Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

FP-1 Whispers of Shimmer Dress

Sleeveless empire-waisted maxi dress with bead and tulle inset at the neckline. Zipper closure under the left armhole. Unfinished, ruffled hemline. *Rayon and cotton *Imported
overall average rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Customer Reviews for FP-1 Whispers of Shimmer Dress
Review 1 for FP-1 Whispers of Shimmer Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:21-25
body type:slender
LOVE IT!!
9.6.2011
" I was waiting to rite this review until I had taken a picture... but I've decided to save this piece until a special occasion. It's too gorgeous! The side seams everybody hates don't really both me, honestly; the dress seems slimming and sexy, and the silhouette is flattering. I ordered the larger of my two FP dress sizes (2) and it's perfect. (For the record, I am 5"6, 125 lbs and have a 32D chest.) All my roommates want this now!! Highly recommended!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 2 for FP-1 Whispers of Shimmer Dress
Name:
Location:CA Bay Area
age:26-30
body type:petite
Gorgeous color great fit bad material
6.26.2011
" I love this dress especially at the sales price. Great for parties. I love love love the red color and the breast sequin design is very eye catching. Also my usual size 2 fits me perfectly (5'4 120lbs). However just like everybody else was saying the quality is not very satisfying. The material def does not look as flowy as pictured. But for 70 bucks I think this dress is still a good deal. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 3 for FP-1 Whispers of Shimmer Dress
Name:
Location:new york
age:14-20
body type:athletic
LOVE THIS DRESS
3.16.2011
" when i tried it on it fit perfectly and hugged every curve the right way. its nice enough to wear at big events and simple enough to wear at friend gatherings. i absolutely love it!!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP-1 Whispers of Shimmer Dress
Name:
Location:Vestal, NY
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Absolute favorite dress!
2.10.2011
" I got this in the plum, size 4. It is the most beautiful dress I've ever seen. It's a deep, dusky color, and the bead/jewel embellishment blends with the material just right--not ostentatious. It fits beautifully. I also love the raw hem--gives it just enough edge that you can wear it for more things than just formal occasions. The asymmetrical hemline is also a plus, giving you a way to show off your shoes. I can't wait to wear this for one of our band gigs! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for FP-1 Whispers of Shimmer Dress
Name:
Location:wash DC
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
amazing colour
1.25.2011
" I got the dress in size 2 and it fits true to size.
I have to get the hip section altered since it sticks out a lot.So plan on investing another 40 dollars in case you don`t have hips to fit in.
But then dress will be amazing!
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP-1 Whispers of Shimmer Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Unsure
12.31.2010
" I love and hate this dress. I love: the color choices, the beading, the length, the shilouette, and the idea of this dress. Dislike: quality, fabric choice, and akward side seams. I am a size 6/8 on top, and 10/12 on bottom. I eneded up getting the 12, and it was big. After trying it on, I saw no reason to bother exchanging it because it will be returned instead. The fit of this dress did not flatter my pear shape at all. The chest was baggy , but I think it was supposed to look that way. Not my thing. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP-1 Whispers of Shimmer Dress
Name:
Location:New York
age:36-40
body type:petite
odd beauty
12.21.2010
" yes, this dress i absolutely beautiful, love the color and the details but the fit is awkward, XS fits large on me (petite 0 @5.4 and 107lbs) like the other reviewer says, the main problem is that the sides are sewn such a way, that they stick out. Way too much fabric, not worth spending $100 tailoring on in my opinion...
The dress looks more like image 2-5, not 1 as i had hoped . if its true that some are sewn better, hope you get one of those:) i am sending mine back
"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP-1 Whispers of Shimmer Dress
Name:
Location:Florida
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
too small in chest
12.20.2010
" I am a 36 c. This is too tiny in the chest to fit me in a size 6. I will have to size up if I want it to work which means it will be super long and I will not have the look as pictured on the model. I wish the sizing was written in the description for this. Very upset over this purchase because I really wanted it to work. I love the tailoring and raw seams. I do not know what tailoring problems others could have encountered. I am thinking they either have the wrong body type for this dress or the wrong size. "
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for FP-1 Whispers of Shimmer Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:26-30
body type:slender
Lovely, fancy enough for me
12.2.2010
" I think it's lovely, and i can tell from the photo that it's rayon and not totally formal. But for my needs (NYE dress) i think it's fine. The bodice is GORGEOUS with lots of nice sparklies, and it's hard to tell, but the draped part under the embellished part is silkier than the rest of the dress.
Oh and I think it totally runs big. I'm 5'6" 118 and the 2 was gaping on me. Returning for a 0 I guess!! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for FP-1 Whispers of Shimmer Dress
Name:
Location:Mid-West
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Lovely Color, Poor Workmanship
11.30.2010
" I ordered Size 8. It fit true to to size and the red color was gorgeous, but the sewing was awful--very poor workmanship. The fabric bunched up on the side where the zipper was attached, and I disliked the frayed hem on such a pricey dress. It's packaged up and ready to be returned. Going forward, I hope FP monitors its quality-control in the shop where the dress was produced. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for FP-1 Whispers of Shimmer Dress
Name:
Location:Reno, NV
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
Not quite formal
11.30.2010
" The dress was just not as formal as I needed it to be. It is a very cute fun dress, but not appropriate for a formal event. The hem is not finished, which is noted in the description. "
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for FP-1 Whispers of Shimmer Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:41-45
body type:slender
3 Stars due to the tailoring/sewing
11.8.2010
" I loved this dress when I put it on...I wanted to keep this dress! (got the pewter)..only problem was that the sides were cut and sewn in such a way, that they stuck out. I would have needed to go to a tailor to take in the sides, and fix the seaming on the sides of the hips so that it would flare out from the hips...flare, not stick out like I had side pockets filled with something...anyways, I really liked this dress..If it were cut/sewn right, I would have given it 5 stars. Maybe others will be cut appropriately....also, for the price, I wish the bottom would be sewn (just a running stitch) as to stop the endless fraying...I was thinking of exchanging it for another, but I had gone to a store previously where 2 vests were sewn crooked in different places. i didn't want to be finding myself endlessly exchanging one for another....the dress was perfect length...Will Free People please do quality checks on their FP-1 clothes? I love them, but they seem to have alot of flaws in the sewing/tailoring process...or maybe I just have bad luck...BEAUTIFUL DRESS!
Hope you get a good one...(sob)
"
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large