Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Outlaw Boot

Distressed brushed leather ankle boot with colorful hand-woven detailing on front and around ankle. Zips up. Low heel. This boot is made in the exact same way it was made over a hundred years ago, at the same factory. Every single aspect of this boot is handmade from start to finish, one pair at a time. The detailing is hand woven by a group of families in a small village outside of Oaxaca that have been looming in the traditional manner for generations. *Freebird by Steven *Leather Upper *Hand-Woven Detailing *Goodyear Welted Sole *Made in Mexico *5" shaft height, 1 1/2" heel height **A Goodyear welted sole is a near-indestructible sole comprised of multiple layers of leather, stacked together and glued, then fastened through the sole with small cylindrical pegs of wood individually hammered in. It's a very laborious and time consuming process but creates a sole that can be reworked years later and able to last a lifetime.
overall average rating:
4.55 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Outlaw Boot
Review 1 for Outlaw Boot
Name:
Location:New York
age:26-30
body type:slender
so beautiful
8.23.2013
" I am so happy that I bought these shoes. They are so beautiful, far more beautiful than they are shown in the pictures. Also they are really well made. I got the black ones. I cannot wait to wear them! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Outlaw Boot
Name:
Location:Toronto
age:31-35
body type:petite
Looks great, but...
3.22.2013
" I truly wanted to love these boots, I mean, what's not to love? They look awesome and the stitching is super cool... but... the fit... is a little off. They were too tight. Too short in the front and the heels were rather shallow that they slip up/off with each step. So needless to say, size up. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Outlaw Boot
Name:
Location:Sarasota FL
age:over 45
body type:athletic
love these boot
2.24.2013
" i love boots, when I saw these with a great price attached, i ordered immd. When i recv they were as pictured, run a tts. At first i felt they were stiff so they wouldn't be good for all day wear. I was WRONG. The inside is lined with soft leather, they are really comfortable to wear all day or everyday..Excellent quailty and unique, like me! Very pleased with this purschase. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Outlaw Boot
Name:
Location:Boston, MA, USA
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Eye catching boots!
2.20.2013
" I just love these boots, the black leather and the colorful textured inserts. They are hip and stylish. I ordered both the 6 and the 7 and found them to be very true to size. I normally wear a 6 or 6.5 in all shoes and after leaving the 6's on for about 15 minutes, my foot sort of settled into a nice and comfortable fit. I was concerned that I wouldn't be able to wear these with thick socks unless I kept the size 7, however, I've been wearing them with thin socks for a couple hours at a time, and now they feel like they would be fine with thicker socks. I can see wearing these in the summer with denim cut offs or with summery lacy dresses. The heel is only about an inch so they can be worn for a long time without any aching feet. The quality of the boots is top notch, however the color of the leather can vary considerably. The 6's that I kept look very much like the ones on the website, but the 7's that I sent back were clearly a light grey leather, which looked just as nice with the tapestry inserts and would not have bothered me to keep if they had fit. Great sale price for a boot that will undoubtedly last me many years. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Outlaw Boot
Name:
Location:Brooklyn, NY
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Adorable.
2.18.2013
" I absolutely adore these boots. I usually take a size 7-8 (always an 8 in boots), so I opted for the 8 and am very happy that I did. I have about an average width foot and these boots fit perfectly--very true to size. I honestly didn't know if I was going to like the multicolor detailing, but I'm happy to say that it looks far better in person. I also really like that there's ample room in the ankle as it allows you to wear and tuck in a straight/skinny leg that isn't necessarily a pencil or cigarette. To not snatch these up for the sale price would be a huge mistake, so if you're even the least bit intrigued, I'd definitely give these a try. It'll be well worth your while. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Outlaw Boot
Name:
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Amazing!!
