Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Minimal Lace Up Heel

Distressed leather open-toe lace-up heel. Open at back of heel, too. Stacked heel. Rubber sole. *By Jeffrey Campbell + Free People **For optimal comfort, it is best to lace the shoe, beginning with the laces inside the shoe and threading them out through the first grommet.
overall average rating:
4.671 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(85 Reviews) 85
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Review 1 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:Crown Point, IN
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Favorite Shoes!
11.29.2014
" These shoes are AMAZING. If I had the money, I'd get them in every color. They are not only one of the most comfortable shoes I now own, but they are also incredibly cute and versatile! They run pretty true to size. I usually wear a 9 or 9.5, and I got these in 9.5 so my toes would have more room at the end. I highly recommend these shoes. I have worn them out many times already, and I have received MANY compliments on them! I adore them! Thank you, Free People!!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:sydney australia
age:41-45
body type:curvy
love these
6.24.2014
" i love these heels i found them comfortable not at all tight i wear a euro 39-40 and purchased a 9.5 so i went up half a size - not sure if i had to, but they are fine anyway. looking forward to warmer weather here in sydney so i can wear them out for reference my foot is average width "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:TX
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Painful staple
5.30.2014
" For a long time I've wanted these shoes, and finally splurged. I got the gray suede in my usual size 10, and...wow. Really, wow. They look just as pictured. Design-wise, they are essentially perfect (I do not exaggerate). They are extremely cool, yet feminine; they can be worn in all seasons; they go with absolutely EVERYTHING; and they still manage to stand out and turn heads. This is an absolute must for any shoe fanatic, or...anyone, really. They actually look that awesome.
Still...the beauty comes at a price. My God, do they ever make my toes hurt. Walking for long periods of time in these will probably leave you sore the rest of the day. Otherwise, they feel just fine, but...my toes really hate these. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:Illinois
age:over 45
body type:petite
Sexy Shoes
5.26.2014
" I absolutely LOVE these shoes!!! They fit true to size and are very comfortable! I've worn them with skinny jeans and boot leg jeans rolled up with an over sized top from FP and received tons of compliments on them! The sued is high quality and soft! These are a must buy! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:Orange County California
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Excellent Shoe
5.11.2014
" Love this shoe it is my second pair I have the black and now the grey. It is a knockoff of a Ann Demeulemeester which she also does in many colors but runs over $1000 for a pair. This shoe is comfortable and runs true to size and is made with quality. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:Boston
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Beauty is Pain
5.1.2014
" These shoes are beautiful! I ordered a size 9.5, which is a half a size up from normal size and they fit very nicely. However, these shoes are best if you're just doing a lot of standing and sitting, not walking (like literally none.) Seeing as your foot is forced forward into the shoes strings and they are not soft it will tend to rub certain parts of your foot raw. For me this happened near the toes and I still have the blisters to prove it. That being said they are very stylish and so different from a lot of heels I own. They are great for dressing up pants and pair very nicely with a long flowing skirt. I also had problems with the circular metal bits around where the shoe strings go through, a few have popped out and won't go back in. These shoes are close to $200 though so they should be near perfect, but sadly no shoe is! As I have only worn them a couple of times I cannot speak to the comfort they will/might have once broken in. I think aesthetically they are amazing and a sure win, but if your are looking for a more practical heel this isn't it! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:Maryland
age:41-45
body type:slender
I so wanted them to work...
4.30.2014
" These shoes are gorgeous! So me! I wanted them to work so badly, but they just did not. The 3 stars are for appearance only. First, I would say they run TRUE to size. I don't understand the reviews that said otherwise. I'm a 6 1/2, ordered a 7; they are too big. 6 1/2 would be perfect. Second, be aware that the grey is a very taupey grey - beautiful to be sure, but not a true grey. Finally, I wore them around the house for just a few minutes, and they already started hurting across the toes where the lacing begins. Yes, I did have them laced according to the Free People tip. So sadly, these will have to go back.
p.s. they do smell bad, but it is a common new shoe smell and will go away with time.
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:Michigan
age:41-45
body type:slender
Sweeeet
4.12.2014
" All I can say is that these sandals are top notch quality. I got the tan leather in a size 8. I normally can wear a 7.5 or 8.0 and per the reviews I got an 8. They fit perfect. This was worth the price! Don't hesitate because these can be worn with just about anything. I got the tan because well you can wear that color with just about anything. I'm 5'4 118lbs and the fit is tts and the comfort is amazing. Thanks FP "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:Melbourne Australia
age:over 45
body type:slender
Love 'em!!!!
