Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

We The Free Moto Patch Jacket

Pieced and patched textured soft cotton moto jacket with off-center zip closure. Snap button detailing along collar and shoulders. *We The Free brings us back to our down-to-earth, All-American roots, made mostly with casual cottons that have a lightly distressed and perfectly worn in feel.
overall average rating:
4.15 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Review 1 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:Austrlia
age:36-40
body type:petite
Not overly impressed for the price paid
4.3.2014
"I am not overly impressed byt this item, quite diappointed in fact. I would have expected something a little more better quality for the price paid, i would not have paid more that $80 if I were to see this in a shop. It si basically just a flimsy sweatshirt and looks messy and pilled. I ahve bougt a number of things from Free People and I am disappointed in my latest purchase. The colour is much darler than in the picture too, not what i expected when I opened up. Not worth the money by any stretch."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:NYC
age:31-35
body type:slender
Too cool
3.14.2014
"Bought this to wear as a cardigan. Super thick and warm cotton! Like a super duper dense sweatshirt. I'm 34-27-36 and the small fits my rediculously long arms marvelously, however as others noted, the body is a bit too loose and wide. Looks cute closed but looks better open. The brown color looks much more faded in person. Will wear under my winter coats, seeing as how a perpetual winter has descended upon us."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:iI live in Portland Oregon
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
great in every way !!!!
2.19.2014
"just got the brownish color in the mail yesterday and I like it alot....Eveything about it is perfect except maybe the body of it is a little loose but that can work in the positive...I love the xtra long slerves that are not too tight and not too loose....Perfect in my opinion....I love all the raw edges and the right side of the back that has the design...one sleeve is differint from the other if you really check it out....In a very cool way.....def going to be worn alot by me...It is perfect for winter with something under it like a sweater or heavy top and then the spring and summer by itself over lighter tops. Here in Port. Or we ger plengy of cool weather all year round....Hope you like this jacket as much as I do....That is if you buy it of course....lol.....enjoy!!!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Swallowed me up
9.26.2013
"This jacket looks so cute on the model, I was really sad to receive my usual medium and feel like it swallowed me whole. It isn't flattering to an athletic hourglass figure (I'm fairly lean, but have lots of muscle and a defined waist), maybe it would be more flattering on someone who is more straight up and down and taller than me (5'3"). My main issue is the structure of the jacket. I think if the fabric had a little more stiffness to it, it would hold its shape better, but this looked sloppy to me. I'm sad to return it, but if they have it in store, maybe I'll try a smaller size to see if it changes anything. Definitely not a jacket to dress up an outfit, it is extremely casual looking in person. The last full length photo is a better representation than the first photo shown. The sleeves are super long, as other stated. You'd have to scrunch them up to make it look like you aren't wearing your mom's jacket. If you're going for a slouchy, kind of undone jacket, you might like this, but definitely size down."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:Washington DC Suburb
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Very Nice On Sale Even Nicer
9.17.2013
"I was on the fence with this online. Just happened to see it during a labor day sale in my local FP store. I made the purchase (happy birthday to me) and am very happy. The fit is oversized but as another reviewer stated, I washed and put in the dryer and it tightened just enough. The sleeves are incredibly long and the collar does bunch but it comes off a bit slouchy and even more distressed which works for me."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:HAWAII
age:36-40
body type:curvy
Cute but On the Fence
8.26.2013
"When I first saw this on the website, I thought it was really cute. However, when I looked up close to the fabric (the one with the loops), it looks like it's pilling. I wasn't sure it's a flaw or not. Maybe it isn't since most of the reviews liked this distressed look. I'm not sure I can get past the pills on parts of the jacket. I feel like pulling some out. Other than the jacket is cute. I like the sleeves and the faint screen print in back of the jacket. It's very soft and the Medium fits just right. I'm normally a size 8-10. I'm leaning towards returning it, but we'll see!"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:USA
age:14-20
body type:slender
dissapointed
6.1.2013
"Absolutely loved this online and I was so excited when I got it in the mail. However I was extremely disappointed with the fit. It did not hang like it did on the model, it was just odd and the sleeves were huge. I am so curious of the other reviews because I couldn't imagine anyone ever wearing it. Needless to say I will be returning."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:San Diego, CA, USA
age:41-45
body type:athletic
This jacket ROCKS!