2.16.2013
" Wow!! I'm surprised these are still available. They are beyond gorgeous. I received mine today, tried them on and did not want to take them off at all. The woven details are absolutely stunning,photos did not do them justice. The leather does need a little bit of break-in though, they are quite tight at the tip so I would recommend sizing up if you are between sizes. These are the best looking with the best quality boots I have come across. I am sure they will last a long time. Definitely a steal at the sale price. Very happy with my purchase. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Outlaw Boot
Name:
Location:B.C. Canada
age:over 45
body type:athletic
better than online
2.6.2013
" Could not have been happier about these boots. They are better than i thought, the quality is superb and the colour is not quite black, but a really dark charcoal. I was worried about the fit as i usually size up to a 9 1/2 for a bit wider foot but i had to go with the 10 as i knew the 9 would be too tight (from other reviews). It is a bit bigger than i would normally wear but there is room for a bit thicker sock or comfy insole, i am, in now way, swimming in them, they are just comfortable. Now that i know the fit i will definitely buy more freebird boots in the future. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Outlaw Boot
Name:
Location:Santa Barbara, California
age:36-40
body type:petite
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!
1.31.2013
" These are seriously beautiful boots!
I own a lot of boots, Old Gringo, Frye, Lucchese, etc. but these are one of the most beautiful and the best quality boots I’ve ever own. Very unique and well made. I bought them in black. I think they look better in real than on the website. Some reviewer mentioned the color black seemed striking, but I disagree. Those colors on black look just perfect on black leather well blend in way, very good subtle look. It is my personal preference, if there were other colors available, I’d still buy the black ones. The leather quality is excellent and seems to well last many many years. At the same time unlikely other brands with subtle leather, they are not heavy or chunky feeling at all. They are very comfortable and well mold into my feet. I know I’ll wear out a lot of these. The sizing, I normally wear shoes 5.5 boots 6 for a bit loose fit with socks, they fit perfectly on me. So they seem true to size. I highly recommend these boots, if you’re thinking getting these buy them you wouldn’t regret. I also own a pair of Caballero Ankle Boot by Freebird, they fit just like these, very comfortable with excellent quality leather and beautiful!
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Outlaw Boot
Name:
Location:Manhattan
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Beautiful shoes
1.28.2013
" These have to be the most beautiful shoes I have ever seen. The website really does not do them justice. They are well made, the leather is just too gorgeous for words. I love them but alas, they run a little bit big. If the smaller size does not fit me, then I will be so sad because they really are just amazing. I think for a wider foot, they would be true to size but for a narrow foot, they run a bit wide and my foot slips all over the place, even with thicker socks. I gave it 4 stars because of the way they fit on me but they are a 5 star product. If the smaller size fits, then I will give this product 5 stars - really - it's a 10 star product in terms of quality. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Outlaw Boot
Name:
Location:Australia
age:41-45
body type:petite
black boots
1.26.2013
" Stunning boots in black and the colours are exactly the same as the photo. They fit like a glove and look really great with straight jeans. Highly recommend these boots especially with the sale price!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Outlaw Boot
Name:
Location:San Diego
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
Outlaw Boot Amazing
1.23.2013
" Based on other reviews I ordered this in my size and it just fits but is still comfy. Great colors (I got the black). The brushed looking leather with the bright is a great contrast and very versitle. I found at least 4 colorful jeans to wear them with and am sure they will get great use! My daughter has already asked to borrow them. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Outlaw Boot
Name:
Location:Australia
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
SERIOUSLY AMAZING!
1.12.2013
" i live in australia and fell in love with these boots the second i saw them! but was pretty hesitant to buy them incase they were wrong and the hassle of return overseas shipping and all. honestly the best money i have ever spent!!!! i could not have been happier! these boots are beyond even what they are shown in the picture. My fabric colours are almost exactly as shown and the quality of the boots are insane, both inside and out. They are incredibly comfortable and are honestly just the best purchase i have ever made! Its summer here at the moment and stinking hot but I am eagerly awaiting the next cold snap so i can put these babies to use! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Outlaw Boot
Name:
Location:San Diego
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Rad boots!
