Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Mermaid Sequin Skirt

All over sequined maxi skirt with tall slit at the front side. Elastic waist. *By Blu Moon
overall average rating:
3.417 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Customer Reviews for Mermaid Sequin Skirt
Review 1 for Mermaid Sequin Skirt
Name:
Location:Ohio
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Fantasic Look
8.13.2014
" I was the MC at a Rock Concert and wore this RAVES. Looked great under stage lighting. Flowed perfectly. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Mermaid Sequin Skirt
Name:
Location:louisville, ky
age:31-35
body type:slender
Good despite flaws
5.1.2014
" This skirt could be so much more, but for what it is, it's ok. I was looking for a sequin maxi to wear with tees and boots during the daytime, so the bronzy-gold matte color is perfect for that. It is itchy, as all the commenters said, but I wear bike shorts underneath the skirt & the attached shorts so that the waistband does not touch my skin. Problem solved there.
When I received it, part of the waistband was separated from the skirt. But whatever, easy fix with thread and needle. It is not the best quality. It's thin, itchy and the waistband is a little janky, so I surely wouldn't have paid full price for this. It is a great length, however, and the slit is great. I am 5'3 and can wear it without tall heels. I wish it was higher waisted but that's not the skirt's fault.
All in all, it's a good piece that I'll get some good wear out of with tees and boots. I don't need, nor was I expecting (especially based on previous reviews) some immaculate heavenly piece fancy piece. It looks great on, despite its flaws, which aren't really obvious to anyone but the wearer. "
Response from Free People:By Free People5.1.2014
Hi blacksaltsea,

We're sorry to hear how your Mermaid Sequin Skirt arrived. Someone from our team will be in touch in shortly.

