Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off

Distressed denim 5-pocket cutoff shorts. Zipper and button fly closure. Bottom hems are raw edge and frayed. **Special Note: The True Blue color is not as bright blue as what is shown in the studio pictures. They are more muted. *100% Cotton *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size 28: Waist (all around): 33 1/4" Hips (all around): 39 1/4" Rise: 11" Inseam: 2 3/4" Leg Opening Width: 12 3/8"
overall average rating:
4.296 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 54
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Review 1 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:San Diego
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
My favorite shorts!
8.10.2014
"I have these in "True Blue" and just ordered them in "Glacier". I'm 5'5.5" and 128lbs 32DD-27-35.5 and I ordered them in a 27. At first they were a little snug in the waist, but after I wore them for a few hours they loosened up quite a bit! They fit perfectly now and I get compliments on them every time I wear them. I have thick, athletic thighs and a small waist. I can never find shorts that are small enough in the waist and don't cut into my thighs, but these give my thighs plenty of extra room!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:Austin, TX.
age:21-25
body type:petite
best shorts ever
7.12.2014
"I am SO happy I got these! I am very picky about shorts because most don't fit me as comfortably as i'd like. I am 5 ft, petite but have muscular legs and don't like shorts to be tight on my thighs…these fit perfect. I normally wear 25 but fp shorts have been fitting me big lately so I ordered a 24 and they are just right. I would highly recommend these to anyone, very cute. Now I need them in every color! :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:Ocean Shores, Washington
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Fav's
6.25.2014
"I love fp denim. These shorts are my favorite next to the lace-trim style. I got the "Glacier" color, which is like super-duper bleached out barely light-blue. I always take a 29 (27 waist, 37 hips) and they fibig in the waist as usual, and hang a tad loose, which I like. They are mid-rise and are like a pair of old fav's you've had for years. Great fp denim! Hoping the blush is restocked in my size - hint, hint fp :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 4 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:california,usa
age:31-35
body type:petite
Stark Black
6.20.2014
"I ordered the stark black in 26. I'm 5ft 105lbs and this size fit perfect. They are dark black, very comfortable and overall a good pair of shorts. The fraying on the raw hem is nearly non existent on my pair. I liked the model's photo which shows quite a bit of fringe but that's not what my pair looks like at all. This is enough for me to return them. Without the frayed edges it changes the look of the shorts significantly. If you're looking for shorts that are more clean cut on the edges these are them."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:California
age:31-35
body type:petite
Great Shorts
6.12.2014
"These shorts are cute, comfy and not hoochy-length. I have two pairs. Love 'em!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Yay! No holes and a flattering cut
6.8.2014
"Great length, fit, flattering cut, and the rose color is super cute. Not to mention these are so soft and aren't full of holes or cut off at odd angles - finally - thank you fp! I am not one to pay for denim that already looks like it's falling apart. I like my clothes to last and to be versatile. For me, distressed looks aren't a go-anywhere style. In fp bottoms I vary between a 27 (lightweight skinny jeans) to a 29 (I am 5'7", 135 lb). I am normally a 28 in shorts (but I like them a bit roomy/relaxed). I got these in a 28 and they fit like they do on the model."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:Orange County, CA
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Love these cutoff shorts!
6.6.2014
"I have these in true blue and glacier. I sized up not only for my hips, but also to give more of a high-wasted fit. Bought these last year and they are still sturdy and retained their denim wash. Probably the best purchase I have made at FP so far!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:Newport Beach
age:41-45
body type:slender
Worth it
5.31.2014
"I got these shorts about 3 weeks ago and I've worn them a bunch of times since I got them. The price seems a little steep but I'll be getting a lot of wear out of them. I'm 5'7" 120 and I got a size 26."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:Memphis
age:26-30
body type:petite
Great shorts!
