Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dreamweaver Crossbody

Leather crossbody bag with leather fringe trimming and drawstring closure at top. Tiered bead embellishment on the front. Long leather strap that is removable. Leather is super soft and supple. Inside is lined with one pocket. *By Spell & the Gypsy Collective *For as long as sisters Elizabeth and Isabella can remember they've been enamored by the feeling created when you combine feathers, leather, and turquoise. In the 1960s and `70s their father was a leather craftsman and their mother was a potter/painter. The sisters work, channeling their inner gypsy spirits, from their Byron Bay studio.
overall average rating:
4.69 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Dreamweaver Crossbody
Review 1 for Dreamweaver Crossbody
Name:
Location:Michigan
age:21-25
body type:petite
mmm leather!
7.2.2014
"This bag is even more beautiful in person. The leather is quality and smells so nice. I bought the antique brown and it is true to the photos. I was a bit nervous spending the amount to get this but it's worth it. I want all the colors now!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Dreamweaver Crossbody
Name:
Location:Little Rock, Arkansas
age:21-25
body type:petite
Broken within 8 months
7.1.2014
"I LOVED this bag. I got it in the dark brown. I got it in September of 2013 and by May of 2014 all of the beading completely fell apart. Actually within a few months one of drawstring tassels fell off and I was really upset about it. I contacted Spell and the Gypsy to see if they could fix it for me, but they told me to contact Free People so I just said forget it. I understand this isn't an every day bag, more of an event bag or weekend bag. I didn't use it as an everyday purse either. I am SOO sad. It was like effortless: one day all the beading just came off at the top. All the beads came off the strings so there was absolutely nothing I could do to save it. I spent so much money and it really is a beautiful bag, just super delicate. $165 and now all I have is a leather crossbody without beading. It looks silly without the beading because you can tell where all the beads were. So disheartened by it breaking. Just wanted to let everyone know my experience. I am sure it happened to others as well."
Response from Free People:By Free People7.3.2014
Hi ckcorker,

We're sorry to hear about your bag. Someone from our team will be in touch shortly!

