Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Spellbound Ankle Boot

Hand distressed leather heeled ankle boots with leather strap going around entire ankle. The adjustable antiqued peg closure around ankle allows the top of the boot to be worn up or folded down to expose the contrast lining. The pegged ankle strap is also the closure to get in and out of the boot. The artisan leather used is black color with a hint of distressed brown. The washing of the leather brings out the rich brown tones from the black leather base, as well as making it feel super soft and luxurious. Because of the hand finishing treatment, the tones of black and brown will vary. Stacked leather hell with raw unpolished leather hat has been given an aged look. Leather sole. **Special Sizing Note: It is recommended that you size one up. *By Free People *Leather *Import *5 1/2" shaft height, 2 3/4" heel height
overall average rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Customer Reviews for Spellbound Ankle Boot
Review 1 for Spellbound Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:NY
age:26-30
body type:slender
I'm a size 7 and 37 fit me
1.11.2014
"Yes, they are narrow and hard to get on the first few times. A shoe horn would come in handy. However, the length was fine, and while they are a bit narrow, they broke in quickly for me. I'm glad I didn't size up. They would be way too long if I had. By the way, I'm almost always a 7 for reference (bought these in 37). I can pull of a 6.5 but never an 8 and my feet are c width."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Spellbound Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:PA
age:14-20
body type:petite
so awesome
12.6.2013
"These boots are seriously stunning. The leather is so nice. They do smell a little bit, but I'm sure that will go away with wear. I got the 37 and I usually wear a 6 -6.5 and then fit well (a little tight, but I'm sure when I wear them more they'll stretch). The only problem I have with them is that the pair I received has some weird mark on the front that is definitely not part of the leather... not sure what it is or wear it came from :/ I went to get another pair and return these but they're out of my size. I'm going to keep them though because they're super cute and I hope somehow I can figure out how to get rid of that mark!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Spellbound Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Ohio
age:21-25
body type:petite
Not bad, but not great
10.29.2013
"These boots are beautiful. I would like to start off by saying that. The first time I wore them I already had compliments on them, but for the price they are at, I found that there were too many problems with these boots for me to be completely satisfied.
First off, these boots have no traction whatsoever on the ball of the foot area. When I first slipped these on, I had almost fallen on the wooden floor of my apartment. When you walk around to prevent slippage, your feet just don't feel right! Not impressed.
There is also hardly any arch support. I have pretty flat feet so I can only imagine how large the gap is between the sole of the boot and the arch of the foot. I will have to buy some inserts and grips for the bottoms of the boots, but at the price these babies are at, I really shouldn't have to.
Oh yes, and I'm not sure if this would bother you, but these shoes are loud. I thunder across campus in them.
For reference, I am always a size 7 and sized up after reviews said to and got the 38. They fit fine in terms of foot size, but as I said before, they're not very supportive.
Yet despite all of this, I will be keeping these. They truly are beautiful and I love the distressed look of the leather. They look fantastic dressed up or down, skinny jeans or a dress. This will be a very versatile item to add to my wardrobe.
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Spellbound Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Minneapolis
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
STUNNNING
9.15.2013
"These are amazing boots. I am so pleased that I bought them despite the hefty price- it was worth every penny!
They stay comfortable throughout the day even though I'm not used to wearing many heeled shoes (I'm 6' tall without them) but I don't feel unstable or like I'm towering any more than usual over people. Definitely recommended, they look beautiful in person and the leather is supple.
The only complaint I would say is that they did take a little time to stretch into place. After a few wears they were comfortable, just a little tight on the sides of my feet and I don't have wide feet.
Overall, amazing product and I couldn't be happier!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Spellbound Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:NYC
age:31-35
body type:slender
Gorgeous
9.12.2013
"The studio pics do the color of these beauties more justice. Deep rich brown. Casual, rustic, cool, yet elegant. So versatile :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Spellbound Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:PA
age:26-30
body type:curvy
pretty shoe
9.4.2013
"can dress up and down with any occasions, with dress, shorts, pencil pants.love the antique feeling of the color. one suggestion would be, at least size up one. If not the top of the foot will be squeezed..."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Spellbound Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:21-25
body type:slender
Something just isn't right
8.19.2013
"My friend got these in the mail the other day, didn't like them much, and asked me if I'd like to try them out (and pay her for them if I did like them). I must say I did not like the styling of them at all. I know the picture makes them look a brownish color, but the ones I tried on seemed much darker. I didn't think the quality of leather was very nice either, which is such a shame because that really is what a person is paying for. They were a bit difficult to pull on, which I could attribute to the sizing. I know the treatment that leather goes through makes it smell a bit, especially when it's new, but my god. If it had worked out I would have gotten some lemon scented leather cleaner in an attempt to reduce the smell. I really wanted to like these. I really did! But it just didn't work out."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Spellbound Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:northridge, ca
age:14-20
body type:petite
super cute!
