Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Valhalla Velvet Short

Gorgeous velvet five-pocket shorts. Button and zipper fly. *80% Rayon, 10% Nylon, 10% Silk *Machine Wash *Import Measurements for Size 28: Waist: 33" Rise: 10" Inseam: 3"
overall average rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Customer Reviews for Valhalla Velvet Short
Review 1 for Valhalla Velvet Short
Name:
Location:Australia
age:21-25
body type:slender
Cute
3.30.2012
" These shorts are super interesting. Love the material, very soft. They do run large... I'm usually a 26 in jeans and got the 25 in these, and they are still a little big around the waist so they sit a tad lower than how the model is wearing them. So I could have got the 24, but perhaps then they would have been too short! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Valhalla Velvet Short
Name:
Location:Minnesota
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
soft, soft, soft
3.4.2012
" For starters, I love these shorts. But moving on to their details... they were a bit bigger than I expected. I normally wear a size 27 in jeans, so that's what I got in these and maybe I lost some weight... but they were still big. The inseam on the shorts is also a big long compared to typical shorts, so these allow for more modesty (which isn't a bad thing, just be prepared to not show your butox). But despite them being a bit bigger, I am going to keep them because their just so nice. It's an overall good product. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Valhalla Velvet Short
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Roller Girl?
1.20.2012
" I look like a bad 70's made for TV movie in these shorts.. They were so short and tight it was rediculous, but the waist fit nicely.. The blue had a beautiful color, and texture, but they just looked bad on me and my large thighs. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Valhalla Velvet Short
Name:
Location:the islands
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
luv!
1.7.2012
" These shorts are super soft and comfortable...the velvet is smooth.
I purchased the blue in a SZ 25 and they still fit loosely....I could of gone with a 24 althought I think they may have been too short.
5'4 102 lbs 32 A - 25 - 26 W
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Valhalla Velvet Short
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
FANTASTIC!
12.17.2011
" These are off the hook! They look amazing with the open stitches sweater listed below! I got the shorts in indigo and the sweater in white. Looks great with tights and combat boots. The velvet is thin enough that these will wear well into spring. Sizing is loose depending on how you wear your shorts. I got these 1 size larger than I usually get my shorts because this fit a bit higher on the waist, so while if I were to wear them normally, a size down would've been appropriate, to wear them down further as I prefer, a size up actually worked best. Highly recommended! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Open Stitches Pullover
4.4 out of 5(44)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 6 for Valhalla Velvet Short
Name:
Location:Hermosa Beach, CA
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Go down a size, and think first
11.16.2011
" These shorts are great, but make sure you have something to wear them with. I got the indigo, and black tights (or grey) look good with them, but I'm just struggling to put them in an outfit that i LOVE. They may go back, i'm not sure yet. I'm sure the ochre is cuter and more versatile but all the store had was the blue. The jury is still out on what i'll do, but they fit great (go down a size) and look good. hmmm.... "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Valhalla Velvet Short
Name:
Location:va
age:21-25
body type:petite
Nothing Special
10.9.2011
" I purchased these recently in the indigo color. I sized down because they were a bit lose. It wasn't that I disliked them, but they just weren't anything too spectacular. Maybe just not my style. I found the indigo to be a bit too dark. You definitely can't pair them with black or dark tights because then you could barely tell I was even wearing shorts. I did 't feel like bothering with having to buy extra tights etc..these shorts just seemed like a bit of a chore. I'd love to try the ochre color, but the store I went to didn't have them. I wanted to love them, but I ended up returning them. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Valhalla Velvet Short
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Love them!
9.12.2011
" I ordered these in the ochre in my usual size and was very excited when they arrived in the mail. I love the new velvet trend, but I was skeptical about trying something overwhelming like a dress or pants, so I thought shorts would be a great start. The photos don't do these justice, the velvet is much more beautiful and softer in person. The color is also much more contrasted.. meaning you can definitely tell these shorts are velvet from afar! I also noticed that the fabric is thinner than I anticipated, but so far they have proved to be quite well made. I would recommend ordering your usual size, but if you're between, consider sizing down as I found the waist to be a bit looser than usual. I plan on wearing tights underneath, though, so the extra room is fine with me. Overall, I definitely recommend these as an affordable way to add some texture and color to your fall wardrobe! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo