Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Shanghai Shift Dress

Simple shift tank dress with subtle pleating below waist line. Zips up the side. Comfortable, stretchy fit. *76% Cotton, 16% Polyester, 8% Spandex *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size 6: Length: 33" Bust (all around): 31" Waist (all around): 27" Armhole Drop: 9 1/4"
overall average rating:
4.304 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Customer Reviews for Shanghai Shift Dress
Review 1 for Shanghai Shift Dress
Name:
Location:houston, tx
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
yes dress!!
12.11.2012
" This is a great little dress! I recently purchased it on sale online for $23!! That alone made me love it even more. :)
I got a large as I have a big chest (36D)...it fit great! Not snug at all. I loved the cutouts and how it shows off the shoulders. I'm 5'3" and the length was fine. I was expecting it to be short but i planned on wearing it with opaque tights. Hits great in the waist....making the boobs and waist look tiny and then flares out around the hips. Very flattering.
I purchased the Seashell color and wore it with black tights to a christmas party. I wore my hair up to show off the unique cut of the dress....love how sexy the dress looks without showing anything but shoulders.
I only gave it 4 stars because the material was not all that. It was fine since I only paid $20 bucks for it...but it just didn't feel like quality material. It's a type of stretch jersey material...it's comfy but I was just expecting more since it's from Free People. Other than that, I am very happy with my purchase. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Shanghai Shift Dress
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
I'm in love!
12.2.2012
" I got this dress months ago for a friend's birthday party. It looks fantastic! The waist hit perfectly. The cut does emphasize the shoulders so beware if that isn't your style. The dress hits at mid-thigh for me (I'm 5'3") so it might be a tad too short if you're taller. The jade color is portrayed accurately in the photos online. I normally wear a medium in FP so it came as quite a surprise when I had to size down to a small. (I'm 37-29-38 and 140 lbs.) Otherwise, the dress looks great! And it wears well too :) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Shanghai Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Massachusetts
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Cute, Comfy, Chic
11.23.2012
" This dress can accommodate for anytime of the year. A nice easy slip on dress for warmer weather or an easily layered piece for cooler temps. The fitting of the dress is a bit loose overall especially on the bust but nothing substantial. In accord, I would suggest to size down.The color was a bit more of a dainty pink than the picture forgives but still a mild neutral tone. All in all, a 'must-have' piece that I highly suggest! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Shanghai Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Boulder, CO
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Neckline not for me
11.13.2012
" I am 125 lbs, 5'5" with athletic shoulders, 34C. Both the XS and S fit well. XS for a tighter fit, S for a bit looser fit. I am not keeping this because the neckline looks rather weird on me, like I am wearing a bib. I think it might look better on a person with slimmer shoulders. I really like dresses with straps close to the neckline, and the Free People "Washed French Terry Slip: (also on sale) looked much better on me. I kept that one instead. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Shanghai Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Northern California
age:21-25
body type:athletic
love this!!!!!
10.12.2012
" The title of this dress is what first sold me! Then i checked it out and read most of the reviews. I instantly fell in love with the beautiful jade color but after reading i decided that the medium was going to be to big according to what i was reading so i wasn't able to get it in green. They still had a small in the black and white so i decide to get a small in the black hoping it wasn't going to be to short since i'm 5'10.5''. ANYWAY I LOVE THIS!!!! It's almost a little short for my liking but it completely covers me and its one the most comfy dresses I own. It's purely beautiful with its design fabric and i love the cut!!! The armholes on the small are just right. I doubt if the medium would fit... and i am a very athletic 5'10 and slim. Def should buy this .. This dress rocks "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Shanghai Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Great LBD, Size Down!
