up or down-just a great shoe and heel height."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:charlottesville, VA
age:14-20
body type:athletic
absolutely adorable
12.14.2013
"got these shoes in a 9.5 in the black/black combo, and they have to be one of my favorite fp shoes. they can be worn with a casual day dress or dressed up with something more formal - and they're so comfortable, i could wear them shopping around all day and not feel sore. an ABSOLUTE must! you'll get compliments everywhere you go."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:Kansas
age:36-40
body type:petite
Love them!
11.14.2013
"Got the Berry Suede ones in October & loved them so much! I got a size 6 as this is the smallest they had, and they fit great, true to size, in my opinion--you can adjust the laces to fit comfortably. Have NO problems with laces digging in or anything or sides rubbing my toes. I have not wore them all day/walking lots though, so don't know how that would be. Look great with cute socks, too. The Berry shade is so pretty and is a great pop of color. While wearing them, I have had numerous comments from women & even a guy about liking them. When they came out with new colors recently, I saw the Cobalt blue suede & knew I had to get me some blue suede shoes! These arrived this week, and they are GORGEOUS--very vibrant! That is what I wanted from these shoes, to stand out & be eye-catching, so I got the most vibrant ones instead of neutral, but they all are pretty. Love the silver sparkle ones too, but don't know about getting 3 pair in this style!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:Maryland
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Love Love Love these
11.7.2013
"If you are on the fence about ordering these, get off and buy them now. I had to wait what seemed like forever for my size back in stock. I ordered a 1/2 size up and they fit perfectly. Very stylish and with all JC shoes, well made. You won't be disappointed."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:Laguna Beach
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
Sexy shoe that's easy to wear
10.20.2013
"Lace-up detailing = instant allure. Love the color.
They were a bit tight at first and then I (DUH, I know) loosened the laces and they still looked great but were of course instantly more comfortable."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:Australia
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
My favourite shoe!
10.14.2013
"I'm in love with this shoe! After waiting for months for them to come back in stock, I just received them today and love them!
Comfortable and perfect for all occasions.
I'm now waiting on the tan!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 4 next>>