Product Reviews

Williamsburg Dropwaist Shirt Dress

Denim dropwaist buttondown shirtdress. Collared. Two hip pockets. Light pleating around waist. *100% Cotton *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 33" Bust (all around): 36 1/2" Waist (all around): 33" Armhole Drop: 8 3/4"
overall average rating:
3.625 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Customer Reviews for Williamsburg Dropwaist Shirt Dress
Review 1 for Williamsburg Dropwaist Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:Denver
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Smart dress but for smaller chest
2.28.2013
" I am really confused about the other reviewers marking it as running large. I am 36 D and ordered size L and I could barely fit in the top. The buttons were almost busting away. Maybe the increase in size from S to L is not enough or it is not suitable for C or above.
I really wanted to keep the dress as it was very flattering on the body and looked really smart. The wash on the dress is also nice. But sadly I have to return it back to a store. Search for nice denim dress goes on!!
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Williamsburg Dropwaist Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Really cute
12.3.2012
" I didn't think I would like this dress, especially based on what some reviewers had said. I really like it though. The fabric doesn't have a sheen to it like some said and there are no washed out faded bits. The drape of the fabric actually sits nicely and it is a nice weight. I thought I would look a bit too hippy given my frame but the dress looks good. My only negative is the length. I am 5'8" and this is short. I will only be able to wear it with leggings. It's a keeper. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Williamsburg Dropwaist Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:Austin, TX
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Very flattering
12.3.2012
" This dress is adorable! It is very figure-flattering: the drop waist looks great and it flares at just the right spot. The problem is the bodice fit: holy cow is it snug! The buttons barely button up on me in my usual size, and when they are buttoned the fabric pulls, so I'll be wearing this with a few buttons undone and a pretty bandeau underneath it. The length on my 5'4" frame is just long enough for me to feel comfortable, but any shorter and I'd personally prefer to wear leggings with it. After reading other reviews, I was a little concerned about how shiny the fabric would be. I was very pleasantly surprised: it's got nowhere near the amount of sheen I'd been concerned about. I think that the photos are more shimmery than my dress, in all honesty, and I really dislike shiny denim so I'm quite pleased. Great purchase for the sale price! I'm such a sucker for dresses with pockets :P "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Williamsburg Dropwaist Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:maryland
age:26-30
body type:athletic
LOVE...LOVES =D
12.2.2012
" I bought this dress in a size "S" (usually i'm "s"/"xs"despite the negative reviews cuz I thought it looked awesome and for the sale price +20% off- wow!
It just arrived and I LOVE IT! Its actually exactly as pictured and super comfy and cute and feminine. ONE THING THO- if you are small busted AND could go between sizes, choose the smaller of your size bc it is loose =D
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Williamsburg Dropwaist Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:new jersey
age:31-35
body type:slender
nothing like the pictures
11.12.2012
" this dress is'nt cut very well; the shirt top is form-fitting, but the bottom is flared way too much, and it does'nt sit right. alsom i think the description should clarify that the denim is treated and has a sheen to it-looking at the pics now i can see the shine but you can't tell until you have the dress in front of you. i don't like shiny denim so i would have liked to know that. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Williamsburg Dropwaist Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:north carolina
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
It's ok.
11.7.2012
" I'm a little underwhelmed by this dress. I would say it runs large. I wish I had sized down. The colors are not quite what is shown in the picture. As a previous reviewer noted, there are some light "patches" on the back. (But this does not bother me). It's a great value dress, but not one of my favorite items from Free People. Just a bit plain... Fits ok- flattering... but doesn't really do anything to accentuate the waist in my opinion. If you are going to buy this I would size down! "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Williamsburg Dropwaist Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:Texas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Nice flare, not enough fit
10.29.2012
" I really loved the style of this dress, but it just doesn't have "it." I am 5'5" 118lbs, normally wear a size 2 in jeans. I have an athletic frame, but on the smallish side :) I ordered an XS in this dress but it was just too roomy. The length was fine, same as in the picture, but the width of the dress was too much for my size so it made the flare in the skirt look awkward on me. However, you could definitely wear this unbuttoned maybe over another short dress or as a layering piece. Still think its cute, just not right for me it seems :( The dress is very comparable to how it is modeled, just not as form fitting. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Williamsburg Dropwaist Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:denver
age:41-45
body type:slender
fabric warning
9.26.2012
" this is an adorable dress but more of a tunic over leggings since the back is vvvery short. please note: there are big faded spots on this garment, especially in the back, that cannot be dyed with RIT or other fabric dyes. the fabric was treated in these areas and cannot be modified. otherwise, it's a super cute and versatile dress shirt! "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large