Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Lacy Layering Top

Gorgeous lacey layering top with ruffle trimming. Long sleeves. *73% Cotton, 25% Nylon, 2% Spandex *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 22" Bust: 32" Waist (relaxed): 23" Sleeve Length: 25"
overall average rating:
3.461 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Customer Reviews for Lacy Layering Top
Review 1 for Lacy Layering Top
Name:
Location:Southern California
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
What a steal!
7.19.2012
"The color is beautiful, it's a great top for really any occasion, and it's lovely. The only thing that I don't adore about this top is the wrist elastic, but it's barely noticeable, so I don't mind really. Plus it's on sale! $20 is an amazing price for such a quality piece!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Lacy Layering Top
Name:
Location:rolling hills meets prairie
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Cutout pattern
4.23.2012
"In fp tops I often size down to a small, but with tops that are stretchy and form fitting I go for my normal medium. So I went with the m/l in black. The top is not skin tight in the torso, the sleeves fall past the wrist but if you push the material back it kinda bunches up due to the elastic around the wrist. There is elastic also around the bottom. The seams are thick and not stretchy like the top. I have a long torso and the length of the top is good. Made in the USA."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Lacy Layering Top
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Pretty pattern, odd fit
4.1.2012
"I tried this on in my usual fp size (small) and it fit...sort of. The bottom of the top is not as stretchy as you might think. I was surprised I had difficulty getting it past my shoulders because of how little stretch it had. It was also a little tight across the bust and I could have lived with that...but there were so many other prettier things that I was going to get that I decided against it. I'm very much of the philosophy: "If you don't love it, don't get it." I acted accordingly and ended up not getting it. I still don't regret it."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Lacy Layering Top
Name:
Location:Miami
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
poor fit
3.7.2012
"the top has banding at the bottom which you cannot see. material not stretchy. very odd fit. not worth the price!!"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Lacy Layering Top
Name:
Location:China
age:21-25
body type:petite
not bad
2.9.2012
"The color is a bit different with my imagination,but not bad,besides,I feel the price seems a little expensive as the quality of a material."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Lacy Layering Top
Name:
Location:Arleta, CA
age:14-20
body type:slender
Pretty
2.2.2012
"I liked this top. I bought it in the bright pink color; the color is definitely nice, and I am debating whether to get a second one in the blue color. The shirt looks very similar online as it does in person. The pattern is the same and the fit was about right. I usually always order XS in free people tops, but went with a small and was glad I did. Like the other reviews said, the top is a little short, and rides up because of the band around the bottom. This is very annoying. When I put a jacket over it, the shirt has curled under and I have to adjust it before taking the jacket off. Regardless it is cute, and if you don't mind spending the money then get it. Good layering piece, and deceivingly warm even though it has little cutouts. Your bra will show through. I am 5' 6 1/2" about 115 and bought a size small"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Lacy Layering Top
Name:
Location:New York
age:21-25
body type:athletic
very disappointing, especially for the price
1.24.2012
"It is a gorgeous design and well made top in beautiful colors, but thats about it.
