Product Reviews

Mad Cool Skirt

Jersey knit maxi skirt with two front hip pockets. Elastic waist.
overall average rating:
3.921 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 76
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mad Cool Skirt
Review 1 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:florida
age:21-25
body type:slender
Great
9.29.2014
"I got the Small Taupe and its nice. A good staple piece for your wardrobe. It is LONG, but I will probably get it tailored or cut it myself. I also might wear it tied in a knot to one side like someone did in the style pics which I thought was cute. Unfortunately the the TAUPE is more of a sand/brown than the rich color in the picture, but I still with keep it."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:Tennessee
age:14-20
body type:curvy
LOVE
9.3.2014
"I have two of these skirts and I love them but beware they run long. I am 5'10" and it is still long on me."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:Maryland
age:41-45
body type:curvy
I Love this garment
7.26.2014
"It's true the skirt is long and has lots of room..I love that about it. I have a very big booty...i love the way it covers me. the material is soft and flowing. It's one of my favorite skirts to wear."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:europe
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
didnt even tried on after unwrapping
6.25.2014
"bought two at a time. cheapest quality I ever purchased from FP. sorry FP but u sometimes disappoint us. if u are blessed with thighs , don't u even look at this product. side pockets are almost at the knees which makes u look fatter. the skirt is verrryyy long. overseas so cant ship it back, wont worth it, i have two new cleaning cloths.. sorry guys."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:709
age:26-30
body type:athletic
love it but thin
6.5.2014
"I was debating this skirt for a while. and without a free people store where I live returns aren't the easiest. I finally purchased the skirt and I absolutely love it. I'm 5'9 with an unusually high natural waist (where I wear the skirt). and the skirt is still long on me.
the only downside is that it is really thin material, I bought the light blue and you definitely need to wear neutral coloured non-lace underwear otherwise you can see everything. I'm also worried that when it washes its going to shrink a lot and start to roll on the ends.. we shall see!
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:31-35
body type:petite
Super cool summer skirt!
6.2.2014
"I ordered this skirt in blue, and it is absolutely gorgeous! This skirt has a very relax feeling and it is very soft. Just perfect for the summer. I gave it 4 stars because it is extremely long. I am 5'2 and had to get it cut by a lot to get the length shown in the photo."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:Bend, OR
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Just okay
5.19.2014
"Ordered the Mad Cool Skirt in the light blue. It is a nice color, good quality fabric, but it wasn't flowy enough for my taste. It fits pretty close to the body and as the other reviews stated, it is extremely long. If you are tall and slender, then this is the skirt for you."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:Oklahoma
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Goes with everything
5.10.2014
"I got this skirt in blue and love it. I was concerned with how thin it might be and seeing any lines from underwear or just being see through all together, but it fits great-true to size-is thick enough that I don't have to hide anything and falls great. It's amazingly comfortable and easy to wear. It was incredibly long - I'm nearly 5'9" and cut 6" off the bottom-which is super rare for me. The great thing is you only have to cut it-no hem necessary since it is a raw edge. I love it so much I'm considering buying it in several colors!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:Virginia
age:41-45
body type:curvy
SUPER LONG ..
4.17.2014
"I am 5'4" with a curvy figure and purchased a medium I had to roll the waist band up twice so I could walk in it. The fabric is thinner than it looks but it will be perfect for summer. I agree with other reviews that say the cost is a bit much for having to cut or hem the skirt but the pockets and lines on it make it an original maxi. Would buy in more colors if it cost less."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:MI
age:26-30
body type:athletic
finally got it
4.9.2014
"I've been lusting after this skirt for a year or two and finally bought it. I got the rust, xs; love the color. It's somewhat neutral, and matches a lot of other colors. As everyone has said it is super long! The hem is raw so you can trim it, or what I do is roll the top once or twice--it doesn't really affect the look and then you don't have to worry about cutting it evenly or whatever. I'm almost 5'7, 130, and I definitely wouldn't go bigger than the xs. Took one star off for the price--the style is great, but it really is a pretty basic skirt."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Great casual skirt
2.27.2014
"I have this in gray/black and taupe, love it. The style and fabric go with anything. It is very long - I'm 5'8" and I need to wear heels with it. But it's a raw edge on the bottom, so you can cut it off or hem it if you need to.
