Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Sundial Tee

Soft crochet tee with scoop neck and front pocket on left side of chest. Features scalloped-edge sleeves and hem. Slits on either side of the hem. Perfect for layering! *100% cotton *Machine wash *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 28 3/4" Chest: 41"
overall average rating:
3.7 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Customer Reviews for Sundial Tee
Review 1 for Sundial Tee
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:21-25
body type:slender
Cute...
7.10.2011
" Cute top. Great for the beach...but probably only the beach..or for a casual stroll out. The pattern is pretty and would pair well with a swim suite and denim shorts... that or a tank and a pair of skinnies. Definitely one of those pieces you'd want to check out and try on before you purchase those. Different for everyone. Size SMALL - 115lbs 5'4. frame. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Sundial Tee
Name:
Location:colorado
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
not the best
6.30.2011
" this top is not exactly as pictured. it runs veryy large and sort of resembles a hospital gown. it can be cute tucked in, but there is so much slack in your pants or skirt or whatever that it ends up bulky, and creates issues in having to put it back in after the bathroom. im considering cutting some off the bottom. i have bought a fair amount of things from free people, and this was one of the biggest disappointments. "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Sundial Tee
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Interesting...
4.22.2011
" I'm not sure yet how I feel about this. The top looks cool with a bold colored tank underneath. I wish it was a hair longer so that I could wear it with leggings and boots. I might try a larger size to get extra length, but I'm worried the shoulders will just be too wide if I size up from my usual size. Note: I'm only 5'2" and I would like another inch or so of length. If you are not wanting this for leggings, you'll be fine in terms of the length. The top really is cool. I'd stick with your usual size to get a fit like the model. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Sundial Tee
Name:
Location:Florida
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Grandma Tee
4.19.2011
" This was definitely not what I was expecting when I got it. If you're looking for a light and airy top this is not it.
The material contrary to what it looks like on the model is actually a very thick woven crochet and weighs very heavily on the body especially since the top runs pretty large.
I'd recommend wearing it more as a sweater than a cute beach or swim suit cover up.
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Sundial Tee
Name:
Location:Illinois
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Cute
4.11.2011
" Love this top! I usually wear a Large in free people tops, got a medium in this one because it runs pretty big. Very cute and summery, can't wait to wear it! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 6 for Sundial Tee
Name:
Location:motor city
age:over 45
body type:petite
can't wait to wear
4.8.2011
" probably nothing new to say here- absolutely adorable! For size referencing- XS White,fits like an oversized tee; I roll the sleeves up, can let fall off the shoulder. I'm 5'4", 108lbs, 34A-26-34. Lower back covers butt, front edge falls about 2" below crotch, tunic, not dress. Somewhat drapey, will likely soften after wash. Could be tea stained or the side slits laced shut for those who like to play with their clothes. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Sundial Tee
Name:
Location:iowa
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Awesome Shirt!
3.26.2011
" By far one of my favorite tops of the season. I wear it once a week. It has so many options. Love, Love, this top! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Sundial Tee
Name:
Location:New York
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Love it!
3.23.2011
" I was a bit skeptical when i purchased this top based on all of the reviews. While it does fit a bit loose and run just a little large, it is a great top. Im usually a xs/s and ordered a small (im 5'3, 120) it fit me just like it appears on the model. It is also more durable and well made than i thought it was going to be. Overall i'm definitely pleased with it. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Sundial Tee
Name:
Location:
age:26-30
body type:slender
Not sure why this got so many iffy reviews..LOVE!
2.13.2011
" I was pretty surprised by the negative reviews for this. I couldn't wait to get my hands on this one and when my FP got it in I was super excited. The top is obviously over-sized. It is really meant as a cover up I suppose since it is a FP beach item (hello Sandy girls!) I got the white and was upset I didn't see the green first! The green is a vibrant color maybe a smidge darker then online although it could be my monitor settings. The white goes with everything it is a fantastic layering piece. I happen to love the side slits. It adds to the peek-a-boo factor when layering so you can see what is popping out under neath. The neckline is a little weird. It hits me at an odd spot. It should be a lil higher or lower. It is really long. Def long enough to wear over a short dress as a layering piece. Yes it is large but that is the style it is meant to have. The key to styling such things is to balance it out with a tighter bottom piece. Wear it over a body con dress or skirt. Tie the sides up...it will look fantastic trust me! Please see my attached photo. I am wearing the Viscose Viole slip in watermelon underneath. I am on the taller side of 5'6" just shy of 5'7" and this was a decent length for me. It may be way too long to wear as a top for girls 5'4" and under, Cute piece but it is def a "summer" item if you ask me. Something so crisp white I am putting away for warmer weather and I can't wait to layer this baby up. It is very plain and simple but with some bracelets and layering necklaces or even a large collar necklace this will be a money piece! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Watercolor Floral Scrunch Skirt
4.9 out of 5(20)
 
