Product Reviews

Maven Tall Boot

Tall boot with heel and distressed leather trimming. Rubber sole. Zips up the inner side. **Special Note: The upper body of the black color way is canvas with leather. The upper body on the beige color way is corduroy with leather. *By Faryl Robin *Leather, Corduroy *Import *17 1/4" shaft height, 3 1/2" heel height, 14 1/2" opening circumference
overall average rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for Maven Tall Boot
Review 1 for Maven Tall Boot
Name:
Location:australia
age:over 45
body type:slender
boots
6.9.2013
"just love them too pieces perfect fit hope im the only one in australia with them sooooo
happy
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Maven Tall Boot
Name:
Location:south america
age:41-45
body type:petite
so so so so tight!!!!
4.7.2013
"I love this boots. After reading the reviews i decided to order 1 size up I usually wear a 7. They fit me ok but when i try to close the zipper it was impossible!!! I can't return this boot because i live far away so i decided to fight for them . I spent to hours using them, so they stretch and every ten minutes i closed the zipper a little bit more After using them for 3 hours i felt my legs were going to explode. I will still try to stretch then The quality is excellent. I love this boots"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Maven Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Perfect for my legs! A+++
3.25.2013
"I have small calves and most tall boots I wear look ridiculous because my legs look like they are swimming in them but these fit GREAT! I am very pleased. The rusty orange color on the boot is a little lighter than the picture but other than that they are great and very comfy!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Maven Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:31-35
body type:slender
Green/Grey Combo - Didn't Work Out
3.22.2013
"Wow. I really wanted to like these boots but there were two major issues. First off, they came broken, with one of the top straps half-way pulled off with a gaping hole on top side of the boot shaft. This obviously happened when the first person to receive these boots tried to get them on and tore the strap. I realized this when I gave them a go. The shaft of the boot is comically narrow. I have rather slim calves and I got the boot on, but looked like I was wearing leg braces from the tightness. I still have nothing but love for Free People, but these boots are a travesty."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Maven Tall Boot
Name:
Location:US
age:31-35
body type:slender
Great for skinny legs
3.19.2013
"I took a chance after reading lots of reviews saying these ran small for their calves. I have rather skinny calves around 12" circumference and these fit almost perfect. There is about a quarter to half inch of space in the calves but that is bearable. I cannot stand the normal inch of space that I get when trying to find boots. I wish there were more boot makers like duo that sized based on calf width. The only problem with duo is that they don't have a lot of variations in style."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Maven Tall Boot
Name:
Location:MA
age:21-25
body type:petite
extremely tight
3.13.2013
"the boots look good, but they are for girls with skin legs. I am skim, but they are still tight."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Maven Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Michigan
age:36-40
body type:petite
I am in LOVE with these Boots!!!
3.11.2013
"Absolutely LOVE these!!! These are the first and only boots that have every fit me this well!!! I am bow-legged and have skinny legs, so other boots are way too large on my legs or make my bow-legs look worse. These hide them so well and are not too big for once. I would buy them in every color offered, if they had more choices. I bought the black/gray pair and will now be purchasing the tan/orange ones too. I have searched for years trying to find comfortable and cute boots that fit. I will shop here from now on. They are stylish, FIT amazingly well, are comfortable, and the sale price is a bargain also. I am in love and can't wait to wear them!!! I am petite, and they still look nice. They go up to my knees, but don't look too tall either. They would compliment any height. I have plenty of extra room in the calves and every place else to wear thicker socks.. I am usually a six 6.5 and bought the size 7. :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Maven Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Mexico
age:21-25
body type:athletic
the shaft for your leg IS way, way too small
3.8.2013
"I just got my pair yesterday and everything was good until y tried to zip'em up! I have no intention on returning them as it is international shippment, besides, I do like them very much, so I'm just in the hope that they will stretch out. If you have any tips for that, I'll appreciate."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Maven Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Washington D.C
age:21-25
body type:petite
PERFECT FOR THIN LEGS
2.28.2013
"I bought these because I wanted a pair of tall boots to wear with dresses for the spring and they fit great. I have really thin legs and I usually wear a size 6, and they fit tts. Although I must admit I usually have trouble finding boots that fit snug around my calves, these didn't give me any issues. I would buy them if you're debating, especially since they're even cheaper now than when I bought them only like two weeks ago!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Maven Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Virginia Beach,VA
age:14-20
body type:slender
Good Boots
2.10.2013
"I usually wear a 7.5, but ordered up to an 8 after reading past reviews. I do not have large calves thankfully, because these boots are very snug around the upper calf- Hopefully they will stretch out, but overall I was very happy with the quality of the boot!!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Maven Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Montreal
age:over 45
body type:slender
No Regrets!