8.12.2013
"order one size up like the details tell you too. they fit fine, theyre super cute and comfy. my only complaint is that the bottoms of the shoes are a little too slick, so u need to rug them up a little so that you wont slip everywhere. love them tho! they do smell and keep that smell for a long time. i got mine about a month ago and they still smell. not a unpleasant smell, but a very strong one."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Spellbound Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Sighhhhhh
2.28.2013
"I'm in love..... really I am. I just purchased these boots and I have absolutly nothing bad to say! The color is perfect and it's super comfy you definitely will not regret dropping 200+ for these guys. It is worth every penny I swear! Although they run small I am usually a size 8 so a 39 in European size I just got the 40 and they fit perfectly! Yay! Just pair them up with a flowy spring dress or just about anything."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Spellbound Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:31-35
body type:petite
trully distressed leather look
2.7.2013
"I was looking for a distressed leather boots and was happy that I found these. I love the texture and vintage details. The size does run a lot smaller than the label, which I'm actually very happy about and was one of the reasons why I bought them. I have tiny feet (size 5 is still loose on me). So these boots in 36 fit me perfectly. That being said, putting them on and off is a task! Also they give out a strong odor. I'm leaving them outside for now hoping to get rid of the smell."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Spellbound Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:philly
age:21-25
body type:athletic
runs 2 sizes small.
1.15.2013
"i love these and i would highley recommend buying them. they are great quality, and go with everything, but i had to buy 2 sizes up. i normally run an 8.5 in eveything, these i had to buy in an 11!!
once you get the sizinfg figured out, these are a very nice addition to the wardrobe!
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Spellbound Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Boston
age:21-25
body type:slender
Must have but beware of sizing!
12.27.2012
"I tried these on at a local FP store and am thankful I did. I'm normally a 6 1/2-7 but the 37 size was too tight. Sized up to the 38 and found a winner. My feet are very narrow though, so I think that is why I didn't have to size up even more. Other than the sizing, it's a beautiful boot. It's more brown in person than in the online pics. I love that you can wear them with the flaps up or folded down."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Spellbound Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Great Style - VERY Narrow
12.19.2012
"I would give these boots a 5 star rating but they are really narrow. I purchased these boots even though they are a bit tight. Well more than a bit tight, if I wear socks. I wear a 9.5 - 10 so I thought the 41 would fit, and maybe it would be a little loose, and with socks I would be ok. Unfortunately, the 41 is tight, I had to release the strap and push to get my foot into the boot. Once I took off my socks there was more room, but I am still going to have to stretch them. The pair I purchased has more brown than the pair pictured on the website, but if I put a little black polish on them it will be ok. As mentioned in the previous review, the heel is not distressed. Bottom line, I like the boots, the heel height is perfect (and I am someone who rarely wears heels). If you purchase a pair be sure to go at LEAST 1 size up."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Spellbound Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Canada
age:41-45
body type:curvy
It's a Love/Hate Thing
12.8.2012
"These boots are just as gorgeous and well-made in person as they look in the pictures...except that the heels and sole are NOT distressed, which is an easy fix with a bit of sandpaper. This is the love part.
However, they are incredibly small-fitting. I can sometimes fit size 41, which is roughly equivalent to North Amercian size 10.....BUT these are too small to even get on my foot....very small fitting, but the front of the boot seems wider than most boots (which for me would be a great thing since I have wide feet). This is the hate part....I hate that I will not be able to wear them....I may keep them anyway just because they are SO beautiful to look at!
If you normally wear a size 39 or 40, the 41 would probably fit you nicely, especially if you wear size 39.
Note to Free People: PLEASE make your boots in larger sizes. In this case, size 43 would probably have fit me (and lots of other people).
"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Spellbound Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:midwest
age:over 45
body type:petite
nice but could not keep
12.1.2012
"Because these were whole sizes I order up a half of size. They were way too tight! My gosh! They did however look just like the picture as far as color & all. Mine were not distresses as I would of like either. But they were made good & definately leather,"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Spellbound Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Northern California
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Looks like the photo
11.21.2012
"I wear an 8.5/39 and when I got my 39, they were tight for me to get into. I sent them back and got the 40 and for me, the 40 was perfect. The sole and heel on the second pair were not at all distressed as in the photo, but that can easily be remedied with a little sandpaper. They are very comfortable. Seems to be all leather lined, but there is nothing on the box that describes the materials or where they were made. The inside flap is a very nice , solid distressed tan,very complimentary. I will keep them, they are soft and comfy, and stylie. Has a fairly round toe. I took a point off my rating because the heel is poor quality, since it's dark, it blends, but it's not nearly as good as my Fiorentini boots, which I think these are a knock off of. The label on these boots say "free people", etched in the sole, So I guess they are now in the "shoe business" of manufacturing."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large