Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Artemis Maxi

Chiffon maxi dress with gorgeous mesh, sequin, and embroidered embellishment around the upper bodice. Fray laced trimming on upper hem of bodice and along straps. Straps "V" in back. Bottom of skirt has embroidered and sequin detailing all around. Zips up left side of waist.
overall average rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Customer Reviews for Artemis Maxi
Review 1 for Artemis Maxi
Name:
Location:New York City
age:26-30
body type:petite
Absolutely beautiful!
2.12.2014
" Stunning dress! I have this dress in the grey/purple, and I would love to own it in black as well. The grey/purple color is a bit darker than it appears in the photos. I'm 5 ft 3, 100lbs, 32A, and it fits me pretty well. I might wear it with a good padded bra to fill out the bust slightly better. It's not bad as is though. The embroidery is gorgeous, but some of the detailing on the skirt isn't as carefully sewn on. (I may need to do some minor repairs.) The fabric is very delicate, so you'll want to be careful when you're wearing it. Also, the fabric occasionally gets caught on some of the sequins. Handle with care! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Artemis Maxi
Name:
Location:Canada
age:14-20
body type:petite
Amazing!
2.7.2014
" I ordered this dress for my grade 12 graduation and it is perfect! The colour is more grey in person, and not as purple as it looks in photos. According to the size chart I was a size 4 but after reading other reviews saying it ran large I decided to get the size 2. I am 5'2 and the dress is still a little long even with 2 inch heels. I am around 120 lbs and 34B and it fits perfectly. Overall I'm very happy with the dress and the quality is great! The bodice is very beautiful. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Artemis Maxi
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Perfection
2.1.2014
" This dress, in the color grey, is my perfect dress. I am planning on wearing it to prom, which is in over a year, but I had to get it because I knew I would not be able to find anything better than it. It is gorgeous, and warm. It runs about a size bigger. I am often a 4 in dresses, but I had to get a 2. I am 5'6" and about 135 lbs with 32c bra size. The 2 skims the floor, and the bodice fits well. Be careful with the fabric, there were tears in one that I tried on in store. The embroidery is gorgeous and it sparkles more in person that in any pictures. I love everything about the dress! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Artemis Maxi
Name:
Location:Marin County, CA
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Beautiful but didn't fit
1.30.2014
" So I bought this dress, hoping to wear it as a bridesmaids dress. I'm 5'9, normally a size 14 but also quite busty. Seeing the other reviews saying that this ran long and large, I ordered a 12 and hoped for the best. Sadly, the dress is too short on me by at least 2 inches, and there was no way I could zip it closed over my bust. Might work for slightly curvy shorter girls, or less curvy taller girls, but not tall curvy girls. Too bad, because it's STUNNING in person. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Artemis Maxi
Name:
Location:Toronto, Canada
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Absolutely beautiful!
1.28.2014
" I fell in love with the back of this dress, the low back and the fine lace straps. I found that you can still wear a bra with dress depending on the type. I ordered the dress in a size 6. I am a 34 A but I found the top to be a bit more loose than I would have liked. Also I found the dress to be shorter than I would like. The bottom hangs just below my ankles and you will definitely see whatever shoes I wear with it. I am 6 ft tall, 130 lbs. However, overall beautiful dress. I am definitely glad I ordered it. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Artemis Maxi
Name:
Location:Alabama
age:21-25
body type:petite
what a BEAUT
11.20.2013
" I got this to wear to a ball this winter and was hoping for something with a little more fabric, as it's getting cooler. I must say that this dress is PERF for it. For reference, I'm 5'4", 110-115 lbs, and a 34B. After reading other reviews, I decided on the small. The top part is a little loose, as the straps are super long, but otherwise it gracefully sweeps the floor in my 3" heels that will end me. Cons: Beware! it's a bit grayer in person, but not a problem for me. Also, it came waddled up in a manilla envelope and it will have to be pressed (FP, seriously?! I would've paid $5 to have it shipped in an actual box). Overall, a definite score with my employee discount! I'm planning on wearing this to many events. It's super flattering and simply elegant while still being bohemian. "
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 7 for Artemis Maxi
Name:
Location:New York
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
Runs large
10.21.2013
" I am normally a size 6 and sometimes a 4. I bought a 4 and it was huge, I had to return it and now I'm buying a 0. Hope it fits well ! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Artemis Maxi
Name:
Location:Gainesville, FL
age:26-30
body type:slender
So beautiful!!!
10.3.2013
" I have this dress for my beach wedding on Nov. 16th, 2013. It is so gorgeous and comfortable. And the way it moves in the wind is breathtaking. I am about 115lbs, 5'4 with a D cup, the size 4 was perfect, fit like a glove! I feel like a goddess in this dress, very happy with my decision! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 9 for Artemis Maxi
Name:
Location:LaLa Land
age:36-40
body type:pear shaped
Love this dress.
10.2.2013
" This dress is simple, beautiful, elegant and delicate.
I love it. I am postpartum and weirdly shaped right now. My bust is 32D, my waist is 28inches and my hips are 36 inches. I ordered the 4. The bust is a tad snug but no back fat or anything unflattering. Fits well. I wore it to the Emmy's with confidence.
"
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Artemis Maxi
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Amazing Back
9.27.2013
" I also got this dress for a wedding and wasn't sure about it at first. But it fit well and I loved the small details. I have to say it got raves at the wedding. It managed to be formal and bohemian and multiple people commented on how sexy the back was. At the end of the day, I loved this dress and found it amazingly comfortable. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Artemis Maxi
Name:
Location:chicago, IL
age:26-30
body type:slender
meh
9.9.2013
" My title kind of explains it for me - nothing about this dress excited me when I saw/felt it and even tried it on. I ordered it last minute to wear at a wedding and when I got it, again, it just didn't really excite me. Pretty dress but wasn't worth keeping for the price so I returned it. On a side note for sizing, I am slender and a size 0/2 normally.. I got the 0 and it fit perfectly (I'm a 32A, the top part looked fine but was a touch loose on me). "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large