Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Military Ruffle Twill Jacket

Distressed cargo jacket with three tiers of ruffle detailing at lower back. Snap button closure at front. Two utility pockets at front. Frayed detailing at seams. Corset-style tie detailing at each sleeve hem. Rugged, washed out look. Stretchy.
overall average rating:
4.491 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for Military Ruffle Twill Jacket
Review 1 for Military Ruffle Twill Jacket
Name:
Location:CA
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
An excellent alternative to a denim jacket
9.17.2014
"I love me a denim jacket. But sometimes I want something equally as casual, but not so plain. This jacket fits the bill. The fabric is a good quality and has a little bit of stretch. The seaming is flattering. The ruffles are fun. I wear a size 10-12, so I ordered this jacket in size large. It was way too big. Not flattering. But I exchanged it for the medium and it's a perfect fit. So based on that, I'm going to say the jacket runs a little large. If you're between sizes, order the smaller size."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Military Ruffle Twill Jacket
Name:
Location:Mass.
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Small fits 34DD! yay!
8.13.2014
"I cannot believe that I can actually button a SMALL. I am typically a M 8-10 in tops depending on style, but never below 8 because I am 34DD on top. My arms and torso in general is actually a small, it's just these darn jugs that get in the way of proper sizing. This jacket is a perfect fit. If you are petite (5'2" 130lb) and DD or D bust, definitely try the small first. It won't be to boxy like the larger ones tend to be. Has enough room for layering too. The arm length is perfect and hangs only slightly over my wrists. You can fold them up a bit to reveal under layers too. I tried it with 2 layered button up blouses and left the jacket open, looks fantastic. I am a little disappointed that the black color is not "as shown". I thought it would be a deeper black, but it is more of a vintage look. I am ok with it though, very comfy and casually cute!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Military Ruffle Twill Jacket
Name:
Location:Seven Valleys, PA
age:over 45
body type:petite
Great Jacket
8.10.2014
"I read the other reviews about sizing so I decided to go with a medium and it fits perfectly. I am short 5' 2" so I was concerned it might be to long but it was just right. Love the laces on the sleeves and the ruffle back. I went with green color since I almost always get black and it's great. Will go with everything. Can't wait to wear it!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Military Ruffle Twill Jacket
Name:
Location:AUSTRALIA
age:over 45
body type:slender
LOVE IT!
8.3.2014
"I watched this jacket go out of stock in the black colour as I um'd and ah'd over to for XS or S. I am 5ft 3" 52kg (114pds) straight figure with broad shoulders. Finally when back in I purchased the S..mainly as I was worried about across the shoulders... I really should have gone with XS. I absolutely LOVE this jacket, it is really roomy - big enough to get a fair bit of layering going on underneath. I am going to purchase another one in black in XS for a more fitted look and wear the S when it is cooler and need extra padding. I have only had this a couple of days and have worn it everyday since...everyone loves it and wants to know where I got it!! Don't hesitate!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Military Ruffle Twill Jacket
Name:
Location:Germany
age:21-25
body type:slender
Love it
8.1.2014
"This jacket is lovely! I got one in caramel and it looks just like pictured. Size XS fits perfectly (I am 165 cm tall and 105 lb)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Military Ruffle Twill Jacket
Name:
Location:Tennessee
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
So happy I finally bought it.
7.15.2014
"I've been wanting this jacket for a while and finally broke down and purchased it in the moss color. I typically wear a small in FP (size 6) and I ordered the jacket in a Medium so I'd have some room. I could have worn the small so I think it's very true to size. The color and style is adorable. Sleeves are long enough even though I'm tall and the ruffle makes it so girly. I'm considering buying the black one now too."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Military Ruffle Twill Jacket
Name:
Location:Oregon
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Super Awesome
6.12.2014
"I just love this jacket. The cargo front pockets is just stellar and the sleeve detailing stands out. I've found it pairs well with skirts and denim. It's also a warm jacket for chilly mornings in the summer."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Military Ruffle Twill Jacket
Name:
Location:Atlanta, GA
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Roomy
3.23.2014
"I had this sitting in my wish list forever in size small and changed at the last minute to XS and so glad I did. I'm 5'8" 136lb 34A/B and I plan to use this as a warm weather jacket so I did not want a lot of extra room for layers etc. I am certainly not a waif and the XS was still just a little roomy. Very cute though. I got the black and now am sort of wishing I got one of the lighter colors."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Military Ruffle Twill Jacket
Name:
Location:New Zealand
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Love!
