Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Double Knit Dropwaist Dress

Knitted dropwaist mini dress with flouncy skirt. Sleeveless. Zips up the back. An essential weekend dress that also transitions perfectly into a night out on the town dress! *Polyester, Rayon, and Spandex Blend *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 33" Bust (all around): 32 1/2" Waist (all around - relaxed): 29" Armhole Drop: 8 1/4"
overall average rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Double Knit Dropwaist Dress
Review 1 for Double Knit Dropwaist Dress
Name:
Location:boston, ma.
age:21-25
body type:slender
it's okay.
5.6.2013
" i got the xs ivory. the neckline was higher than i was used to and the drop waist hit me right under my tummy, which really accentuated my tummy...so i would say the xs was a bit tight for my liking. i'm 5'3", 110lb, 32C. everywhere else fit perfect, no gaping arm holes and the length was great, mid thigh. it would have been a keeper if the drop waist actually dropped on me!! probably should have sized up to a small on this one, but now it's sold out. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Double Knit Dropwaist Dress
Name:
Location:Vancouver, Canada
age:21-25
body type:slender
Great dress, if it didn't look a little used.
4.22.2013
" This dress is amazing, and I bought it on sale so I was pretty happy about that.
My only complaint is "why would they sell me a used dress?" Perhaps it was just tried on too many times, but really, this should have been taken our of circulation. I will be emailing the company to inquire about this.
About the actual dress though: great! "
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb4.23.2013
We're sorry your dress arrived in this condition. We'll be in touch! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Double Knit Dropwaist Dress
Name:
Location:Fort Worth, TX
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Not for shorties with curvy butts!
1.7.2013
" I'm 5'4 and I have a fairly pronounced rear end which I've work hard for and am proud of. This dress looks fantastic on the model and I had a thousand outfits planned for it. Unfortunately, the drop waist hits me at an awkward place and just doesn't look quite right on me. I have a fairly short torso so that's probably why. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Double Knit Dropwaist Dress
Name:
Location:toronto, ontario, canada
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
Double Love
12.5.2012
" I was recently at my local FP store to see what was new. I had not seen this dress in the store before but had been looking at it online for quite sometime. I was unsure what size to order, like so many other items. So, it was on hold until someone wrote a review I could relate to. I immediately tried on the medium in the only colour they had, black. It fit "perfectly". The sales girls were ooo-ing and aah-ing because it looked so perfect on me. And that does not happen to me all the time. For reference, I'm 5'6" and 135 lbs. I am totally in love with it. I think it's my favourite FP piece to date. The weight of the material is really nice as it's not too heavy and not too light. It appears to be very well made with a hidden zipper up the back and double seaming throughout. Of course the best part is the extra cute pockets. I think absolutely everything should have pockets. The flared part of the skirt drapes nicely and does not add to or make you look too "hippy" as this style can sometimes do. As another person commented, it's probably because the dropped waist is not TOO low. Since it's so cold here, I wore mine with a very light 3/4 sleeve black t-shirt underneath, black tights, black studded combat boots and a long necklace with an oversize pendant. Can't wait to get one [or two] in another colour. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 5 for Double Knit Dropwaist Dress
Name:
Location:DC
age:26-30
body type:petite
Such a cute dress!
11.18.2012
" After reading great reviews about this dress, I decided to try it on at my local FP store. This dress is so cute! The material is great. The fit is great. I'm 5'3 , 120lbs and the XS fit me perfectly! I purchased the black one, and will be getting more colors for sure. The pockets are definitely a plus! Adorable! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Double Knit Dropwaist Dress
Name:
Location:Austin
age:26-30
body type:petite
Expresso love
11.13.2012
" I really like this dress. I got it in Small (5'2'' 100 lbs) I could have gone with an xs but I wanted a looser feel as pictured on the model. The material is pretty thick and is great quality. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Double Knit Dropwaist Dress
Name:
Location:austin
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Just bought it today!
10.18.2012
" went to the store to try a few things i had seen online. I had been passing this one by while "window shopping" on the website, but decided to give it a whirl once I saw it in person.
Glad I did! I can't imagine this NOT looking good on someone. I bought the black in S - I'm 5'8" 34C. LOVE LOVE LOVE
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Double Knit Dropwaist Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Excellent!
9.26.2012
" I am pretty curvy and I have come to find that drop-waist dresses generally don't flatter my shape that much. This, however is an exception! Maybe it's because the waist is a TAD higher than normal drop-waist dresses. I love this dress and I love the pockets! Thinking about getting another color. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Double Knit Dropwaist Dress
Name:
Location:Washington, DC
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Love this dress!
9.11.2012
" Absolutely love this dress! I bought it immediately after seeing the blonde model wearing it in the September catalogue (um, how amazing was that catalogue by the way?) but thought it probably would not look good on me and expected to return it. Definitely not! I've never bought anything drop-waist because I wasn't sure how it would look on me. I am 5'9/126 lbs/all torso and it looks amazing. I also have hips, so I usually hate dresses with pockets because it accentuates my hips even more...not this dress. It really is amazing and I can't wait to wear it! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Double Knit Dropwaist Dress
Name:
Location:DC
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Everything done right!
9.8.2012
" I bought this dress in black. It is so unassuming on the rack and soooo awesome on the body. I'm 5'9" and wear a medium. I was afraid the dress would be too short for long legs but it's perfect and fits exactly like the model. The dropwaist is not awkward like so many can be and the pleating is actually flattering, not overly voluminous even in the back (and i've got a little j-lo action going on back there if you know what i mean). With the double knit the fabric is substantial and creates enough structure to make this dress look high end. And the pockets aren't bulky, they are perfectly placed. All in all, this dress was a real surprise and worth every penny considering I'll be wearing it very often during the cold months. I tried throwing on a belt and the dress went from daytime casual to nighttime worthy. I may get it in cream as well. This one is a winner. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Double Knit Dropwaist Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Great fall dress
8.26.2012
" This dress is a perfect fall dress! I'm 5'4'', 110 pounds and I got this dress is an XS and it fits perfect. It's flattering and comfortable. The material is very nice and the dress appears very well made. Highly recommend buying this dress! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large