Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Heart of Gold Skirt

Printed maxi skirt with alternating lengths all around. Stretchy smocking at back of waist. Short skirt lining attached underneath.
overall average rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Customer Reviews for Heart of Gold Skirt
Review 1 for Heart of Gold Skirt
Name:
Location:Montreal, QC
age:31-35
body type:curvy
WOW!
1.8.2014
" Ok, so the other reviews are correct in saying the colour in the style shot is definitely different from the actual product. The navy in the picture is actually a rich, deep purple colour. Despite the abundance of fabric, the skirt is lightweight, falls wonderfully and flatters. I would buy this skirt in any pattern. It can be dressed up with a fitted cardigan and jewelry or worn casually like in the model photograph. Fantastic skirt. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Heart of Gold Skirt
Name:
Location:Saint Petersburg, FL
age:21-25
body type:athletic
It's Purple.
12.26.2013
" The pictures are all wrong, the skirt is much more "plum" (as the title suggests), rather than the blue shown in the pictures. I also think the way they styled it did not do the skirt justice. It's my favorite thing to wear, I can't get enough of it. Very lightweight, adds volume beneath the waist without feeling frumpy/bulky. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Heart of Gold Skirt
Name:
Location:TX
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Not in love with the plum colorway
12.24.2013
" I purchased my regular size small in the plum color. The fit was fine, it's a little poofy like some reviewers have said but not bad. I'm 5'6" and the tips touch the ground when worn on the waist, barefoot. The plum color is brighter in person, closer to the last picture on the model. I prefer it darker like the first picture on the model. I'll be keeping the skirt regardless because it is still a unique piece for my closet. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Heart of Gold Skirt
Name:
Location:Thunder Bay, Ontario
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Gorgeous
8.15.2013
" I got this in the black combo, and when I first opened the bag, I almost thought I had been sent the wrong colour as the colours were so vibrant! It's far more beautiful in real life, but it is very long. I have it hiked up just under my bra and it's still hitting the floor at the longest parts. Another thing worth mentioning, is there is a short layer underneath that seems completely unnecessary to me. It actually adds quite a bit of bulk, even after being ironed. Since I am already curvy, that's quite annoying. I ended up pulling it out through the top and kind of somehow having it wrap around the waistband like a belt and then tied it at my side. I think I'll probably end up cutting it out all together. Definitely irritating. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Heart of Gold Skirt
Name:
Location:Australia
age:41-45
body type:petite
Beautiful
6.25.2013
" what a pretty skirt! cant wait until the warmer months to wear it here in Australia. Im 5.3" and usually a 6-8. I purchased both M and S. I sent the M back and the small is perfect though it just touches the floor if wearing flats but I plan to wear heals with this one. very happy, lovely pattern and colours. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Heart of Gold Skirt
Name:
Location:Sonoran Desert
age:over 45
body type:athletic
So pretty!
5.25.2013
" Hands down this is the most beautiful skirt I have ever bought. I love the colors and the uneven hemline. I am in between a medium and large and sized down to a medium. This also can double as a dress which is another reason I sized down to a medium I didn't want too loose of an elastic if I'm wearing it above my chest. I am 5'10" and the length is just right. Overall I am really happy with this beautiful skirt! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Heart of Gold Skirt
Name:
Location:New York, NY
age:36-40
body type:slender
Fabulous!
5.22.2013
" This is a really beautiful skirt. I was very patient waiting for an email to tell me my size was back in stock. And then I snapped it up before it was gone! Very flattering with vibrant colors. It does run long....like so many FP skirts you can wear as a dress. I always take an XS in FP skirts. They are full and flowy so I prefer to size down. The fit is perfect. Grab one if you can....I am 5'4" and the longer pieces do touch the floor....not too much though.... "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Heart of Gold Skirt
Name:
Location:New York, NY
age:31-35
body type:slender
cute! casual
5.8.2013
" Great skirt but I would advise getting the smallest size you can if you have a small waist. It's not a fitting or sleek skirt, a little bulky. I am 5'3" and the length is pretty great for me since long skirts are usually too long. The longer parts of the skirt brush the ground when I wear flats but its fine. Anyway, cute pattern and I love to wear it with a casual tshirt or tank! Only wore it once and got bunch of compliments "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Heart of Gold Skirt
Name:
Location:Austin, Tx
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Love it!
5.3.2013
" I am 5'5" and a U.S. size large (10/12). I sized down to a medium because Free People pieces with elastic waist bands tend to run a little loose. Also, I didn't want this skirt to drag on the floor, after reading the other reviews. The medium fits great! At first, I was a little iffy becayse the skirt has some gathered, folded fabric in the middle that could potentially add volume to that area of your body, but once I played around with wearing it at different points on my midsection, I found the spot that makes it look most slimming. Also, it was pretty wrinkled when I got it, so once I iron out the wrinkles it will lay flatter and won't be quite as bulky. To keep it from dragging on the floor, I have to wear it super high waisted, which is fine with me because I plan on wearing this with a crop top to work and I think it looks kind of unprofessional to walk around with your belly showing. So, my advice to everyone is to size down 1 size if you plan on wearing it high waisted. If you plan on wearing it low on your hips, stick to your normal size. If you do wear this low on your hips, you will need to wear heels. I am wearing it high waisted with cowboy boots that have like an inch or inch and a half heel and the longest parts of the skirt does graze the floor from time to time. So, unless you're like 5'11", this isn't going to work with sandals or shoes that are completely flat. I am really happy with this purchase. I typically am more of a mini dress/tunic girl because my legs are my favorite part of myself, but this skirt totally has me converted to maxis! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Heart of Gold Skirt
Name:
Location:Brooklyn
age:21-25
body type:petite
**Very Pretty**
4.25.2013
" I love this skirt- the print and the colors of it are amazing. Am wearing with one of the FP Intimates crop top in white. Cute, flowy, comfortable. Am planning to wear as a dress, belted in the middle, to a concert! Works for petites, even though it is a bit long. I'm 5'2" and got an XS. Love! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 11 for Heart of Gold Skirt
Name:
Location:San Jose, CA, USA
age:14-20
body type:petite
I'm in love!
4.23.2013
" I was so worried about buying this due to how short I am(5'2")... but I gave in and I am very glad I did! It may be long, but the print and fit made it worth it! Plus, I can wear platforms with it and it's fine. Loooooove it :). "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Heart of Gold Skirt
Name:
Location:FL, USA
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
BEAUTIFUL
4.20.2013
" just got this in the mail.
most beautiful article of clothing i have ever purchased. wonderful clothing, so very soft, and it flows like no other. I feel like a princess when i wear it. you can't really see the beauty from the photos.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 13 for Heart of Gold Skirt
Name:
Location:CA
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Love! Love! Love!
4.16.2013
" This skirt is beautiful! The colors are vibrant and the material is super soft and flowy. I normally wear a M in FP skirts but sized down and I am so glad I did. The small fits very well. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Heart of Gold Skirt
Name:
Location:New England
age:21-25
body type:slender
very pretty but so long!
4.15.2013
" this skirt is as pictured, maybe the colors are a little duller in person. my measurements are 32-23-32, got the XS and it's about an inch loose on my waist, nothing a safety pin can't fix. my only complaint is the length! it's super long, not made for anyone below 5'9, i don't mind wearing sandals with heels but if i'm not wearing stilettos i still run the risk of tripping over it (i'm 5'6). "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large