Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Engineered Crochet Tunic

Beautiful sleeveless crochet tunic with various floral and fan motifts throughout. Features mesh detail along the yoke. *100% cotton *Machine wash *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 29 1/2" Chest: 34 3/4"
overall average rating:
4.657 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Customer Reviews for Engineered Crochet Tunic
Review 1 for Engineered Crochet Tunic
Name:
Location:USA
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Beautiful Sleeveless Black Tunic
11.20.2011
" Love the black crochet tunic. It runs a little bit loose for me on the bottom portion. Was TTS in bust area. I am 5'2 and 38C. I bought the large in black. The crochet is beautifully down but material is thick and stiff. Great layering piece with that being said. Can wear this tunic in all seasons. Can be worn a variety of ways. I bought the ruffle white slip(trimmed in black)and layered this underneath with black motorcycle jacket and black boots. Got tons of compliments. Looks great with jeans too. The length fell right where my legs begin near the crotch area. Hope this review helps anyone battling with the decision to buy or not buy. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Engineered Crochet Tunic
Name:
Location:Canada
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Absolutely Incredible
10.26.2011
" This tunic has to be one of the prettiest FP pieces I own (and that are saying something). I purchased the ivory when it was first released. I am 5'5" and measure 38C-26-36. I ordered M which fits perfectly. I think it is supposed to be very loose so that it hangs away from the body. The knit is very dense and has no give, so I would not want it to be at all fitted. I guarantee that this piece is an absolute showstopper. Every time I wear it strangers tell me how beautiful it is and ask where I got it. The crochet is so unique in texture and divinely detailed. There are at least 7 different patterns/trims combined to make up the overall piece. I love wearing this over the Viscose Voile Slip in grapefruit or mango! The few extra inches of length from the slips allow me to wear this as a dress. <3 "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Engineered Crochet Tunic
Name:
Location:California
age:41-45
body type:slender
I like it
10.17.2011
" I usually linger in between an XS and S and the XS fits fine.
I like the thick quality of the crochet and imagine that it will soften up over time with every wash.
I plan on wearing this lovely tunic with my tightest pair of jeans and ankle boots.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Engineered Crochet Tunic
Name:
Location:QUEBEC
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Really worth the price
10.10.2011
" I bougt the ivory version of this tunic in medium i'm 5"8 137 pounds
I felt in love with this top the first time a saw it on the january catalog, but at first i was tinking that it was a little bit expensive for a crochet top
so I looking everywhere whithout succes to find something similar
Then, last spring Dolce & Gabana presended a beautiful collection of whites embroired clothes who were on the top of almost all fashion magazine.
I tried to recreate the style of this amazing collection. After searching for a long time
I can say that this Tunic have the most abordable price to recreate it without looking too
cheap!
I think i will keep it untill i'll die ;) and im just trying to not buying the black one too!
So buy it before its gone! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Engineered Crochet Tunic
Name:
Location:UK
age:14-20
body type:petite
love
9.21.2011
" this dress is my favourite
i bought it in black and wear a petit black slip underneath.
its a smidge short as a dress
but over all, i adore it
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Engineered Crochet Tunic
Name:
Location:middle of nowhere
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
A lovely, airy piece--but a little loose
9.18.2011
" This piece is amazing, but I was immediately afraid that it would catch on something and tear. You definitely need to keep your eye on this one! That said, it looks amazing and oh-so-pretty. I tried on my usual size M which is a little roomy. I would get the S in a heartbeat! Perfect with something layered under it, like a tunic or slip, or with jeans too. Love it! :) "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Dancer Slip
3.5 out of 5(4)
 
 
 
Rose Garden Printed Bodycon Slip
3.1 out of 5(7)
 
 
 
