Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Endless Summer Triangle Top Maxi

Gauzy cotton voile maxi dress with triangle upper bodice and halter neck ties. Ties at back with drawstring pulls, as well. Dotted mesh detailing around middle of skirt portion. Hi-low hem. *An Endless Summer- Whether you live the beach lifestyle year-round or are making the great escape to warm weather this fall, explore the collection of our most effortlessly ethereal styles under the sun.
overall average rating:
3.926 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Customer Reviews for Endless Summer Triangle Top Maxi
Review 1 for Endless Summer Triangle Top Maxi
Name:
Location:Charlotte
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Almost there
4.9.2014
"Sincerely, this is a darling little dress. It is extremely flattering and even more comfortable. But I ordered the mulberry color and as everyone else is saying, it too as well is see through. Being that high of a price I feel as if it should definitely have a liner put in, but its too cute to return so it looks like I will be putting a liner, or wearing a maxi skirt under it. Also perfect coverage (5'6 135 32D) so don't worry about it."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Endless Summer Triangle Top Maxi
Name:
Location:Portland
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Gorgeous, but not for the well endowed
4.8.2014
"Post baby, my girls have definitely become more...bosomy. As a result the very pretty (but not so big) triangle-ish top won't hold everything in. Other than that, its gorgeous...but its going back."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Endless Summer Triangle Top Maxi
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:14-20
body type:petite
Cheaply Made, Not Worth It
3.29.2014
"I was immensely disappointed when I put on this dress. The style and shape is absolutely gorgeous, but for $118 this dress sure feels like it's worth $10. The "gauzy cotton" is rough and very thin, not at all nice fabric, and not to mention completely sheer! You can see everything, underwear, nips, EVERYTHING. I purchased the mulberry color, hoping that I wouldn't run into that problem, but even with the darker color the light still shines through. The picture makes the fabric look much thicker and of finer quality than it actually is.The thread on my dress was coming undone and overall it just looked very cheap, bargain bin, not well done at all."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Endless Summer Triangle Top Maxi
Name:
Location:kauai, Hawaii
age:41-45
body type:athletic
**********10 STARS
3.28.2014
"Breathtaking maxi dress in Mulberry. I wanted so much to have the white but it was sold out. But am so glad FP present a new color and though I had my heart set on the white, I decided to ordered this because I really love the style and the many positive reviews. Once received....Oh my gosh! I am so in love with this lovely dress in every way possible and I love, love, love the mulberry color. The dress & color is more beautiful in person. It does run and thanks to the reviews, I down size from a small to Extra small and it fit perfect :) I'm 5'5, 35bust w/out bra (34C with bra), 27 waist, 113 weight. The dress falls a couple inches pass my height and that is perfect to my liking. This dress truly is romantic and sultry and feminine and poetic. Fabric is so beautifully soft and flowing with movement. Base on the style, I still would like to purchase the white should FP bring it back in stock and the moss color too :) But the Mulberry is my favorite color. Less see through and high light skin tone.
Thank you again to FP for your beautiful romantic clothes!!!!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Endless Summer Triangle Top Maxi
Name:
Location:Rome
age:21-25
body type:petite
Pure and delicate
3.20.2014
"This dress is just stunning. I bought the last XS available in the white color and I feel so happy! The material is a breezy, soft and delicate cotton. It's adjustable on the bust and on the waist so it will fit perfect in any case. As other customer said the dress is very see-through and it couldn't be otherwise with such a lightweight material. But honestly I don't think a thicker cotton or a lining would have worked for this dress. It's just perfect as it is. It's clearly a summer dress, not supposed to be worn in the city but at a sea town."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Endless Summer Triangle Top Maxi
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Very see-thru but beautiful
3.3.2014
"I wore this dress for a maternity photo shoot on the beach and it was amazing. It's very see-thru but would work great as a bikini cover up. The Large fit perfect for being 8 months pregnant. My mom is keeping the dress for herself and she's very petite and small on top. Would be great for traveling and beach wear."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Endless Summer Triangle Top Maxi
Name:
Location:Phoenix, AZ
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
So Sad...
