Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Love Letters Burnout Dress

Burnout fit and flare dress featuring baroque floral burnout designs and an open back. Lightly ruffled skirt portion with crochet trimming on bottom hem. Mesh detail on front of chest and mesh trimming on neckline.
overall average rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Customer Reviews for Love Letters Burnout Dress
Review 1 for Love Letters Burnout Dress
Name:
Location:nyc
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Great
1.5.2014
"This dress is great but as other reviewers have mentioned it definitely runs a little big. I'm normally a small in FP and that is what I ordered but an XS would have fit perfectly, mostly because you can't wear a bra with the dress and so a tighter fit probably would make things feel a bit more secure. All that said, I kept the dress and love it, its extremely comfortable (it even has pockets!) and very versatile."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Love Letters Burnout Dress
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:26-30
body type:curvy
So flirty!
10.1.2013
"This dress is so much fun to wear. Not only is it super comfortable, it's so flirty! I wore it out to a bachelorette party and it was a hit. My only complaint about this dress is that the arm holes are a bit large. I'll most likely get it tailored in the future. Love it!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Love Letters Burnout Dress
Name:
Location:Florida
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Winning
9.20.2013
"I just got this dress in black in the mail. It's more dark blue than black and even though I would have preferred an XS, the S just means I will keep this dress for my entire life. This dress is simple and yet can take away the breath of others. Soft and easy to slip on, I can't wait to take it out on vacation with me or go to a nice dinner or any special event. I'm very pleased."
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb9.24.2013
Simply gorgeous!!! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Love Letters Burnout Dress
Name:
Location:Brooklyn
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Close but no cigar
9.12.2013
"I wanted to like this dress, and ordered it in a rush for a wedding that I was going to. The dress was big everywhere. Granted I should have gone with a Small, but ordered a Medium because of another review. The color (black) and the fit was just a bit off everywhere for me. Oh well. Now it;s off to try and find a dress in the next day for this wedding!"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Love Letters Burnout Dress
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
I really wanted to like this dress!
9.5.2013
"I got the black one. It fit great and the details are gorgeous...if you look at them really closely. The pattern isn't as obvious on the black, and the sheer panel kind of draws the eye away and distracts from all the other pretty bits. Especially if you were in a dark atmosphere, I think the details would be lost completely (which is sad because they're the best part)."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Love Letters Burnout Dress
Name:
Location:Denver, CO
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Love Love Love
8.28.2013
"This dress was even more amazing than expected! I am so pumped to wear this dress. It will be perfect for the wedding a bought it for and for more casual days as well, very versatile. The size is perfect. I am 5’2 120, A-cup, and I got an XS. Cannot be more pleased a new FP fave!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Love Letters Burnout Dress
Name:
Location:Washington DC
age:14-20
body type:slender
Such a shame!!
8.16.2013
"This dress is really really cute, and the fabric is really soft and comfy, but the thing is- you can't really wear a bra with it! Which is a big no-no for me since i don't have large breasts. I'm 120 pounds, 5'7, and a 32B. I got the extra small in red and it was still too big. I would prefer the top to be a little tighter, especially since you kinda have to go bareboobed. The looseness really makes me look super flat chested because the fabric kind of hangs out around my breasts making them look tiny and saggy which looks ok on really skinny models I guess but not on me! If you're into this kind of loose and free look then go for it, but if you're like me and you prefer some cleavage or support, have smaller breasts, and don't have the confidence to wear something that makes your boobs look nonexistent, beware!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Love Letters Burnout Dress
Name:
Location:China
age:21-25
body type:petite
Stunning
8.16.2013
"I ordered a red. The color is more like washed red rose instead of a little orange as pictured. Very sexy and boho color! I' I'm 5'3", 99lbs, 32B and the XS fits me perfectly. The fabric on the breast is not too thin so I don't have to wear a bra. It's flattering and I receive tons of compliments the first time I wore it!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Love Letters Burnout Dress
Name:
Location:Las Vegas
age:21-25
body type:petite
LOVE!
8.13.2013
"I ordered this for an event I will be going to in the black, and I LOVE it! I am 5'2" size 0, and the XS was perfect. There are no zippers or anything, so it's very comfortable... and it's soft. I think I am going to stitch in a panel in the front so I can wear a bra. I am very excited about this dress!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large