Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Reckless Tall Boot

Distressed leather tall boot with leather harness strap around the ankle. Zips up back of boot. Treaded rubber sole. *By FREEBIRD by Steven
overall average rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Customer Reviews for Reckless Tall Boot
Review 1 for Reckless Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Arizona!
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
I bought both colors!
3.29.2014
" I wear 8 or 8.5 and ordered 8, which was too small (length of sole). I ordered again in 9, which I kept (in brown). I loved so much I purchased the black; however, only size 10 was available (and backordered). I kept the 10 black, but they are a bit big in the calf and length of sole. I didn't want to risk losing the black if I sent back for 9 as it may have sold out. This is a big ticket item so wished they were available in stores to try on. The ordering/shipping back and forth takes too long, especially when you're waiting for a backordered item. The pictures of both colors appear to make the leather look rich and glossy (well conditioned). These are beautiful boots; however, pictures make the leather look prettier (the brown color is different than pictured). I love the rustic, authentic style of the boots with the removable harness (don't like fake details). I also LOVE the zipper in the back. I have not seen anything like these boots anywhere and I've received a lot of compliments on them. I was very pleased with both pairs. I had only intended to keep one pair, but had to have both! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Reckless Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Kentucky
age:41-45
body type:petite
Not impressed
3.5.2014
" Boot circumference listed as 16 1/2"....no way. My calves are 14" and they were tight. Boot was short in size. Thought it was safe to order my true size of a 7 after reading reviews. These boots don't run in half sizes. The sizing didn't bother me though as much as the packaging. My post office stamped the box as "damaged" upon arrival. The box looked like someone pulled it from a dumpster and put it back together poorly with packaging tape. It was barely taped at the ends. For a $300 purchase, it was classless. The boot box itself was bent in places. Not impressed at all! I had no return label on my receipt. Had to call for it. Told them of the damaged box. I was offered a complimentary return label and told to go to Family Dollar for a box! That would've been a 45 minute drive for me! I've ordered ALOT of items online....this was the worst packaging for an expensive item. First impressions are hard to overcome. "
Response from Free People:By Free People3.5.2014
Hi KYBootGirl,

We're sorry to hear about the manner in which your boots arrived. Someone from our team will be in touch shortly!

-Free People
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Reckless Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Toronto
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Great Boots!
1.16.2014
" I am so pleased with these boots. I have been looking for months to replace another pair that have seen better days. I was considering re-buying the same pair that go for over $100 more for a similar look because I wasn't finding what I was after, but I am SO GLAD I found these instead. They are more light-weight, the toe shape isn't too narrow or too boxy and the harness and zipper deatils really add a more unique look to these boots. They look great with jeans, dresses and shorts. The leather is thinner than my previous pair but I don't see it as a drawback, it allows for a better 'slouch' and a lighter more comfortable boot. I plan on seeking out Freebird in future. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Reckless Tall Boot
Name:
Location:New york
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Love it!!!!!
1.10.2014
" Very comfortable .... More beautiful than the pictures "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Reckless Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Canada
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
boots!
12.1.2013
" these run tts (eu 40; uk 7; us 10). i was a little anxious buying online, because i have a larger calf (17"). with a bit of coaxing these zipped all the way up over leggings and, with a few hours wear around the house, have relaxed enough to accommodate skinny jeans. the harness is removable, the leather is supple and lightweight and the rubber tread should work for the icy sidewalks of a saskatchewan winter. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Reckless Tall Boot
Name:
Location:ca
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
great purchase
11.19.2013
" I love these boots, I think they are made out of great leather, the zipper is heavy but appropriate for look, I get tons of compliments and I wear a lot of boots, people from all ages, far more than any other boots I own, they are pricey but worth it, I got the brown and love them. Rustic but still modern with an edge. I got a half size smaller and they fit perfect "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Reckless Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Toronto
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Good but not Great
10.20.2013
" I really shopped around for a tall brown boot that would work with pants and skirts. When I saw these I had really high expectations.
I liked them when I got them but find that they are more clunky then they look in the pictures. The leg slouches a little more than I would like and the strap detail falls off easily. Long story short, after wearing them for almost a month, I find that they are good but not great. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Reckless Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Poor Quality for the price
10.15.2013
" I got these boots in brown expecting them to be made of quality leather for the price of $298.00!! They were anything but that - the "leather" felt cheap and thin, the zippers hardly moved and the sizing was really small. Returned them and got my money back. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb10.16.2013
So sorry you weren't happy with your boots. We'll be in touch. xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Reckless Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Saskatchewan
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Absolutely wonderful
9.23.2013
" These boots are perfect. I'm a true 7.5 and went with the 7 after hearing they fit a bit large and they fit perfect!!!!! They are beautiful color brown and not too small or big on calf. Look expensive quality and very versatile to wear with any outfit. Perfect for Canadian winters. Beautiful round toe Wish I could get them in black too. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Reckless Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Canada
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Free bird reckless rocks!!
9.5.2013
" 2nd pair of free bird. Consistent sizing. Comfortable calf fit. Gorgeous leather. Handmade feel. Not what you'd see in most stores. Love back zip. Harness comes off - yayy!! Wood heal - not sucky plastic. As great in person as online. So excited to find - and reasonably priced considering the mass produced overpriced product out there. This is Fabulous quality. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Reckless Tall Boot
Name:
Location:United States
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Simply Perfect
8.30.2013
" I got them! They look cute on me, and I think they are just simply perfect for how they are. I love the big zippers and think they are what made these boots look cute. Only I have big legs. They don't look as loose as them on the model's legs. Still, good enough. I vote 4 stars because they feel like kind of rain boots to me. The leather is very light, but it helps reduce the weight though. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large