Product Reviews

Ethnic Embroidered Waist Dress

Slightly crinkled rayon mini tank dress with floral crochet detailing on the straps and at the upper back. "V"-neckline in front and scalloped crochet trimming around edges. Waist has colorful embroidered pattern all around. Back of waist has stretchy smocked insert for easy fit and wear. Skirt portion is lined.
overall average rating:
3.714 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ethnic Embroidered Waist Dress
Review 1 for Ethnic Embroidered Waist Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:21-25
body type:petite
Gorgeous, Size up to get the model look!
4.30.2014
" I am a true XS (5'3, 98-100 lbs) and bought the ivory in both XS and S. Initially I preferred the XS due to it cinching more solidly at the hips, however. I now wear it mainly as a very cute day dress. While the bodice is the same length as the S, the skirt is shorter and less voluminous. The overall silhouette, while not form-fitting, is shorter and slender, making it a definite casual dress (I think the best picture to describe the fit is the third FPStyle picture of the dress in blue, taken on the pier). The S, on the other hand, can be worn day and night, as the skirt is longer, falling right above my knees, and has volume (exactly like the model pictures) that the XS lacks. Sizing up allows the band to very loosely hug low on my hips and elongates the bodice (this and the slightly poufier skirt gives a rather romantic effect when I walk) - and this was the exact relaxed drop waist look I desired. The overall effect is very similar to the model, however the bodice of the dress above the embroidered bank has a less baggy appearance one me, since she has the dress slightly bunched up above her hips. Love this dress, they look even better in person than in pictures. I've decided to keep both.:) "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Ethnic Embroidered Waist Dress
Name:
Location:Toronto Canada
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Easy Summer Style
7.15.2013
" Bought this dress in blue - actually preferred the cream but could not find the XS. I am getting quite used to selecting sizes one or two down from other clothing brands with Free People and this dress was no exception. Not a big deal at all - just have found this consistent across all my purchases anyway. Very easy summer dress....great with gold toned sandals and jewellery as the embroidery has gold running through it. No need to iron so great for travelling too. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Ethnic Embroidered Waist Dress
Name:
Location:Charlotte NC
age:14-20
body type:petite
Very cute!
7.6.2013
" Bought this dress in a small (my usual size) but definitely should have gotten an XS. the dress is so so cute and i wear it exactly as the model does. With a sweater and a pair of boots its perfect for the fall and with a pair of sandals its great for the summer! I would however warn that the top is somewhat see through and a good tan bra is strongly advised! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Ethnic Embroidered Waist Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Makes a great Summer dress!
5.5.2013
" I purchased this dress in the blue version in size large as my regular FP size medium was not available. The large ended up working out for me since 1. it gave me added length (I am 5'6" and hit right above my knees) and 2. the waist ended up lying in a better more flattering lower place. The skirt part is lined so no need for a slip with this one. The only thing is because I am a busty 36D the V neck goes down way too low for my comfort level so I will probably wear a cami or something under it. Other than that I think it will make an excellent Summer dress as the material is that light gauze that is great when it gets really hot. I recommend this one! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Ethnic Embroidered Waist Dress
Name:
Location:Ohio
age:14-20
body type:slender
Beautiful, but runs a little large
4.24.2013
" I fell in love with this dress the first time I laid eyes on it. I was hesitant to order it online, but when I finally received it in the mail I was so happy. However, when I tried it on i found it was definitely large! As the other reviewer said the waist hit me at a very unflattering place. I'll have to have it taken in, but I think this dress is so beautiful it's absolutely worth it. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Ethnic Embroidered Waist Dress
Name:
Location:Northern California
age:over 45
body type:pear shaped
Great dress but runs small...
3.29.2013
" I usually wear a medium in FP, sometimes a small but I ended up purchasing this in a large. The medium fit but the embroidered waist hit me at the wrong place...not high enough for my real waist but not low enough to be flattering. And the length was just too short on me (I'm 5'10"). With the large, the waist hits me at my hips and looks great - more like a drop-waist dress. The top is not too loose - it fits as in the model shots - and the length is perfect. I wore this last weekend with a tank underneath, jean jacket and sandals and received lots of compliments. Only wish I had been able to get it in the beautiful blue color. I knocked off one star because the fabric is very delicate and snags easily. I have had the same problem with the Daisy Lace Dress, the Pintucked Tunic and this one...they all snag really easily so be careful! Worth the extra effort, though. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Ethnic Embroidered Waist Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Love at first sight, very disappointed
3.4.2013
" I saw this dress a few months ago and was immediately in love with it. I finally took the plunge and ordered it online a few weeks ago. I am between a large and medium (5'5", 145 lbs, 34C) and decided to go with a medium after reading previous reviews. After trying it on at home I probably would have bought a small in store, which is astounding. The dress runs VERY large, not just loose like on the model. It is also surprisingly long, and hit just above the knee for me, while the waist hit below my belly button. A very unflattering cut for just about anybody I would say. The bodice was very sheer, but the skirt was lined.
