Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Hand Crochet Maxi Dress

Intricately crocheted maxi dress with scoop neck and short sleeves. Unlined. *100% Cotton *Hand Wash *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 53" Bust: 37" Waist: 29"
overall average rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Customer Reviews for Hand Crochet Maxi Dress
Review 1 for Hand Crochet Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Albuquerque
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
Absolutely stunning and fabulous dress
4.7.2012
"This dress is gorgeous! I have read all the other reviews, and even though I normally wear a medium, they all suggested to size down. So I should have bought a small but there were only XS left in the burgundy color.
I thought I would try it anyway since it was almost out of stock and I have been eyeing this dress for a while now.
I am so glad I ordered this. And I hope the dress will come back into stock in all other colors, because it is worth every penny.
The color is a mix of brownish red and burgundy, not a bright, more like a matte tone on tone.
FYI my measurements 36c-d bust 40-29-41 I weigh 155 lbs and I am 5'4". Yet the extra small fit me perfectly.
So when you do the sizing instead of your weight take your measurement into consideration. Even though I am heavier than the other ladies and much shorter, I am all muscle so going by only the weight could be tricky. Especially with this dress. Also the ladies previously mentioned in the reviews that this dress has too much room in the bust area. Well I am 36D and still the xs is fantastic on me, because I knew they stated it is too long, but my bust picked up the fabric and even though on my short 5'4" frame it is not too long because of the fabric you can evenly distribute the length, it will fit and mold to your body type. That is why I actually love that it does not have lining, so I could just adjust the fabric where I needed to. I am uploading some pic. I am wearing it with nude bodystocking, but it looks lovely with either brown or burgundy dress lining that you can purchase seperately.
This dress is so stunning and so figure flattering, it makes me look 20 years younger # I am in my 40's# but the dress really makes you look much younger. It accentuates waist line and elongates the body, so it makes you look taller. Absolutely worth all the money, Please bring it back to stock!!! I love it.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Hand Crochet Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:San Diego CA
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Absolutely Stunning
2.3.2012
"I bought this in XS in the rust color. This is probably my all-time favorite FP piece. I would caution shorter ladies though...I'm 5'10" and the length is as on the model; however, the dress tends to "grow' slightly over the course of a day's wear. A bit oversized in bust and shoulder area, at least for me. The crochet is perfect and practical. I've worn this dress often and never had a problem with snagging. I love this over black leggings and black shirt for everyday wear. Worth the price!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Hand Crochet Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:New York
age:14-20
body type:slender
simply beautiful
11.16.2011
"I saw this dress online and instantly fell in love but was hesitant about buying it without trying it on. I went in the store and it's just as gorgeous in person ! I got it in the red color in a size medium. Im almost 5'10 and I'm 136 pounds. It fits perfectly. it hits the ground when I'm barefoot or in flats so if you're a shorter girl this might be a problem for you. I can't wait to wear this dress all the time."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Hand Crochet Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Sioux Falls
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
I'm in LOVE
11.14.2011
"This dress is gorgeous! I'm a little hesitant with anything crochet because it can look too much like granny's pillow-covers, but this dress is amazing! I got the rust (closer to burgundy) color and I've received many compliments on it. I sized down a whole size and the dress fits like a dream. It perfectly skims the body and is extremely flattering. The length is perfect and the cut and styling on this dress are classic. I'm eyeing the black one as well."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Hand Crochet Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:bay area
age:over 45
body type:slender
sexy dress
9.6.2011
"i feel very good in this dress. hangs beautifully, love the different shadings in the yarn. it does run a little large, especially at the top, so size down unless you are very busty.
although it is a little pricier than i would like, this can be dressed up or down, so i will get a lot of use out of this item.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Hand Crochet Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Russia
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
STUNNER
9.2.2011
"Okay, I'm going to rock in this this September vacay. I just got this amazing dress in black and it fits like a glove. It's is beautifully crochet and very lightweight which is oh so good for the maxi dress. I was doubting between S and XS and finally ordered an XS and was right - for your reference I'm 36-25.5-36, 5.9 and it fits perfectly. It is not that long like on the photo - maybe the model is shorter than I, or maybe it will stretch out a little, since I tried that and it's getting longer a bit. Anyway it looks amazing with clogs and a Leila belt :) See the pics :)"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
Feather Hip Belt
 
 
 
 
 
Review 7 for Hand Crochet Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Lincoln, NE
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Draws So Many Compliments
8.14.2011
"This dress is absolutely beautiful, and I couldn't resist ordering it in the "rust" color and the matching "Ethiopian double cross necklace." The necklace hasn't come yet, but the dress has and I've worn it twice. I can't believe how many compliments I've received on it: 3 different people I'd never met actually approached me to ask where I'd gotten it. It's obviously a very unique and distinctive piece that people certainly do notice.
I think the "rust" color looks just as it does in the picture. It's an unusual and strikingly beautiful shade. The quality of the dress is also very good: the crochet work is flawless and doesn't seem like it will unravel as many crochet pieces do. For all these reasons, I would recommend it.
However, there were some things I didn't like about this dress. First of all, since it's unlined, I had to buy a separate dress to go under it. I'm not normally one to harp about prices, but for a dress this expensive, I don't think a lining is too much to ask for: perhaps a detachable lining would be best and provide the most options, so different clothing items could be worn under this dress. Also, although this dress is the perfect length for me, it definitely runs big. I'm 5'5", a little petite, but with an hourglass figure. I usually wear a 2 in most things, but in dresses often I wear a 4 because a 2 is too tight over the bust and/or hips. I ordered this dress in a small but it was huge on me. The XS fit much better, but as other reviewers have said, this dress is a little big at the top, especially around the arms."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Hand Crochet Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:los angeles
age:over 45
body type:petite
Gorgeous dress but largish in the top
8.12.2011
"First let me say that I have the ivory XS from last year, and I love it. The rust fits the same way, not quite as on the model, but still beautiful. The tops are both larger than I"d like, but the rest of the dress falls perfectly. I've belted mine, with a wide, leather belt, and it takes up the slack and adds interest. I suppose it would be possible to alter the dress also, but why bother. The look is sort of bohemian and easy, so I chose not to sweat the larger bust. The length is great, though I have to wear 5 inch heels, and then it sweeps just above the floor so nicely. I am 5'0", short and 98 pounds for comparison. I absolutely love this dress!!!!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Hand Crochet Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Indy
age:over 45
body type:slender
my jury's still out....
8.10.2011
"after a lengthy chat w/ a sales rep, i ordered an L. The top was totally cavernous on me at this size and so so long, and the tactile effect and finish of the yarn used was just not gorgeous enough to compel me to begin that re-order song and dance in hopes of finding a size that works, esp at this price (not fun to tie up the card for a grand to instantly re-order a couple additional szs at once, ya know?) The photos suggest a closer fitting bodice, which the dress does not have in the least (which I think it needs). I am athletically built, so just don't know if I can wear this at any size. Will monitor incoming customer reviews for fit feedback and consider re-ordering in time - maybe.
My size? 119, 5'7" 36, 28, 36.
"
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Hand Crochet Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, California
age:26-30
body type:slender
perfection!
8.6.2011
"I wanted this dress so badly last year in ivory but it was always sold out or unavailable in my size. When I saw that this dress was brought back, I was sooo excited! I ordered the rust and it is super pretty. It runs a little large in the bust, at least for me. Ordered my usual size xs (5'6", 112lbs, 32B). Hoping it doesn't stretch out too much over time because I'm going to want to wear this one forever! Great color for fall and winter, although I would describe it as more of a wine color than rust."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Silk Florals Maxi Slip
4.6 out of 5(8)