Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Icy Embellished Dress

Sleeveless body-conscious dress with textured floral applique and iridescent beading on front. Features mesh yoke at top of front and back. Bottom hem is jagged edge all around. Zipper closure in the back. Unlined. *98% Cotton, 2% Spandex *Hand Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 33" Bust (all around): 31 1/2" Waist (all around): 28" Armhole Drop: 8 1/4"
overall average rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Icy Embellished Dress
Review 1 for Icy Embellished Dress
Name:
Location:utah
age:26-30
body type:slender
One of of my favorite FP pieces
3.13.2014
"The red is beautiful, and the XS fits perfectly (5'6, 117, 32D) I wish FP would bring this back in more colors!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Icy Embellished Dress
Name:
Location:Oregon
age:26-30
body type:petite
Not for me
8.24.2012
"It was love at first sight so I decided to order this dress. I ordered a size small which is my regular in FB size. It fit perfect but I didnt like the way the bottom looked it reminded me of something tinkerbell or a fairy would wear. It looked almost tattered. I was also disappointed in the beading I thought it looked cheap."
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Icy Embellished Dress
Name:
Location:Toronto
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
LOVE IT
8.10.2012
"I bought it in store and I absolutely LOVE it. I usually hate body con dresses because it exposes everything and can be very sluty. But this dress is the exact opposite, I am an XS size but i like to get this bigger. I tried the XS it fits but it was hugging my body and holding everything in. Meanwhile the S still does but not as much and I can move and feel more comfortable. This dress is dressy and casual at the same time. Easy to wear !!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Icy Embellished Dress
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Rockstar dress
5.18.2012
"I was initially attracted to the color (washed denim) and had to try it on. The store had either a L or a S so I went with the L which seemed great until I tried on the M at another store - perfect! The dress definitely runs a little big but both sizes worked; slightly different look for each size.
Wore the dress at a music festival and felt like a rockstar - LOVE it!
Only one note of caution......wore a long white FP cardigan over the dress in the evening and when I took it off, it was blue as was my entire body. Probably wise to wash the dress before first wearing!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Icy Embellished Dress
Name:
Location:Bolton, Ontario, Canada
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Really Cute.. but Odd Fit
4.27.2012
"I really wanted to love this dress; unfortunately it is going back. Purchased an XS (5'5", 115llbs) - fit was perfect but... zipper at the back bunches up very weird like, does not flatter the body AT ALL, Pink Lemonade colour is much more vibrant online than actual (although not bad). Dress was just an overall awkward fit."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Icy Embellished Dress
Name:
Location:US
age:14-20
body type:slender
So sexy!
4.17.2012
"I was so pleased with this dress! The detailing on it is so cute, but it's edgy with the mesh and fading. I do have a complaint however, after getting home from dancing in it all night I noticed the dye (I bought the red) had rubbed off onto my arms, which looked like a horrible rash that didn't come off for days even with persistent scrubbing. It's still worth it, though maybe just don't wear it if you plan on getting sweaty!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Icy Embellished Dress
Name:
Location:Santa Monica, CA
age:26-30
body type:petite
Cute, but...
3.30.2012
"Got this dress in the faded red color. Was so excited when I got it in the mail and even more excited to see that it looked identical to the pix on the website. Color and beading is exquisite. Unfortunately for me it just didn't fit right. I'm 5'2" and got the size small. It was too big and too long. came almost to my knees. Thought about getting it hemmed but the beaded detail on bottom wouldn't allow for it. Big bummer. Just not made for us short girls in mind. Reluctantly returned."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Icy Embellished Dress
Name:
Location:Australia
age:14-20
body type:slender
beyond disappointed!
3.23.2012
"When I saw this dress on the model - fell in love! Had to have it straight away! Got the S, took 4 days longer than the expected longest date to arrive (16days). But that was ok, I was so upset to find out that my long awaited dress didn't fit one bit! I am normally a 6, but bigger bust so opted for the S and not the XS, and the S was MASSIVE! The zip sticks out SO MUCH at the back, and the dress does not sit at all, and looks awful from the back! Not sure what to do at the moment, bought this dress for an event, but would rather wear trackies to a formal event than be seen in this :( My advice- try before you buy! Worst online shopping experience :( Didn't mean for this post to be so negative, but returning it for the XS and will write another review as i am in love with the pattern and this gorgeous pink color!"
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 9 for Icy Embellished Dress
Name:
Location:San Diego CA
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Vibrant
3.22.2012
"I tried this on in the pink in my local FP store. The color is gorgeous, as shown. My issue with the dress was that the top part fit loose and the bottom from the hips onward was comparatively more fitted. In the end, I couldn't decide between the XS and S, since I was compromising the fit I wanted either way. I would still say this is a gorgeous dress, depending on your body type and the fit you prefer."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Icy Embellished Dress
Name:
Location:boston, ma
age:26-30
body type:petite
definitely returning it
3.13.2012
"Okay, the fabric and material is super cool and cute. The cloth almost feels like sweats but is dressy looking, if that makes any sense.
Not the right shape for me, as I have bigger hips and quasi-broad shoulders.