Sadly, I will be returning this item.
"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Ethnic Embroidered Waist Dress
Name:
Location:
age:26-30
body type:slender
Niagara = beautiful underrated piece!
2.24.2013
" I am so in love with this piece! I fell in love as soon as the Ivory popped up online. I was so happy I waited to order as the beautiful "Niagara" Color is to die for! am a blue eyed blonde so this suits my coloring superb. The color and stitching is exactly as pictured in the studio photos. The Ivory in person is on the sheer side. A nude bra would work best with this piece or you can add a pop of color with a bandeau or halter bra! I purchased my usual size XS. The dress is cut slightly on the larger side. However due to the nature of the styling of the dress it is not that big of a deal. I am 5'6", 107lbs 32B - 25 - 33. I have a long torso so I did not have an issue with the waist hitting me awkwardly. I love how comfortable this piece is while still looking pretty and feminine. I am very happy I snatched this one up! I def feel this beauty is underrated! It also matches the new colorway of the "Lima" cardigan perfectly. I purchased them to wear together and get so many compliments! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 9 for Ethnic Embroidered Waist Dress
Name:
Location:Ct
age:21-25
body type:slender
Was very excited ..
1.20.2013
" I was so excited to get this dress.. I order an xsmall in the ivory.. I am 120lbs, 5'4, 34B, and about 27" waste and 36 hips. It was big.. and the waste hit lower on me not in the most flattering area.. I like the style so considering getting it taken in a little. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Ethnic Embroidered Waist Dress
Name:
Location:Calgary, AB
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Didn't fit right
1.15.2013
" I bought this in a size small based on the other reviews. (I'm a small/medium) Unfortunately the dress just didn't fit right. It was too loose so the colourful band on the model didn't hug my curves as I would have liked it to. Also, I think you need a short torso for it to look like it does on the model. The top part of the dress bunches nicely in the photos, however on me it didn't bunch.
Shipped this one back. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Ethnic Embroidered Waist Dress
Name:
Location:ny, ny
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Favorite Dress
11.2.2012
" This is the perfect go to dress, every week, whether you're feeling thin or not to wear! It's SO comfortable, but does run a bit big. I'm usually a small at FP, and had to size down to an XS for this one (for reference I'm 5'4", 32C & 120 lbs). At the moment, I love pairing it with leggings, the Vintage Tall Sweater Socks, boots and the Long Pattern Hooded Cardi. I've gotten so many compliments! Beautiful detailing and love the asymmetrical hem! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Ethnic Embroidered Waist Dress
Name:
Location:Australia
age:14-20
body type:slender
pretty but big!
10.16.2012
" the dress on the model looks like it fits perfectly around the waist, nice and snug, however like the last reviewer said, it hung much lower. I ordered and xs and usually fp sizes are perfect,but sadly this isnt!
ill keep it considering its very pretty and i dont mind things slightly looser.
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Ethnic Embroidered Waist Dress
Name:
Location:Appleton WI
age:21-25
body type:petite
Runs large!
10.3.2012
" Unfortunately, I had to send this back because it was huge on me. The style is adorable, but I'm an XS (34 B, 5'2", 115 lbs) and this was so big that instead of the cinching being around my waist, it was around my hips which obviously was really unflattering. Pretty bummed :( "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Ethnic Embroidered Waist Dress
Name:
Location:missoula
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
adorable dress.
9.20.2012
" i absolutely love this dress - it's very classic, young, & feminine. i'm 5'4" 130 lb, 34 D & my usual medium fit just right. i would imagine that the shape of this dress would be flattering on just about anyone. & the detailing on the waist is fun and colorful. i would definitely recommend this! the only issue would be if you're tall because this dress is rather short. more colors please, freepeople! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large