Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

FP New Romantics It's My Party Dress

Texturized dropwaist tank dress with hi-low hem. Texturized cotton waist band with stretchy smocking at the back of waist. Two hip pockets. Button front detailing at waist and below. The delicately romantic and texture heavy New Romantics collection was inspired by the dream-worthy beach views and magically hidden coves of Sardinia, Italy.
overall average rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Customer Reviews for FP New Romantics It's My Party Dress
Review 1 for FP New Romantics It's My Party Dress
Name:
Location:Australia
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
So soft and pretty
10.28.2013
" Such a lovely dress and so feminine. I bought the medium which is a little big, could have done with the s but it falls softly around the fitted waist which is not a bad thing. It is easy to accessorise and just feels and looks so fabulous on. Am very happy. My first FP purchase from this site...definitely not my last!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for FP New Romantics It's My Party Dress
Name:
Location:Valdosta, Georgia
age:over 45
body type:slender
Elegant
10.4.2013
" Bought this on sale and can not wait till spring to wear it. So cute on, and very flattering for my body type, 5'7" 135 lbs, 36 c and slender built with small hips. This dress actually gave me an hour glass shape. Love it. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP New Romantics It's My Party Dress
Name:
Location:Cleveland
age:21-25
body type:athletic
LOVE LOVE
9.11.2013
" I am 5'9, 145 lbs and bought this dress in a size small, white- it fits me great, although it may run a little large for more petite girls. At first it looked a little large but when you put it on it hugs your hips and lower stomach and is loose on top. The design is very flattering and so comfortable. I couldn't take it off on my recent trip to Barcelona. I wore it causally with sandals and with wedges to dinner. The white is not see through and the textured design is great! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP New Romantics It's My Party Dress
Name:
Location:Oregon
age:41-45
body type:curvy
I like this dress
9.2.2013
" I bought this dress in both colors and I like them both. The blue is more teal in real life than the pictures depict. Also, the dress is very sheer and there is a lining in the skirt that doesn't show up in the pictures. In the light of day, you can really see the lining that is shorter than the skirt. This is OK but changes the look of the dress quite a bit.
The straps at the top are a little too large but not too bad.
All in all for the discounted price, it was a great purchase "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for FP New Romantics It's My Party Dress
Name:
Location:New York, NY
age:31-35
body type:athletic
very nice over a slip
8.30.2013
" this dress runs true to size. I wear xs and this fits as it should. If you carefully examine the picture, the top is loose, the midsection is fitted and so on (so of course you would/should not wear a fitted section over a non flat stomach as one reviewer complained about). I did not like the dress at first because of the hi-lo, but I layered it with a white lace slip underneath and it was perfect. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP New Romantics It's My Party Dress
Name:
Location:amherst, ma
age:14-20
body type:pear shaped
Not flattering and runs very large.
8.8.2013
" Was super excited to receive this dress but when it came and I tried it on I was very disappointed. I typically wear a FP M and I was swimming in this. In addition, the band around the mid section only looks good if you have a flat stomach (if you don't it just makes you look a lot bigger than you are). I have a smaller top and a larger bottom and this dress just made my body look very awkward. I tried to exchange in store for a smaller size and even the S still looked strange. The idea is beautiful and the material was gorgeous, but it just didn't work for me. Really bummed. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP New Romantics It's My Party Dress
Name:
Location:MA
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
Amazing & Beautiful
7.28.2013
" I've worn this dress twice and each time I've gotten several compliments. This dress fits perfectly. I'm 5'6" and weigh 113 lbs but my chest is large (D cup). Typically i have to order a medium because of my chest. Therefore, I was concerned that a Small would be too tight; it was not. it actually makes me look smaller up top! The sides of my bra do shown under my arms because of the low cut of the dress. The waist is sheer and cut low so I worn nude low cut underwear and it was perfect. I bought it in white. This dress is beyond comfortable; it is so light weight it feels like I have nothing on. Overall this dress is perfect and even recommended it to my sister who recently bought it in blue. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP New Romantics It's My Party Dress
Name:
Location:Austin
age:26-30
body type:curvy
lovely!
7.25.2013
" I bought this dress in white and it is adorable! Fit like a glove (I'm curvy)--draped in the right places and was snug in the right places.
I'm considering buying it in blue too.
Definitely flatter curves. Not sure how it would look on a flat-chested gal. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for FP New Romantics It's My Party Dress
Name:
Location:USA
age:26-30
body type:slender
Cute but definitely runs large
7.11.2013
" I just got this in the blue and the color is GORGEOUS in person, just as it is online. Sometimes things appear very different in person than on the model, so I was worried I'd be disappointed...but the color and fabric were perfect! The only downside is the slightly large fit. I am 5'4'' and 118 lbs. and agree with a previous reviewer in that it's a lot of fabric. I got a S but now wish that I'd ordered an XS. I'm still going to keep it because it's so cute, but I may need to take in the top a bit. The bottom is fine but the straps to the top hang very low so that you can see my bra straps. The fabric is slightly sheer so I'll probably wear a slip under it anyway. Overall happy with my purchase, especially since I received the item on sale :) "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for FP New Romantics It's My Party Dress
Name:
Location:boston
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Gorgeous!!
7.8.2013
" This dress is perfect!! It's both very casual and still very feminine!! I'm Small/Medium, and for this dress I got a S. It fits just like in the pictures! The waist part stays where it's supposed to be and the there's no extra fabric! Perfection! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for FP New Romantics It's My Party Dress
Name:
Location:Melbourne Australia
age:41-45
body type:slender
Doesn't work
6.30.2013
" Sounded nice, it looked nice, I imagined it to be a cute dress to wear out to dinner and be able to easily accessorise, BUT NO :-( It is so unflattering all over, even for a small build. Sits big and floppy up top and big and floppy below the waist band. The band is a linen, edges are unfinished (which is ok) and the overall fabric was yuk. Sorry FP, not my favourite. Going back. "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large