2.1.2013
"I too hesitated about ordering these boots, judging from the mixed reviews. Finally took a chance and ordered them in the grey/black, in my usual sz 8. I had no problems putting them on or zipping them up. They're original and different and can't wait for the snow to leave so that I can wear them."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Maven Tall Boot
Name:
Location:OHIO
age:41-45
body type:slender
LOVE!
1.10.2013
"I bought the black and I have to share that these are amazing!
They fit perfectly and are distressed in a very cool way.
Beautiful! Sooo happy with them.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Maven Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Minneapolis
age:31-35
body type:slender
Perfect for thin legs!
1.7.2013
"I do agree with previous reviews that the shaft of these runs quite small. This actually worked somewhat in my favor - I have very thin legs and have trouble finding tall boots (without laces that allow for a lot of adjustment) that don't make me look like I'm swimming in them. These fit my legs nicely - to the point where I could not comfortably wear more than thin socks underneath in my normal size 7. I ordered the black/grey and they're lovely and I like the distressed look. The one minor complaint I have is that the canvas is stiff and there's a natural bend in the zipper/material near the ankle that presses into my ankle a bit and is uncomfortable after a while - I'm hoping that the material softens up a bit in that area over time."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Maven Tall Boot
Name:
Location:New York
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Relieved
12.15.2012
"So i've been looking at these boots for months and have been hesitant the whole time after reading the other reviews about how small these would be, and how unhappy expectations were. But I went ahead and FINALLY bought them. I was expecting to not be able to zip these up from what others said. I'm 5'5 135, with an athletic build and I got these to zip up just fine! I got these in a size 9, so I'm guessing smaller sizes with have an effect on the circumference of the shaft of the boot. But I'm wearing them right now and they are comfortable and fit nicely. The only thing I was turned off about was the appearance of the "scuffed" effect on the tip of the toe and heel. It looks like a real after thought, personally after using these boots for a while I would like to create that effect myself! But just a very minor issue I had with them. What matters is that they are great quality, very sturdy, and will hold up for a long time. Overall I recommend these. If your hesitant about if they will fit you or not, I suggest ordering them and testing yourself, its worth it."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Maven Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Bogota, Colombia
age:26-30
body type:petite
Happy!
11.30.2012
"I just got the black ones today... They are gorgeous , I sized up for the comments in the previous reviews and they fit perfectly!! Both, the heel and the zipper are comfortable... I love it... Everything was fine. I live outside US and this is the first time I use the freepeople online store, again perfect!! The package arrived just in time, so I can't be happier!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 16 for Maven Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Brandon, MS
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Still Crying
11.26.2012
"The size of shaft opening is not as it is listed. Ordered a size 7 and it was 13 1/2" & the size 8 was 13 3/4". I am sad that I have to send these back. They are well made but too small for most people's calves. I am a size 2 and they go stuck when I tried them on."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Maven Tall Boot
Name:
Location:New York
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
So happy so sad!!!
11.23.2012
"I got these boots today in black. They look gorgeus. Just what I was looking for.
Colors are great.
The size of the heel just perfect, so comfortable!
But the zipper!!!!! I can't close it!
And I am tiny body, no oversized muscules on my legs. And yet, I hardly after 10 minutes of fighting with the boots finally zipped them but felt like my legs are going to explode.
Sizing up is not a good idea because the part where the foot goes is totaly fine, just true to size, comfortable. But then the upper I don't know if anyone can mannage ti close it and to feel fine.
My plan is to try them once again and to try to stay in them for a while and maybe they are going to strech a little bit.
Oh I so don't want to return them:(
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Maven Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Birmingham
age:31-35
body type:slender
disappointment
11.6.2012
"I loved the look of these boots in the pictures! they appeared to be perfect! YET, upon receiving the package in the mail, I was distraught. the shaft for your leg is way way too small. I wear a size 2 in pants and consider myself small, yet even zipping these boots was not possible. Returned to the store and sad about it!"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Maven Tall Boot
Name:
Location:US
age:26-30
body type:athletic
nice rustic dress boot
11.2.2012
"so i pretty much only wear boots and it is difficult to find boots that are dressier without being too much while still looking kinda tough in an authentic way. these boots are what ive been looking for. they give off a very classic rustic, earthy equestrian or hunting boot vibe while the heel and height of the shaft makes them dressy. duh winning. i got the black/canvas and the only reason i gave them 4/5 stars is because the distressing on the shaft is much more subtle in the pair that i recieved. if you have feet on the narrow side get your true size, as did I. for broader feet you probably need to size up. overall a great buy."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large