I usually wear a size s/xs in tops (5'3, 120, small on top) and this just didn't work in any possible way. I ordered a size small, and the length of the top is very short while the sleeves were loose on me. The fabric doesn't give at all, so it isn't stretchy in comparison to other FP layering tops. It is just poorly designed for a fitted top. I immediately returned it."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Lacy Layering Top
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:over 45
body type:petite
Pros and cons
1.22.2012
"I'm 5'3". With FP sweaters, I can wear an XS or S. I ordered and kept this top in Black, sz. Medium. By FB standards, this top runs very small, although by general standards, it might be average. In the M, the sleeves are too long, but the body is comfortable and a little loose. I imagine this should fit tight, but it's not comfortable because the fabric does not give. I'm pretty small on top, which is why sz S should have fit. The S was way too tight in the back and constricting all along the arm. The difference between the M and S is significant. A previous reviewer was correct. The fabric does not give very much. I also ordered and returned the Tea color in Size Small. The Tea color is also more of an off-white "as if dyed in tea" than is shown in the photo here. The photo here looks almost white. The blue and pink are true to color, and very pretty, but I don't own them.. The fabric is relatively opaque in black, considering the open pattern, but relatively sheer in Tea. -- A complaint regarding workmanship: The pattern of the fabric of this Top is not centered, and it should be. I looked at several tops at the store, and there was no consistency. I lucked out and found one where the pattern was centered, but it's not perfect. However I would not have purchased the other tops available on the rack. The geometic pattern looks odd when the circle or diamond is not positioned in the center line of the top. For the price, more care should have been given to positioning the pattern symetrically. Side note: As a more stretchy alternative, the Dotted Lace Tee in size small was the perfect size for me and comfortable, but more sheer. It's very pretty. I have two, one in black and one in white. I tried the Blush but didn't like the color....It was grayish pink, and washed me out."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Lacy Layering Top
Name:
Location:Vermont
age:41-45
body type:petite
pretty layering top
12.28.2011
"This is a really pretty layering top and more substantial in terms of thickness than some of the lacy tees so you can even get away with wearing it alone over a nude bra. However, this item does run small. I normally wear an xs in FP clothes and the xs was so tight I had to send it back. The sm fit perfectly. I am 110 lbs with 34" chest and slim build. The tea color is gorgeous for a winter top. dressy enough for a skirt or nice with a pair of dark jeans."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Lacy Layering Top
Name:
Location:pacific grove, ca
age:21-25
body type:curvy
pretty but just ok..
12.22.2011
"I really wanted the Tea color but they were out of stock so I settled for the Royal. It's very pretty and I love the detailing of the print. It runs very small though, I would definitely size up. I also agree with other reviewers in that it does ride up a bit at the waist, more on the shorter side. Wish it was longer."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Lacy Layering Top
Name:
Location:Santa Barbara, CA
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
Lacking Length
12.15.2011
"I agree this top is a bit overpriced and you def must size up. I like the color and lacy detail but wasn't digging the elastic waist, I would rather it be long like most fp layering tops."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Lacy Layering Top
Name:
Location:atlanta
age:41-45
body type:petite
high quality, beautiful design
12.3.2011
"I honestly thought this top was a bit overpriced, but I loved the Tea color so much I decidded to give it a try. I'm petite and have been buying layering tees in XS for a snug fit, but based on the measurements given I decided to get this in S, my usualy top size. I'm glad I did because the S is super snug in the bust. It doesn't stretch nearly as much as some knit tops, but it fits perfectly in the body, arms and length, so I'll probably just live with the tightness in the chest (I'm a 34D, so if you have a smaller bust you may not have this problem). It is also shorter than some of FP's other layering tops, so if you are tall you may want to size up for more length. There is elastic at the bottom and at the wrists, which I thought was odd at first, but it does keep the top from riding up and does not dig in at the hips or arms. The color is a sort of antique ivory and is absolutely gorgeous. The fabric is quite heavy, and in spite of the open weave you can almost wear it on its own - the more adventurous amoung you may do just that. I plan to layer it under other tops and sweaters, but it would also be cute over a tank or bandeau. This top is about 10 times nicer than it appears in the photo, and I would definitely recommend it. But consider sizing up if you want a more easy fit."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Lacy Layering Top
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
gorgeous but snug
12.1.2011
"As you can tell from the photos, this top is meant to be very close-fitting. But the fabric is more of a woven than a knit, and doesn't have much stretch to it. My own usual size (M) was just plain too tight across the hips, and while the L fit, the snugness of it felt uncomfortable. So I sized all the way up to XL, which gave me a slightly blousy fit that I think works better with the style and material. All-over lace tops can sometimes be cheap-looking, but the fabric of this one looks expensive and antique-y. The photos don't do it full justice."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large