Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Oversized Tunic

Gauzy cotton tiered tunic top with buttonfront opening. Ruffled bell-sleeves that are 3/4-length. Subtle babydoll shape. **Special Note: This tunic was originally offered as a One Size Fits All, but is now offered in two sizes, XS/S and M/L.
overall average rating:
2.364 out of 5
2.4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Customer Reviews for Oversized Tunic
Review 1 for Oversized Tunic
Name:
Location:chicago
age:over 45
body type:petite
Hope it holds up!
1.2.2014
"This is a very pretty shirt! If you favor feminine and flowing, you will love this. The fabric has some stretchy give to it, and, oddly, a bit of weight to it. The belled sleeves are heavy and physically pull hard on the shoulders, which leads to my only complaint. Mine arrived with a slight separation right at the seam at the back of the arm. I knew that as soon as I wore it I would have a hole that would be impossible to hide. So this non-seamstress took some white thread and wove it through the separation to create a little more strength--I hope it works. This is a beautiful top and I don't want to not be able to wear it! Size-wise, I ordered the xs/s and it is tts. I am 5'2", 34B, size 4, and this is perfect. Hangs and flows perfectly. It's really a beautiful piece that I hope to get a lot of wear out of!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Oversized Tunic
Name:
Location:Canada
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Wish I could send it back
8.29.2013
"I mistakely bought the peach color because some of the style pics were a nice dark pink color and mentioned that it was much darker than peach. Mine however was definitely not the dark version, I got the light orange/peachy color and I do not like it at all. The sleeves are too heavy and the top is just big and awkward. I thought for sure I would love it but I don't even like it as a cami. Wish the shipping to Canada was not so dang expensive and I could send it back. Definitely not worth the price. :("
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb9.5.2013
We're sorry to hear that - we'll be in touch. xoxo
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Oversized Tunic
Name:
Location:Canada
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Beautiful and sexy
6.28.2013
"Contrary to other reviews I have to say that I absolutely love this top, I have it in size xs/s and it fits me exactly like the model pictured in the white (I'am 5'4'', 110lbs, and 34B). The top is very flowy but its meant to be that way and I love the thin, sheer but not too sheer fabric, I think it gives it a sexy laid back beachy feel. The bell sleeves are a bit heavy when you pick the garment up but once you put it on they don't seem so heavy. Because of the heaviness of the sleeves and thin fabric I would not place the garment on a hanger but instead keep it on a shelf (so as not to stretch the fabric). Overall I don't think the fabric, though gauzy, is delicate and by no means do I believe that it will fall apart. Its a beautiful sexy top perfect for summer and I'm thinking of purchasing it in cool peach. No powdery smell detected as one reviewer mentioned."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Oversized Tunic
Name:
Location:New Orleans
age:21-25
body type:athletic
One of my favorite pieces
5.31.2013
"I love this top! I love the way it fits! I would highly recommend this top"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Oversized Tunic
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:14-20
body type:petite
It's alright..
5.30.2013
"This was wayyyyy over sized and is a lot more fluffy in person. I don't recommend it if you're a short girl like me!"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Oversized Tunic
Name:
Location:Salem, MA
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Terrible fit & construction
5.21.2013
"I was so happy when I discovered that this tunic is now being offered in 2 sizes, after reading previous reviews about how tight the chest and upper arms fit. But, the larger size is huge and fits like a tent. There is way too much material .... tons of flimsy gauze, not worth the money at all. Also, the seams at the shoulder/arm looked like they would easily pull apart in no time. What was also peculiar is that there is so much material on the bell shape portion of the sleeves, that it actually felt heavy and cumbersome. Lastly, this shirt had an overpowering powdery smell, almost like fabric softener. So disappointed, I have sent it back."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Oversized Tunic
Name:
Location:New York
age:over 45
body type:curvy
too snug in the arms
3.20.2013
"as some other reviews said, the upper arms and across the chest runs tight, I like the shirt but I have to wear it with a tank top underneath and leave some buttons open so it fits more comfortably. Still thinking about returning it though..."
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb5.14.2013
Hi kitkat1011! We'll be in touch with some good news!

We listened to your feedback and now offer the Oversized Tunic in two sizes. These new size options should help you get the fit just right in the future! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Oversized Tunic
Name:
Location:Bloomfield, Nj
age:36-40
body type:curvy
sad :(
3.8.2013
"I can not express how sad I was that this did not work out. The line where the sleeve and seam met made it impossible to wear. For the price of this shirt it should have fit how it looked in the pic. And FYI-it had a funky smell to it. Again so sad for I couldn't wait to wear and couldn't."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb3.13.2013
We are sorry that you were not happy with this tunic, and will be in touch to provide assistance in returning the item. When a natural dye is used & an item is stored in a protective plastic bag, there may be a smell due to the dye naturally "breathing" after being contained in plastic over time. Airing out the tunic will take care of this! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Oversized Tunic
Name:
Location:great northwest
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Weird weird weird
3.8.2013
"Got this today and what can I say? If you are bigger than a size small , it won't work! It was tight in arms and fit funny through the chest, it is going back today. Believe all the other reviews, they are all true."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Oversized Tunic
Name:
Location:Chicago,IL
age:41-45
body type:curvy
not very flattering
2.28.2013
"I returned this top because it was tight in the arms and across the chest as a prior reviewer stated. I am a medium normally. This is sold as a one size fits all, but it really is a small. It is sheer gauzy ( think first aid) material that is bunched up and sewn around the bust line and arms making it very unflattering. If you are under 105 pds...this may look beautiful on you..I love the concept but I feel it was poorly executed."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Oversized Tunic
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Very very very disappointed
2.25.2013
"I don't know where to start. If you are petite and have no chest this top might work for you. This top is more like a tent. There is a band that goes across the chest and has a very awkward fit. That is probably why the model has it unbuttoned. You don't see a side view because then you would really see how a unflattering this top is on a person. So its snug at the chest then flares out. The material does not lay nicely like it does on the model. The material is a gauze and it pulls at all the seems almost as if the top was going to fall apart. For the price I would have expected better material. This seems typical of Jen's Pirate Booty. I bought the tie dye flares and the material does not hold up well at the seems. I bought the white and it is very sheer. I'm 5'6 145lbs, 36B with an athletic build. i'm normally a s-m in FP tops. I would have loved for this top to work because it looks great on the model but sadly it's going back."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large