The embellishment in the middle falls right at my stomach and draws attention there in a weird way.If this were a $50 item, I'd keep it, but it just doesn't look that good on me.
Great color though!
"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Icy Embellished Dress
Name:
Location:New York City
age:21-25
body type:petite
Amazing
3.7.2012
"I'm 5'4, 105 lbs, and got an XS in red. It fits slightly loose on me, but that's what i wanted - a straighter, 'flapper' look. Pairing it with black heels and a black jacket, it's really stunning. Definitely get this, absolutely worth it!!! It would probably be awkward on a very curvy body, though. This material is not stretchy!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Icy Embellished Dress
Name:
Location:Kansas
age:26-30
body type:athletic
beautiful but not quite right
2.25.2012
"I got this in my usual medium 5'6" 135lbs 36-28-37. I found it to be a little on the big side. I wasn't fond of how the zipper fell on me in the back. It kinda looked lumpy and flared out in places. I loved the look and color, but this just wasn't for me"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Icy Embellished Dress
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:21-25
body type:slender
STUNNING IN RED!
2.20.2012
"This dress is so beautiful! I have it in the red color and it is simply gorgeous! The detailing and beading on this dress is incredible! It is a super sexy dress and can be easily dressed up or down depending on the occasion for wear. My boyfriend loves it and I get so many compliments anytime I wear it. I definitely recommend this dress! However, if you are small in the bust, I would recommend sizing down. I got the xs and I'm 5'6", 120 lbs, and wear a 34B. The fit is perfect on me. If I went up a size it would be too big in the bust. Love this dress! Looks super cute with colored or patterned tights and a leather jacket! (picture attatched)"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 14 for Icy Embellished Dress
Name:
Location:Vancouver, Canada
age:26-30
body type:slender
Cute
2.4.2012
"When I saw this in the catalogue I instantly fell in love with the blue, I waited until FP re-stocked it and purchased it knowing full well (by reading the reviews) that it's not as body-con as it looks in the photos. However, while I like the dress and am definitely keeping it, I really love the little patches of white the dress has on the photos online but the one I got doesn't really have any which was kind of a let down. That aside, it's still a very uniquely designed dress and cute overall. I also wear mine with a cami underneath so the back is a non issue and found the XS to be perfect for my 32B bust size, the length was perfect on me not too short (I'm 5'6) but it is a tad roomy around my 26" waist - but that didn't bother me though."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Icy Embellished Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
My go-to "hot" dress
2.3.2012
"I get sooo many compliments every time I wear this. I wore it on a tropical vacation and it looked great, then I paired it with a black blazer for a holiday party, and now I continue to find ways to wear it weather it's a cocktail party or a date night. It's beautiful and subtly sexy -- the back of the dress is killer!
One warning: you have to go braless in this dress so larger chested gals beware. However, if you're an A-B cup this dress is perfection.
One of my all time favorites."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Icy Embellished Dress
Name:
Location:DC
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Share & Share Alike...
1.14.2012
"The Free People customer contributors are tremendously helpful with their reviews. I cannot count the number of purchases that I have made, or avoided (haha), based on customer opinion. THANK YOU LADIES!! You guys are awesome! Regarding this dress, I purchased the cayenne and the color is lovely, just as pictured. I really like the fact that the fit is close but not tight. If you're a full C cup or larger definitely size up or the girls will get squished. I'm 5'9" and the dress is short but not vulgar. I love it. Highly recommended."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Icy Embellished Dress
Name:
Location:NY
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Starry Night
1.12.2012
"This dress has a magic feel to it. I bought mine in the Short Hills, NJ mall at the FP store. I wear it with a cami, so the see-through back is a non-issue. The dress has some weight to it, so it accents the curves and hides the imperfections. The pattern on mine is more blue and the white area has a kind of glowing edge vibe. It is perfect for a rock event or for going to a downtown restaurant. Yes, it is short, but nothing some opaque hose can't manage. I really love this one!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Icy Embellished Dress
Name:
Location:East Coast
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Beautiful
12.31.2011
"I saw this online, and fell in love with the navy, however could never find it in stock. I went to my local FP store, and sadly they did not have any blue in my size so I tried on the red. The red was actually very striking and beautiful. I have worn the dress to 3 different occasions with different people in a month and receive countless compliments. For bustier girls, the mesh is a really great way to highlight cleavage without being too "in your face". You need to wear a sticky bra with this dress, since the back is also mesh."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Icy Embellished Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
size up for bustier girls
11.11.2011
"This dress is very holiday-esque with the velvety lining. I found this is in white. It is very beautiful. But for girls with chest issues in free people sizes, I would recommend going up a size to resolve this."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Icy Embellished Dress
Name:
Location:philadelphia
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
all i have to say is HOT!
11.9.2011
"this dress is one of my favorites (and if you've seen my reviews i own A LOT of dresses). this reminds me of such a rock and roll dress. it has edge to it which is really sexy. i wore it out on a double date and everyone there kept complimenting me and said how hot the dress was. it is also very flattering to my figure which is progressively getting curvier ): it is really short. with body con dresses i order a M (vs. small) in fp and it comes to right below my butt. if you're thinking about it get the red, it's a great buy!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>