Product Reviews

Mad Cool Skirt

Jersey knit maxi skirt with two front hip pockets. Elastic waist.
overall average rating:
3.941 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 68
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mad Cool Skirt
Review 1 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:Virginia
age:41-45
body type:curvy
SUPER LONG ..
4.17.2014
"I am 5'4" with a curvy figure and purchased a medium I had to roll the waist band up twice so I could walk in it. The fabric is thinner than it looks but it will be perfect for summer. I agree with other reviews that say the cost is a bit much for having to cut or hem the skirt but the pockets and lines on it make it an original maxi. Would buy in more colors if it cost less."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:MI
age:26-30
body type:athletic
finally got it
4.9.2014
"I've been lusting after this skirt for a year or two and finally bought it. I got the rust, xs; love the color. It's somewhat neutral, and matches a lot of other colors. As everyone has said it is super long! The hem is raw so you can trim it, or what I do is roll the top once or twice--it doesn't really affect the look and then you don't have to worry about cutting it evenly or whatever. I'm almost 5'7, 130, and I definitely wouldn't go bigger than the xs. Took one star off for the price--the style is great, but it really is a pretty basic skirt."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Great casual skirt
2.27.2014
"I have this in gray/black and taupe, love it. The style and fabric go with anything. It is very long - I'm 5'8" and I need to wear heels with it. But it's a raw edge on the bottom, so you can cut it off or hem it if you need to.
I recommend this as a great basic piece.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:idaho
age:over 45
body type:slender
I love it!
2.8.2014
"So comfy! Just like wearing pajamas! I'd rather wear this than my jeans and it looks more stylish. It does run big, so I ordered a size smaller. It has a raw hem, so if it's too long, it can just be cut. I ordered two."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:Alberta
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Growing on me :)
1.27.2014
"When I got this skirt in the mail and tried it on, I have to admit, I was slightly disappointed. The fabric is extremely light and not very substantial, and it is so so so big! I am usually a small (5'9" 34-29-34), and the small was too big. BUT after I put it in the dryer and shrunk it down a little, it fits perfect :) It is super comfy and versatile, and it is really starting to grow on me. The design is awesome as well. Only thing.. I think the fabric should be thicker for the price of the skirt."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:Denver
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Actually high-waisted
1.22.2014
"I just received this skirt today, and it is adorable. I am 5'10", I ordered a M, and it is the PERFECT length for me. I probably could've gotten away with a small, but I'm glad I got medium for washing shrinkage possibilities. I can wear this skirt at my high waist all the way to my low waist depending on shoes and overall look I want. I had a hard time deciding between the rust and the taupe, but I chose rust because I had a feeling the colors weren't exactly as pictured. I am very happy that I chose the rust (the taupe may have been too pale..notice how the back lighting shifts the contrast and supposed "brightness" of each color in the pics). I love the pockets - they don't pucker or make your body look different/weird, and for some reason they make this skirt even more comfortable to wear :). If I want another one, I will wait to see if this skirt goes on sale as the material is pretty thin...I recommend the tea length seamless slip to wear underneath (especially on sunny days) for sure."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 7 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Beware: See through
1.12.2014
"I loved this skirt - the fit, the length, everything!
However I walked outside of my apartment to go out with my friends and thank goodness it was daylight because my friend told me how see through it was!
On a sunny day you can see the outline of your legs and where your underwear line ends and skin begins (I was wearing nude colored undies a few shades darker than my skin). If you're at the beach on a sunny day and take a picture you will see the outline of your legs through the skirt.
I returned it (it was the charcoal color) and will try the lighter beige color to see if that fixes the issue (I have fair skin), but if not then this skirt will just be a sad disappointment because it is an absolutely amazing skirt."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:livermore, CA
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Sweats in disguise
12.27.2013
"This is my go to skirt. I own every color. They run very long but have a raw hem that you can easily cut to your desired length.
Just got the blue ad it's beautiful"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:CA
age:31-35
body type:petite
Loved but too big :(
12.26.2013
"i loved this skirt so much and wish it had worked. It was so soft and it laid perfectly. However I got the xs and it was still much too big around my waist. I tried rolling a couple times but then it laid oddly and and was too bulky on my waist. Maybe FP can make xxs or petite sizes for us petite FP lovers? However if it weren't for being too big I would have bought more colors so I still do recommend this amazing maxi!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:tennessee
age:41-45
body type:athletic
great maxi
12.21.2013
"This skirt is great. It is long, but because of the raw edge, it can be cut to size. I got four of the five colors. Its a must buy for a maxi. Love this skirt."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:Dayton, OH
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Best Maxi Skirt Ever!!!