1.9.2013
" I usually wear a 7 1/2 and when there are no half sizes i wear a 7. When I received the size 7, they were super tight, I felt like i couldve gone to a size 8. i was a bit worried but after wearing them for an hour they started to break in, so i just cant wear these with thick socks. These are well made, high quality, great looking booties, so happy with them! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Outlaw Boot
Name:
Location:Switzerland
age:31-35
body type:slender
runs large
1.5.2013
" I know all previus reviews are saying that shoes run small, thats why i ordered 9 and not 8. Unfortunately they are so big that i can not even walk in them. As i do not wear thick socks - these shoes will be a nice present for my sister.
Very pretty colors. Got them in black. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Outlaw Boot
Name:
Location:NJ
age:41-45
body type:petite
half sizes needed
10.3.2012
" the leather is amazing, supple, beautiful. you can tell these are handmade and i was so happy to get them. unfortunately, they run small - they fit with a thin sock but forget a thick sock for winter - i do not have a wide foot nor is the front of the boot tight in proportion - it runs small. problem comes in that there are no half sizes and i need a 6.5 - 7 is too big. they are on there way back to free people as i type this. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Outlaw Boot
Name:
Location:texas
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Heavenly!!
10.3.2012
" I'm a boot fanatic so when I saw these I knew I had to have them. And I am not disappointed at all. I normally wear a 7 1/2 in wide shoes so I ordered these in an 8 based on previous reviews. With light weight socks they fit great!! The color of mine (taupe) looks exactly like the picture. The quality, comfort, and design of these boots are excellent, I highly recommend them. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Outlaw Boot
Name:
Location:New York
age:36-40
body type:petite
Love this boot
9.27.2012
" Ordered the boot in both the black and the taupe colors and am keeping the taupe. Agreeing with the other reviewers that this is a great boot and the fabric on the taupe def has more olive tones than on the website, not quite s striking. but still great. The fit is slender and a little on the small side. I am a size 6, always order my boots 6 1/2 to fit insoles and heavier socks because i am on my feet all day and i live in NY where it gets cool once summer ends, so i worried a bit since these dont come in half sizes. Luckily the 7 is just a little large and will be just fine. The heel is 1'', nice for walking and i will add soles to the front and back b/c of the climate here. Have another pair of freebird boots and love the quality. The black is leather, not suede, and i am returning it because it print is too striking lol, i feel it will take main stage in any outfit. SO get theese if you are looking for a light colored boot of great quality to last you for years. Wearing these with my sunrise embroidered jeans for a book signing tonite:) "
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 18 for Outlaw Boot
Name:
Location:MI
age:over 45
body type:petite
sad for me
8.2.2012
" I ordered the taupe. Love the look, however, the right boot was turned up at the toe to much, made it painful. I am thinking about trying another pair. The left boot was not turned up and fit perfectly. Had to return them. Darn! "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Outlaw Boot
Name:
Location:austin
age:26-30
body type:petite
best dang boots ever
7.19.2012
" Coming from texas ...I know boots! These are amazing and worth the price. They fit extremely true to size and comfortably at that. yes they can be narrow for some people with wider feet, but my feet fit perfectly and I love the look. They go with everything and are so comfortable. The leather is soft and of superb quality.
You can kind of tell how soft the leather is from the photos. They aren't hard at all.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Outlaw Boot
Name:
Location:Anchorage, Alaska
age:over 45
body type:petite
Cute but tight
7.13.2012
" These darling boots are well made, but just a little tight in the toe box. I purchased these in taupe, and the leather is soft and pretty close to the online photos, however the fabric detailing is more in the olive green and gray range rather than the browns. Still a cute boot with neutral enough colors to mix into my wardrobe, but just a little tight. I'm hoping that wearing them will stretch out the leather a bit. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large