-Free People
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Mermaid Sequin Skirt
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:41-45
body type:petite
ON THE MARK
4.24.2014
" After reading other reviews I decided to take the chance on this skirt.I had my eye on it for a while and when it went on sale I ordered it.I love everything about it, the size it perfect for me.I am 5'3 and 110 lbs.I like the built in brief which is not mentioned put was pleasantly surprised with. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Mermaid Sequin Skirt
Name:
Location:Philadelphia, PA
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Funkiness Makes Up for Lack of Quality
10.1.2013
" I love this skirt! Yes, I agree with all the previous reviews - the waistband is itchy, the sequins falls off (who cares, it's bohemian#, etc - however, it hangs beauifully #no cheap ripples#, the gunmetal color is understated classy, and you can solve the itchiness of the waistband by wearing leggings underneath - which is really cute, and makes it more appropriate for certain occasions. There are very light-weight #lingerie-weight) boy shorts underneath that are sewn in at the waistband. I was considering cutting them out, but you can simply pull the entire thing over leggings and it's adorable! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Mermaid Sequin Skirt
Name:
Location:albuquerque, nm
age:21-25
body type:slender
lovely
8.1.2013
" yes the skirt definitely scratches. wish they lined it i may do it myself. usually wear small in skirts but the medium fit VERY similarly to the small (ordered both) so i just ended up keeping the larger size. the color description says matte and it definitely is matte. the pictures show a bit of shine but in real life it doesn't look quite the same. very very pretty and the shorts underneath will serve well. glad they put those there. they're undetectable but makes me feel more safe in the skirt because the slip is a bit high and in front of the thigh which you can see in the pictures. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Mermaid Sequin Skirt
Name:
Location:NYC
age:31-35
body type:slender
Stunning
7.29.2013
" I'm a size small but medium fits perfect.
Yes the waistband is incredibly itchy and the slit is obscenely high...but it rocks. 'nuf said. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Mermaid Sequin Skirt
Name:
Location:Michigan
age:21-25
body type:petite
quite happy with mine
7.22.2013
" After debating about this skirt for a while, I decided to take the risk and order it despite the negative reviews about quality, condition, etc. I was pleased to see it arrived in better condition than it looks like the others have. It's a very delicate skirt, and the built-in shorts lining is a good idea on this specific piece. The edges weren't frayed at the hem, and though the waist at the front does have the raw sequins against your skin, they weren't itchy at all. The slit gives it a more relaxed fit, and overall I'm really happy I ordered it. It definitely exceeded my expectations. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Mermaid Sequin Skirt
Name:
Location:UK
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
Quality a real disappointment for this lovely idea
7.5.2013
" Dilemma! So disappointed, I really thought I was buying something very special. I wasn't sure whether to give 1 star, or bump it up to 2 because I really do love the look and the fit of it. The effect is exactly as it appears on screen, stunning, and it's very flattering. However it seems impossible to give another star for a garment that has arrived in such poor condition. It's as though someone had a fabulous idea and knew all about cut, which is great, but didn't pay much attention to the putting together. There are loose threads and sequins falling off even before trying on, and however beautiful it looks when it is on, I am leaving a trail of sequins and half-sequins behind me. I'm not sure how many wears it will last unless I go over the skirt checking and restitching sequins. The waistband at the back is coming away from the skirt for about an inch and a half, before even trying it on. I don't think it can have been quality-checked. The sequins are in clumps that won't lie flat on the seams, and there is nothing to prevent scratching and itchiness around the top. I'd think of putting a slip under, but with the integral shorts (which are otherwise a good idea) you can't do that. I'm trying to think of a way round this! I'm debating whether to keep it because I am still in love with the look and the fit. It looks as if a replacement is likely to have similar problems (I ordered two sizes to try: the L fit correctly so I must admit I haven't actually opened the packet to see what condition the M is in yet). It will need work if I do keep it, which I'd be happier about if I'd bought the skirt at half the price in the sale, but for the price I paid, I really think it should be perfect. I love Free People and have really only encountered a very few minor problems before, over a great many purchases, but this seems to have slipped through the quality control net. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Mermaid Sequin Skirt
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Poorly Constructed
7.2.2013
" I am sad to say this, but this skirt is very poorly constructed. Loose threads hanging out everywhere, and after one wearing, sequins are falling off. I am bummed as the skirt is absolutely beautiful, and I got a million compliments when I wore it, but how can you charge almost $300 for something that is starting to fall apart after one wear? I am still debating whether to return it or try and get my seamstress to repair (which will cost me more$$). Free People- I expect more from you! "
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb7.2.2013
Hi, we're sorry to hear this! Our team will be in touch to help with this! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Mermaid Sequin Skirt
Name:
Location:Boston, MA
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Really Good but not Great
6.30.2013
" This skirt has a lot of potential. The matte sequins are great and give it a dress up or dress down vibe that I really like. The sewn in shorts are wonderful and definitely provide coverage so you aren't in fear of over-exposing. The slit is awkwardly high but is offset by the shorts. I wish there were better drape to the fabric - or just more of it - so that the slit closed when you are standing still rather than gaping. The waist band is unlined and the sequins scratch and snag quite a bit, but the fit is great and well cut so it flatters your butt rather than bunching or falling weird. The length for a size small hit just at the top of my foot (5'7") so it works with both flats and heels. This skirt definitely has some milage in it, but I wish that the sequins didn't scratch and that the slit was a bit lower or less openly pronounced. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Mermaid Sequin Skirt
Name:
Location:Houston
age:31-35
body type:petite
mixed emotions -- expected much more
6.26.2013
" Love this concept. Had to have this skirt. When received, there were loose, visible threads hanging on the exterior of the skirt -- very cheap execution. The sequins bunch in the seams, also the sequins and the interior fabric are super scratchy. Additional general notes - the skirt does run large, lots of room. The sequins are definitely matte, as noted in the description, not as shiny as pictured. The side slit is higher than I expected - very sexy- but there's also a kind of shorts insert inside the skirt, to help you feel protected from over-exposing yourself! (which I was impressed with). The length is good. I'm rather short, but it works fine with heels (although I'd definitely have to wear heels). And it clearly works on a taller frame - ie: the model. Overall, I love the idea of this skirt, but it will be hard to convince myself to keep it with the price tag. It's definitely not worth $250+... If it were closer to $100, I'd suck up the issues I have with it. I just expected a MUCH nicer item for the purchase price. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Mermaid Sequin Skirt
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
age:21-25
body type:athletic
in LOVE
6.22.2013
" The skirt fits great and actually is a little loose. There's definitely extra room due to the band. However, the front area where the band should be (on your stomach) is sequin and it scratches against me in an uncomfortable way. You'd think for this expensive of an item they could have at least put in some sort of liner... With that said, I am keeping it and it's not uncomfortable enough for me to where I wont wear it! For reference I'm a 27 in waist; wear a size 4. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large