Product Reviews

We The Free Moto Patch Jacket

Pieced and patched textured soft cotton moto jacket with off-center zip closure. Snap button detailing along collar and shoulders. *We The Free brings us back to our down-to-earth, All-American roots, made mostly with casual cottons that have a lightly distressed and perfectly worn in feel.
overall average rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Review 1 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:California
age:26-30
body type:curvy
comfy but not worth the money.
6.12.2014
"I loved the look of this jacket based on the pictures, but when I took it out of the box I was a wee bit let down. The design is VERY faded and it looks like a cheap screen print. I thought it could be a jacket to wear with my summer dresses, but it's too big and shapeless. I will keep it for trips to the gym and lounging at home, but it is definitely not what I expected for the price."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:Canada
age:14-20
body type:pear shaped
Wonderful jacket and wonderful customer service
6.3.2014
"My order was on backorder and I didn't realize at the time of my order. When I emailed free people to let them know I needed it for a specific date as I would be leaving the country, they were more than helpful providing me with the date it would be in the warehouse and when I could expect it. They also told me if it wasn't expected on time that I could cancel If I'd like, which is very thoughtful. I ordered the jacket in size small and taupe. I'm 5'2 and it's a little looser on me than it is in the picture, but I really like it! The sleeves are not particularly long on me so maybe I just have long arms or something.The fabric is very comfortable and pretty much exactly what I was expecting, although the colour is a little more beige than the photo."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:Northern California
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
eh
5.18.2014
"I got this jacket in tan. Its pretty cool, but its not crazy awesome. My main complaint is that the fabric is really thin. In the pictures it looks like a semi-solid material, but in reality it is shirt-like material - too malleable. The back comes up a lot, which can look really cool especially from the side, but it makes the jacket useless in terms of layering. Also, it looks bad zipped up because of the way they do the pockets. They don't sew them to the side of the jacket (which I will probably do myself) so it looks frumpy. I dig the arm length. I wish it were pocketless and leather."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:Slovakia
age:over 45
body type:athletic
I love it
4.30.2014
"I mostly wear M size but I ordered S. I was a little worried that it will be small but it fits very well. It is very comfortable, simply amazing as all my items from FP."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:Australia
age:over 45
body type:athletic
dissappointing colour
4.30.2014
"Loved the colour in the pics of the brown but in real life it's a dull drab brown, no rich red vibrant brown. Had to send it back. Nice apart from the colour."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:Austrlia
age:36-40
body type:petite
Not overly impressed for the price paid
4.3.2014
"I am not overly impressed byt this item, quite diappointed in fact. I would have expected something a little more better quality for the price paid, i would not have paid more that $80 if I were to see this in a shop. It si basically just a flimsy sweatshirt and looks messy and pilled. I ahve bougt a number of things from Free People and I am disappointed in my latest purchase. The colour is much darler than in the picture too, not what i expected when I opened up. Not worth the money by any stretch."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:NYC
age:31-35
body type:slender
Too cool
3.14.2014
"Bought this to wear as a cardigan. Super thick and warm cotton! Like a super duper dense sweatshirt. I'm 34-27-36 and the small fits my rediculously long arms marvelously, however as others noted, the body is a bit too loose and wide. Looks cute closed but looks better open. The brown color looks much more faded in person. Will wear under my winter coats, seeing as how a perpetual winter has descended upon us."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:iI live in Portland Oregon
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
great in every way !!!!
2.19.2014
"just got the brownish color in the mail yesterday and I like it alot....Eveything about it is perfect except maybe the body of it is a little loose but that can work in the positive...I love the xtra long slerves that are not too tight and not too loose....Perfect in my opinion....I love all the raw edges and the right side of the back that has the design...one sleeve is differint from the other if you really check it out....In a very cool way.....def going to be worn alot by me...It is perfect for winter with something under it like a sweater or heavy top and then the spring and summer by itself over lighter tops. Here in Port. Or we ger plengy of cool weather all year round....Hope you like this jacket as much as I do....That is if you buy it of course....lol.....enjoy!!!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Swallowed me up
9.26.2013
"This jacket looks so cute on the model, I was really sad to receive my usual medium and feel like it swallowed me whole. It isn't flattering to an athletic hourglass figure (I'm fairly lean, but have lots of muscle and a defined waist), maybe it would be more flattering on someone who is more straight up and down and taller than me (5'3"). My main issue is the structure of the jacket. I think if the fabric had a little more stiffness to it, it would hold its shape better, but this looked sloppy to me. I'm sad to return it, but if they have it in store, maybe I'll try a smaller size to see if it changes anything. Definitely not a jacket to dress up an outfit, it is extremely casual looking in person. The last full length photo is a better representation than the first photo shown. The sleeves are super long, as other stated. You'd have to scrunch them up to make it look like you aren't wearing your mom's jacket. If you're going for a slouchy, kind of undone jacket, you might like this, but definitely size down."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:Washington DC Suburb
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Very Nice On Sale Even Nicer
9.17.2013
"I was on the fence with this online. Just happened to see it during a labor day sale in my local FP store. I made the purchase (happy birthday to me) and am very happy. The fit is oversized but as another reviewer stated, I washed and put in the dryer and it tightened just enough. The sleeves are incredibly long and the collar does bunch but it comes off a bit slouchy and even more distressed which works for me."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:HAWAII
age:36-40
body type:curvy
Cute but On the Fence
8.26.2013
"When I first saw this on the website, I thought it was really cute. However, when I looked up close to the fabric (the one with the loops), it looks like it's pilling. I wasn't sure it's a flaw or not. Maybe it isn't since most of the reviews liked this distressed look. I'm not sure I can get past the pills on parts of the jacket. I feel like pulling some out. Other than the jacket is cute. I like the sleeves and the faint screen print in back of the jacket. It's very soft and the Medium fits just right. I'm normally a size 8-10. I'm leaning towards returning it, but we'll see!"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:USA
age:14-20
body type:slender
dissapointed
6.1.2013
"Absolutely loved this online and I was so excited when I got it in the mail. However I was extremely disappointed with the fit. It did not hang like it did on the model, it was just odd and the sleeves were huge. I am so curious of the other reviews because I couldn't imagine anyone ever wearing it. Needless to say I will be returning."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:San Diego, CA, USA
age:41-45
body type:athletic
This jacket ROCKS!
