Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Proper Schooling Plaid Dress

Thermal knit and wool plaid dress with button down front. Empire waist with pleated crinkle skirt bottom and tie in back. Bodice has exposed stitching at the chest with crinkle ribbon lining along scoop neck front. Smocking at the back of bodice. *Wool/Polyester *Dry Clean *Import Measurements for Size 6: Length: 33 5/8" Chest (relaxed): 27 " Waist (relaxed): 28 "
overall average rating:
4.1 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Customer Reviews for Proper Schooling Plaid Dress
Review 1 for Proper Schooling Plaid Dress
Name:
Location:Florida
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
cute
4.14.2011
" This dress is cute and preppy, just as pictured and true to size. The medium fit just right. I think this is versatile enough for winter or spring. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Proper Schooling Plaid Dress
Name:
Location:connecticut
age:14-20
body type:petite
love this dress
12.8.2010
" this dress is so cute and fits me very well. the plaid is lovely, the dress is warm, and i really like the crinkle textured bottom. it is a little snug in spots, but nothing too bad, i can still manage to fit a long sleeve tee underneath. very flattering, i love it! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Proper Schooling Plaid Dress
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:26-30
body type:petite
blah
11.25.2010
" This dress is designed for the model in the picture, you should be tall and have a good bust. I'm neither so it looks very blah on me.
The color is also quite dull on me I have brown hair more of an olive skin.
So I guess this dress is just not meant for my body type.
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Proper Schooling Plaid Dress
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:21-25
body type:petite
adorable.. but...
11.12.2010
" It runs INSANELY small in the bust. I am a 34DD (so I am used to the bust being small, but hot darn!) It is incredibly small. and because I am petite (5'1, 110lbs) I'm usually good in a size 2 in free people, but I saw the reviews on this and decided to size up to the 4.. I'm okay with not being able to button the top 2 or 3 buttons. but in reality I needed to size up to probably the 8 or 10 to fit the girls. But then the rest would look gigantic on me, so it's going back without exchange. It is ADORABLE though, if you are C cup or under, go for it!! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Proper Schooling Plaid Dress
Name:
Location:Pittsburgh
age:21-25
body type:slender
Love It!
10.15.2010
" I just received this dress in the mail today. I am generally a size 2 in pants and 4 in dresses. I am 5'6 and slender but a 32D. Because of the reviews I read I ordered as size 6 to ensure it would not be too small in the chest. It fits perfectly...not at all tonight. In face I think a size 4 would have fit just fine....maybe a tad bit tight. The 6 is roomy though not too roomy. This is a great dress! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Proper Schooling Plaid Dress
Name:
Location:Atlanta
age:31-35
body type:slender
Adorable Dress
10.3.2010
" This is an Adorable dress but it does run small.
I'm usually an extra small, but the empire waist is not stretchy like the top.
I'm going to have to return for the size 2.
If the dress shrinks after washing it won't be comfortable.
Material is very soft, once I get the next size up, I can see myself wearing this all the time.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Proper Schooling Plaid Dress
Name:
Location:cali
age:21-25
body type:petite
Proper Schooling Plaid Dress
8.26.2010
" Based on the reviews, I ordered this dress in a size 2, I am usually between 0 and 2. When I got the dress on it was not as tight as I had thought based on the reviews. However, I could see why people would say that the bust was tight because it is very difficult to take off. The trick is to obviously unbutton the front and untie the back but to also adjust the dress so that the ruching on the back side hits one of your shoulders. I found this way much easier to take off. I thought that the dress was not as short as the other reviewers are saying. But I am short, 5'3, 110 lbs. 32B. Overall, I found that the size 2 was snug, and I would not change sizes. The dress is as depicted in the picture, the plaid material is wrinkly and I don't see that going away after a few washes. In the end I returned the dress. I wish the dress was short on me as pictured as the model. I would purchase this again if the price was reduced. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Proper Schooling Plaid Dress
Name:
Location:Boston
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Proper Schooling
8.16.2010
" This dress is just as pictured but very tight. I ordered my usual size 6 (34b 140lb). I am reordering an 8. The waist is just really tight and theres not much stretch. The only thing I will have to fix is the straps since they are too long and unadjustable. Aside from the straps/fit I am in love with the dress! The material is so soft. This will be a great fall dress! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Proper Schooling Plaid Dress
Name:
Location:ga
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Cute but short/tight
8.12.2010
" I am 5'6, 120lbs... this is pretty short on me, from the pic on the model, it looks short, but I was kind of hoping it was because she is tall model type, but its pretty darn short on me too. I am a size 2/4... but this I am going to have to get a 6 (I ordered a 4). It is tight through the bust and I am normal b-cup. Never usually have a problem of anything being tight there. It is cute and the material is soft and has a nice stretchy-ness to the top part. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Proper Schooling Plaid Dress
Name:
Location:new york
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Odd
8.6.2010
" Love the idea and it looks adorable on the model, but I think it needs one more button on the bottom to really be a dress. You can't see in the picture but it splits open at the bottom once there are no more buttons and I feel like that makes it awkward. Despite that, while it was dress-length on me, I'm 5'3 so other girls may have an issue with the length. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large