 
 
Bryce Canyon Collar
5 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
Animal Knit Bodycon Dress
4.9 out of 5(16)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 10 for Sundial Tee
Name:
Location:MA
age:14-20
body type:curvy
Adorable!!..buut
2.8.2011
" I got this shirt in an xs small sea green color when i am usually a small. When trying it on i was a bit concerned with how the slits would look but i tryed tying one side and it looks great!This would be great for the summer and would be very fun to show off. i definetly recommend this just beware of the slits. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Sundial Tee
Name:
Location:So. Cal
age:36-40
body type:curvy
pretty and oversized
2.4.2011
" This is a beautiful top and slightly on the stiff side. As others have pointed out it runs big. Depending on if you want the oversized look, size down one to two sizes. Tucked in or tied like the model looks better as well. The green is really pretty in person. If you are looking for something different get the green. I hope it will soften up after wearing/washing. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Sundial Tee
Name:
Location:San Diego, CA
age:21-25
body type:slender
Too large to be flattering.
1.22.2011
" I love the idea of this tee being so versatile, but the fit just didn't work for me. I felt that the slits on the side of the tee were not flattering and flared out too much. I liked the length, which gave it much more of a tunic feel. Without the slits I would have loved it, it's too bad. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Sundial Tee
Name:
Location:Alabama
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Disappointed :(
1.18.2011
" I was eagerly awaiting the arrival of this top but it just did not work for me. I read the reviews before purchasing, so I sized down, and this may have led to my disappointment. The top had no shape and it seemed to just cut me off at the hips. I wish that it HAD been longer, the length was just weird. Maybe it would have worked better if I had chosen my usual size. The slits and the way the top is made looks best oversized. Just didn't do anything for me, but the fabric was very nice. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Sundial Tee
Name:
Location:california
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Like the idea of this...
1.13.2011
" I really love the idea of this shirt with the holes, but it did not look right on me. There are slits on the sides and they made the shirt very awkward looking with jeans and leggings. It is also very long. If the shirt was shorter and had no slits I would have kept it. It would be cute with a bathing suit in the summer, but couldn't justify spending that money for just a cover up. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Sundial Tee
Name:
Location:california
age:14-20
body type:curvy
Excited
1.12.2011
" So excited to get this in the mail, i tried it on at the store and i absolutely loved it! I ordered the teal color and it just fits great, its so cute fun flirty and is gonna look amazing in the spring and summer! Does run big but i love the oversized look. The cutout detailing on the side is super cute too. For this price i think it's definitely worth it! I think it's a must have for the months to come! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Embellished Bandeau
4 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Review 16 for Sundial Tee
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
LOVE the top, but beware, runs big!
12.29.2010
" The crochet detail of this top is gorgeous, but if you want a fit like the model--size down. It looks like it's a fitted shirt, but I sized down 2 sizes and now it fits like the model. Worth the price!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Sundial Tee
Name:
Location:NYC
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
great top but runs big
12.28.2010
" i really like this top. the material is comfy and the cutouts are sexy and fun. it's great to let a printed bra peek out and it's fun to accessorize. It does run big though so if you don't want a roomy fit i suggest to size down. The trim on the sleeves and bottom and top is a fun touch and it has slits on the sides. I loved it "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Sundial Tee
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
size down (twice)
12.24.2010
" it seems that this might have meant as a beach cover-up. if you want this to fit like the model, you'd probably need to go down 2 sizes. i went down a size based on the measurements, and it's still roomy. the sleeves are a bit longer than shown. i think this looks better tugged in, at least partially, as the shape is a little drab and is a bit long. the material is a little thicker than i anticipated, so it doesn't drape as nicely. i do really like the crocheting. looks good with a bralette underneath. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Sundial Tee
Name:
Location:hi
age:36-40
body type:petite
nice top but runs very big
12.17.2010
" I received this top today and try it on, it is super huge, for FP cloths I wear size s also order this in small but it runs huge, I need to order 2 size down for better fit but FP no more xxs, I send it back same day afternoon. Quality was OK love the design but not fit me as well. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Sundial Tee
Name:
Location:ct
age:21-25
body type:petite
If only there were no side slits
12.14.2010
" Bought this in an XS. I am 5'3 115lbs 34C/D 25" waist. The size was fine but the weird slits on the side made the fit look all wrong. The back is longer than the front and the slits make the front billow out too much. Looks great online but I have to return it because of that reason. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large