Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Tanzania Tie Dress

Tribal printed mini dress with oversized armholes and tie closure at top of each shoulder and each side of waist. Light pleating at waist. A perfect beach cover up, or layering piece over a little blouse! *By Tallow for Free People
overall average rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Customer Reviews for Tanzania Tie Dress
Review 1 for Tanzania Tie Dress
Name:
Location:Dallas, TX
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
I really wanted to like this...
2.6.2014
" I wanted this dress to work so badly, but it just wasn't meant to be. I fell in love with the pattern, and ordered a small. I am a 34D, and the side boob when I tried it on was out of control...a bandeau may have solved this, but the dress itself was just too loose. I looked like a very hip, exotic candy striper and felt like I was wearing an apron. Had to return this gem. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Tanzania Tie Dress
Name:
Location:Australia
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Not a fan :(
1.30.2014
" Unfortunately there was one thing that stopped this dress from being great and it was my bust. I'm a 36DD and this ended up looking silly on me, as the torso portion was obviously too small. It ended up looking like an apron on my unfortunately. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Tanzania Tie Dress
Name:
Location:usa
age:14-20
body type:petite
very cute but too big
1.27.2014
" I have admired this dress for a while online, but when I got it it was HUGE. I got an extra small, and I am a very petite girl, but it is made very, very, big. It is very cute, but I'm contemplating returning because it is really very loose. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Tanzania Tie Dress
Name:
Location:Singapore
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Cute Dress
11.18.2013
" Just got my mamba print dress. I like it but i'm not in-love with it..(yet) . I'm usually M in size,at 5'7" height. It's a bit large for me and not sure if i can wear it on a casual day. But it will work great as a cover up on swimsuits.Perfect for my Brazil trip in January! Yey! Still waiting for my Goodnight Moon Sunglasses. :D "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Tanzania Tie Dress
Name:
Location:TX
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Love this!
10.17.2013
" This is my first dress purchase from FP online. I love it! I have a long torso, so the top adjustable ties are fantastic. The tag of the xs says size 2. I'm usually a size 4 (5'6" 125 lbs 32D), and it fits perfect other than a little side boob... I love the Tambo print so I'm keeping it! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Tanzania Tie Dress
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
great, but not for me.
10.17.2013
" this dress looks great, feels great, but doesn't fit my body well. im 5'6", round butt, long limbs, and have a slightly shorter torso than "average." though adjustable at the shoulder and hip, i just couldn't manage to tie this dress in a way where the drop waist fell evenly (front and back) without the back of the dress bunching up between the shoulder and hip. this dress doesn't fall into that U shape in the back because of my butt and too much of my hip shows on the sides for the same reason. if i were going to make this dress work, id have to wear a thong. but that, plus a gust of wind... humm, idk lol. ill be exchanging this for something else. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Tanzania Tie Dress
Name:
Location:reno, nv
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Super Silky
10.10.2013
" Love this dress I bought it in the tambo color and it is gorgeous! The material is very soft, silky and super comfy. You need to wear a bandeau or something underneath because the sides are a little revealing. I ordered a size small and it fits tts I am 32D and 5'5'' "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Tanzania Tie Dress
Name:
Location:Toronto
age:21-25
body type:petite
Great casual summer dress
10.2.2013
" Based off user reviews, I purchased this dress in my usual size xs (5'3, 102 lbs) and it fits perfectly! love the way it drapes loosely on my frame without looking shapeless (you may adjust the ties on the side to loosen or tighten the fit). The colours in the aztec print make it attention-grabbing but subtle enough to wear anywhere. I know some girls recommended it as a cover-up, but imo it's too pretty for that :) The dress does reveal quite a bit along your side profile (think the top of your panty line when tied loosely - however you can draw the ties taut to avoid this), but personally, flashing a hint of undergarment as shown in the model pics adds to the casual flair of this dress :) Definitely a keeper. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Tanzania Tie Dress
Name:
Location:ohio
age:21-25
body type:petite
love
10.2.2013
" I really liked this dress. The XS fit me well so when I put that it runs large I just mean in general Free People sometimes runs large. I am 5'2" and weigh 110lb. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Tanzania Tie Dress
Name:
Location:Ct
age:21-25
body type:slender
Wanted to love
8.15.2013
" I purchased this in the tribal print and was so excited for it to come. Im 115lb, 5'3, 36A, and ordered my usual FP size a small .. its very wide and loose and baggy, def just for over a bathing suit unless you want to be really risky lol .. loved the fabric and the print and plan on keeping and wearing it just a little disapointed "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Tanzania Tie Dress
Name:
Location:Melbourne, Australia
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
cute
8.12.2013
" perfect little cover up. so cute and soft and flowy. would be good over denim shorts, too short for me to wear as a dress. shows off my rib tattoo nicely. now bring on summer. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Tanzania Tie Dress
Name:
Location:Alabama
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Short!