5.28.2014
"Got these in Eagle Wash and they are super cute. I ordered a 27 (usually wear between a 26-27 in jeans) and they are a tiny bit loose. Denim and wash are high quality and they did not shrink much in the dryer. I'm not a huge fan of really short shorts so I like the length on these (I'm 5'5"). Highly recommend."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:Stevensville, MD
age:21-25
body type:petite
Staple!
4.3.2014
"These are amazing! I love how they are higher waisted but not too high. They are extremely comfortable! The hem makes them a little more interesting than normal cutoffs and I think it's slimming for the leg. LOVE!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:St Petersburg, FL, USA
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Perfect!
3.21.2014
"Got these in the Eagle Wash and I love them. I normally have to get the waist darted on all FP pants and shorts but these are the first that didn't need it. I will be ordering more colors."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:california
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Best Shorts
1.14.2014
"I would definitely buy these! Comfy, just baggy enough and fit great. I always wear a 27 in denim and the 27 in these fit me perfect."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:Austin
age:14-20
body type:petite
black is not really black
10.2.2013
"I ordered the stark black shorts and they sent me shorts that were labeled "carbon." When i called customer service for help, they said that stark black and carbon were the same thing. However, they are two completely different colors. The carbon is a grey and is not black at all. Very disappointed."
Response from Free People:By Free PeopleWeb10.2.2013
So sorry that you were disappointed by the color of these shorts. We will be in touch! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:Michigan
age:14-20
body type:athletic
So disappointed
9.18.2013
"I ordered the glacier color online and received them in the mail today and the coloring of the shorts I got do not look anything as pictured online and they came with stains all over them. I was very disappointed. I always shop at Free People and this is the first item I've ever gotten that has disappointed me. Definitely sending these back."
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb9.18.2013
Sorry you weren't happy with these -- the Glacier does have some darker distressing on them. If you would like a stark white color we would suggest ordering the "White" color. We will be in touch
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:canada
age:21-25
body type:slender
defective. such a shame!
8.25.2013
"I bought these in copper and true blue. Absolutely loved the colors of both. Unfortunately even though they are the same size (25) they don't fit the same. Copper are perfect, true blue - tight on the waist. Also found that true blue are off center, the zip and front seam pull to the right and look funny. such a shame because I love the way the copper ones fit/look."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
age:26-30
body type:petite
Best Shorts!!
8.2.2013
"I have the hardest time finding shorts that I like and that fit me well. I am petite, but curvy (5'2", 34-24-36) and these shorts are perfect. I buy a 26 and they are just a bit loose in the waist at first, but after a wash & dry, they are fantastic. They are a nice mid-rise, and they actually have an inseam(!). It's so hard to find a pair of shorts that aren't glorified denim underwear. I've got 4 pairs already. Please don't stop making these!!"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:New York
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Super high
7.31.2013
"I ordered these shorts in copenhagen/gray and they sit on the waist much higher than the different color of the dolphin hem I tried on in store. Did anyone else have this problem across colors?"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:San Fransisco
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Super flattering
7.29.2013
"I love these shorts! They are the perfect length for the summer, not micro mini, just perfect. Plus, they are super soft and go with everything!
I highly recommend these."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:Georgia
age:21-25
body type:petite
Love <3
7.23.2013
"First I bought these in glacier in size 25. They fit but they were a bit tight because even though I'm small, I have a butt. I wanted another pair that were a bit more loose so I also ordered the 26 in copenhagen. They seemed even tighter on the waist though and just as tight on my butt. Anyway, the cut is very flattering. Glacier is much more frayed than the other colors. Copenhagen has cute black piping and the pockets that show from the bottom of the shorts are detailed and pretty. I don't remember seeing that in the picture."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Dolphin Hem Denim Cut Off
Name:
Location:NJ
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Perfect Fit!
7.17.2013
"I am 5'8, 140 lbs and I bought these in my normal size 28 and they fit perfectly!! Most shorts are super short on me, but these completely cover my behind. They are so comfortable to wear and I love the cut and fraying of these shorts. I'm thinking about buying these in copper!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 next>>