Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Caballero Tall Boot

Beautiful distressed leather tall boots with patterned woven fabric detailing. Welted leather soles. Zips up bottom of inner sides. Slit at top of back of boot. The leather color and distressing will vary slightly from boot to boot, making no two boots exactly alike. This boot is made in the exact same way it was made over a hundred years ago, at the same factory. Every single aspect of this boot is handmade from start to finish, one pair at a time. The detailing is hand woven by a group of families in a small village outside of Oaxaca that have been looming in the traditional manner for generations. *By Freebird by Steven *Leather Upper *Goodyear Hand-Welted Leather Soles *Made in Mexico *22" shaft height, 18" opening circumference, 1 1/2" heel height **A Goodyear welted sole is a near-indestructible sole comprised of multiple layers of leather, stacked together and glued, then fastened through the sole with small cylindrical pegs of wood individually hammered in. It's a very laborious and time consuming process but creates a sole that can be reworked years later and able to last a lifetime.
overall average rating:
4.214 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Caballero Tall Boot
Review 1 for Caballero Tall Boot
Name:
Location:South
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Exquisite!
12.15.2012
"I were a 9.5 in every brand of shoe, and I chose the 10, which fit perfectly. The shoe is narrow so I'm glad I sized up because a 9 would have been too tight. The blanket pattern's hue and texture are luxurious looking. I will be wearing these boots every opportunity I get. My only peeve is that the right boot had some irregularities where the sole meets the boot so that the leather insole is slightly buckled. I guess handmade comes with a few imperfections, and my boot is probably an exception in this regard. Besides this slight defect they are everything I want in a boot."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Caballero Tall Boot
Name:
Location:New Zealand
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
LoveLoveLove
11.27.2012
"I just love these boots - so unusual and will go with so many outfits. They fit great and true to size. I have pretty slim calves and can imagine though that if you have muscly or chunky calves, they may be difficult to fit."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Caballero Tall Boot
Name:
Location:British Columbia
age:over 45
body type:pear shaped
nice boots but not for me
11.16.2012
"these are one of a kind and very attractive however much to difficult to remove. I will be returning them."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Caballero Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Great!
10.30.2012
"These are really fantastic boots. The leather is quality and the fit is comfy. They'll take a bit of breaking in, but not much. I have a wide foot and sized up, but I don't think I needed to as these are a bit loose. If anything I'd say they run a bit loose in the foot, not small. The fit at the top of the leg was more snug on me than on the model, but I'm also only 5'2", so the boots came up to a (relatively) higher (and thus larger) part of my leg than on the model. (halfway up my thigh v. just over my knee). My only hesitation in keeping these is they are so, so tall and on my short frame, it's a bit overwhelming. I need to walk around the apartment a bit. Really awesome though. Mine were exactly as pictured."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Caballero Tall Boot
Name:
Location:FL
age:26-30
body type:petite
One of a Kind!
10.17.2012
"These boots are amazing!!! They look just as pictured. I got the cognac color. They seem to run a tiny bit snug in the toe area. Otherwise they are perfect!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Caballero Tall Boot
Name:
Location:west coast
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Stunning
7.16.2012
"I absolutely loved these boots! I am a 9, bought a 9, and it fit perfectly. As you can see in the photo it is a relatively tall boot but never the less it is perfection. I have never seen boots like this anywhere. Definitely one of a kind...worth every penny."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Caballero Tall Boot
Name:
Location:orange county ca
age:36-40
body type:petite
LOVE THEM
6.26.2012
"these are fabulous! amazing quality and run true to size. well worth the money!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Caballero Tall Boot
Name:
Location:LIttle Rock AR.
age:36-40
body type:athletic
they just weren't the boot for me
2.1.2012
"I love everything I.ve ever bought from Free People... The Boots... Not so much.
they may have not been age appropreate.
I was hoping they were bigger around at the top.not because i have large legs, that's just the way I wanted them to fit and that kinda how they looked in the picture. I bought the brown first... both the brown and the black were kinda stiff, it's like the textred part is made of a stiff rug. I sent the brown back for the black, the rug part is'nt as vibrant in the black as the picture shows. The white(or bage) looked real dingy. wish they would have worked out cuz I love the look... and you still might!
"
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Caballero Tall Boot
Name:
Location:The Windy City
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
NOT AGAIN
1.21.2012
"I love you Free People I really do, but these boots made me sad. They are so beautiful in the picture and just okay in person. I saw them and tried them on in my local store and they are SO NARROW! On top of that they looked as though they were pieced together :( Hopefully we can get another pair worth the price tag."
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Caballero Tall Boot
Name:
Location:AUSTIN
age:36-40
body type:athletic
That's the boots I was waiting for !!
1.21.2012
"I haven't buy a pair of Boots for a while, because I wanted tall boots but not too much heels, and most importantly with character.
Here they are...You can smell and feel the leather, the pattern is the same as pictured, bright and bold. They are soo comfy.
They're a statement !
Runs a little bit larger, I am usually a 10.5 and the size 10 was right for me ( I actually tried the black ones on in my local store).
I am 5' 7" and they are going a little bit over the knee.
Love, Love, Love!!
"
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
Studio LTD Platform
4.3 out of 5(10)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 11 for Caballero Tall Boot
Name:
Location:nyc
age:36-40
body type:curvy
black caballero
1.19.2012
"wish the print was more like the tan ones-received- very stiff, and tight
it was not a 500 dollar pair of boots, even though they are very cool..........they looked better quality in picture for the black ones,
i love the idea and would rebuy in better quality different pattern
"
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Caballero Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Banneker City
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Simply Beautiful
1.10.2012
"These are the most amazing boots I've ever seen!
My boot dreams have been realized. The colors for the brown are rich burgundy, midnight blue and gold; vibrant. For the black leather version, the color which appears red is actually more like a deep red orange, but from a distance you can get away with it. They run true to size, although I would've ordered a half size up if available (for winter sock wear). Overall, I must say they are my favorite pair of footwear. Pricey, but dope as @#*!.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Caballero Tall Boot
Name:
Location:british columbia, canada
age:31-35
body type:athletic
UNBELIEVABLE!
1.4.2012
"got these in the post a few minutes ago.. been counting the days to get these boots. And I am not disappointed. They are as beautiful in real life as in the photo.
I am a size 7 in most shoes and boots I own (and I have plenty) and these are true to size.
They are very solid and the leather and workmanship are quality. The brown leather is rich and the distressing looks great.
I am almost 5' 4" and the come up just past my knees, which looks great I was worried they would come up a bit high on my short legs and I would look like I was wearing hip waders.. but nope! Lovely!
Could not be happier with this boot and am so glad I took the leap and got these..
SO IN LOVE!
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Caballero Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Louisiana
age:21-25
body type:curvy
AWESOME***
12.29.2011
"These boots are AMAZING to wear and to just look at. I am a true size 8 and 5'7...they fit right over my knee and fit perfectly, although a little narrow. I just need to wear them more to stretch them out for my more wide foot. (and the slit in the back makes it more comfortable to move and sit). BEAUTIFUL BOOTS!!!!!!!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large