7.8.2013
" This dress is so cute, but I took the advice from the other reviewers and sized down. 5'5" 120 -the XS was so short. Will have to order in a S-hopefully it wont be too loose everywhere else. The design is really cute, great beach cover up, soft material very light. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Tanzania Tie Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
LOVE!
6.26.2013
" i LOVE this dress but yeah it runs large im an xs if i were to re order i think id get an xxs also it totally shows your underwear it shows everything really but its so cute and the perfect length ill be wearing it regardless i only chose 4 stars because of fit and being revealing but the dress itself is a 5 for sure! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Tanzania Tie Dress
Name:
Location:Puerto Rico
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Love it!!
4.30.2013
" This dress is super cute with a slip underneath and a pair of boots. Love that I can just throw it on and it's super comfy!!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Tanzania Tie Dress
Name:
Location:Florida
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Super Cute
4.22.2013
" I bought this dress in a large, and while it does run a little big, I would not want it any tighter. I wore a body suit with some under shorts and got many compliments. It could be worn as a coverup as well. Very comfy!!! For reference I am 5'6 and 140 lbs. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Tanzania Tie Dress
Name:
Location:Southern California
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
wanted to love it
4.21.2013
" I ordered this dress in the tribal print in a medium and as much as I wanted to love it because the print was adorable the dress was huge, I went to my local store to return it and even tried on a smaller size but it just didnt fit me right :( "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Tanzania Tie Dress
Name:
Location:boston
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
it's cute
4.9.2013
" The fabric is a little different from what I expected, but it's still cute. It does run very large. I got my usual size M but now I'm thinking about exchanging for a S. And The cutouts are very low so I'm gonna wear a tank or a slip underneath it. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Tanzania Tie Dress
Name:
Location:Fargo
age:31-35
body type:petite
Cute in the picture....
3.31.2013
" I returned this dress as it is very roomy and over-sized. I will agree with other reviewer that it looked like an apron. I usually wear a medium or large. I had ordered a medium and it was too big on me. I think the dress has a lot of potential on the right body type and if sized correctly. Sooooo dissapointed cause the pictures are sooooo cute!!! "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Tanzania Tie Dress
Name:
Location:Michigan
age:21-25
body type:slender
no
3.25.2013
" I bought this to wear over my swimsuit, however it looks like an apron. I got a small and it is very large on the waist even with the ties adjusted. I would not recommend this dress to anyone. "
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb3.26.2013
We're sorry you weren't happy with this purchase - we'll be in touch! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Tanzania Tie Dress
Name:
Location:Montezuma
age:26-30
body type:slender
10/10
3.21.2013
" I didn't purchase this through FP, but bought it in Australian boutique last summer. I'm 5'7/8"/120lbs & got an Aussie size 6 (U.S. XS equivalent). I found it to run just a bit big. The 8/Small fit like a tent on me. All the ties are adjustable though, so you have some leeway. I love it in spring weather with an open denim shirt, booties and fedora, or thongs in the summer. Just a warning: the cutouts are cut extremely low and show the top part of my underwear. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large