5.17.2013
"I have to agree with others runs big, sleeves long and it has a odor when you get it due to dyes used . must wash before first wear! It wash and dryer nicely maybe slight tighten up , but not much! Gave a even more worn look and made it softer!!! I love the long sleeves ! And the slight angel to the cut on the sleeve! As well as the patch details!its a new staple in my wardrobe!! I'm 5"3, 120lbs, 34-C , and got size small!!!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:New England
age:over 45
body type:petite
So Cool!
4.15.2013
"Love the edge of this soft jacket. I am 5'2" and petite and still opted for the Small......so it's all in what sort of fit you want but I believe this is true to size even if you are not tall. I was confused with one "patch" on the front being distressed but love the long sleeves that go halfway over my hands. Adds to the cool factor! My opinion is to go with your usual size to get the "look"! Highly recommend!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:Fort Worth, TX
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Just couldn't make it work
2.2.2013
"I'm happy everyone else had raves about this but sadly, I'm just meh on it. I ordered a M and I'm generally a M in FP and 8-10 in all else. The sleeves reach 3/4 down the length of my hands and the zippers rattle when I move my arms. The collar doesn't lay flat and there's a strange bunching that occurs on the front flap area - it just looks strange. Lastly, there's an odd smell with it although it just may be the one I received."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:Miami
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Love It
12.27.2012
"I didn't give it a 5 star only because the sleeves run big. Other than the sleeves it fits great it's comfortable and stylish :)"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:14-20
body type:slender
Cool Factor
12.10.2012
"I wear this jacket almost every day. It has the silhouette of a leather moto, but it's made of soft cotton. It's a good alternative to your average cotton zip-up. Super flattering. The website photos don't do it justice in my opinion--you really have to see it on.
Remember to wash COLD if you don't want it to fade.
Me--I'm 5'6, 32B, 23in waist and the Small fits.
"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 13 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:mountains
age:41-45
body type:athletic
YES!
12.7.2012
"I have to agree with everyone else. This is an expensive glorified sweatshirt, but it is so worth it. Comfy, unique and flattering are 3 important components to my wardrobe and this possesses all of them. I put it on straight out of the box and didn't take it off. It is a tad bulky in the tummy area when zipped up, but looks great when left open. I wanted to hate it, but I feel like it is a long lost friend, Haha! This will be in heavy rotation, for sure."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:Riverside California
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Love
11.27.2012
"This Jacket is so comfy and I throw it over everything. I have gotten compliments on it every time Ive worn it. People say it is sooo cute and where did I get it. The sleeves are long on my size medium and I have to roll them when I wash my hands etc. But I like the look of the sleeves otherwise. Good Buy. Unique lightweight moto sweater."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:Canada
age:26-30
body type:slender
Decide how you want it to fit before sizing down.
11.22.2012
"FIT: I'm 5'6 and generally a size 4 or SM, based on the reviews I ordered the XS, but I'm wishing I would have ordered the SM. The sleeves are super long. The fit is a bit baggy and super cropped. This is how it is supposed to be! With the XS I feel it is a little too cropped and not quite baggy enough for my taste, but that might be what you are looking for (the sleeves are long no matter what - you can see it in the pic). So decide what kind of fit you are looking for before sizing down.
FABRIC/COLOR: The fabric is more sweatshirt like and is a little more faded than pictured, but it still has the amazing jacket look that you see in the photo.
I probably would not have even tried it on in the store for that price, but I'm so happy I ordered it online because I love it!"
