Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Tulip Flare Jean

Stretch denim flare jeans with double button front side tab with hidden zipper and interior button closure. Two pockets on either side in the front, two pockets in back. Wide band at the bottom of each pant leg. *Cotton, T400, Lycra *Machine wash *Import Measurements for Size 28: Rise: 8" Regular Inseam: 34 1/4" Short Inseam: 30 1/2" Long Inseam: 36"
overall average rating:
4.591 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Customer Reviews for Tulip Flare Jean
Review 1 for Tulip Flare Jean
Name:
Location:california
age:21-25
body type:petite
Great Jeans
10.31.2011
"I love these jeans but they do tend to stretch! I would advise getting one size smaller than you usually wear. The fit is great and the material is very comfortable. Probably my favorite pants."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Tulip Flare Jean
Name:
Location:Maine
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Great Jeans!
9.18.2011
"I love these jeans! I sized up based on other customer reviews but they were a little big in the waist. NO WORRIES! I went back and ordered my regular size and kept the very slightly larger ones for winter here in the land that god forgot, when I wear long johns too. Perfect from every angle. Thanks for adding jeans with a 36" inseam FP!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Tulip Flare Jean
Name:
Location:ca
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
xxx
8.17.2011
"the flare on these is absolutely perfect for every outfit.. will love and have these forever."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Tulip Flare Jean
Name:
Location:cali
age:26-30
body type:petite
Fabulous.........
7.21.2011
"This is my first FP jean and I've decided I'm only going to wear Free People jeans from now on. I've asked myself where have you been all my life? I gave away 15 pair of jeans so I can start a collection of FP. I don't a perfect body, these jeans hugs my flaws and turns it to fab. A must have."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Tulip Flare Jean
Name:
Location:florida
age:14-20
body type:petite
not thrilled
7.20.2011
"I got these jeans in the mail today, and i think im going to exchange them. They are nice quality and i love the wash but they dont flare out as much as i had hoped. I think the picture might look as though they flare out more than they do. They are skinny and get loose around the ankle but thats about it."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Tulip Flare Jean
Name:
Location:UK
age:26-30
body type:slender
Very tight on the thighs!
6.25.2011
"Was very excited to get these as they look fab in the pic's. I purchased a 27R (i'm between a 26 & a 27 usually) the waist is perfect but they are just too tight in the thighs! - (there's skinny & then there's very uncomfortable!) am SOOOOOO dissapointed!. I am a UK 8/10 so I would reccomend that you go up a size unless you have slim thighs! Will now have to pay to send them back from the UK, wish I had gone with my gut feeling & got the 28 as they are skin tight on the model & she's got the skinniest thighs ever! x."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Tulip Flare Jean
Name:
Location:massachusetts
age:26-30
body type:athletic
<3
6.18.2011
"whenever i wear these my BF says my bum looks good! sold."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Tulip Flare Jean
Name:
Location:AV
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
So not exactly how everyone reviewed these...
5.15.2011
"I know all the reviews say these run really small and fit tight but not on me! After two months of deliberating I finally decided to purchase these and when I received them today they were too big! I'm a hair under 6' and weigh between 133 and 137 lbs, waist 27", hips 38". I bought these in the dark wash in a 28 long (perfect length by the way for all you tall girls!) and while the legs and thighs fit ok the waist was waaayy too loose. I will definitely be exchanging them for a 27 because the cut was fantastic and the fabric is amazing (thick, soft, stretchy= perfect denim texture). My advice is this: If you have thicker or more athletic hips, thighs or calves you probably should size up because the legs on these are VERY fitted. If you are average or a bit thinner in those areas stick with your normal size, lest the waist be too big!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Tulip Flare Jean
Name:
Location:Columbia, MD
age:21-25
body type:slender
I LOVE THESE JEANS!
4.21.2011
"I am totally not a jeans person typically because I have the hardest time finding a pair that fits well, and I was shocked at how well these fit, I will need to get them hemmed, but I got the 27's when im normally a 25 and they dont gap on me at ALL and i dont even have to wear a belt with them! ( i hate having to wear belts with my pants) Will def be buying more Free people jeans!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Tulip Flare Jean
Name:
Location:New York
age:14-20
body type:petite
So '70s
4.14.2011
"WOW these jeans are cute. The cut of the jeans elongates my legs and I am only 5'2" and they make my butt look really nice. I would say they do run a little bit large rather than smaller like some of the other reviews said. I usually am a size 2, but in FP jeans i got a size 27, but i should have gone with a 26 in these. They are tight in the thighs, but a tad loose in the waist. Free People please make more jeans like this with all different lengths. I love your jeans so much."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Tulip Flare Jean
Name:
Location:Albuquerque, NM
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
l o v e i t ! !
3.10.2011
"I bought these jeans along with the Ruffled Layers Skirt (see recommendation below). The problem? I can't decide which one I love more! The jeans, although pretty darn tight, are super comfy and very flattering. My boyfriend went crazy over my butt in them and I think these would honestly flatter most body types from slender to curvy. I love the trouser pockets and the fabric is high quality. I will wear these jeans till they fall apart, I swear! I am 5'6", typically size 29 (or 7-8), athletic thighs and typical curves, and they fit great. I was worried they would be too long in the regular length, but it was spot on."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
FP ONE Ruffled Layers Skirt
4.6 out of 5(113)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 12 for Tulip Flare Jean
Name:
Location:South Carolina
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Love. These. Jeans.
2.28.2011
"I bought them in both colors. I usually wear a 25 in jeans, but something about the pics made me order the 26's (tall length) - glad I did. They fit perfectly and are super sexy. They don't stretch out during while wearing them like some other stretch jeans do, too. Definitely keepers :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Tulip Flare Jean
Name:
Location:San Diego
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
So very pretty
2.17.2011
"I am typically a frugal jeans shopper. I usually spend between 25 and 50 for a pair of jeans and if I want designer, I go to Bufallo Exchange. I don't know if the quality of these is worth $98, but the details, for me, are worth every penny. I love the trouser pockets and thick hem and the cut is just beautiful. They fit like a skinny jean until halfway through the calf and then flare out. The flare is a little more modest in real life, but this probably makes them more wearable for more people. For myself, I wish they were more flared. These are the most wearable FP jeans I've tried and I can see them fitting most body types. I did size up one size and they fit perfectly, but I will probably wear a belt because the waist is very stretchy. I do wish that the color (deep sea wash) was as dark as the model photo. The color is as it is in the detail photos. All in all, I'm excited to add these to my wardrobe. Now, I just want every other part of the model's outfit."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Tulip Flare Jean
Name:
Location:Denmark
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
gorgeous
2.17.2011
"I live in denmark and you can't find this easy breezy relaxed but super cic style here only skinny high waist jeans. The fit is perfect just like in the picture, i am 5'9'' and usually wear size 26 or 27 in a lot of European brands like Acne but the 26'' L was perfect for me especially at the thighs and the waist and the length is perfect for 2'' heels. Jeans in Denmark are not for the even slightly curvy but these were so accommodating with a comfortable stretch. Thrilled!!!!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Tulip Flare Jean
Name:
Location:NYC
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Great Light Wash Flares!
1.9.2011
"I love these jeans, especially in the light wash. As most fp jeans, they run really small like two sizes two small ( I'm usually a 25 and had to buy a 27) They're great with long cardigans and vests and wedges and gladiators or sandals. They have a really cool 70's/ hippie vibe to them which i love. They're really slimming! I love the stitching on the bottom. The feel is a little rough but they're great quality, i'm so happy i bought them!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Converging Stripes Cardigan
4.3 out of 5(6)
 