3.30.2014
" 7-71/2 in Australian sizing. Normally a 7 in JC's however read the reviews and purchased a 7 1/2 in Tan. Really love them better than the Perspective heel which I have as well. The tan is as pictured and I love them with socks. Another winner. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:Tennessee
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Amazing
3.26.2014
" I loved these the moment I saw them. You can literally wear these for every season! How great is that? I got them in the color tan. I read the reviews and many said to size up. Being a size 10, I couldn't, and even if there were 11s, I wouldn't have chosen them. They fit me perfectly! Very true to size. Personally, I would not recommend sizing up. Pretty shoes, wish I could get them in every color! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:Venice, CA
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Favz
3.26.2014
" LOVE LOVE LOVE these! My first time wearing them, I went out with girlfriends and made it through the night! These will definitely be my go-to shoe this spring/summer. I want them in every color!
In regards to sizing, I'm between a 6.5/7, and I went with a size 7, and there's a little bit of room in the back - but, not enough to go down to a 6.5. So, I'd say these run pretty true to size! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:texas
age:over 45
body type:slender
Would LOVE these in Flats as well
3.26.2014
" Could free people be the answered prayer to all of us ladies that can't wear heels anymore and make these in a flat? That would be amazing. I would buy this shoe in a flat in brown, taupe, tan, black, and beige if you offered it. I just can't wear heels anymore as my feet kill me in heels but I love love this style. I own three pairs of these and One ann d pair of these and I love them but can only wear them to s a short party. If I had flats I could wear them all day and night...Please Free People can you make these in a flat? "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:Australia
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Beautiful!!
3.16.2014
" These shoes are stunning!! the only thing that stops me from putting them on everyday is that they take a while to brake in. Had to wear them only a couple of hours a day for a while, and the laces dig in kinda uncomfortably, but they go with everything (I got brown suede) they are a good height too! LOVE these shoes "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 14 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:BC, Canada
age:41-45
body type:slender
Did NOT size down
3.12.2014
" I ordered these in a 7 in the tan. I am normally a 6.5 in all brands, but after reading the reviews, most of them saying these run big, I thought I better size up to a 7. Mistake. They were huge! Like, a whole inch between my toes and the end of the shoe, plus a gap in the back. I sent them back and got a 6.5 which fits with still a tad bit of room. So, unlike the other fifty million reviewers, I wore my normal size in these. I love the stacked wooden looking heel, and the fact that the heel isn't too high, maybe 2.5 inches. So often I love heels but they are just too high. They look good with everything, dresses, distressed jeans, etc.. Get em! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:Scottsdale, AZ
age:over 45
body type:slender
Not Quite
3.11.2014
" I have been in search of a gray sandal and thought I had finally found the right one - alas, I ordered these online so didn't actually see them until they arrived. They are not gray. They are taupe. Which is a perfectly lovely color, but not gray. The look of the style is wonderful, but short on comfort and the odor of the materials is terrible. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:Mexico
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
So beautiful and comfortable
3.10.2014
" I got the tan in size 8, I can usually wear from 8 to 8.5 so it took me a long time to decide which size was going to work for me, there were so many reviews saying to go a .5 size up...and only a few saying it was true to size (I didn't have the opportunity to try them). I have thin feet, not thick at all so I decided I would try the 8, Im really happy I did!! So glad I didn't go a .5 size up cause it would have been way too long and big. I have more then enough lace to tie them and the fit is just wonderful, I tried them with my french courtship slip and it looks fabulous! I would love to get them in the Berry color :) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:FInland
age:21-25
body type:petite
Best shoe purchase ever!
3.1.2014
" After reading other reviews I decided to order a size bigger than usual. I fell in love with the berry color. WHen shoes were delivered, which was very fast by the way!!, they fit perfectly and are super comfortamble!! Most definitely the best purchase ever! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 18 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:Midwest
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Love The Look
2.20.2014
" I ordered grey....went up a half size. I agree with one of the others they are not the most comfortable heels I have owned but gosh do they look great. Beauty vs comfort? Beauty wins out in this one....too bad, though as they are pricey. You would expect for nearly $200 for a pair of shoes/sandals that the leather would be soft and pliable-butter like. But this one is not...pretty stiff actually. I am hoping the more I wear them, the more 'worn in' they will become because they sure are adorable. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:Boston
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
obsessed
2.19.2014
" I've been eyeing these for a while now and finally took the plunge and couldn't be happier. I bought the black suede in 6.5 (my normal size) and they fit perfect. They're absolutely adorable, have gotten so many compliments on them. I want them in every color!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Minimal Lace Up Heel
Name:
Location:Philadelphia, PA, USA
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
My new best friend! *sigh*
1.28.2014
" SO glad I listened to reviews and took the chance hoping half a size bigger wouldn't be too big...they fit perfecto. I am always a 7.5 sometimes a 7 in thong sandals so I thought I was taking a risk by ordering the 8. The 8 fits to perfection and I think the 7.5 would have been too small. GO HALF A SIZE UP! I didn't have a problem with short laces maybe because I sized up?? I also have a wider foot up near my toes and my big toe is the longest as well (trying to give you the picture). Enough about the sizing...the SHOE ITSELF gahh I fell in love from the leather to every detail of these beauts. Springtime where are you?! Chances are these babies will not be leaving my feet in the spring and summer. Truth. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 4 5 next>>