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:Cape Cod, MA
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
cute but HUUUUGGGGEEE
11.21.2012
"As some of the other reviewers noted, this is not a jacket its an expensive, fancy sweatshirt..... that being said I really like this piece! Its a lot of $$$ for a sweatshirt but its really well made and very unique. Im afraid if I wait for it to go on sale there wont be any left!!! Definately go down at least one size.... I am always a small in free people but Im exchanging this for an xs. I am 6' but slender ~140, 34C with a 26-27 waist. If you are really tiny and or petite this may not work for you..... the sleeves are REALLY long which is great for me but they might look silly on a small person. Also because of the zippers in the sleeves which you can't really see in the pics you would have a hard time hemming the sleeves.... something to consider."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:Boston, MA
age:31-35
body type:petite
DON'T GO BY THE PIC.....
11.10.2012
"I got this sweatshirt, that's really what it is, months ago. I was in my FP store, shopping around, when I saw this on a mannequin just before I went into the dressing room. I hadn't seen it anywhere in the store, cuz they were already sold out, and that was the last one! as soon as I saw it, it was as if it had my name on it!!! I immediately asked to take it off the mannequin, which of course they did...for $148 sweatshirt....they better have..lol. I fell in love with it as soon as I saw it.....and that's exactly y I mean these pics here do no justice to this jacket/sweatshirt. luckily, I'm a xs/s...and the mannequin had on an xs, which fit perfect....it does stretch. that being said, it is cotton, sweatshirt-like material, but in essence, a gorgeous jacket! I can layer it over sweaters, or under other jackets...but I mostly layer it over thin, longer cardigans. I've gotten so so so many compliments on this....the detailing throughout is amazing! the sleeves are long, which I like, and the length is shorter in the back than the front....and the pockets!!!....I am obsessed with any sweater/jacket with pockets, even tho I barely use them! lol... it has begun to pill quite allot actually...which is incredibly annoying, considering how much $$$ I spent on it. the style is literally one of a kind. the color is much more of a faded black, charcoal-like color....
for reference, I'm 5'2", 115, usually 24/25 in pants or jeans in FP. and again, the xs fits perfect....keep in mind the stretch factor.
once I saw they brought this back in the store the other day, I just had to write a review. they sold out so quickly when it first came out.....I don't regret spending this much on a glorified, super cute, sweatshirt, at all!!!!
grab one while u can!!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:Miami
age:14-20
body type:petite
LOVE IT
8.28.2012
"Love this jacket, i'm 5'5, size 1, and i got an XS which fits me perfectly. a bit long on the hands but on the model in the photo it seems like thats how it should be. Super cute punk, hip look, that goes with anything. You can dress it up and down, i love it! A bit pricy for the material and quality, feels like a rougher, thick cotton material but it can be light or heavy depending on the layering. Great choice."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:Canada
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
A Touch of Edginess...
8.13.2012
"I am usually a size 4-6 and a S in FP, so I bought the S. I found its a bit looser than expected/hoped, mostly around the torso, as it doesn't fit close to the body. The arms and shoulders fit well so I think I will stick with this size. It hits right around the small of my back and slightly longer in the front. I think it looks better worn open, but it also looks cute zipped up halfway. I think it will look great paired with a dress, such as the Molly textured tunic below in black/purple. Its a great transition jacket from summer/fall and fall/winter and I would definitely recommend it if you're looking for a more unique looking moto jacket."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 20 for We The Free Moto Patch Jacket
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Amazing!
6.28.2012
"I love this jacket! It's so edgy and chic, that I bought it the minute I saw it. I found it to be a little more faded in person, and you can't really tell so much in the studio photos, but the back has a cute little patch pattern on the back that gives it a pop of color. It is a little bit looser, but I wanted something that was a bit more airy than fitted. It's soft and comfy, and something that will work year-round. I'm 5' so on me the length was about perfect to the small of my back. Overall I'd say perfect basic that isn't too heavy. I bought it to wear with the black Godet Slip to add a little edge to such a feminine piece and they were perfect together!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations