Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Late Nights Tank

Pieced stretch velvet dress with cable knit detailing down the center of dress. Ribbed knit collar. Deep scoop neck. Velvet insets at the sides.
overall average rating:
4.176 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Customer Reviews for Late Nights Tank
Review 1 for Late Nights Tank
Name:
Location:Arizona
age:14-20
body type:curvy
Favorite Winter Dress
7.1.2013
" Only problem I've found is that the straps are slightly long for me. Other than that, love this dress, it looks amazing on :) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Late Nights Tank
Name:
Location:Storrs, CT
age:14-20
body type:petite
SOoo LOVLEY!!!
2.16.2011
" I absolutely adore this dress (in steel gray) I just got it in the mail today! I'm 5ft 4in with 34b chest and weight about 125lb with a runner's build, and it fit me like a glove, the length is perfect and the straps are just the right length and the dip in the dress doesn't go too low either, and its not too tight either.I will most definatley be wearing it out this weekend! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Late Nights Tank
Name:
Location:Washington DC
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Stunning!
1.12.2011
" I absolutely love this tank/dress. I fully intend to wear it as a dress,. It fit me perfectly. I'm 5'4 125lb and usually xs or s. I tried both sizes and went with xs, to make sure that the straps weren't too long, in xs they were just right (I'm only 34 B). The dress hugged everything in all the right places, but you have to be in pretty good (but not necessarily great) shape to pull it off, if you have any tummy at all it will probably show. The length was my only issue with it, it covers my bum but just barely. I bought a little slip to wear under it. I've seen both blue and red in person. Blue was really dark regal blue, while red was more purple than red. I liked the red best, my boyfriend very much preferred blue. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Late Nights Tank
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
straps are way too long
1.8.2011
" I got this in steel grey, and the velvet is a gorgeous metallic color. All of the materials used are thick and high quality. I am 5'8"/128lbs/34C, and the size Medium fits perfectly except that the straps are way too long. When I tried it on, the front of my bra was almost completely exposed. I am going to keep this tank because I love the fabric and the fit is very flattering, but I will need to shorten the straps. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Late Nights Tank
Name:
Location:Boston
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Good hanger decoration
1.5.2011
" I love fp bodycon, so assumed I would love this as well... WRONG! First color-- the red is definitely more of a plum as other reviewers stated, and I actually saw the gray in person, and its a little bit lighter than in the pictures, but pretty close to what is shown. The velvet fabric is really nice and thick, and felt of good quality, but in combination with the sweater material the fit was awful! The sweater material is much much stretchier than the velvet, so it added a lot of extra bulk to my stomach that wasn't actually there, and same with the section on the upper ribs. Overall, it looks really nice before you put it on, but unelss your super tiny I can't see this being a great choice. (135, hourglass, 36C) "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Late Nights Tank
Name:
Location:Kirkland WA
age:31-35
body type:petite
Beautiful Piece!
1.3.2011
" I picked this up in the steel grey and absolutely LOVe this color! Fits and looks just as seen on the model. Picked up my usual FP size xs; for reference I am 5'2" 32-24-33. So comfy and a gorgeous piece at that! ;-) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Late Nights Tank
Name:
Location:New york
age:26-30
body type:petite
perfect!
12.28.2010
" i love this dress/tank. i purchased the blue color. I don't know why it's not sold out yet because it's such a perfect dress! The fit is great, the color is beautiful, and the style rocks! i love the sweater and velvet combo. it's so cute! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Late Nights Tank
Name:
Location:West
age:21-25
body type:petite
Not long enough to wear as a dress
12.16.2010
" I was hoping I can wear it as a dress with tights (as the model does here), but it barely covers my rear. Maybe I should size up but i'm afraid of the strap being too long. Overall it is a quality piece at the sales price but it does not work for my body. I dont think there is a problem with taller girls though (maybe more than 5'5)? "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Late Nights Tank
Name:
Location:south bay, ca
age:21-25
body type:petite
holiday ready
12.11.2010
" I purchased the navy color in XS, I'm usually an XS or S, 5'1, 105 lbs, 34B. I read the reviews and was nervous that it was going to be too tight, short, or low in the front. I just got it in the mail today and it is exactly what I wanted.. the velvet is very soft, the dress has a little give so it's not too tight - I was concerned that it would be in the tummy area. it is a little short, basically as the image shows though. I don't have a huge chest or long shoulders so the scoop is very flattering. I cannot wait to wear it out! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Late Nights Tank
Name:
Location:Dallas, TX
age:31-35
body type:slender
Perfect for the holidays!
12.1.2010
" I ordered this in cherry, which is a lovely reddish purple - very festive! I am 5'4", 120 pounds, 34B, 26 inch waist. My local store didn't have the XS, but I tried on the S and it fit perfectly. It's hard to say if the XS would have been a better fit. This, like a few other FP items I own, has sleeves that are WAY too long. But a good remedy is to take a hair tie or any sort of elastic and gather the sleeves in the back to make a halter. Works so well, and looks really great! It makes the dress shorter, too short for a dress, but great for a tunic! I'll sometimes also add a small brooch to the elastic to give it some detail. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 11 for Late Nights Tank
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:14-20
body type:pear shaped
Fits well but makes me look strange.
11.23.2010
" This dress fits true to size, and I love the velvet. In addition, it was a good length for a mini-dress. I have a long torso and it was still long enough that it wasn't an issue. The scoop neck was also very flattering on my chest. What wasn't flattering was the bulging shape on the stomach of the dress. It added chunkiness to my torso that was ugly and unnecessary. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Late Nights Tank
Name:
Location:connecticut
age:14-20
body type:petite
love this!
11.18.2010
" i bought this tank in the velvet blue, and it is gorgeous. the texture and detail is fantastic and it fits like a glove, i might even say too tight but it works. it is a bit low cut but i don't mind that either. great for layering over tights/whatever. this is one of my favorite dresses. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Late Nights Tank
Name:
Location:united states
age:14-20
body type:petite
cute but tight
11.9.2010
" this dress is adorable and perfect for winter with tights and boots but it runs very tight and is very short. i'm 5'6 110 lbs and i got an xs. sizing up might be a good idea but it is also very low. overall good purchase and decent price and i am planning on keeping it! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Late Nights Tank
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
LOVE!
10.12.2010
" This dress fits me like a glove. TTS, size up if you are particularly busty or hippy. The straps are a bit long, and the scoop is low, but I got this to layer with, so that doesn't bother me much/at all. Looks great with the sheer slips over it and a lace top underneath. Note: The red is more purple than it is red. I like the color, I just thought the description was a bit misleading. VERY COMFORTABLE and quite warm. "
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Chiffon & Lace Slip
4.6 out of 5(31)
 
