Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Rugged Ripped Baja Denim Shorts

Rugged denim 5-pocket cutoff shorts with destroyed holes and frayed hems. Baja patterned woven detailing on front pockets and on upper back of shorts. Zipper and button fly opening. *100% Cotton *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size 28: Waist (all around): 33 1/4" Rise: 10" Inseam: 2 7/8" Leg Opening Width: 12 1/2"
overall average rating:
4.696 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Rugged Ripped Baja Denim Shorts
Review 1 for Rugged Ripped Baja Denim Shorts
Name:
Location:Denver, CO
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Favorite Shorts!!!!!
3.5.2013
" These are my new all time favorite shorts. They are awesome and so unique! I have them in the white and the printed part really stands out, which is great. For me, they fit true to size. I'm normally a 25 or 26 and got these in a 25 and they fit great. I much prefer tighter shorts over looser shorts though, so if you like yours looser, I would probably size up. They are the perfect length. Not too long, not too short. However, I am only 4' 10". If you are quite tall, they are probably going to be ridiculously short, so you may want to size up. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Rugged Ripped Baja Denim Shorts
Name:
Location:Australia
age:26-30
body type:athletic
New Favourites!
2.2.2013
" Definitely take the advice above and size up! The new size is perfect. These shorts are my new favourites - comfy, bright and pretty - I've had tons of compliments on how cool they are. Better yet, because I sized up, they're not the "denim-diaper" style that's so popular these days, but is completely unflattering unless you're a supermodel (and even then...)
Can't recommend these shorts enough, but be sure to go one size up for the sake of length (unless you're down with denim diapers). "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Rugged Ripped Baja Denim Shorts
Name:
Location:Midwest USA
age:36-40
body type:petite
Bright Fun Must Have Shorts
11.4.2012
" I boutght these in the fiesta/denim color. The fiesta pattern just makes these shorts stand out. I tried them on in the store and I found them true to size. On the photo, the red pair does not show the distressed, cut out, ripped look of the shorts. This is very evident and not a problem, because the patterned pockets cover up the cut out "ripped" portion in the shorts. For me, the pockets are about 1 inch too long and detract from the shorts. But, these shorts are so cute, I had to have them. Anyone could shorten the pockets like I did. These are so unique, with the detailing of the banded waist and pockets. Highly recommend.... "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Rugged Ripped Baja Denim Shorts
Name:
Location:Alabama
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Cute, but short!
9.6.2012
" I love the design of these shorts, but they run a little small and are super short!! I would recommend sizing up, I usually wear a 26 and ordered a 28 and they were still really short! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Rugged Ripped Baja Denim Shorts
Name:
Location:Providence, RI
age:14-20
body type:petite
Run big!
8.21.2012
" I love these shorts! The details are great and they are really well made. But they run large. I normally wear a 26, and I had to size down to a 25. They are a relaxed fit, so the 26 fit, but had a boyfriend fit to it, so to cancel that out I went a size down. The fabric is very soft and comfortable. They are amazing shorts that were impossible to get because they are sold out everywhere! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Rugged Ripped Baja Denim Shorts
Name:
Location:Boulder
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
LOVE but runs small
8.4.2012
" LOVE these shorts, but i'm not sure what everyone else was saying with these shorts running large. I'm normally a 26 and decided to get a 27 to have a baggier look. When I tried them on, they were snug. I know they'll stretch out and I'm actually satisfied with how they look, but make sure you go a size up!!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Rugged Ripped Baja Denim Shorts
Name:
Location:detroit
age:31-35
body type:petite
Grungy Goodness
6.29.2012
" These shorts couldn't be cooler. The embroidered bits are more subtle than pictured, and the denim fiesta wash is a bit more grungy (i think) than pictured. Normally a 27 in free people, that's what i ordered and i agree with other reviewers they're a bit loose. I like them that way, tho, cause i'm going to wear them on my hips for some added coverage in the back. Doing this does give them that boyfriend-jeans look, and you get a bit of a low hanging zipper... but the inseam is too short for my taste if i wore them on my waist. I'm normally not even a shorts person, but so glad i got these cause they're unique and fun. They remind me of the grunge era in the 90s, but have a great boho twist. Good job, FP, thank you! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Rugged Ripped Baja Denim Shorts
Name:
Location:Alpharetta, GA
age:14-20
body type:slender
So cute!
6.21.2012
" These shorts are fantastic! I had been eyeing them for a while and finally gave in. They are so comfy and very cute. I think they run true to size. I'm 5'6" and 125lb and the 26 was perfect. I couldn't be happier! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Rugged Ripped Baja Denim Shorts
Name:
Location:Canada
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Whoa Mamacita!
6.19.2012
" Hot, short and hot. I put these on the moment they arrived and could have went to bed in them. Comfortable and oh so FP.
I ordered a 28. I'm 5"6, 135lbs and they fit just as shown on the model. So pleased!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Crochet Cuff Henley
4.5 out of 5(157)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 10 for Rugged Ripped Baja Denim Shorts
Name:
Location:Arizona
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Love these shorts!
