Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

FP New Romantics Bird In Hand Tunic

Appliqu detailing down center of the back mimics the pattern on the front of this long-sleeved trapeze cut top. Four lace-up features with metal grommets around the neckline and a crochet trim on a micro-mesh base.
overall average rating:
3.947 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Customer Reviews for FP New Romantics Bird In Hand Tunic
Review 1 for FP New Romantics Bird In Hand Tunic
Name:
Location:Australia
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Love it
5.7.2014
"I love this top although the colouring in this pic aren't quite right. it is a little darker."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for FP New Romantics Bird In Hand Tunic
Name:
Location:Temecula
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Super Cute
2.7.2014
"After reading the reviews I was scared to purchase this top, but I'm glad I gave it a chance anyway because it is so fun and artsy.
I'm normally an xs in Free People tops, so I went with that size. I made sure not to touch the strings because I can tell by the photo it was designed to fit the way they have it tied.
I'm a 34 D and it does blouse out a little, but nothing too crazy. Overall it's probably one of my favorite tops right now.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP New Romantics Bird In Hand Tunic
Name:
Location:USA
age:26-30
body type:slender
In love...
2.6.2014
"...with this top. The coloring and detailing is gorgeous and I found the fit to be spot on. I'm 5'4'' and 115 lbs. and the size S fit perfectly. It seems like some others have had issues with fit but if you're thinking about getting this, I would go for it. Definitely my favorite out of all the FP tops I received for Christmas!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP New Romantics Bird In Hand Tunic
Name:
Location:LB Cee, CA
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
the fit is...problematic
1.28.2014
"As another reviewer noted, I waited for some time prior to nabbing this shirt as it has been quite popular!
Unfortunately, the fit simply did not work for me. I tried loosening/tightening the ties, tucking, different pants....to no avail.
On my frame (which is admitably shoulder) this looks boxy, and not flattering.
I think on a slimmer, less busty/shoulder gal it might work better."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for FP New Romantics Bird In Hand Tunic
Name:
Location:so cal
age:41-45
body type:athletic
addendum to previous review
1.9.2014
"i thought it would let me edit to add photo, so adding this. you can see that the true color is WAY off. it is not a pretty wine color as shown, but much more a muted purplish tone:
again. so disappointed!!"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 6 for FP New Romantics Bird In Hand Tunic
Name:
Location:southern california
age:41-45
body type:athletic
i am so very sad....
1.8.2014
"i have been wanting this shirt for two months (kept selling out before i was able to get it) and it arrived today. i even waited to open the package until work was done... only to be so disappointed. first, i bought the ivory combo, but the color is not like photo, it is much less saturated. more of a muted berry. then the ties. oh boy those ties. although the description does say 4 ties (i didn't see that). there is not one photo that shows the ties on both sides. either the model's arm is hiding one or her hair (as a marketing professional, i think this is pretty deceptive advertising ). the ties are just way too much and although one question's answer does say they can be tied tighter (which they can) it totally throws off the shirt and brings the neckline to your throat.
i am just so disappointed. i tried it with the ties tighter, looser, with a tank underneath, a strapless bra and no matter how much i tried, i just don't like it on. on the perfect teenage model it looks great, but if you need to wear a real bra and have a chest larger then a small b, it just does not fit right. it isn't tight, the length is shorter then other fp styles, but it is so a line that it just doesn't feel right. i tried, i wanted to love it, i waited two months, but i am going to return it...
for reference, i bought the small - am 5'8" and 138lbs with a 34c chest. it fit me if i had the ties like they are shown, but the ties any tighter and the center neckline was all wonky. would fit better if i was a 34b."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP New Romantics Bird In Hand Tunic
Name:
Location:Charleston
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Oh my God, so so cute.
11.8.2013
"If you were on the fence about this one, definitely go for it. I received mine a couple months ago, and I've already worn it a couple times. I love it, so does everybody else. This is true to size, so order your size."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP New Romantics Bird In Hand Tunic
Name:
Location:Nashville, TN
age:14-20
body type:petite
Lovely!
10.31.2013
"I bought this and love it. The detailing is beautiful and it's like no other shirt I've seen. I'm around 135, 5'6", and usually wear a medium (but often a small in FP). I got a small and it fits perfectly."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for FP New Romantics Bird In Hand Tunic
Name:
Location:Maryland
age:21-25
body type:petite
Must Have
10.20.2013
"everything about this top screams for compliments- the detailing in the back (my fav) the cut-outs in the shoulder, the print..all of it. Its the top you want in your closet its unique and definitely stands out.
-other reviewers mentioned issues w/sizing for me it fit true to size (xs) im 5' 0 petite..little to no bust (btw I bought the black one)
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for FP New Romantics Bird In Hand Tunic
Name:
Location:Maryland
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Awesome and Versatile
10.1.2013
"Not only is this shirt okay to wear casually, I also wore it to the Renaissance festival and I got tons of compliments on it. It is really beautiful (especially the back) and comfortable. Not to mention it's pretty unique."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for FP New Romantics Bird In Hand Tunic
Name:
Location:UK
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
Beautiful print; mixed feelings
9.27.2013
"I ordered the black/sand as soon as I saw it, I loved the print and colours so much. I thought it would be an instant yes, but found it to be a little complicated. Very hard to say whether it runs true to size/small/large: I think it's more about the shape than the size with this one. I am UK14/16 US10/12 36/38C FP M/L. I tried the M and L and found the M not tight across the chest but unflattering, and the L a better drape but a bit oddly wide-looking. I can't imagine anyone with a bust measurement greater than mine would be happy with this, I think I am on the borderline. It's probably an easier fit if you are under 36C. I quite like the lacing but as I think someone else said, I feel it only needed to be on the shoulders or on the chest. With both it's little fussier than I expected, and it makes the top less straightforward to just throw on. Too sheer to go bra-less, but bra straps really fight with the laces. Will have to find a suitable black crop for under I think. Pulling the laces tighter doesn't work with the cut. Would have liked this to be a little easier to throw on, and less expensive, but there are enough positives to keep it and make it work and I will wear it with black or denim skirts/jeans. The print and colours are really nice, true to screen image, and the print down the back is particularly unusual and attractive. Hope that's useful info."