 
 
Sheer Maxi Vest
4 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 16 for Tulip Flare Jean
Name:
Location:Hoboken
age:14-20
body type:petite
flattering jeans
12.21.2010
"I am 5'5", 115 lbs and got these jeans in a size 26. They fit great, but of course were too long so I took them to a tailor to get them hemmed. I can't wait to wear these jeans all the time as the dark wash is flattering and the jeans are comfortable."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Tulip Flare Jean
Name:
Location:The Great White North
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Fabulous Darling!
12.8.2010
"So love the tiny tulip flare...I bought the light rinse and will soon buy the darker rinse...the sides of the hips have wonderful pockets that no other jeans I own have....would love a pair in other colours like black or grey etc. ..Right now this is my favorite piece from free People...and the extra lenghts are so fabulously long for a 36" inseam! Thanks"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Tulip Flare Jean
Name:
Location:orange county
age:14-20
body type:slender
adore
11.28.2010
"i absolutely love these; flattering, comfy, and nice quality. my go-to when I can't figure out what to wear, make me feel good. the perfect everyday jean!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Tulip Flare Jean
Name:
Location:PDX
age:41-45
body type:curvy
YUMMY!
11.5.2010
"At age 41 and size 31 I wasn't even sure I could wear FP jeans, but I took a chance on these and the Dandy Flares and I'm so glad I did! I got the darker blue--beautiful color and very soft. The cut is much slimmer than the Dandy flares, but still almost insanely flattering. Bonus: contrary to the description, the pockets in back are real. Thank You, Free People!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Tulip Flare Jean
Name:
Location:Northern California
age:41-45
body type:pear shaped
Love, love, love these jeans!
10.17.2010
"When I saw these on the website I knew I had to try them. I am so glad I did! They are so flattering and make your legs look super skinny. I bought the sailor blue and love the faded color. They are stretchy and so very comfortable but they don't stretch out so much that I have to constantly pull them up. The waistband doesn't cut into me at all, a problem I have with many other brands. The length is perfect. I ordered a regular length - I am 5'10" and have two kids so I rarely wear heels...these are long enough to wear with up to a 2" heel. If you want to wear with high heels, and you are tall like me, I recommend ordering the tall length. Bottom line: you should own a pair of these jeans!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>