Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mantra Printed Flare

All over hand-printed stretchy flare jeans. 5-pocket style. Bottom hem is raw edge and frayed. Zipper and button fly closure.
overall average rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mantra Printed Flare
Review 1 for Mantra Printed Flare
Name:
Location:Naperville
age:26-30
body type:slender
Awesome Jeans!
4.1.2014
"I love when Free People gets these kinds of jeans because no matter how long they are you can cut them to fit you. Im usually a 27 in most items but this one came a little smaller for my waist size so I got the 26. They are perfect. LOVE LOVE!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Mantra Printed Flare
Name:
Location:Earth
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Could It Be I've Fallen In LOVE
3.20.2014
"Let me just say, I don't LOVE everything that I purchase from FP. I travel for a living, and so I have to order almost everything online.....I read all of the reviews for these, and was quite hesitant about placing my order, but I sucked it up and did it. I have hips/thighs/booty....and was praying they would fit.....AND BOY AM I GLAD THAT I DID. I wore these to the SXSW '14 and got so many compliments on them. They are a bit snug on the thighs due to the print, but aren't most jeans without prints? These stood our, they do stretch a bit, and were sooooooo super groovy. DOn't listen to the others.....GET THESE! I LOVED them so much, I'm considering buying the darker version....just because. These may be the dopest jeans I own. Hands down.....I'm in LOVE. BTW, I'm 5'9. They were perfect."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Mantra Printed Flare
Name:
Location:England
age:21-25
body type:slender
Had to write a review!!
1.21.2014
"I'm from the UK and so am always nervous about buying from the USA, especially with Jeans. I'm 5"7 and around 130lbs. I have quite a short body and long legs so finding jeans is a nightmare for me. I bit the bullet and orders these. I got a size 29 in regular. They are almost an EXACT fit. I have long legs and usually get a 34" leg in the UK. Regular will fit you fine if you have long legs. They will go over your feet for the desired flare look. If I'd gone for a long, I think I'd be dragging half the floor with me!! I don't have stick thin thighs but these fit perfectly (I know some said they were tight on the thighs but I haven't found that). I went for the darker colour which looks like a deep blue denim for those worried about how dark they are. The print isn't EXACT the whole way down but I actually rather like that. I hope I have helped some people who may be still deciding!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Mantra Printed Flare
Name:
Location:Burlington, VT
age:14-20
body type:slender
Great, but too long
12.29.2013
"The pattern, fit, and feel of the pants are all great! The only problem is that they are way too long. I am 5'5, and I ordered a 27 (regular), and they are about 6 inches too long. I can sew, so I cut off the extra fabric, and now they fit me perfectly! SO, these pants are awesome, just plan on the length!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Mantra Printed Flare
Name:
Location:Florida
age:over 45
body type:slender
Nice looking, but uncomfortable and odd fitting
11.26.2013
"I am a regular size 26 in all my Jeans. 5'6", 130-135 pounds. I am slim around my buttocks area, I also have slim thighs / legs. I order this Jeans in a size 27 after reading reviews, I sized up one size. I was dissapointed upon receipt. The thigh area is too tight, kind of constricting, uncomfortable, even the fabric contents of 1% elastane on a cotton/polyester blend. This are midrise jeans with 8" rise to be accurate (not 9" rise as described) at least for size 27. The waist band is a little bit tight but not to create a muffin top, the size 27 fit me tight and nicely around the hips, derriere, but arond my tights it was very uncomfortable, specially to sit. Comfort for me has to be matching with style. Style wise is a super nice looking Jeans, super soft fabric, but it would need to have more stretch on the fabric contents to fit properly. I am NEVER a size 28 (that would mean for me going 2 sizes up) on any brand name jeans, and I only wear high end clothing. I don't even dare to order a size 28 unless It will go on sale. Regarding the printing also was not perfect. The left leg stripes go along my leg line, but the right leg stripes were not, right leg stripes were twisted, looking different and imperfect. Imperfections like this shouldn't exist on this item, specialling when you pay full price. Sad to say this Jeans is not a "style meet comfort", I had to return. I keep myself wondering If a size 28 would fit me well. Lenght wise Is very long, but hemming would be easy."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Mantra Printed Flare
Name:
Location:NYC
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Love these.. so unique!
11.17.2013
"These pants are beautiful. My only problem with it (like i mentioned in another review) is the waist. For some reason most of FP pants I have to get the waist taken in. They are so unique!."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 7 for Mantra Printed Flare
Name:
Location:Maryland
age:41-45
body type:slender
Love these!
9.24.2013
"I can't tell u how many people comment on these jeans. Awesome. The print is different in areas but still very cool and doesn't other me a bit. I did get a size smaller like the other reviews mentioned. Usually I'm between a 28 or 29, so I went with the 28. Perfect.
I'm 5'9", 130lbs. They are still long for me without a little heel at least.
Enjoy!
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Mantra Printed Flare
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
hippie hooray
9.14.2013
"i find that these run true to fp denim sizes. i got the short length and the inseam is 31", which is still long on me (5'3") but is manageable with just a bit of heel. the print is fantastic. there're some small areas with no or faded print but i think that makes it look more naturally distressed. i don't find the material to be too tight, and i think it provides a flattering silhouette."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 9 for Mantra Printed Flare
Name:
Location:Sothern California
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Unique and comfortable!
