Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off

Distressed denim 5-pocket cutoff shorts. Zipper and button fly closure. Bottom hems are raw edge and frayed. **Special Note: The True Blue color is not as bright blue as what is shown in the studio pictures. They are more muted. *100% Cotton *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size 28: Waist (all around): 33 1/4" Hips (all around): 39 1/4" Rise: 11" Inseam: 2 3/4" Leg Opening Width: 12 3/8"
overall average rating:
4.178 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Review 1 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:Stevensville, MD
age:21-25
body type:petite
Staple!
4.3.2014
"These are amazing! I love how they are higher waisted but not too high. They are extremely comfortable! The hem makes them a little more interesting than normal cutoffs and I think it's slimming for the leg. LOVE!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:St Petersburg, FL, USA
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Perfect!
3.21.2014
"Got these in the Eagle Wash and I love them. I normally have to get the waist darted on all FP pants and shorts but these are the first that didn't need it. I will be ordering more colors."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:california
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Best Shorts
1.14.2014
"I would definitely buy these! Comfy, just baggy enough and fit great. I always wear a 27 in denim and the 27 in these fit me perfect."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:Austin
age:14-20
body type:petite
black is not really black
10.2.2013
"I ordered the stark black shorts and they sent me shorts that were labeled "carbon." When i called customer service for help, they said that stark black and carbon were the same thing. However, they are two completely different colors. The carbon is a grey and is not black at all. Very disappointed."
Response from Free People:By Free PeopleWeb10.2.2013
So sorry that you were disappointed by the color of these shorts. We will be in touch! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:Michigan
age:14-20
body type:athletic
So disappointed
9.18.2013
"I ordered the glacier color online and received them in the mail today and the coloring of the shorts I got do not look anything as pictured online and they came with stains all over them. I was very disappointed. I always shop at Free People and this is the first item I've ever gotten that has disappointed me. Definitely sending these back."
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb9.18.2013
Sorry you weren't happy with these -- the Glacier does have some darker distressing on them. If you would like a stark white color we would suggest ordering the "White" color. We will be in touch
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:canada
age:21-25
body type:slender
defective. such a shame!
8.25.2013
"I bought these in copper and true blue. Absolutely loved the colors of both. Unfortunately even though they are the same size (25) they don't fit the same. Copper are perfect, true blue - tight on the waist. Also found that true blue are off center, the zip and front seam pull to the right and look funny. such a shame because I love the way the copper ones fit/look."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
age:26-30
body type:petite
Best Shorts!!
8.2.2013
"I have the hardest time finding shorts that I like and that fit me well. I am petite, but curvy (5'2", 34-24-36) and these shorts are perfect. I buy a 26 and they are just a bit loose in the waist at first, but after a wash & dry, they are fantastic. They are a nice mid-rise, and they actually have an inseam(!). It's so hard to find a pair of shorts that aren't glorified denim underwear. I've got 4 pairs already. Please don't stop making these!!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:New York
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Super high
7.31.2013
"I ordered these shorts in copenhagen/gray and they sit on the waist much higher than the different color of the dolphin hem I tried on in store. Did anyone else have this problem across colors?"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:San Fransisco
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Super flattering
7.29.2013
"I love these shorts! They are the perfect length for the summer, not micro mini, just perfect. Plus, they are super soft and go with everything!
I highly recommend these."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:Georgia
age:21-25
body type:petite
Love <3
7.23.2013
"First I bought these in glacier in size 25. They fit but they were a bit tight because even though I'm small, I have a butt. I wanted another pair that were a bit more loose so I also ordered the 26 in copenhagen. They seemed even tighter on the waist though and just as tight on my butt. Anyway, the cut is very flattering. Glacier is much more frayed than the other colors. Copenhagen has cute black piping and the pockets that show from the bottom of the shorts are detailed and pretty. I don't remember seeing that in the picture."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:NJ
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Perfect Fit!
7.17.2013
"I am 5'8, 140 lbs and I bought these in my normal size 28 and they fit perfectly!! Most shorts are super short on me, but these completely cover my behind. They are so comfortable to wear and I love the cut and fraying of these shorts. I'm thinking about buying these in copper!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:michigan
age:14-20
body type:slender
my favorite shorts
7.11.2013
"These are my go-to pair of shorts! I got them in "true blue" and I love the wash. They are so flattering and versatile! I pair them with everything from a chunky sweater to a tucked in button up shirt. Definitely a good purchase!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:21-25
body type:petite
Love them!
7.9.2013
"I got these shorts in the Glacier color. I tried them on in the store in my normal size 27 but they ran super big and I sized down to the 24. They were tight at first but loosen as your wear them. Perfect short for summer and will definitely be purchasing other colors!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:California
age:21-25
body type:petite
defective
7.9.2013
"These shorts would have been great, except the fly was wayyy off center on the pair I received. I love the hem and the high rise, but they went back the day I got them. Unfortunately the search for the perfect high rise shorts continues :("
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb7.10.2013
Hi, We're so sorry to hear this! Our team is reaching out today to help! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:Scottsdale, Arizona
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
perfect summer shorts
7.8.2013
"Got these shorts in the true blue & glacier color. I am so so so obsessed! These have become my new go to shorts - I can't take them off! I am usually a 26/27 in bottoms and I went with the 26. They ride up a little bit but nothing that becomes a problem. I recommend these shorts to anyone! I will definitely be getting more colors soon :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:Maryland
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
not for me
6.28.2013
"I ordered these in Copenhagen in my usual size 27, and was disappointed when they arrived. First, I expected the Copenhagen to be kind of a greyish blue but found it to be decidedly grey. So I thought I could work with it anyways, and tried them on. The fit just isn't great on me (5'7'' 135lb), kind of like the shorts are too tight around my thighs. The result is an unfortunate almost camel toe. The waist fits fine, but the over-all effect just isn't flattering for me. So they will be returned. That being said, the fabric is soft and they seem to be well-made. If you have a bigger butt or wider thighs I would recommend sizing up or simply finding something else."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:Melbourne VIC, Australia
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Slightly big on me, but still great
6.27.2013
"Ordered these in copper, size 29 (for reference I am 5'9 and my hips are about 37 or 38) and they are slightly too big for me, but definitely not too big to wear (in fact they actually make my legs look thinner). I don't think they run large, I just think I should probably have gone with a 28 to begin with. The colour is also slightly darker in person than the online photos, and a tinge of a more reddish-terracotta orange, but I am pleased with my purchase and they will look gorgeous in summer!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:Canada
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Perf!
6.17.2013
"Ordered these in a size 27 and they fit perfectly! I havea 25" waist and 36" hips. They have a nice high rise that is still an inch below my belly button and a good amount of stretch. I love the distressed details. These shorts are comfortable and cute! The fit is really flattering. Definitely a wardrobe staple."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:Denver
age:21-25
body type:petite
Perfect jean cut-offs
6.13.2013
"I bought these in the true blue and copenhagen colors and love both (the true blue are my fav though). These are a great basic jean cut-off for the summer. They also look great with tights and boots so I think they will transition well into my fall wardrobe as well. I am 5'3 105 lbs and the size 25 fit great (I'm usually a 24/35 in pants). They are definitely short but I am fairly petite and don't have very long legs so I think they look good on me. They have just the right amount of distressed detailing. Really great jean shorts!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:Arizona
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
dolphin hem cut off~
6.8.2013
"I bought these in my regular size in the true blue colour. When they came in the mail, they fit perfectly and were so comfy! The blue was not as vibrant as I had expected, but I still loved the colour. I could practically live in these."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 next>>