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for FP New Romantics Bird In Hand Tunic
Name:
Location:Australia
age:41-45
body type:petite
really cool top
9.23.2013
"I love this top. I purchased the Maroon as the black was sold out. Not sorry. It is a lovely colour fits nicely and looks great with jeans and boots. It is very soft so falls nicely from the bust. Tempted to get in black when it comes back into stock!!! Well worth the price. I love the fact that it is quite a different style of top and it is wash and wear. No ironing!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for FP New Romantics Bird In Hand Tunic
Name:
Location:toronto
age:31-35
body type:slender
Lovely but stringy
9.23.2013
"I bought this top in black and size small for a looser fit. I usually take an xs in fp clothing. For reference I'm 5'5 and 106 lbs. This is an A-line top, although the fabric is more thin and flowy than the usual fp swing tops. It's a light cotton mesh so you may want to wear something underneath if you don't like your bra showing. So the length of the small on me is about 2 inches longer than shown on the model and more 'swingy'. The sleeves are fitted but not tight and covers my wrists. The edges are unfinished at the bottom. The thing I found a little awkward are all the strings. I like the look of it in the front, but it also ties at the top of the shoulders which is not shown very well in the pics. To me, in real life, the top has too many tied-gap areas that are too close together. I would've liked it more if ties were just in front or on shoulder. Others may appreciate this look however. Tying the gaps together more tightly to close the gaps will alter the fit of this top significantly and will make it look very awkward/unflattering. I'm not sure if the other reviewers tried this and ended up reporting it as an unflattering fit. I think its best left as it is in the studio pics. I've decided to tuck in the ends of the strings and not let them hang out as in the pics for a neater appearance. I've tried it with a thin black crop tank/bra underneath to minimize the appearance of the criss-cross ties which works for me. Despite the "stringyness" I really love the A-line of the top as well as the front and back detailing. Thinking of getting the red later on…"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for FP New Romantics Bird In Hand Tunic
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:31-35
body type:athletic
I absolutely dig on this shirt
9.21.2013
"The price? Not digging on so much, but the thing about free people is that I find enough on sale that spending full price on certain pieces - pretty much balances out in the end. That said, I absolutely, positively dig this shirt. It's different, sexy and fits great. I'm 5'9'', roughly 145 and got a M (because the sleeves looked like they might be tighter). It's not the kind of shirt you can tuck in, at least hasn't worked for me, but paired with my skinnies, shorts and boots, shoes, sandals, whatever? I'm a happy chicklet. Also, little trick, if you really want a tighter look? You can actually clip the sides to the back, the back flows over it nicely (so you can't tell) and the front looks nice and snug."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for FP New Romantics Bird In Hand Tunic
Name:
Location:Canada
age:over 45
body type:petite
Simply Amazing
9.21.2013
"I love this tunic. I got it from the local FP store in size XS, sand combo. For the reference I am 34D bust size, and usually size XS or S in FP tops.The top is slightly flared from the bust down,and it is a bit see through. The color is more gold than the ivory pictured. What I love about it is the unique design, strings and all. Can be paired with black leather pants, skirts, etc. Amazing!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for FP New Romantics Bird In Hand Tunic
Name:
Location:Atlanta, GA
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
Great statement piece!
9.20.2013
"Love love love it. Looks just like the pic. Fits true to size. I'm 5'8", 128 lbs. 36D. Size Med is perfect. Great detail and nice fabric. I loved that this is exclusive to FP because it's so killer that I don't want to see it on everybody I meet. The back is beautifully detailed and the sweater is a winner. Thanks FP!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for FP New Romantics Bird In Hand Tunic
Name:
Location:NJ
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
great concept, poor workmanship..
9.14.2013
"Tried this on in my local FP store, in Black, Small, my usual size. I totally agree with the other reviews that the fit is so off! You need to have a very small chest to wear this and even then the front is cut so much shorter than the back, it is just not comfortable...Also the strings were so annoying, would be better in leather or suede..nice concept, needs to be reworked..."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for FP New Romantics Bird In Hand Tunic
Name:
Location:Phoenix
age:26-30
body type:athletic
returned it
9.6.2013
"Please look at the second picture. Thats the fit of this tunic. It does not look like the first pictures fit. Maybe they used clips on the back. I am 5.5, 110 lb, 32b. Xs looked very shapeless on me. You could say its Free Peoples style, everything oversized. But with the ties and everything, looked very unflattering on my body."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for FP New Romantics Bird In Hand Tunic
Name:
Location:Canada
age:21-25
body type:slender
great pattern, weird shape
9.6.2013
"I bought the black shirt in xs. It fits fine overall its just REALLY loose and flowy from the midsection down. Like there is so much excess material there and I don't find it to be flattering. I wish this were a tighter shirt like the Henley's. Its such a beautiful and unique design that I'll probably keep it and see if my alteration lady can take in some of that excess material.
For reference I'm 5'5 100lbs and the xs is a good fit.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large