2.21.2014
"I got the dress in the mail. I was so sad when I tried on the dress and it was so sad that it was completely see-through. i wish the dress was lined or something, but it is a beautiful dress."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Endless Summer Triangle Top Maxi
Name:
Location:Earth
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
The Sage
2.18.2014
"Sooooo, I had my eye on this dress when they only had it available in white. I started to order it, but I decided to see if any other colors would be offered since so many of the pics & reviews showed/told how sheer the white dress was. As soon as I saw this dress available in the "moss" color, I grabbed it. Unfortunately they only had it in Large, but I figured because I'm 5'9 the dress would be as long as I wanted it to be. Unfortunately, the length didn't meet my needs, but the straps are adjustable so the HUGE dress fits nicely. It's a really adorable dress. I'm not totally in LOVE with it, like I am the pics......yet.....but I totally dig it. I'm sure when summer comes, I will LOVE it. The moss color is still sheer, though maybe not as sheer as the white, but you can definitely see through it. I still say do it. It's a unique design. I'm pretty glad I decided to order it. All of the straps on it are adjustable, so don't panic if it arrives and looks too big. I must say, I've been completely unhappy over the past month with ordering from the site vs. going into the store....however this item was shipped from a store that took a TON of care in wrapping & preparing my dress. It arrived in tissue paper and a cute little tote/shopping bag. The warehouse may need to take note. Just sayin. Anyways, if you're wondering if you should order this dress, I give the GREENLIGHT.....get it? lol I'm so lame."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Endless Summer Triangle Top Maxi
Name:
Location:NYC
age:31-35
body type:slender
Classic
12.19.2013
"A timeless piece. I'm size 4, 5'7", 34a or 32b and the xs fits splendidly. Comes right past ankles and covers all boobage. U can expand the top two neck straps apart to provide more coverage. I got the classic white, so I will still line the top or buy pasties. I Love that it lightly jingles too!!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Endless Summer Triangle Top Maxi
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Pretty but see-through!
11.15.2013
"I really loved this dress and wanted it to be perfect but like another user said, the panel in the middle is not swiss dots but a floral pattern instead, not sure why they're still using this photo and description as it definitely is not accurate. Also, it is so thin that you can see everything underneath! I bought it for a trip and didn't have time to get a slip lining added or anything, but I did order some Nippies, silicon reusable pasties that are flesh-toned, so that I could solve that problem at least, and I wore floral shorts underneath to add some color and coverage. The Nippies worked great, but as I'm a 32D, I should have gone with a small in the dress instead of XS as the XS seemed to not cover enough boobage. For the rest of sizing reference, I'm 5'7" and 125lbs, 25" waist, 36" hip and normally wear a 26, and 2 in dresses. It is a pretty long dress and with a short heel, it was fine for me. I wore it with a 1" heeled bootie."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Endless Summer Triangle Top Maxi
Name:
Location:Hong Kong
age:41-45
body type:slender
Unique and Super Lovely!
10.3.2013
"I am so happy that I finally decided to get this dress! I feel beautiful whenever I wear it :). It's very comfortable too - perfect for hot summer days. I sometimes pair it with the Softly Woven Jacket (in ivory) for when it gets breezy or indoors with air conditioning on. I got the one in moss, and happy enough with the color (it has more blue shade in the pic than the actual color).
The only reason I am giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is because there is no lining and it is very sheer! So I had to add my own lining (thin silk, to keep the flowing look and the cool feel). I also had to shortened the hem quite a bit as I don't like wearing high heels (I am 5'4", and this dress is about 2.5" too long for me). No problem with the bust area (it's perfect for smaller breasts - up to 34B), the gathered style hide my nipples well enough :).
I highly recommend this dress!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 12 for Endless Summer Triangle Top Maxi
Name:
Location:Melbourne, FL
age:26-30
body type:petite
Totally see through
9.2.2013
"I bought this dress to get married in on the beach. It's completely see through! There's no possible way to wear this dress without bringing it to a seamstress and adding a slip.
The fit was cute though. I'm 5'3" 120lbs and 34C. I ordered a small and was pleased with the coverage. If I was keeping it, I would hem a couple of inches and maybe take off some fabric around the skirt. But it's going back.
"
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 13 for Endless Summer Triangle Top Maxi
Name:
Location:Savannah Georgia
age:36-40
body type:curvy
Beautiful fluttery dress
8.28.2013
"This is a great summer dress. Beware, it is very sheer. I had a seamstress add a lining to the skirt. The dress seems to run a little large, I could have probably ordered a medium."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Endless Summer Triangle Top Maxi
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Misleading
8.27.2013
"I had the most difficult time deciding between the white and the moss version of this dress. When it came down to it, althought i LOVED the moss, i could not get over how cute the white polka dots were in the lower sheer section of the white dress. I ended up ordering the white for that reason alone. I overnighted this because I wanted to wear it to Lollapalooza in Chicago and it was already Wednesday! (OOPS!) When I received it, I was super bummed because the sheer section is NOT white polka dots, but insteadt iy is the same floral design shown in the moss version. Now, I'll be honest--the dress is gorgeous and I received so many compliments (and even got photographed by ChicagoMag for best lolla fashion!! ;) (thank you FreePeople!)--BUT it is still not as pictured and if I had the time, I would have WITHOUT A DOUBT, returned for the moss. The moss can be worn in more environments and would match a lot better with my skin tone, but I am a polka-dot lover so I could not resist the white. BUYERS BEWARE: the sheer section is not as pictured, but however, still a beautiful dress. I love it still, but it is way too out of my price range to not get exactly what I thought I was going to receive. As a loyal buyer, this made me unhappy.
Aside for the design, the fit is very particular.