5.17.2013
"I have to agree with others runs big, sleeves long and it has a odor when you get it due to dyes used . must wash before first wear! It wash and dryer nicely maybe slight tighten up , but not much! Gave a even more worn look and made it softer!!! I love the long sleeves ! And the slight angel to the cut on the sleeve! As well as the patch details!its a new staple in my wardrobe!! I'm 5"3, 120lbs, 34-C , and got size small!!!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:New England
age:over 45
body type:petite
So Cool!
4.15.2013
"Love the edge of this soft jacket. I am 5'2" and petite and still opted for the Small......so it's all in what sort of fit you want but I believe this is true to size even if you are not tall. I was confused with one "patch" on the front being distressed but love the long sleeves that go halfway over my hands. Adds to the cool factor! My opinion is to go with your usual size to get the "look"! Highly recommend!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:Fort Worth, TX
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Just couldn't make it work
2.2.2013
"I'm happy everyone else had raves about this but sadly, I'm just meh on it. I ordered a M and I'm generally a M in FP and 8-10 in all else. The sleeves reach 3/4 down the length of my hands and the zippers rattle when I move my arms. The collar doesn't lay flat and there's a strange bunching that occurs on the front flap area - it just looks strange. Lastly, there's an odd smell with it although it just may be the one I received."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:Miami
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Love It
12.27.2012
"I didn't give it a 5 star only because the sleeves run big. Other than the sleeves it fits great it's comfortable and stylish :)"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:14-20
body type:slender
Cool Factor
12.10.2012
"I wear this jacket almost every day. It has the silhouette of a leather moto, but it's made of soft cotton. It's a good alternative to your average cotton zip-up. Super flattering. The website photos don't do it justice in my opinion--you really have to see it on.
Remember to wash COLD if you don't want it to fade.
Me--I'm 5'6, 32B, 23in waist and the Small fits.
"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 18 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:mountains
age:41-45
body type:athletic
YES!
12.7.2012
"I have to agree with everyone else. This is an expensive glorified sweatshirt, but it is so worth it. Comfy, unique and flattering are 3 important components to my wardrobe and this possesses all of them. I put it on straight out of the box and didn't take it off. It is a tad bulky in the tummy area when zipped up, but looks great when left open. I wanted to hate it, but I feel like it is a long lost friend, Haha! This will be in heavy rotation, for sure."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:Riverside California
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Love
11.27.2012
"This Jacket is so comfy and I throw it over everything. I have gotten compliments on it every time Ive worn it. People say it is sooo cute and where did I get it. The sleeves are long on my size medium and I have to roll them when I wash my hands etc. But I like the look of the sleeves otherwise. Good Buy. Unique lightweight moto sweater."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:Canada
age:26-30
body type:slender
Decide how you want it to fit before sizing down.
11.22.2012
"FIT: I'm 5'6 and generally a size 4 or SM, based on the reviews I ordered the XS, but I'm wishing I would have ordered the SM. The sleeves are super long. The fit is a bit baggy and super cropped. This is how it is supposed to be! With the XS I feel it is a little too cropped and not quite baggy enough for my taste, but that might be what you are looking for (the sleeves are long no matter what - you can see it in the pic). So decide what kind of fit you are looking for before sizing down.
FABRIC/COLOR: The fabric is more sweatshirt like and is a little more faded than pictured, but it still has the amazing jacket look that you see in the photo.
I probably would not have even tried it on in the store for that price, but I'm so happy I ordered it online because I love it!"
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>