12.13.2013
"Being 5'9" I often struggle with finding "maxi" items that are actually to the floor on me and not some in-between midi and maxi weirdness. This skirt fits the bill and then some. I love, love, love being able to FINALLY wear something high-waisted and have it hit me right where I want it. The only caveat to this awesome skirt is the fact that I could do with the fabric being a touch thicker so it would drape even nicer and be more fitting for a cold-weather item as well. Also, if FP could make this EXACT skirt but without pockets I would seriously buy every color. So far in this one I've gotten the taupe, rust, olive, and charcoal and I am putting the denim blue in my cart as we speak. Thanks so much, FP!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:Richland, WA
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Buy This!!!
11.29.2013
"Gorgeous olive green, buttery soft, long & flowing. What a find. I just love this maxi skirt. I'm wearing it with my Obi belt and lots of other belts. It goes with everything in my closet. Thank you Free People!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:Portland
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Size down, and be prepared to hem
11.26.2013
"I'm 6'1 and this skirt is long on ME, so be ready. Its very comfy and casual, so its nice to have in any color. Just be ready for the length, its definitely a raw hem type of situation!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:New York
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
meh
11.21.2013
"I sent it back. I'm 5'101/2" and it was waaay too long for me. and big, and bulky and just meh."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:Kalamazoo, MI
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Mad Huge Skirt
10.20.2013
"This skirt was so large! Nice material but sent it back."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:Canada
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Love it!!!
10.17.2013
"Perfect fit for me. I ordered the medium after reading much reviews and was glad that I sized down. I'm 6'2" and can be a medium or large.... the length is perfect because i'm all legs. If I wear the skirt higher on my waist it's not dragging, but on other occasions I can wear it lower and have it drag slightly which I love. The pockets are a cute accent. The material isn't fancy, but it sure is comfy and chic all in one! Super happy with this purchase, and I'm loving the laid back boho vibe this skirt gives."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:Canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
i love pockets
10.8.2013
"I'm 5'11, 190lbs (ish) bought the large. Bottomw heavy. Usually I like to wear skirts on my hips low, the waistband is large enough for this (I bought the large) but you can't. The pockets would be too low and there's 'shaping' in the top of the skirt that when pulled low leaves a weird bagginess. However, I'll just wear it high on the real waist and then it looks just great. I love having a skirt with pockets. Yay!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:Charleston
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Great Fall Basic
9.17.2013
"Got this skirt in the mail last week and its a wonderful addition to my fall wardrobe. I absolutely love it, but I know it is not for everyone. Be warned it is EXTRA long. I'm almost 5'8 and ordered the extra small (I usually wear a small or medium)- it still drags the floor unless I'm in my highest heels. The fabric is a bit thin, but the way it is gathered at the waist makes it flow beautifully. I find the gathered fabric and extra long length to make it super slimming on my figure. If you are on the taller side and looking for a maxi, this might be a winner for you. For the shorter ladies, the hem of the skirt is raw,which means you could potentially trim it to a length that is better for you easily."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:Boulder, Co
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Maxi heaven
9.13.2013
"This is the best maxi skirt that I have ever owned. I purchased both the taupe and charcoal versions. Nothing bothers me more than a maxi that isn't quite long enough, but you won't have to worry about that with this piece. I am 5'10 and can roll the waistband and still have it be more than long enough. It is a beautiful cut that drapes and flows very nicely. My only complaint is the thin material. I know it is part of the FP Beach collection, but for nearly 100 bucks I think the fabric should be a bit thicker. I have resorted to wearing a slip underneath because even nude colored undies are viewable through the fabric. This is more of a problem on the charcoal than the taupe surprisingly.
Trying to decide if the olive color way is worth the money knowing it will probably also be see-through."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 20 for Mad Cool Skirt
Name:
Location:Lincoln, NE
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Bummer
9.2.2013
"It's super comfy but completely see through around the butt. I wore it once and was unaware of the "view" I was giving everyone. Would return it but already wore it. Not worth the price!!"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 4 next>>