I recommend this as a great basic piece.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:idaho
age:over 45
body type:slender
I love it!
2.8.2014
"So comfy! Just like wearing pajamas! I'd rather wear this than my jeans and it looks more stylish. It does run big, so I ordered a size smaller. It has a raw hem, so if it's too long, it can just be cut. I ordered two."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:Alberta
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Growing on me :)
1.27.2014
"When I got this skirt in the mail and tried it on, I have to admit, I was slightly disappointed. The fabric is extremely light and not very substantial, and it is so so so big! I am usually a small (5'9" 34-29-34), and the small was too big. BUT after I put it in the dryer and shrunk it down a little, it fits perfect :) It is super comfy and versatile, and it is really starting to grow on me. The design is awesome as well. Only thing.. I think the fabric should be thicker for the price of the skirt."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:Denver
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Actually high-waisted
1.22.2014
"I just received this skirt today, and it is adorable. I am 5'10", I ordered a M, and it is the PERFECT length for me. I probably could've gotten away with a small, but I'm glad I got medium for washing shrinkage possibilities. I can wear this skirt at my high waist all the way to my low waist depending on shoes and overall look I want. I had a hard time deciding between the rust and the taupe, but I chose rust because I had a feeling the colors weren't exactly as pictured. I am very happy that I chose the rust (the taupe may have been too pale..notice how the back lighting shifts the contrast and supposed "brightness" of each color in the pics). I love the pockets - they don't pucker or make your body look different/weird, and for some reason they make this skirt even more comfortable to wear :). If I want another one, I will wait to see if this skirt goes on sale as the material is pretty thin...I recommend the tea length seamless slip to wear underneath (especially on sunny days) for sure."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 15 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Beware: See through
1.12.2014
"I loved this skirt - the fit, the length, everything!
However I walked outside of my apartment to go out with my friends and thank goodness it was daylight because my friend told me how see through it was!
On a sunny day you can see the outline of your legs and where your underwear line ends and skin begins (I was wearing nude colored undies a few shades darker than my skin). If you're at the beach on a sunny day and take a picture you will see the outline of your legs through the skirt.
I returned it (it was the charcoal color) and will try the lighter beige color to see if that fixes the issue (I have fair skin), but if not then this skirt will just be a sad disappointment because it is an absolutely amazing skirt."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:livermore, CA
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Sweats in disguise
12.27.2013
"This is my go to skirt. I own every color. They run very long but have a raw hem that you can easily cut to your desired length.
Just got the blue ad it's beautiful"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:CA
age:31-35
body type:petite
Loved but too big :(
12.26.2013
"i loved this skirt so much and wish it had worked. It was so soft and it laid perfectly. However I got the xs and it was still much too big around my waist. I tried rolling a couple times but then it laid oddly and and was too bulky on my waist. Maybe FP can make xxs or petite sizes for us petite FP lovers? However if it weren't for being too big I would have bought more colors so I still do recommend this amazing maxi!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:tennessee
age:41-45
body type:athletic
great maxi
12.21.2013
"This skirt is great. It is long, but because of the raw edge, it can be cut to size. I got four of the five colors. Its a must buy for a maxi. Love this skirt."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:Dayton, OH
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Best Maxi Skirt Ever!!!
12.13.2013
"Being 5'9" I often struggle with finding "maxi" items that are actually to the floor on me and not some in-between midi and maxi weirdness. This skirt fits the bill and then some. I love, love, love being able to FINALLY wear something high-waisted and have it hit me right where I want it. The only caveat to this awesome skirt is the fact that I could do with the fabric being a touch thicker so it would drape even nicer and be more fitting for a cold-weather item as well. Also, if FP could make this EXACT skirt but without pockets I would seriously buy every color. So far in this one I've gotten the taupe, rust, olive, and charcoal and I am putting the denim blue in my cart as we speak. Thanks so much, FP!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:Richland, WA
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Buy This!!!
11.29.2013
"Gorgeous olive green, buttery soft, long & flowing. What a find. I just love this maxi skirt. I'm wearing it with my Obi belt and lots of other belts. It goes with everything in my closet. Thank you Free People!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 4 next>>