3.16.2014
"Jacket just arrived in mail today. I was a bit apprehensive when ordering as there were a few differing opinions on sizing when reading the reviews and I live in New Zealand. I usually buy small in FP tops. After reading through the reviews countless times I ordered the medium in this jacket in black and the fit is perfect. Fits shoulders and length like model pictured. I am totally happy with the quality and fit, can't wait for weather to cool a bit so I can wear it!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Military Ruffle Twill Jacket
Name:
Location:uK
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
too small
3.9.2014
"I am usually between a S and a M and often size up. However having read reviews I sized down and the jacket was too small. The jacket itself was cute and the grey colour nice. Unfortunately I had to return it."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Military Ruffle Twill Jacket
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:41-45
body type:slender
Love, love, love
2.27.2014
"I now have this jacket in all colors except caramel. I'll probably end up with that one too. I love it! I get tons of compliments on it and can layer it with anything. I'm 6' tall so the sleeves hit me a little short but I just cuff it up one time and it's perfect.. you can still see the lacing. I will be wearing these jackets for a looonnng time."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 12 for Military Ruffle Twill Jacket
Name:
Location:Louisville, Ky
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Super Cool Jacket
2.25.2014
"I bought this jacket in black and it's super cute. The black is distressed, and it will just about go with anything. I love it! I bought xs but it's still a bit big. It sure doesn't fit me like the model. I'm 5'4" 115 lbs. 32 B."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Military Ruffle Twill Jacket
Name:
Location:So Cal
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Super cute details!
2.16.2014
"Goes great with jeans or maxi dresses. Versatile! The ruffle details on the back are really cute and the lace up on the sleeves give it a girlie vibe to a military style. I bought my daughter the black one (more of a washed black) and when I saw how cute it was I had to buy the olive green one for myself! I would normally buy a large in this type of jacket (tends to be tight on my arms) but they only had medium in the green which fit just fine. I tried on a large in black for comparison and there really wasn't much difference. I was even wearing long sleeves when I tried them on. Fabric has a really nice stretch to it. For reference I'm 5'5" size 10. Very very happy with my purchase!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Military Ruffle Twill Jacket
Name:
Location:USA
age:over 45
body type:slender
Moss color
2.6.2014
"Was back and forth deciding on this jacket. Finally got the moss in size small. 5'7" 125 lbs. This is a light jacket, good for spring and early fall. I will be wearing this often. Very comfortable fit, sleeves plenty long enough, and I have quite a wing span. I won't be afraid to wash and dry. Definitely recommend - the ruffles are a great touch and will look good with the Loves Me, Love Me Not slips. Enjoy!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Military Ruffle Twill Jacket
Name:
Location:Portland, OR, USA
age:31-35
body type:pear shaped
Not That Special
12.26.2013
"I eyed this for awhile and finally decided to order it in the caramel. The jacket is nice but it didn't stand out as being unique and I didn't think it was worth the price. I was hoping the color would be more golden/ochre but it was more of a regular tan. The ruffles in the back would probably look better after being ironed but I'm not going to bother. Taking it back.
Overall, meh. I'd buy it for about half of what it costs."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Military Ruffle Twill Jacket
Name:
Location:Keller, TX
age:21-25
body type:slender
Unique Jacket
12.1.2013
"I found this in my local fp store, tried it on just for fun, and came back the next day because i had to have it. This jacket is very light, but super stretchy and not bulky at all. I got mine in an xs because I prefer a more fitted look."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Military Ruffle Twill Jacket
Name:
Location:Tampa, FL
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
tight in bust
11.19.2013
"This runs very small in the bust so if that is a problem usually for you with this brand, I would size waaaay up. Besides that the cut on this is very flattering, the material is durable and feels well made. It is a good basic piece that would tie in with a lot of other pieces this season"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Military Ruffle Twill Jacket
Name:
Location:Chattanooga TN
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
Cute Jacket!!
10.31.2013
"Okay, have been waiting for this jacket. I love it!
Really cute. I have to say, it does not run large! I should of listened to my gut and ordered up. I am 5 ft 6 and not especially large busted but this
jacket is SNUG, over a shirt. I advise that you
order up! I'll keep it, but will not use the snaps!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Military Ruffle Twill Jacket
Name:
Location:Arizona
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Perfect Little Jacket
10.29.2013
"This is one of my first purchases from Free People...and I was not disappointed! It runs true to size, and the pockets are functional, which I love. I got it in camel color to wear over a lace dress for a wedding. The contrast of textures was really nice, and I was so comfortable. Paired with a cute scarf and little booties, just worked!! Love this site...I am a child of the 70's, this did not disappoint! Will wear with so much...def would recommend."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Military Ruffle Twill Jacket
Name:
Location:Canada
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Really does run large
10.16.2013
"I am a size 4 US, bust 34" B, and a small is truly my size. I thought judging by the other photos (and model photo) this jacket would be slightly fitted. I should have ordered a size down to XS for it to fit like the model. But I ordered a size small and had quite a bit of room as another reviewer mentioned (like 4 inches around the waist and gut area). I bought the light khaki yellow and it looks like a safari jacket. It sits longer on me than the model (she is probably tall) and I am 5ft4". There is a reason why all the photos show the jacket worn unbuttoned, as buttoning makes it less attractive. If you size down, however you may find the upper back and shoulders a bit tight, especially if you have a bulkier item beneath. It would probably be fine with a t-shirt if you want fitted. I will return it and try an XS in a different colour."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 next>>