6.9.2012
" I just bought these shorts last week and they are definitely worth the money! My mom was a little hesitant with spending $95 (Including tax) on a pair of shorts, but Free People are LITERALLY the only store that sells shorts that fit me well. My thighs are a tiny bit thick, so they do come up a little when I walk, so they are a bit short. I'm 6'0 and weigh about 145 lbs and I bought a 29. All in all, these shorts were a great buy and I cant wait to wear them during the school year! Also, the pockets come out more at the bottom than the picture shows. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Rugged Ripped Baja Denim Shorts
Name:
Location:philadelphia
age:14-20
body type:curvy
maybe i'm going crazy,,
6.3.2012
" but i think the shorts run a bit small,im normally a 26 and sized up to a 27! they also fit a little weird. On me they are not high waisted nor low rise.. but it's not a deal breaker.
other than that i love the shorts! they're very cute and match with a lot of colors. normally i don't pay this much for shorts, but because they are amazing, i splurged(:
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Rugged Ripped Baja Denim Shorts
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
My Favorite Summer Shorts
5.28.2012
" I absolutely ADORE these shorts! They are extremely flattering without being too short or tight, and the first time trying them on they were so soft and easy it felt like I'd been wearing them all season. The detailing looks hand-done, and the color combo is such that these shorts will go with any shirt. Also, the pockets cover the large rips on either side of the shorts, and although I usually don't mind a few tears- I like this touch. Overall, I plan to wear these every single day this summer (well, maybe a trade off with my colored FP shorts...) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Rugged Ripped Baja Denim Shorts
Name:
Location:Alabama
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Most loved shorts ever!!
5.23.2012
" I had searched for shorts for many years, always trying them on, but always being completely unsatisfied with them. I just couldnt find a pair of shorts that were "made" for me, so to say. Until I tried these on. I instantly loved them and Im sure you will too! They are super comfortable and a very laid back style. I LOVE them!! :) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Rugged Ripped Baja Denim Shorts
Name:
Location:NJ
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Fantastic style - Runs large
5.21.2012
" Order 1-2 sizes down. I realize they are not suppose to be tight shorts, but these still run large. I love the style of these shorts. I usually don't like buying ripped pants, but these are really THAT fantastic. The colors are a bit more faded looking than in the picture, but it still looks good. The woven pattern and texture really add interesting elements to these shorts, and I really love how the front pockets are woven on the inside too so you can see the color peak through the rips and the bottom. The hem is not sewn so it will unravel freely. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Rugged Ripped Baja Denim Shorts
Name:
Location:Alabama
age:21-25
body type:athletic
My favorite new shorts
5.15.2012
" These look SO much better in person than they do in these pictures. They are extremely comfortable and feel like you have worn them in for years. Very flattering style and go with almost everything! I love them so much! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Rugged Ripped Baja Denim Shorts
Name:
Location:San Diego, CA
age:21-25
body type:petite
perfect
5.13.2012
" I try to avoid anything plain - the more studs, rips, and patterns, the better. These are the perfect pair of shorts if you are looking for something with some embellishments that aren't over the top. I got a size 27 and I am 5'4" and 120lb. They are a little loose but I love them like that! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Rugged Ripped Baja Denim Shorts
Name:
Location:Georgia
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
HOT
5.11.2012
" I have never bought a pair of cutoff shorts because I make my own from old jeans, but I could not replicate this style so I decided to just *try* them (totally thinking they wouldn't be all that and I would probably just send them back). OMG I LOVE these!!! I will wear them until they are falling off me. They fit perfectly, are well made, just the right length, and the Mexican-blanket-style contrasting fabric is absolutely adorable. Exactly as pictured. Totally worth the price! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Rugged Ripped Baja Denim Shorts
Name:
Location:Dallas, TX
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
summer staple
5.8.2012
" Free People can do no wrong! Saw the blue denim version in the store and loved em! They have washed and worn look that I love, plus I love the embroidery. I know I will definitely be wearing these alot this summer. They run true to size. I normally wear a 25 in pants and the 25's at FP fit perfectly. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Rugged Ripped Baja Denim Shorts
Name:
Location:Oregon, USA
age:21-25
body type:athletic
my favorite pair of shorts :)
5.6.2012
" what a great pair of shorts!! i saw them and really wanted them in the blue wash, but it was sold out in my normal 26 or 27, so i just decided to go for a 25 and hope for the best. the 25 fit perfectly so i'm going to go ahead and say that these run reeeally big, but don't let that scare you off-- order a couple sizes down, they are totally worth it! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Rugged Ripped Baja Denim Shorts
Name:
Location:Golden, CO
age:31-35
body type:athletic
New Favorite F.P. shorts!
5.6.2012
" I strongly disagree with previous reviewer, They are not at all Boyfriend-ish in any way. I'm athletic built and found them to be true to size. The white pop and make tanned skin tones look amazing and sexy. I loved them so much I also bought the blue denim color too. They are built well and are worth every cent. There are endless options to these shorts. The rips are perfectly distressed and the pockets are extra long to peek at bottom. I didn't find them to be too short, just right. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>