Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Sexy Ruffle Dress

Slub sweater knit dress with mixed media tiered hemline. Rouching and beaded embellishment on the shoulders and racer back. * 90% Wool, 10% Linen * Hand Wash * Imported Measurements for Size Medium: Length: 34 3/4" Chest: 30" Waist: 29 1/2"
overall average rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Customer Reviews for Sexy Ruffle Dress
Review 1 for Sexy Ruffle Dress
Name:
Location:Florida
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
White color
12.1.2010
"Makes you look like a snowgoddess. Makes a great slip, or put a slip under it. Very cool paired with rugged boots. Thin, soft sweater like material. Size down so bigger chests don't fall out."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Sexy Ruffle Dress
Name:
Location:Orlando
age:21-25
body type:slender
This dress makes me feel gorgeous!
6.25.2010
"Oh, I don't even know where to begin! I got this in the purple color and it's such a rich hue, and the ruffles are precious! The pictures of the beading on the sleeves do no justice! It's so intricate and dainty! the only reason this got 4 stars instead of 5 is it runs a little big, I felt it should've been a little bit more fitted. A lot of reviews talk about how it shows every lump and bump, but personally I love my body and every curve, lump and bump so I loved this dress, if you are shy about any part of your body, I would shy away from this dress because it's no concealor! However if you do get it, where it with confidence, and no little lump and bump will matter because you'll still look sexy and beautiful.
(3
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Sexy Ruffle Dress
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:14-20
body type:slender
Whimsical
11.22.2009
"I am so happy with this purchase, I smile just thinking about it. The dress material is thinner than I expected, but that just lets it cling in all the right places. It is very flattering. It is also the perfect length and gives just enough cleavage on a smaller bust to be alluring. Lovely."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Sexy Ruffle Dress
Name:
Location:Bay Area, CA
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Whimsical & Wearable
11.2.2009
"I got this dress for my fairy Halloween costume this year. I got the dress in a size small (my usual fp size is S/6/28) and it fit perfectly! The dress hit me mid-thigh and I am 5'4''. The skirt ruffles, the beaded, ruffled sleeves, and the racerback details complimented my fairy costume very well. I felt very whimsical in this dress! I originally got a nude tube top from fp to wear under the dress, but since I was wearing this dress out at night in Vegas, it was not necessary-nude bra&underwear worked just fine-and I had made a tutu to wear around my hips-so no indecent exposure happened! I plan on re-wearing this dress to holiday parties this year!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Sexy Ruffle Dress
Name:
Location:West Palm Beach
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
sweater dress
10.10.2009
"Based on the other reviews I was expecting the dress to be short and low cut, but I got a small in the purple and I'm 5'10" 34C and I don't need to wear anything under it. Unless I intentionally pull it down in front its really not low cut on me. I was a little disappointed that its not more form fitting, but I'm going to keep it and just going to wear it with a belt."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Sexy Ruffle Dress
Name:
Location:New York City
age:21-25
body type:petite
Beware....
10.9.2009
"If you own or will potentially own this dress. . . follow the cleaning directions!! Only hand wash! I ordered this dress in the smallest size and it was still a little big, so I decided to dry it after washing. Big mistake . . . it shrunk to the size of an infant's article of clothing! Ultimately, it was not flattering on my petite body and was not what I expected!"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Sexy Ruffle Dress
Name:
Location:pittsburgh, pa
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
potentially unflattering
9.28.2009
"I LOVE fp dresses. They are my fav items of clothing in the universe. I was very excited about this dress which i saw at the store, but it is really not very flattering or "special" looking once you have it on. I f you have even an ounce of fat on your stomach, it WILL show in this dress or, make your stomach look bigger. I would go for another dress rather than this one -- unless you are built very stick-like or have bigger boobs then it might be successful. The bottom hem of this dress is VERY pretty - def the best part."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Sexy Ruffle Dress
Name:
Location:CT
age:14-20
body type:slender
Excellent indeed
9.28.2009
"I just got this dress in black today, and it is SO cute!! As the model is wearing, I also ordered a solid white tube top to wear under it, which I found necessary because the dress runs a little big! I am 5' 6'' and 120 lbs, and I ordered a small, but an XS would fit much better! But it was definitely a great purchase!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Sexy Ruffle Dress
Name:
Location:newtown, pa
age:21-25
body type:slender
love love loveee it.
9.28.2009
"i'm 5'6", 120lbs., 36b...i got this in the black, in a small and it fits perfectly. i usually buy mediums in free people despite being a true size small because i'd rather have things a little looser than tighter since i throw everything in the dryer.....so if you are between sizes in free people as i often am, size down.
the detailing and the fabric is all fabulous.
another great free people purchase!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Sexy Ruffle Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:21-25
body type:curvy
...
