Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Self Portrait Flare

Stunning velvet patterned flare pull-on pants.The cutout patterned detailing is semi-sheer. Stretchy fit and elastic waist. *60% Polyester, 30% Nylon, 10% Spandex *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Waist (all around): 28 1/2" Hips (all around): 33" Rise: 9 3/8" Inseam: 32 1/2" Leg Opening Width: 12 1/2"
overall average rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Self Portrait Flare
Review 1 for Self Portrait Flare
Name:
Location:NY
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Sweeeeeeeet pants!!
1.15.2013
"A friend of mine got these pants in "rust" and when I saw them, I just had to have my own pair. When I saw there were so few pairs left, I ordered myself some on the spot (only the navy were left). The pictures don't even do them justice. They are really comfortable, and as everyone has said, they run an entire size large. So pretty! This has got to be one of my favourite pieces of clothing now. I just wish Free People would restock them so I could get them in the "rust" color!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Self Portrait Flare
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Dreamy!
1.12.2013
"Love these pants hard. Great velvet, nice and stretchy, but they do run about a full size large."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Self Portrait Flare
Name:
Location:New York
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Amazing
1.3.2013
"I LOVE these pants. Like others have said, they definitely run about a full size larger. I'm usually a medium, ordered a small, they fit great. As far as the actual pants go they are super comfortable, look as pictured, nice quality. They have a lining through the upper thigh and the rest is unlined. It's sheer where they're burned but you can't really tell when they're on. The bell bottom is great. I've worn them 3 times in the past 2 weeks, have gotten a lot of compliments :) If you're contemplating, do it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Self Portrait Flare
Name:
Location:Montreal
age:over 45
body type:slender
Gorgeous!
1.1.2013
"The fabric is wonderful, the fit is amazing what else can I say. So glad I own them!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Self Portrait Flare
Name:
Location:SG
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Stylish yet comfy
12.27.2012
"I want to thank all the reviewers! I'm a M but bought S after reading the reviews and it fits nicely, not tight or too loose. I'm 5'4, 36-30-38. Love the unique velvet and beautiful design. I've not seen anything like it! I'm surprised with the stretchy soft material, this coupled with elastic waistband makes it so comfortable to wear. Stylish yet comfy, I can finally justify for the hefty price tag!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Self Portrait Flare
Name:
Location:califrnia
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
love love love
12.21.2012
"love these pants! im 5'6 130 lbs and got a small. they fit nicely- they fit exactly like they do in the picture. they are form fitting but not skin tight to wear they look too small. realllly comfy and lightweight."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Self Portrait Flare
Name:
Location:Greensburg, PA
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Cute but large.
12.8.2012
"These are adorable. They're even cuter than I expected. They do run really big so definitely size down. I'll probably have to wear a pair of tights with them in the winter since they're pretty lightweight.I bought them to wear with my phoenix sweater tunic in black and it looks amazing :)"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Self Portrait Flare
Name:
Location:ga
age:21-25
body type:petite
Amazing
11.20.2012
"I'm 5'2 105 llbs, I purchased these in XS in the rust color. I was worried they might be too long on me, but they are just perfect with a slight heal(1-3") They are a teeeny tiny bit sheer, but the top is lined so its no big deal. I plan on wearing black tights under them during winter anyways. These pants are so unique and amazing and luxurious. I feel kinda Jimi Hendrix when I wear them and i love that !"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Self Portrait Flare
Name:
Location:L.A., CA
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Yes!
11.19.2012
"I stumbled across the Free People web site because I was searching for flare jeans and already knew the brand. When I saw the Self Portrait flares I knew I had to get them. But, I told myself to wait and see if I find any other pants with flares. I don't even know why I bothered to keep looking because I kept thinking about the "Self Portrait" flares. If you knew me you'd know I love velvet and velour anything and unusual patterns thrill me. So, I treated myself to the pants that were made with me in mind! I bought the blue flares, but I think I may have to get the rust pair as well. Great fit! Great style! And one happy camper!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Self Portrait Flare
Name:
Location:NJ
age:14-20
body type:petite
PERFECTION
10.29.2012
"These pants are everything! They're extremely flattering, especially for us petite hour glass shaped girls and the intricate velvet pattern is to die for! The sheer cut out detailing adds a sexy touch. I purchased the navy in an XS, I'm usually a S. Size down at least one size, they run large. Definitely purchasing another pair in the rust !! LOVE LOVE LOVE"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Self Portrait Flare
Name:
Location:Greece
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
A little bit of 70s
10.23.2012
"It was love at first sight!
I adore it! But I still believe it s expensive.
I couldn't find something similar so I bought it.
I'm normally size small but as I read the reviews I went a size down, and taraaa! The perfect fit!
I'm 1,66cm and 51kg
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Self Portrait Flare
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:31-35
body type:athletic
the high waist is back ugh
10.20.2012
"amazing pants but seriously high in the waist, which i am not a fan of. also, they run very large. i suggest sizing down 2. however, very comfy and versatile."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Self Portrait Flare
Name:
Location:canada
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
good but..
10.16.2012
"I absolutely loved these when i saw them online and ordered a small right away. They fit perfectly and are super comfy but are not worth the money. I was disappointed with the quality but they are to cute to return! I am 120 lbs and 5'7"."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Self Portrait Flare
Name:
Location:Philadelphia, PA
age:26-30
body type:curvy
pretty good
10.10.2012
"When I saw these I had to have them. I love to be comfortable so I wear a lot of elastic waist. I'm so sick of my leggings and have been wanting more flares in my wardrobe. I thought these would be perfect for me. They are really comfy and different/cool looking. They major problem I have with them is that they aren't lined. There is a booty short lining in them but the rest is totally sheer. This bothers me a bit because they are velvet, which screams winter, but if you were to put these on and go out in the cold you'd freeze. I tried them on with tights underneath which worked out fine and you don't lose any of the detail. These definitely run big as I ordered the small (and I am not a small in anything except certain fp items) and they aren't even close to skin tight. Overall I really like them and will hopefully get a lot of wear out of them."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Self Portrait Flare
Name:
Location:New York, NY
age:14-20
body type:curvy
These pants are everything
9.25.2012
"Like.... Velvet + detailing + slightly sheer + bell bottoms + elastic waist = the most comfortable and flattering pants ever. I love them! I'm 5'3 and the size small just barely skims the floor so they work with boots and wedges. They do run big but I think that's pretty standard of free people clothing."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large