10.8.2012
" I'm happy I read the reviews and went for a size smaller than I normally wear. I am 5"7 125 lbs with a size 34A chest. This dress cuts close to the chest but it really wasn't a problem. I ordered an XS and it wasn't super tight in the top or around the waist. I wore it to a wedding and it fit perfectly (not too tight but very flattering and comfortable to dance in). My legs are pretty long and I didn't have a problem with the length. If you have a large bust I would not recommend this dress because there really isn't much room. I did not wear a bra with the dress and I had no problems. I would highly recommend this dress for flat chested individuals. I love it and wish they had my size in the jade color. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Shanghai Shift Dress
Name:
Location:orange county
age:26-30
body type:petite
Great dress
9.27.2012
" I love this dress...I got the teal color & it looks great with my skin tone...I got the xsmall & it fits true to size. I am 5'0 105-130lbs...heavier right now but the xsmall still fits. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Shanghai Shift Dress
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Odd fit
9.25.2012
" I agree with the other reviewers regarding the armholes coming in too far in the front. I thought this looked kind of ridiculous, and there’s no way to wear a bra without it showing. It’s too bad, because I loved the fabric and I would have kept this tunic if it weren’t for the odd cut of the armholes. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Shanghai Shift Dress
Name:
Location:NJ
age:21-25
body type:curvy
beautiful dress but size down
9.11.2012
" The dress is absolutely beautiful. The fabric is thick, soft and stretchy, with beautiful oriental brocade print. The cut is classy and the color jade is deep and rich. I'm at the upper end of small and got a small. It's not too large but I think an xs would have fit slightly better. Armholes are larger than what I would've liked, I think they made the dress look slightly sloppier/ill-fitting. Also, it might be a bit too short for some people's taste. I'm 5'8" and this is at the limit of how short the dress can go for me. Though I do like how the waist still hits me at the right waist (almost), instead of being too high. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Shanghai Shift Dress
Name:
Location:rolling hills meets prairie
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Deep color
9.11.2012
" Really like deep colors like jade. Followed other reviewers advice and sized down from a medium to a small. Fits perfect for my athletic frame. Nice material and nice soft inner lining. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Shanghai Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Calabasas
age:21-25
body type:curvy
On Sale and Great for Fall/Winter
9.10.2012
" I just got this dress and it is beautifully tailored. It runs a little large so I would suggest buying a size smaller than normal. The fabric isn't too thin or too thick. I plan on wearing this with black tights, ankel boots, and a belt at the waist. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Shanghai Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Scranton
age:14-20
body type:curvy
love this dress!
8.25.2012
" this is the perfect dress for every season. i got it in the light pink, and it's so easy to dress up with heels or dress down with boots! it goes great with a short chunky necklace...and it's super comfortable and easy to throw on :) i highly recommend this dress! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Shanghai Shift Dress
Name:
Location:nj
age:21-25
body type:curvy
love it
8.25.2012
" i bought this dress in store on sale and it is the best free people purchase I've made. i am usually a small but i got the xs because the top was loose. Its so comfy and cute and looks great with a chambray over it for work or wedges for night "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Shanghai Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Georgia
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
new go-to LBD!
8.19.2012
" Gosh, I love this dress. I saw it on the sale rack in-store today and had to try it on. The jade that originally caught my eye was sold out in my size, but there was still black available and... I now have my new go-to LBD! I am 5'7-8"ish, 125, and purchased the XS- it is still a teeny bit loose but stunning nonetheless. I'm tall, and this is short enough to show off my long legs without looking trashy. GET THIS DRESS!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Shanghai Shift Dress
Name:
Location:NY
age:14-20
body type:slender
great color
8.11.2012
" The reason I tried this on was because of the color. I saw it in jade and it's really gorgeous in person. However, the neckline is slightly odd and not particularly flattering. The way it scoops inwards on the sides of the neckline make it impossible to wear a regular bra with straps. However, the dress is still simple and cute. It's very comfortable, too; it slips right over the head and the fabric is really nice. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Shanghai Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Perth
age:14-20
body type:petite
Love this dress!
8.7.2012
" It's a bit loose around the chest area but aside from that, this dress is absolutely gorgeous! I got it in Jade and it's a beautiful colour and print. I was a bit hesitant about the price but don't regret this order. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Shanghai Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Hawaii
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Large, but beautiful
8.7.2012
" I got the green and it is BEAUTIFUL. I love it. I feel like I AM a forest.
I ordered the XS but it is still too loose in the straps and around waist. I will definitely be having it altered.
For reference, I am 5'4, 120lb, 32B/C "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Shanghai Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
versatile and fun
8.3.2012
" This dress absolutely runs large, and I definitely recommend going down a size, but other than that I haven't experienced the same issues as the other reviewers. The neckline works fine with me and I'm a DD cup size and it didn't make me look any bigger in the chest area. If anything it makes me look smaller up top. This dress is fun and very versatile, giving the buyer an opportunity to dress it up with heels for a night on the town, or down with a cute pair of sandals. The color is cute (I purchased the jade color) and looks very similar to how it is pictured here. I'm very pleased with this dress overall. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Shanghai Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Milwaukee, WI
age:14-20
body type:slender
Not as expected
7.29.2012
" I was really excited to get this dress because of the positive reviews, but I was disappointed. The fit was fine (I sized down from S to XS) but the neckline of this dress was very unflattering, and I wish the fabric was more structured. Sent it back. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Shanghai Shift Dress
Name:
Location:Honolulu, HI
age:21-25
body type:curvy
:(
7.16.2012
" I really like this dress. The material is super cute and I love the jade color. However it is not for big breasted woman. I'm a 34D and it makes me look like a DD. Its fits weird around my boobs because its has the weird cut. And it does run big. So unfortunately I'm returning it. I think it would look great on a girl with smaller breasts. Make sure to size down as well. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>