9.23.2009
"I got this dress in the mail today and I was not very impressed! All the previous reviews were fabulous so i had high expectations for this dress! It's nice but not nearly as nice as in the picture and not worth the money!"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Sexy Ruffle Dress
Name:
Location:Superior
age:26-30
body type:slender
sexy little thing
9.17.2009
"I bought it in black, very flattering and sexy for those who has a slim waist (another reason to work out your mid-section after buying this dress)))
pretty much like it pictured too, the only complaint - it would be better if it were just a tad longer, the present length makes me a little self-conscious....
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Sexy Ruffle Dress
Name:
Location:MI
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
LBD of the Year
8.31.2009
"This little black dress hugs your curves, but in a really great way. It softens all flaws, emphasizing my hour glass figure. The dress is an amazing combo stretchiness, intricate beading, and playful details that make it such an unforgettable and irresistible piece. I definitely recommend wearing a strapless bra/ cami underneath since it is low cut as others mentioned. The ruffles on the bottom add that extra oopmh that is lacking in most other lbds. It is quite short but can definitely be pulled off without leggings or tights for a great night or day look. The sparkle of the beading and flouncy sleeves add the femininity yet edgy look that makes this dress a must buy."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 13 for Sexy Ruffle Dress
Name:
Location:NY
age:26-30
body type:athletic
WOW!
8.30.2009
"Well WOW is all I really have to say about this dress! It fits great and looks great. A must have little black dress!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 14 for Sexy Ruffle Dress
Name:
Location:midwest
age:14-20
body type:curvy
Best Dress
8.23.2009
"I can tell you off hand this is the single most comfortable and sexy dress I have ever worn. I own three, 2 in the black and 1 in the ivory color. They cling nicely and the soft stretchy material is very flattering as well as cozy. Can be dressed up, or down with leggings or tights. I am 5'6", 125 lbs, 34C and an XS fit the best. I would recommend this dress to anyone that is looking for a super comfy and super sexy dress for a night on the town!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 15 for Sexy Ruffle Dress
Name:
Location:ga
age:31-35
body type:athletic
super soft and sexy
8.17.2009
"This is super soft and comfortable and makes me feel sexy at the same time. I am 32, so a bit short for me, but looks great for me over some stockins. I am usually a small, but I am having to return to an extra small. It is loose on my the most through the midsection."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 16 for Sexy Ruffle Dress
Name:
Location:Philadelphia pa
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
G-O-R-G-E-O-U-S
8.12.2009
"This dress is so beautiful in person...The fabric, the beading, the cut, the ruffles..It's just gorgeous. I do have to say that if you are self conscious about your mid section or your hip area- this dress is not for you. It is very form fitting in those area's. I did not need to wear anything underneath. You can pull it down if you want alot of cleavage showing or you can wear it up a bit higher to be more modest. I did also notice that the purple is the longest out of all the colors, the black is much shorter and the white is also a bit shorter. I went with the purple in a size XS, It fits perfectly. I am 5'6 125lbs. All the colors are gorgeous but their is just something about the purple..."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Sexy Ruffle Dress
Name:
Location:TN
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Winner!
7.29.2009
"I got this in black in a med (5'7" 140) and it's fabulous. The fabric is comfy and flattering and the style is beautiful. Very highly recommended. One of my favorite FP dresses. Oh, you don't need anything under the top part, I have no problem with cleavage showing, it's all covered just fine."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Sexy Ruffle Dress
Name:
Location:Egg Harbor Twp., NJ
age:21-25
body type:athletic
didn't love it
7.16.2009
"recently tried this on in the store because the saleswoman told me she tried it on the other day and fell in love with it. unfortunately, i didn't feel the same. i tried it on in a medium (my normal size, occasionally wear small) and it was very roomy and unflattering with my body type. i have slim legs and carry most of my weight in my mid-section, and the dress showed all my problem areas. would probably look nice with a slimming slip underneath, but i just didn't love the dress enough to buy it and make the effort to try to make it more flattering."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Sexy Ruffle Dress
Name:
Location:Cali
age:31-35
body type:petite
I LOVE LOVE LOVE this dress!!
7.10.2009
"Wow, this dress is fabulous. I knew I would love it and ordered it online, but was pleasantly surprised to see it at my local Nordy's. Tried it on w/the slip, AWESOME! the fabric is so soft and stretchy. The purple is gorgeous as is the black. I want both! Can run a little large & I also noticed the purple was longer than the black by ~2 inches. The beading on the shoulders def gives it a very elegant look as well."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Sexy Ruffle Dress
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Kinda Fabulous
6.20.2009
"I was shopping for a LBD for an upcoming Vegas trip, and literally tried on 20 different dresses before I put this one on. Of all of the dresses, this was the only one I formed an emotional attachment to. Ladies, you know what I'm talking about.
I'm 6'2" and a size 10, but the stretch factor made it so I could squeeze into a M. If I wore it anywhere but Vegas I would pair it with jeans or leggings, because it is VERY short on me; as well as a top underneath like the model is wearing, as I am also very busty. As-is it borders on indecent. But in a good way.
The bottom tulle ruffle detailing hits right at my butt, and adds some really fun oomph to it. I'm really looking forward to dancing in it!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large