Easy Breezy Banded Slip
4.5 out of 5(13)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 7 for Engineered Crochet Tunic
Name:
Location:MD
age:21-25
body type:petite
romantic
9.7.2011
" Very romantic. Got XS in white. Fit true to size. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Engineered Crochet Tunic
Name:
Location:Utah
age:21-25
body type:petite
Cute top, but not flattering
8.18.2011
" I loved the design but its so boxy and quite long. I am 5'2'' and 105 lbs, it didnt give me much shape and was kind of a thick material so it just hung off my body. If it gave me a little more shape i would have loved it! "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Engineered Crochet Tunic
Name:
Location:Athens, Ga
age:21-25
body type:athletic
best top ever!
8.10.2011
" Bought the top in black and ivory and it's my favorite item I've ever purchased. I've never gotten so many compliments on anything before "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Engineered Crochet Tunic
Name:
Location:LA
age:31-35
body type:slender
ivory
8.2.2011
" I wanted to love this, but I just couldn't. The lace is stiff and the fit is just like the model in the first picture, however on my body this means it adds mass. I love it on other people. for reference I am 5'6 130 lbs, 34B. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Engineered Crochet Tunic
Name:
Location:russia
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
: (
7.25.2011
" first time i'm disappointed in my purchase here.
this material is a 'stiff' and thicker than you can think with its pics. the colour is more yellow and looks some dirty. and odd smell...
i ordered size 's' but received 'xs' in a pack 's'. I'm tall and slim, so in smaller size this tight top doesn't beautify me.
unfortunately, return from russia will be very inconvenient and costly ((
"
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb7.26.2011
We're sorry to hear that you received the wrong size. I contacted customer service and they'll be in touch soon to help!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Engineered Crochet Tunic
Name:
Location:Texas
age:21-25
body type:petite
Engineered in Heaven
7.17.2011
" Was hesitant about this item at first but it's amazing. Looks just as pictured and the crochet on this item is to die for!!!!! Bought the cream combo & I've worn it as a dress with a slip layered and over leggings and I love it both ways. Can't wait to come up with more ways to wear this adorable little tunic. I'm 5'4'' 110 lbs and bout my usual XS and fits just like on the model, so I'd say it's pretty true to size. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Engineered Crochet Tunic
Name:
Location:Denver
age:31-35
body type:petite
Countless compliments
6.30.2011
" I bought this when it was first offered, back in early spring. I have it in the ivory color. I cannot even begin to count how many compliments I get every time I wear this top.
I am 5'2" and it fits me like a tunic, and can even pass as a very short dress (with leggings worn underneath). I have paired it with the princess smocking slip in orange (a FP item) underneath and it looks stellar. I have also just worn it with a cami underneath with jeans and it looks great too. Very versatile and a great piece to have. The only minor complaint is that over time, the straps have become a bit more loose...the fabric has no stretch to it whatsoever and therefore over time stretches out a bit. But all in all, a fantastic buy...you really can't go wrong with this one! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
FP ONE Princess Smocking Slip
4.3 out of 5(36)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 14 for Engineered Crochet Tunic
Name:
Location:Canada
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Fantastic, versatile layering piece!
6.27.2011
" I'm 5'4", 140 and 34D and the XS fit me perfectly. Like a true tunic should, it falls to just where my legs start and my bum ends :) thin gals who are taller might find the xs a little short, I'm guessing as you size up it'll be a few inches longer. It's a very roomy top - it's loose on me and I am not a small girl. One of the few issues I had was that the arm holes were very deep, so depending on what you want to layer this over it could be an issue. The crochet is very thick - I disagree with one reviewer who said it was fragile. This also makes it okay to wear with even just a black bra underneath. Oh, and another thing - someone said that curvy girls couldn't wear this. DEAD WRONG. Since it's not really tight fitting and the crochet does provide a little bit of stretch, it can be easily worn on top of dresses or tank tops and it streamlines curves you might not want to be seen. I love how versatile this piece is - you can wear it with almost anything, dress it up or down, wear it with nothing but your underwear underneath, a longsleeve thermal, or a dress!! "
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Pieced Lace Cropped Bralette
4.3 out of 5(12)
 
 
 
Animal Knit Bodycon Dress
4.9 out of 5(16)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 15 for Engineered Crochet Tunic
Name:
Location:minneapolis
age:21-25
body type:petite
Perfect
6.25.2011
" Adorable top. I am petite and slim, ordered the small (I like most things oversized) so the tunic is bigger and longer. I actually wear this as a dress, with a sheer fp slip underneath. It's beautifully made and high quality. Keep in mind it's quite roomy and for those petite girls it hits more above the knees. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Engineered Crochet Tunic
Name:
Location:connecticut
age:14-20
body type:petite
stunning
6.10.2011
" this FP piece is great for any sized girl. seriously, i really think it will look great on any body type. the crocket is just amazing, and the detail, astounding. i've worn this a few times with black shorts and a black cami underneath and it looked awesome. sexy and gorgeous. only thing i might complain about is the odd smell i got...slightly of petroleum? its wierd but i'm able to look past it. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Engineered Crochet Tunic
Name:
Location:Ontario, Canada
age:21-25
body type:petite
runs large, but very unique
6.8.2011
" I ordered white, xs (5'3", 105 lb). This piece runs very large and is not particularly flattering in any way. However, I think the style is supposed to be boxy and loose. I dont think this piece would look very good on curvy women, as the crocheted fabric is VERY stiff and does not seem like it would flow over curves very well. Pretty, unique dress overall. "
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Engineered Crochet Tunic
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
gorgeous top
6.8.2011
" I bought this shirt in white and it is so beautiful! I purchased in a size small, because that's all the store had but I couldn't resist, so it's a bit big on me. So I would say order your normal size. This top is so eye catching and has so much detail. You do need to wear something underneath, but a creme camisole really doesn't take much away from this pretty pretty tunic! It's also so long that it sort of has a mini dress look. It's so cute and one of my newest free people favorites. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Engineered Crochet Tunic
Name:
Location:Netherlands
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
The best! In summer AND winter!
4.26.2011
" I wore this beautifull top in black size Small in winter with cardigans and leggings and now in better weather over a black slip and it looks great either way! The knitting is spectacular and the fit is a bit loose. The pictures on the model accurately represent the top as how it is on my 5'9 lean (32C chest) body type. Would work great for all body types though! Always get compliments when wearing this as it is so beautifull. Only thing I have to say is that the material is sometimes a bit 'stiff'. Not that flowy but it works. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Engineered Crochet Tunic
Name:
Location:Long Beach, CA
age:26-30
body type:slender
So adorable~
3.24.2011
" I purchased this top today in lavender in size XS and it is gorgeous! The crochet is thicker than pictured. I sized down and still have plenty of room. The lavender color is very soft and pastel. I am thinking of getting this top in black as well. It is so versatile: you can dress it up or down.
If you are between sizes - get the smaller one!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
FP-1 Lacey Maxi Slip
4.5 out of 5(12)
 
 
 
 
 
1 2 next>>