 
 
FP-1 Merrie Gossamer Slip
4.5 out of 5(27)
 
 
 
Scandalous Lace Top
4.7 out of 5(71)
 
 
 
Brit Boot
4.2 out of 5(56)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 15 for Late Nights Tank
Name:
Location:Boston
age:21-25
body type:petite
Great dress for the Fall/ Winter
10.1.2010
" I just got this dress the other day, and I love it. However, it does run a little bit on the bigger side not too much though. I wear an xxs-xs and it fits pretty good but the straps are a little bit on the loose side which is usually never a problem for me because I wear a 34C. So if you are going to buy this dress and you are a small in the chest area I would go a size down, if you are full in the chest area I would stick to your orginal size or go a size down. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Late Nights Tank
Name:
Location:Wisconsin
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Beautiful, but low!
9.29.2010
" This dress is very well made and fits beautifully, but the scoop neck is extremely low. I would not be able to wear this dress without a shirt under it, which really detracts from the overall look. I'm 5'8'' and 115lbs, and the xs fit me perfectly. Overall, if you want this dress for casual nights out it's great, but if you are looking to wear it somewhere formal it might be problematic. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Late Nights Tank
Name:
Location:Nashville
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Only for the thinnest
9.27.2010
" Firstly, I am in love with velvet and sweaters, so I just had to have this combination. I am 5'6", 140 lb, 34B, usually wear a s/m, and I ordered a size Medium.
I love the fabrics used in this dress, but it is just ill-fitting. The scoopneck is WAY too low. My breasts were not even under the fabric of the dress unless I pulled it up high. The straps are very long and the scoopneck is low, which leads to this.
It was very snug around my stomach, and it made the sweater part stretch out and look horrible.
Overall, this dress is made beautifully but a combination of the snugness, long straps, and deep scoopneck caused me to return it. Maybe if you are as thin and tall as the model, it will look good on you.
"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large