9.11.2013
"I bought it online. It's beautiful just like web picture. But in person I realize that the color is a bit dark. So I went to local store and exchanged it to the one in brighter color. The cut of the jeans is very good, true to the size, so it makes me feel comfortable to wear. A another unique jeans from FP. Thanks!!!
For help, I am 5'7'' ,130lb. I thought size 26. The length of the jeans just right with heels."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Mantra Printed Flare
Name:
Location:Boulder, CO
age:21-25
body type:petite
My new favorite flares
9.4.2013
"I love, love, love these! I saw them online & had to go to my local FP store to see them in person. I actually tried on the size 27 because of the previous reviews saying they run small, but I actually fit better in a size 26/25 (I'm 5'5", 115 lbs) . I like that they don't stretch! There is nothing worse than having jeans be saggy at the end of the day/night. I love that they are more fitted & show my butt/curves all day.
Only complaint is that since I'm shorter, I'll have to cut the bottoms a bit, even with 5 inch platforms.
Overall, so excited for my purchase :)
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Mantra Printed Flare
Name:
Location:Australia
age:31-35
body type:slender
dodgy print
8.31.2013
"I bought these because I thought I would love them as much as my Discharge Bali Flares... and I might have had they arrived as per the photos! But they arrived with a faulty print; across the hips and upper thighs the fabric was very clearly not lying flat when printed as there are crease marks all through the design. Quality control needs a tighten up!
They're going back, such a shame.
"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Mantra Printed Flare
Name:
Location:Ecuador
age:26-30
body type:curvy
No regrets
8.30.2013
"I was crossing my fingers that this one fits true to size because it was brought to me to Ecuador. Today I got it and it fits perfectly! And I loved it! It was the first time ever that I've purchase a pair of jeans this expensive but I would but it again! Its so unique you won't find it anywhere. As expected it runs too long even if you order short like I did but still too long even wearing Jeffrey Campbell's heels. For me its fine but Free People should consider petite girls please! :P"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 13 for Mantra Printed Flare
Name:
Location:Minneapolis
age:31-35
body type:slender
Comfortable jeans
8.30.2013
"These jeans are cute and comfortable, but I did find on my particular pair that the contrast of the print isn't as much as in the photos - I have the bali flares as well and the print on those is much more noticeable, so I prefer them. These were nice enough to keep though! I have an issue finding jeans that fit me through the thighs since I have very thin legs, but these do the job perfectly - I find that they do have some stretch as well, but could see how those with thicker thighs might find them to be tight."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Mantra Printed Flare
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Long legged beauties
8.13.2013
"I ordered the darker color and it is really nice. Looks like what is pictured online. I found these to be TTS. The thighs are a little snug but that's the look. I wouldnt size up because the waist and hips would be too big. The lines in the design make your legs look long and slim. For reference I am 5'6" 145# and athleic build. These pants work with 3" platforms.
WHen I saw these in the store I noticed that some of the pants had strange blank areas where a print should be. This is a quality control issue. I was fortunate to get a perfect pair. The lighter color looked a ;ittle to much for me but if it goes on sale I would try to work with it."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Mantra Printed Flare
Name:
Location:portland
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Beautiful
8.10.2013
"These jeans fit small like the Bali Flairs, however I felt that the fabric was much more forgiving and comfortable with these jeans. I ordered a size larger than normal because I like my jeans to be a little looser and found that they stretch slightly after a few wears. The color is a little bit darker than the photos but not as dark as seen in the catalog. They are on the long side but hemming them should not be a problem. I am 5'8 and a half and 130 pounds and a size 28 was loose but not too baggy, the 27's fit nicely but as I said, I go for loose in jeans."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Mantra Printed Flare
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:31-35
body type:slender
Love
8.9.2013
"I have to disagree with the other reviewers. I find they do have stretch, not a lot but its there. The print is very cool, and I normally wear 25-27 depending on the style. I got these in a 25 and so far so good. They are thin, but not thin enough where they can't be worn all year round. The only reason incident give these 5 stars is because of the crazy length. I really wish FP would have petite sizes available. Their "short" options are still crazy long for us shorties!
( 5'2" 110 lbs)
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Mantra Printed Flare
Name:
Location:melbourne
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
nice flares but need better quality control
8.9.2013
"ordered in both colors in my usual size 26, almost no stretch makes them very tight especially the thighs, walked in them the whole day and didnt seem to give at all. however what bothered me more was the print on one of them, a big part of the print is missing near the zipper, i can see it was supposed to create the crinkly effects but it was like a while slice of pizza size of print being wiped off, which looks very funny, sent back and waiting for a replacement, hope they are better, please check before sending them! thanks! overall great pants, got stared at and asked where they are from a lot."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Mantra Printed Flare
Name:
Location:New York City
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Fabric content misleading
8.1.2013
"I just received these today after pre-ordering and was really disappointed. The fabric content on the website as well as on the jean tag says that its a mix of cotton, spandex, and polyester, which in my experience makes a very stretchy fabric. These jeans are just the opposite. There is absolutely no stretch at all. Which is unfortunate since the thighs are insanely tight - as in almost impossible to pull on.
Otherwise, the fabric is a lovely, thin, and soft, and the cut of the pants is nice. I would recommend maybe going a size up or two. Mine are going back."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large