I am 5"6/5"7 and 135 lbs. I ordered the size small and the back kept dipping more than i wanted, even when tied tight. The XS would have worked a lot better. This is definitely not a dress for the large-chested. As fr undergarments, i wore "Breast Petals" by *Lingerie Solutions* that can be found at Target. That way, there was no sheer issues and if by chance a nip slip was to occur, there would be a skin toned, cute, little flower! (LOL). For underwear, I brought with me both a nude LACE thong, and nude boy shorts. I suggest wearing what you feel more comfortable in. Honestly, it IS a sheer dress, but as long as you keep the undergarments simple, nudle, and lacey, you will have zero problems. PERFECT for a summer festival, beachwear, and anything in warmer weather. There are 3 ties: (1) above the neck as the halter, (2)across the back to keep the triangles from revealing any nipslips on the outer sides, and (3) near the very lower back to keep from being too loose and revealing any underwear.
Beautiful dress, I hope this review helps."
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 15 for Endless Summer Triangle Top Maxi
Name:
Location:Brooklyn, NY
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Goddess!
6.26.2013
"I am in love with this dress! I feel like a Greek goddess in it! Very ethereal in feel.
The fit is wonderful and would work on a variety of bodies as there are ties in 3 places- the halter neck, around the torso, and then at the waist/hips.
Having said all this, yes, other reviewers are correct that the dress is fairly sheer- you can't see through it exactly (I didn't get the ivory color, so I can't comment on seeing through that one), but in sunlight you definitely could
make out a full outline of legs and body. However, in considering the top of this dress, as well as the almost completely backless aspect...I think that being able to see the outline of your legs isn't that much more revealing. It would be easy enough to throw a slip underneath if you wanted, or just use boy-shorts as some other reviews have done.
The ties have little embellishments on them so that you jingle faintly as you walk. Just a really beautiful and sexy dress all around!!!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Endless Summer Triangle Top Maxi
Name:
Location:Wixom, MI
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Perfect Summer Dress
6.25.2013
"I want to live in this dress. The moss color is absolutely beautiful and the medium fits perfectly. For reference my measurements are 36C-30-39. True, the fabric is a little see-thru, and anyone larger than a C-cup may have coverage issues, but the gorgeous low back and details of the dress more than make up for it. If you are on the fence at all about it, buy this dress. Your husband will thank you for it! :-)"
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Endless Summer Triangle Top Maxi
Name:
Location:Delray Beach, FL
age:31-35
body type:slender
Angelic dress...perfection
6.24.2013
"I could not walk 10 feet in NYC without getting stopped for a compliment or to ask me where the dress was from. I solved the sheerness issue with a tiny nude mini slip and a backless stick on bra. Obsessed with the dress and can't wait to wear it to Lollapalooza in August :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 18 for Endless Summer Triangle Top Maxi
Name:
Location:New York
age:31-35
body type:petite
Feminine and Sweet...
6.20.2013
"Adorable dress... I feel like a fairy in it. Definitely super sheer - am not sure why they didn't add a lining to it?? I actually added lining myself to the skirt and to the bust (I sewed in some loose padding from a bikini that I wasn't using) and it was perfect. Warning to all busty girls - anyone a size B cup and over will be showing the full definition of your breasts in the top without adding some type of lining!!! Super revealing... I'd say you'd need some real balls to wear this without modification. :)"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 19 for Endless Summer Triangle Top Maxi
Name:
Location:austin
age:21-25
body type:slender
color is weird
6.17.2013
"i like this dress- however the two color choices it comes in (white and moss) are totally wrong for it. the fabric is REALLY SHEER- so it only makes sense to make it in darker colors to combat that. wearing a bra under it completely ruins the look of the dress, so i disagree with the reviewer who paired a lace bra under the dress. it breaks up the delicate nature of the design way too much. i wish FP would make this in black or a dark red or purple. the moss color i ordered looked like a really dirty green- it makes the dress look like a peasant girl costume. they make this exact same style dress in a print version that costs $80 more."
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb6.19.2013
We're sorry to hear that you weren't happy with the color. We'll be happy to help with any return or exchange questions you may have! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Endless Summer Triangle Top Maxi
Name:
Location:Wilmington, NC
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Love!!
6.14.2013
"I hear what everyone is saying about it being sheer. Yes, it's sheer but sheer is kind of the thing right now and that makes it sexy. I wear it with my nude boyshorts, layer on the mala beads and voila!! It's beautiful. I get so many compliments and no one seems to mind that is sheer. I actually prefer it to be totally sheer and wear it as a day dress only. When it looks opaque it's just not as cool looking and looks a little material heavy at times. My friend I met out for lunch asked if she could buy my dress from me because she loved it so much. I have the olive color and I really love it. I am 5'9'' and weigh 123lbs. I got the small and if fits great. I am not big chested at all, which I think allows me to get away with wearing this dress. If one were more voluptuous it might be a little obscene not to wear a little more underneath but I just go freely in it."
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>