-Free People
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Dreamweaver Crossbody
Name:
Location:Melbourne, Australia
age:14-20
body type:slender
Adorable, but not durable
6.30.2014
"Bought this bad about 5 months ago & I love it but this is not an everyday bag, the leather is thin and weak. The leather holding the beads together has broken in a few places and the strap also has developed a hole wear it is connected to the bag. I love this bag and still use it but it is definitely made more as a once in a while bag."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Dreamweaver Crossbody
Name:
Location:BC, Canada
age:41-45
body type:slender
Dreamy
6.22.2014
"I ordered this in the taupe. It is just the coolest bag, a bohemian dream. It isn't a large purse but I find the size just fine, I can fit the essentials. I have the white 'Tie That Binds' blouse and it looks SO good with it. This bag is a statement and enhances the simplest of outfits beautifully."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Dreamweaver Crossbody
Name:
Location:Germany
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Beautiful
5.1.2014
"I ordered the bag in cream and I love the look of it. It is quite small and only a few things fit in. Unfortunately, I am a bit disappointed by the quality of the leather though. The whole bag seems not to be too solid. I am a bit afraid to use it because of that."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Dreamweaver Crossbody
Name:
Location:Maine
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Gorgeous!
4.25.2014
"This bag is even more beautiful in person than it is online. The leather is incredibly soft, the size is perfect for a small wallet (my longer one doesn't quite fit comfortably) and some other things, and the bead details are amazing! Love love love!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Dreamweaver Crossbody
Name:
Location:London, UK
age:26-30
body type:slender
Beautifully crafted
10.8.2013
"My favourite bag! I got the antique brown, which has a slight maroon hue to it that's not depicted in the photos (it's a good thing, though!). The leather is squishy, soft and of high quality. After reading reviews that this bag is quite small in-person I was surprised that it was roomier than expected. It fits everything I need: keys, mobile, small wallet, sunglasses/case, lip balms, etc."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Dreamweaver Crossbody
Name:
Location:Hong Kong
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Great buy!
9.23.2013
"Bought this bag in taupe on a whim and didn't expect to love it as much as I do. Most of my bags are designer (Chanel, LV, Balenciaga, BV etc.) and so I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this bag at this price point. When I took it out of the plastic bag, I was happy to see that the bone detailing was protected by bubble wrap and the suede is extremely supple. As other reviewers mentioned, it's a tiny bag as it is completely flat (no gussets) but will fit essentials. I can fit my kindle paperwhite, iphone, small wallet and some makeup. Be careful when wearing dark denim with this color as there will definitely be color transfer onto the light colored suede."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 9 for Dreamweaver Crossbody
Name:
Location:New York, NY
age:26-30
body type:petite
Not exactly the same as the bag sold by Spell
8.22.2013
"I first saw this bag at the Spell Designs website and loved it, and was psyched when I saw FP was selling it for less. I was so excited that I didn't notice they weren't exactly the same, despite both being called the Dreamweaver bag. The taupe from Spell has turquoise embellishments while FP has cream embellishments. Not a huge difference but felt I should point it out for any future turquoise-loving shoppers. Otherwise, it seems to be pretty much the same."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Dreamweaver Crossbody
Name:
Location:uK
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Stunning!
7.7.2013
"I love this bag. The leather is soft and gorgeous. The beading is quality. The length is good and the bag roomy enough to hold phone, small purse and a bit of essential make up. It feels special to wear. A great bag!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Dreamweaver Crossbody
Name:
Location:norway
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
in love !
6.26.2013
"i had been wanting this bag for a year now, and i finally ordered it!! I cant even count how many compliments i have gotten for this incredible bag... Its my absolute favorite bag, and i love itt!
Even though it was a little smaller in size than i had imagined, it was perfect for all my necessities. Im just so in love with it, and would soo recommend it to everyone
xx
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Dreamweaver Crossbody
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:36-40
body type:petite
Beautiful!
6.13.2013
"I had been eyeing this bag for a while, and bought it in the stone color, and couldn't be happier with it. It is the softest, most supple leather, and the bag detailing is even more gorgeous in person. It is very long on my small, 5'3 frame (it is not adjustable,) so I tied a knot up top, and that solved the length issue for me. It is large enough to carry just your essentials: wallet, keys, phone, etc. If you put too much in it, it will bulge and look awkward despite its ability to hold more. I find this bag to be of great quality for the price point. I have more expensive bags where the quality of the leather is nowhere near the quality of this bag. Despite it looking a bit dainty, I find it to be durable. Most of all, I love the fringe, turquoise bead work (on the stone color bag,) and raw aesthetics of this bag. A must have!! It's also very lightweight and on the smaller/less bulky side so it's one that I reach for frequently."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Dreamweaver Crossbody
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Love this bag!!!
5.25.2013
"I was looking for something to give my basic summer wardrobe a little edge and I found it with this bag. So fun to bring out just jean shorts and a basic tank. Could not be more happy. Perfect summer accessory!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 14 for Dreamweaver Crossbody
Name:
Location:united states
age:21-25
body type:petite
short height
5.12.2013
"so im only 4'10 and i really like the looks of this bag but i dont know if itll be too long with my short height! i might be like down to my knees which is where the fringe will end but i just dont want to buy it if its too long!"
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Dreamweaver Crossbody
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
fringe love
5.6.2013
"this bag is just as pictured. i didn't find it too small, as it's roomy enough for wallets, phone, camera and quite a few other things. the leather is very soft. i love that the strap is long enough so you have the option to carry it in different ways."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Dreamweaver Crossbody
Name:
Location:US
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Very Cool Bag
4.26.2013
"I bought this in the cream color. The leather is buttery soft and the detailing is beautiful. I have never bought a fringe bag before but I'm so happy I stepped out of my zone. It is small. It looks larger on the model but of course she is probably really small so everything looks bigger on her! In this case ladies size doesn't matter. The color and the styling are so beautiful and it goes with everything. You won't be disappointed."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Dreamweaver Crossbody
Name:
Location:europe
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
much smaller more like a POUCH
4.22.2013
"this bag is cute and LITTLE . little as in 'a wallet a an iphone,keys and a toothbrush (wanted to give create and idea of the length hahah) can fill. nothing more nothing less.Cute, quality is okay but still I was expecting something bigger as the picture. Sorry if I was living in USA I wud definetely send it back, I'm not so I gave this as a gift to my 12 year old niece :)"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Dreamweaver Crossbody
Name:
Location:Calgary
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Spell's perfection
3.24.2013
"Spell and the gypsy collective have done it again. This is the most amazing little bag, made out of the softest leather and very obviously hand made (in the good kind of way) the crossbody strap is the *perfect* length, none of this too short, sitting on the top of your bum nonsence. If it's too long for you, the leather is soft enough for you to knot it and have it sit a little higher up. The breastplate detailing is made of bone and wood, there's nothing cheap feeling about this bag at all. Something to think about though, when you're buying a white bag put some thought into what you're going to be wearing it with. The dye in your denim will rub off on it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Dreamweaver Crossbody
Name:
Location:Florida
age:21-25
body type:petite
Perfect
3.18.2013
"Perfect little bag, especially if you don't like carrying a lot of things. It looks fragile but it's pretty tough. It's small, for the price, but the details, soft leather, and practicality make it worth it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Dreamweaver Crossbody
Name:
Location:Paris - France
age:26-30
body type:curvy
My amazing favorite bag
3.15.2013
"The good smell and the softness of a good leather. This bag is very confy and I can put my sketchbook in it and some other stuffs. It's not big but it's good enough for a day.
Details are amazingly beautiful and strong enough.
I will be careful with this bag because I'm not sure that the leather will be very very strong when used.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
1 2 next>>